University UCSI University Thread: The University....., ....The Experience!

KuzumiTaiga
post Apr 22 2012, 05:23 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

QUOTE(win7 @ Apr 22 2012, 04:49 AM)
when u start ur life in UCSI later, u will know how frustrated to use the super ancient computers doh.gif
I bring my own laptop or tablet, lazy wan use those computers.. I see also I feel frustrated already. laugh.gif By the way, how's the internet/wifi in the library? Block C got no wifi right?

QUOTE(ex-killer @ Apr 22 2012, 09:27 AM)
hi, i m a spm leaver. i plan 2 take medicine course after this. now is better for me to take alevel or foundation in science?
A-levels, definitely A-levels if you want to do well during your medical degree. As A-levels prepare you way better than normal foundation courses for medical degree (actually it prepares you better for most undergrad studies compared to taking foundation courses laugh.gif )

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Apr 22 2012, 05:24 PM
cloud_nine
post Apr 22 2012, 07:50 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Apr 22 2012, 05:23 PM)
I bring my own laptop or tablet, lazy wan use those computers.. I see also I feel frustrated already.  laugh.gif  By the way, how's the internet/wifi in the library? Block C got no wifi right?
A-levels, definitely A-levels if you want to do well during your medical degree. As A-levels prepare you way better than normal foundation courses for medical degree (actually it prepares you better for most undergrad studies compared to taking foundation courses  laugh.gif  )
It depends on which uni that you intend to do ur medicine with? If you have choosen one, then dun waste money and time to do A-level, some uni offers foundation 1 year leading to medicine course, such as Monash and UCSI Uni.
GooD LuCk!

Added on April 22, 2012, 7:55 pm
QUOTE(Marcus94 @ Apr 10 2012, 02:36 PM)
HI there, anyone can pls kindly share the info on studying MUSIC in UCSI? Are the music faculty there goood??
And graduates frm UCSI can secure any jobs? I think maybe shud I ask about the level of reputation? Thanks alot^^
UCSI is the prime brand name in music course. YOu may check out ICOMM and SEGi, but I think UCSI has the more professors level in the academic team. School of Music in UCSI Uni has been establish for the pass 10 years. It is reliable programme.

Added on April 22, 2012, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Apr 21 2012, 12:58 AM)
I know, having to pay computer fees every semester but to use crappy computers is pretty disappointing. I'm technically not a student yet until next week. Why don't you send a formal letter of complaint? They can't ignore complaints forever. btw I'm sure the head of UCSI will be reading this post of mine sooner of later..  laugh.gif
Hey,handsome. You all can just email to the director of student affairs, head position is too low to hear this.
Meantime, if you read the fee structure carefully, there is no computer fee being charge, it called ICT fee which means the university is using your fee to u-keepig all the IT related infrastructure for the students.

Added on April 22, 2012, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 19 2012, 08:56 AM)
Technically it should be the students coucil's job of protecting the welfare of students...too bad they are not helping though
PLease join student council now and act on it.

Added on April 22, 2012, 8:08 pm
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 28 2012, 05:20 PM)
is the FIS in UCSI good ?

Planning to go there this MAY. Any suggestion ?
Yes, the foundation is science is excellence. IMU are planning to send to student to UCSI to do FIS leading to IMU medicine, too bad it was turned down by the dean. So now they partner with KBU.

Go! It has good standard.

This post has been edited by cloud_nine: Apr 22 2012, 08:08 PM
stoopiak
post Apr 24 2012, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(ucsiklcampus @ Feb 17 2012, 10:36 AM)
Dear Zeng,

To reply your query:

1) All the JPA/MARA students are subjected to final interview prior joining our degree year 1, so there is high chance that the seats are not fill up. If you are STPM holder, then I encourage you to submit application first because there are students who do not go through the selection process, chance is there. If you are SPM holder, no worry at all because you will be our priority for next year selection into our MD degree year 1.

2) UCSI Foundation students will go through the selection process same as JPA/MARA students. We treat everyone equally the same when it comes to selection process. As for MD year 1 intake, yes, we will open up to public application if there are seats available. We also try to increase the numbers of seats for our MD course. So, please apply now as they are always a chance.

Hope it helps. Good luck! :D
Since most of the foundation students are under JPA (2011) as well, which group will be giving the priority? JPA (2010) studying A-Level in UCSI or JPA (2011) studying UCSI Foundation? I heard from my friend that called the Faculty of Medicine that only 50 places will be given this intake. Although I doubt it since it will be a waste of resources, but still please clarify it for me. Thank you in advance.

cloud_nine
post Apr 25 2012, 01:36 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(SoshiBias @ Apr 20 2012, 11:48 PM)
Dear anyone,Im interested in Food science and I graduated from SPM. I picked UCSI for this course because this course is quite rare and ofcourse UCSI is near to my living place.But the problem is "Im not from science stream". UCSI told me that they allow me to take Foundation in Science (and then upgrade to Food Science and Nutrition degree) but they said I cant get PTPTN loan when im studying degree because im not a science stream student(means im not qualified to study Foundation in Science but the faculty and school still let me in). Without ptptn loan i think i cant continue taking this course because my parents cant afford the tuition fee.Is this true?? thats what UCSI told me and im lack of time for thinking wad course to take. 2nd option for me may be Architecturial and ofcourse UCSI too. Im in a very nervous condition now...

Anyone can help??
As far as the PTPTN loan application, the officer will look into the offer letter from the uni, and you must score credit in BM. So, it should be ok. You can triple check by call PTPTN up. Visit http://lms.ucsi.edu.my/ptptn-kl for more info.

Archictecture is good in UCSI, you try to join diploma first then proceed to degree if financially allow, otherwise you start work with the diplom cert.

Hope this help. nod.gif

jay-e
post Apr 25 2012, 07:34 PM

85 posts

anyone study BA (Hons) Early Childhood Education in UCSI?
can give some comment abt this course offer by UCSI?

i got interest on it!!
KuzumiTaiga
post Apr 25 2012, 08:59 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(jay-e @ Apr 25 2012, 07:34 PM)
anyone study BA (Hons) Early Childhood Education in UCSI?
can give some comment abt this course offer by UCSI?

i got interest on it!!
saw the childhood education centre in north wing... pretty quiet.. probably because the students are on break... laugh.gif
Calvados
post Apr 25 2012, 11:32 PM

61 posts

Wow, so long time didnt come in, once enter, whole page is UCSI advertisement ......

Took my $$ spent on here .... =.="
yet dont wanna renovate the staircase from block B to block C
Atin
post Apr 26 2012, 10:03 PM

15 posts

hmm btw ^^; Motor parking is free right ?
ucsiklcampus
post Apr 27 2012, 09:01 AM

26 posts

Dear Students, it is indeed a pleasure to have all of you. Regarding the facilities in campus, you guys can always feedback to Student Affair Office.
Do look for the staff over there, they are very helpful especially their director Miss Pei Boon.
gekmui
post Apr 30 2012, 12:59 PM

114 posts

Hi! May i know where to check our results for last semester? school reopen soon smile.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post May 1 2012, 10:54 PM

3,317 posts

Guys, I am a bit dissatisfied and confused here, what language do they use when they teach Malaysian studies and moral?! A-level student here.
zstan
post May 1 2012, 11:40 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ May 1 2012, 10:54 PM)
Guys, I am a bit dissatisfied and confused here, what language do they use when they teach Malaysian studies and moral?! A-level student here.
english....
KuzumiTaiga
post May 2 2012, 03:08 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(Calvados @ Apr 25 2012, 11:32 PM)
Wow, so long time didnt come in, once enter, whole page is UCSI advertisement ......

Took my $$ spent on here .... =.="
yet dont wanna renovate the staircase from block B to block C
I have no complaints at all about that Yellow staircase... seems about enough... still considered safe. smile.gif Very impressed that the lift and other facilities are well maintained (well, except the semi-crap computers in the open area of 4th floor library)

QUOTE(zstan @ May 1 2012, 11:40 PM)
english....
o thanks!
walkman660
post May 8 2012, 05:29 PM

236 posts

how about culinary art..who is the chef..and izit study more or practical more..

happiness is everything
post May 10 2012, 03:11 PM

Heard some rumor that UCSI is opening another intake in January for BPharm (Hons) Pharmacy programme. Anyone any idea if this is true?
desreg2913
post May 10 2012, 03:47 PM

1,021 posts

wow where you heard for this rumor? as for i know, there is only 1 intake in a year which is on July

Added on May 10, 2012, 3:51 pm
QUOTE(walkman660 @ May 8 2012, 05:29 PM)
how about culinary art..who is the chef..and izit study more or practical more..
culinary art must be interesting. As my friend who works in UCSI told me, it is a Full work based learning programme. You go to "work" everyday and at the same time studyinng.

This post has been edited by desreg2913: May 10 2012, 03:51 PM
happiness is everything
post May 11 2012, 07:34 PM

Heard it from friends but people from marketing said no. Wish it'd be true though as I'm already too late to apply for this year's intake and really don't wish to wait till next July sad.gif
dar121191
post May 13 2012, 08:44 AM

60 posts

Hi Guys,

I’m planning to further my studies in the logistics industry.
I saw that UCSI offers Logistics management courses.

Please advice on the quality of the education there?

GilaLaksa
post May 14 2012, 06:08 PM

89 posts

hey guys...want to ask when is the next intake for foundation or diploma in mechanical engineering?
cloud_nine
post May 17 2012, 05:52 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(GilaLaksa @ May 14 2012, 06:08 PM)
hey guys...want to ask when is the next intake for foundation or diploma in mechanical engineering?
Gilalaksa, foundation in science and diploma next intake scheduled on 28 August. As for May intake, you still can register, tomorrow is the last date of registration. QUICK!

Added on May 17, 2012, 5:57 pm
QUOTE(dar121191 @ May 13 2012, 08:44 AM)
Hi Guys,

I’m planning to further my studies in the logistics industry.
I saw that UCSI offers Logistics management courses.

Please advice on the quality of the education there?

I think UCSI is the only one university offers logistic programme in Klang Valley, the uniqueness of the course will be the high exposure for student in the industry, they also organize a lot industry trip with the logistic companies out there. UCSI also offer the course up to master programme. Check it out.

Added on May 17, 2012, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(happiness is everything @ May 10 2012, 03:11 PM)
Heard some rumor that UCSI is opening another intake in January for BPharm (Hons) Pharmacy programme. Anyone any idea if this is true?
I dun think so, better join the current intake. It is a lengthy process for the proposal to kick start new intake. Why not go to UCSI website to find out via live chat with the counselor.

Added on May 17, 2012, 6:16 pm
hey, UCSI University is the cluster leader for the Malaysian Government’s economic transformation programme (ETP) in the tourism and hospitality industry. The curriculum will be the tip-top among the rest. Check it out at http://www.mycenthe.org.my/.

I heard that the management is building few hotels separately at KL, Bandar Spring, Seremban and Sarawak. My friends said the bouquet hotel and the fine dining restraurant reali impressiVe, u check it out via
http://www.ucsigroup.com.my/leisure_proper..._background.asp

Have fun! I think it is good choice. Check out from their course counselors lar.

Added on May 17, 2012, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(desreg2913 @ May 10 2012, 03:47 PM)
wow where you heard for this rumor? as for i know, there is only 1 intake in a year which is on July

No work everyday lar, u are student, not a slave for UCSI University. It is new praxis concept whereby the academic curriculum is designed in a such. The student for sure will be highly employable once graduate compared with those young ciku with just a plain degree certificate, YucKs!

Added on May 17, 2012, 6:24 pm
QUOTE(SoshiBias @ Apr 20 2012, 11:48 PM)
Dear anyone,Im interested in Food science and I graduated from SPM. I picked UCSI for this course because this course is quite rare and ofcourse UCSI is near to my living place.But the problem is "Im not from science stream". UCSI told me that they allow me to take Foundation in Science (and then upgrade to Food Science and Nutrition degree) but they said I cant get PTPTN loan when im studying degree because im not a science stream student(means im not qualified to study Foundation in Science but the faculty and school still let me in). Without ptptn loan i think i cant continue taking this course because my parents cant afford the tuition fee.Is this true?? thats what UCSI told me and im lack of time for thinking wad course to take. 2nd option for me may be Architecturial and ofcourse UCSI too. Im in a very nervous condition now...

Anyone can help??
Hey, what subject you took in SPM? Have join UCSI now?

This post has been edited by cloud_nine: May 17 2012, 06:24 PM

131 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 >Top

0.0256sec    1.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:56 AM