4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Peugeot 5008 please help!

metalfire
post Dec 26 2021, 02:06 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(maximushiglander @ Dec 26 2021, 01:35 PM)
Harrier is too boring design inside and outside
For old model
New facelift much better design but price over my budget
Maybe reconsider mazda cx8 also
What the obvious different
between midplus and highspec petrol 2.5?
Cannot afford quality but want gaya mesti ada. whistling.gif
TSmaximushiglander
post Dec 26 2021, 02:11 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 11:13 AM)
Less problems indeed but the turbo or gearbox will fail within 5-6 years. My turbo already replaced outside twice!

Also, the cat converter will fail after 5 years. Mine failed a long time ago and now every now and then the CE light will pop up. Just pump RON 97-100 then ok. If RON 95, this light will remain on for days and weeks.

As for the gearbox, mine already 9 years old and started to have some slip at higher gears.

Peugeot, buy at own risk. Engineered to fail!
Great respond from you
You buy this model at what year?
acbc
post Dec 26 2021, 02:28 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(maximushiglander @ Dec 26 2021, 02:11 PM)
Great respond from you
You buy this model at what year?
Mine is a 2012, Peugeot 3008. Same engine as the 5008. Already claimed the extended warranty so the parts will make same as the current models.

Naza replaced 8 parts on mine. At the moment, it is reliable for daily use. But remember, Peugeot cars love nagging at the drivers with every problems like Engine Faults, Depollution Error, Economy Mode Active and more. If u not familiar, it can be daunting and sometimes panic.

The European models dumped this shitty EP6 for the latest one. Even BMW also dumped this trash from all their models. The rest of the world got this old crappy engine.

Why I kept mine? Because cannot sell it. Car dealers lowball offers from 10-13K. Even direct buyers also lowball 16-17K.

Peugeot is NOT designed for hot climates like MY. For example, the AC will prioritize Hot first before Cold. Imagine starting the car and need to wait until the engine temp reached 90C then only the compressor kicks in. U probably die from the heat first.

The rubberised plastics started to melt on mine especially the power window switches. It will be sticky and attracts lots of dirt and dust.

Creaks and squeaks from the centre console. Very annoying on bumpy roads. Heck, my 2004 Savvy don't even have this issue.

This post has been edited by acbc: Dec 26 2021, 02:32 PM
rogeRRabit
post Dec 26 2021, 02:34 PM

56 posts

Looking for a SUV too here
Just like other bros here, quite skeptical with Peugeot after sales service
Indeed very futuristic look
But worry it ends up "just looking" in SC

I'm considering CX-8 and Harrier
Both were said to have great handling
But the interior really really outdated especially CX-8
Hoping there will be a facelift CX8 in 2022

acbc
post Dec 26 2021, 02:45 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 02:28 PM)
Mine is a 2012, Peugeot 3008. Same engine as the 5008. Already claimed the extended warranty so the parts will make same as the current models.

Naza replaced 8 parts on mine. At the moment, it is reliable for daily use. But remember, Peugeot cars love nagging at the drivers with every problems like Engine Faults, Depollution Error, Economy Mode Active and more. If u not familiar, it can be daunting and sometimes panic.

The European models dumped this shitty EP6 for the latest one. Even BMW also dumped this trash from all their models. The rest of the world got this old crappy engine.

Why I kept mine? Because cannot sell it. Car dealers lowball offers from 10-13K. Even direct buyers also lowball 16-17K.

Peugeot is NOT designed for hot climates like MY. For example, the AC will prioritize Hot first before Cold. Imagine starting the car and need to wait until the engine temp reached 90C then only the compressor kicks in. U probably die from the heat first.

The rubberised plastics started to melt on mine especially the power window switches. It will be sticky and attracts lots of dirt and dust.

Creaks and squeaks from the centre console. Very annoying on bumpy roads. Heck, my 2004 Savvy don't even have this issue.
Buying a Peugeot is like marrying a good woman in an everlasting marriage. After several years, she will nag nonstop and give u unnecessary stress. If given a choice, I would have opt for something else.
6UE5T
post Dec 26 2021, 02:52 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 02:45 PM)
Buying a Peugeot is like marrying a good woman in an everlasting marriage. After several years, she will nag nonstop and give u unnecessary stress. If given a choice, I would have opt for something else.
Hahaha what an analogy! So if you still have to have something nagging in your life, at least just get a wife but don't top it up again with a car that nags like a wife! 😆
acbc
post Dec 26 2021, 02:54 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 26 2021, 02:52 PM)
Hahaha what an analogy! So if you still have to have something nagging in your life, at least just get a wife but don't top it up again with a car that nags like a wife! 😆
Next car will be totally analogue. No electronics! Everything purely mechanical.
6UE5T
post Dec 26 2021, 03:35 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 02:54 PM)
Next car will be totally analogue. No electronics! Everything purely mechanical.
Yup, traditional analog car is the best! That's why I am never really interested in any new cars for the last 10 years. Only Lotus and the latest GR Yaris are interesting.
TSmaximushiglander
post Dec 26 2021, 04:20 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 26 2021, 01:41 PM)
Ok lor if Harrier is boring and you want "unexpected excitements" in your life then buy the Pgt lor. 😆
Maybe had any other option? Huhu
ktek
post Dec 26 2021, 04:28 PM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

harrier is boring becos it get the job done everytime <<< like that also wanna complain then u shall buy 5008 lah.
TSmaximushiglander
post Dec 26 2021, 04:43 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 26 2021, 01:49 PM)
New Peugeots are fine. Its just the past bad reputation has ruined it for many.

Don't get the 5008 if you expect to fill with 7 people though. The 3rd row seats are useless

The cx8 (especially 6 seater version) are much roomier and comfier
I like the rear seat, spacious
Didnt expect much for third row
But still bad review for this new version
acbc
post Dec 26 2021, 04:46 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(maximushiglander @ Dec 26 2021, 04:43 PM)
I like the rear seat, spacious
Didnt expect much for third row
But still bad review for this new version
The new version still uses the same crappy EP6 Prince engine. No matter what refinements or software updates, the engine itself is still crap. Now dumped by BMW and even Peugeot themselves from all European models.
TSmaximushiglander
post Dec 26 2021, 05:31 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 02:28 PM)

Peugeot use same engine over 12 years?
Heard many bad service from naza + incompetent model
Model from french
Even with production stelista still cant give the reliable engine + good material suitable with our climate?
Thank you sharing your HONEST & REAL EXPERIENCE
Really help me to decide for my future car

TSmaximushiglander
post Dec 26 2021, 05:32 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 02:45 PM)
Haha
TSmaximushiglander
post Dec 26 2021, 05:33 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 26 2021, 02:54 PM)
What mode that u are looking right now?
Mind sharing here
acbc
post Dec 26 2021, 07:27 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(maximushiglander @ Dec 26 2021, 05:31 PM)
Peugeot use same engine over 12 years?
Heard many bad service from naza + incompetent model
Model from french
Even with production stelista still cant give the reliable engine + good material suitable with our climate?
Thank you sharing your HONEST & REAL EXPERIENCE
Really help me to decide for my future car
Only 4 engines for Peugeot since 2010.

1.6 NA
1.6 turbo
2.0 NA
2.2 turbo diesel

The most popular being the 1.6 turbo EP6 Prince co-developed with BMW. U will find this on BMW, Citroen and Mini. All 3 brands suffered the same shitty problems as Peugeot.

Starting 2014, BMW and Mini dumped this shitty engine from all their models. Citroen and Peugeot kept using it for other world models. In own country, France not using it anymore.

To avoid most of the problems, this engine need to driven hard like going outstation every 2 weeks or keeping the redline above 3-4K. Doing so will free up any carbon buildups inside the engine. In the process, u also kill the gearbox and turbo plus high pressure fuel pump.

Now, as long u know where to find parts and professional workshops, still worth considering but might empty your wallets faster. Then again, Peugeot is a cheap way to own a continental. Models like 2010 308 goes for peanuts at RM 12-13K up. Repair another 6-7K. All below 20K and great for cash buyers. Just be prepared to spend over 2-3K for any major breakdowns at the professional shops.

Some items are ridiculously expensive from Naza like:

Turbo, over 13K
High pressure fuel pump, 4K
Low pressure fuel pump, 2K
ABS sensors, 300+ each
Air-con compressor, over 3K

U can fix the above outside for 1/3 of the cost professionally.

After fixing outside, start saving for 3K after 2-3 years to replace both fuel pumps. Damn French so smart to put the most important part on the engine itself subjected to hot air and vibrations from the engine. The Japanese much smarter by putting the high pressure fuel pump in the petrol tank which it is much cooler and less vibrations.

The ECU for both engine and gearbox are located in the engine bay. If water goes in, that's another 5-6K per ECU. The body ECU is in the centre console. If water goes in, it will another 3-4K.

This post has been edited by acbc: Dec 26 2021, 07:27 PM
OrangeGrove
post Dec 26 2021, 08:08 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(maximushiglander @ Dec 26 2021, 09:41 AM)
Too many suggest to avoid own this unit
Happy to hear your feedback
Respect your opinion
Will consider
For sure, it is all about calculate risk
To own car another 10-12 years after this
I see your key words here "10-12 year"...
I am not sure about Peugeot though..
VW adi gave me tonnes of headache in it's 7th year.
OrangeGrove
post Dec 26 2021, 08:12 PM

643 posts

Mazda CX8 should be a good alternative.
Mazda is well known for its handling..
At least I see more older Mazda on the road than the older Peugeot
OrangeGrove
post Dec 26 2021, 08:17 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 26 2021, 01:49 PM)
New Peugeots are fine. Its just the past bad reputation has ruined it for many.

Don't get the 5008 if you expect to fill with 7 people though. The 3rd row seats are useless

The cx8 (especially 6 seater version) are much roomier and comfier
Conti cars being Conti cars, their car building philosophy are very similar.. pushing the technology as soon as possible to the public with less proven compared to the Japanese. European car manufacturers target is to attract buyers with their latest tech to earn $$, using plastic parts that only last for a few years.

While Japanese especially Toyota practice incremental improvement and uses proven components and technology, customer comes first.

It's all in their philosophy.

This post has been edited by OrangeGrove: Dec 26 2021, 08:19 PM
empire
post Dec 26 2021, 08:42 PM

2,549 posts

I really dont understand pug enthusiasts. Dah la so many never ending horror stories about the hell ex pug owners went through...but STILL...STILL got some weirdos who wanna buy a Pug and go through the same hell??

Whats wrong with these people?? Still wanna buy a PUG and suffer like hell even after knowing they will get hell??

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0134sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:08 AM