4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia E51, Wi-Fi for totally business-oriented

mediumsliced
post Mar 4 2008, 02:13 PM

82 posts

I got mine a couple of weeks ago. Loving it! To the haters, you have valid arguments, but for the likes of me, it's perfect. Small stuff, I use my E51, larger stuff, I'll fire up my laptop.

Anyway, anybody managed to get a screen protector for your E51? Mine's pretty natty, so gotta get it replaced. Novacell doesn't have it, found many on eBay, but it's pretty expensive, figured I can save a bit by buying locally.

This post has been edited by mediumsliced: Mar 4 2008, 02:15 PM
mediumsliced
post Mar 6 2008, 12:41 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Mar 5 2008, 11:59 PM)
ya novacell don't have it so hard to find -.-"
QUOTE(amfslash @ Mar 6 2008, 12:07 AM)
for screen protector, i've been using an e61 protector but cut the bottom edge a bit to make it fit... the visible screen up to just under the word E51 and the earpiece is covered...  suits me fine so far...
What do you guys think of EXiM screen protectors? They cost USD12.24 (with shipping) from eBay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/EXiM-SPUC-Screen-Prote...1QQcmdZViewItem

There are cheaper ones out there too. Shall we gather some folk for a bulk buy? I noticed a cheaper 10-in-1 pack going for AUD10.05 (with shipping). I doubt it will make much of a difference between the two, but I might be mistaken so opinions are welcome. Novacell sells their house brand ones for RM15, IIANM, so this 10-in-1 might be a little cheaper.

http://cgi.ebay.com/10-X-SCREEN-PROTECTOR-...1QQcmdZViewItem

QUOTE(Eoma @ Mar 6 2008, 11:52 AM)
I'm also looking for an external case/condom/etc for the E51. Something stylish la. ehe. Any recommendations ? (in PJ yah).

Also, any good stereo bluetooth sets you guys recommend ? tired of the wires already. something in ear, coz my ears are weird and the bundled headphones slip off easily.

Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
Eoma, IIANM, the E51 doesn't support A2DP, better to check it out further before plonking down cash for a stereo headset.

http://www.nokia.com.my/A4803101
mediumsliced
post Mar 12 2008, 07:10 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(plim_123 @ Mar 12 2008, 09:47 AM)
Last Sunday.

Still playing with it. The Wireless web surfing is fast. Interesting if you try youbue, it will triggle realplayer with full screen.
Eh? Can YouTube ah? Right, I just tried it with the built-in browser. I came as far as RealPlayer launching. Then I got a "Disconnected. Try connecting again?" error message. Running it via Wifi on my home WLAN.

QUOTE(J.J @ Mar 12 2008, 09:49 AM)
You can get it here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=280602&hl=MFOP.
It's Martin Fields Overlayplus Screen Screen Protector.
I've ordered 2 sets from him each for rm35.
Btw, mine is going to arrived on next week  smile.gif
Ah, looking forward to your review on it. This is a little bit cheaper than the EXiM SPUC for the E51.

QUOTE(zad78 @ Mar 12 2008, 04:52 PM)
hi guys,

just got this phone for RM1350 plus free 2 G Avaxx set...is it worth it? yeah you guys are rite...kinda hard to get silver colour....the seller said now avaxx only supply the black e51 only silver and rose are old stock.....dunno whether true or not....
If it's any consolation, I got my Avaxx set from Hello Station for RM1,388, no microSDHC included. If I may promote, I got my 4 GB microSDHC from George for a very good price. You can find his thread on LYN here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/514973

Ah, just checked, prices just went up, but he told me that his prices fluctuates according to market rates, so one might hang back and wait for a while for the prices to drop if it isn't really urgent.

Added on March 12, 2008, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(Eoma @ Mar 6 2008, 02:53 PM)
Eh, i tried it on my friend's motorola set and it worked. It's the set you get with the limited edition Jay Chou phone. That's what sparked my interest actually.

I paired the phone with the device, it entered headset mode iianm, then played a song via the default media player. Could have been in mono though (maybe) but there was audio from both sides. Hmmmmm.  hmm.gif

edit: Eh it's supported wad....
Ah, you know what? I tried Googling for the link where I supposedly read about the E51's lack of A2DP support but for the life of me I can't get it, so please discount my views.

So, did you notice if the audio was stereo?

Added on March 12, 2008, 7:21 pmHave you guys seen this video? After seeing the torture they put it through with the screen emerging relatively unscathed, I'm tempted to plonk down some money for this eBay item.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3V9h6prV34

http://cgi.ebay.com/SCREEN-PROTECTOR-LCD-S...1QQcmdZViewItem

This post has been edited by mediumsliced: Mar 12 2008, 07:21 PM
mediumsliced
post Mar 14 2008, 06:38 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ Mar 14 2008, 11:08 AM)
sorry for asking so many question. have any of you guys found a case/pouch yet for this phone?
I have this drawstring one I got at Novacell for about RM15. It is troublesome at times but at least I can use it to wipe it down after use.
mediumsliced
post Mar 15 2008, 10:28 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Mar 15 2008, 08:14 PM)
Welcome to the E51 bandwagon. rclxms.gif
I'm sure you won't regret buying this phone.
I really like mine although I can't get the silver one.
I don't know about you but I find that the chrome one to be a little too bling for me. The chrome black one is just perfect, IMHO. smile.gif
mediumsliced
post Mar 17 2008, 09:22 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Mar 16 2008, 10:54 PM)
Alert to all E51 users,

A weird problem has struck my E51 which is less than 1 month old. During this evening, my phone suddenly failed to read my SIM card all of the sudden. So, I thought that was just some problem with my SIM. Then, I proceed with swapping my SIM with my brother's. To my surprise, it works as it should on my brother's phone. The real nightmare comes when my phone failed to read his SIM. I'll be sending in my phone for a repair or try to request for a 1 to 1 exchange if possible as I've never come across such problem for newly bought phones. Anyway, I'm interested in knowing is there anyone facing the same problem especially those who bought their phone on Nokia Store Low Yat.

*typo, formatting edited*
You're in the minority here J.J, mine works pretty well. Also, I doubt they'll give you a 1 for 1 swap deal. The Malaysian market ain't that mature yet.

QUOTE(plim_123 @ Mar 17 2008, 09:52 AM)
After owning this phone for a week, I like it very much.
Still looking around S60v3 (sisx) programs to load into the phone. Anyone can recommend good sites ( preferable free ) to add more usage to the phone?

I found the text SMS is not user friendly, is there a better feature SMS program,  like
- use up key to recall previous contact when sending message
- use up key to recall previous message when writing message
- set default contact user
I find the existing SMS app to be pretty robust, though the features you mentioned sounds pretty nice as well.
mediumsliced
post Mar 17 2008, 09:51 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Mar 17 2008, 09:36 PM)
Seems that I'm the only one with no luck here for getting a defective/inferior unit of E51.
Anyway, I visited Nokia Service Center at Plaza Berjaya. As I've expected, they denied my 1 to 1 exchange request on the spot.
According to them, their top priority is a repair, then a circuit board replacement and finally a 1 to 1 exchange which is the last resort.
So, I guess there's nothing I can do except to accept my tough luck... cry.gif
You should see me when I was shopping for the E51 at Subang Parade. I made the poor guy jump through hoops trying to sell me the CSL E51. Finally, we agreed on a price and package. When it came time to inspect the goods, I found the first unit with a stuck/dead pixel, so I immediately rejected it. He then went to a neigbouring stall to grab another CSL unit (do these guys all work for the same company?) and that one had a dead/stuck pixel too. In the end, he was forced to wrap up two units which I refused to purchase.

Needless to say I left Parade immediately after that. smile.gif

In the end, I just bought an Avaxx set.
mediumsliced
post Mar 20 2008, 08:27 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Mar 18 2008, 11:52 AM)
Surething, I'll give them a call after 2 days as they promised me that it would take at most 2 days for the all the testing. Anyway, thanks for the reminder.

*typo*
Any luck getting an ETA on your E51? Also, I presume we won't see your MF screen protector review since your phone is in the shop, no?
mediumsliced
post Mar 22 2008, 10:56 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(chairmanmeow @ Mar 22 2008, 10:33 AM)
how about letterings in the phone saying "Made in Finland" wink.gif
D'OH!
mediumsliced
post Mar 24 2008, 11:57 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(leenux @ Mar 22 2008, 01:14 AM)
only way u can tell is from the 7th-8th imei serial code:

'01' its finland
'02' from UAE
'08' from china

mine is '01' from the imei code.. but as long it works fine, im happy thumbup.gif
Nice! Mine's 01 too. smile.gif
mediumsliced
post Mar 25 2008, 10:58 PM

82 posts

I guess, like Windows, if you load too much crap on it, it might cause some system instability. Me, I just use the apps bundled with the phone, as well as Windows Live, Google Maps and Gmail only. None of those problems happened with mine.
mediumsliced
post Mar 25 2008, 11:19 PM

82 posts

I'll try some outdoor shots tomorrow and attach some samples here. You took those under fluorescent lighting, correct?
mediumsliced
post Mar 26 2008, 03:12 PM

82 posts

Wow, low light condition brings out the worse in the camera. Not that it functions any better in broad daylight. Check out my pics attached below. Absolutely crap.

Anyway, that goes to show, after 2 months of using this phone, now only play with the camera that I'm not the one to whip out his phone just to take snaps. I have my point and shoot for that.

Lowlight, taken in the stairwell heading up to my office. ZOMFG!

Taken on the street at mid-day. So-so only. My previous Panny VS7 took nicer pics and that's almost a 2-year old phone.
mediumsliced
post Mar 26 2008, 09:41 PM

82 posts

Actually, it's more yellow than white though the greenish tint is definitely there. I wonder if we can get a software fix for this.
mediumsliced
post Mar 29 2008, 09:52 AM

82 posts

You know, I still haven't found a screen protector. My E51's screen is collecting scratches by the day. Let's hope the original screen protector that came with the phone can last a little bit longer.
mediumsliced
post Mar 29 2008, 10:03 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Mar 29 2008, 09:58 AM)
Initially, I requested for a 1 to 1 exchange as my phone is less than one month old from the day of purchase.
However, they quickly denied my request and told me it must go through a series of tests and repairs before they even would consider for a 1 to 1.
I've no choice since I have paid so much for the phone and needed the phone so agreed to send in for the test and repair.
After that, the person added that it would take around 1 to 2 days for everything to be done and they'll call me for pickup once it's ready.
Surprsingly, they didn't even bother to call me after 2 days so I called them myself on Friday and was told that my phone is ready.
Therefore, I went to Plaza Berjaya to collect my phone.
Well, the phone works as usual at least after the repair and I did noticed they've removed my circiut board.
This is true to what they claimed because there're a lot of traces that my phone has been fully dismantled before.
In short, the phone should be ready since day 2 after I sent it in but they didn't call me after that so it's left there till Friday.

*typo*
Well, at least you got your phone back. I don't know what I'll do if I don't have my mobile with me. Would lost. Just lost without it. biggrin.gif
mediumsliced
post Mar 31 2008, 05:28 PM

82 posts

Cases and pouches are very the mah-fan lah. Put in, take out. Bought one, then gave up after a month. Scratch mah scratch loh. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mediumsliced: Mar 31 2008, 05:31 PM
mediumsliced
post Apr 2 2008, 03:00 PM

82 posts

Has anybody tried YouTube mobile? It doesn't work for me lah. Keep getting server errors. sad.gif
mediumsliced
post Apr 2 2008, 04:04 PM

82 posts

Google Maps and Gmail. smile.gif
mediumsliced
post Apr 4 2008, 05:56 PM

82 posts

Lucky you. smile.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top