4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Nokia Nokia E51, Wi-Fi for totally business-oriented

mediumsliced
post May 20 2008, 05:25 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 20 2008, 11:55 AM)
u'll you it's chrome plated plastic if the paint starts to flask/fade away.
any facing this?
or try to tap with coin?
Hahaha! Why don't you buy me one and we'll try it. wink.gif

Anyway, so far nothing chipping off yet. Touch wood.
mediumsliced
post May 23 2008, 08:12 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ May 22 2008, 10:15 PM)
Well i also think that the d pad is only chrome plated plastic as well coz there are few cases of peelings at the d pad. So those with sweaty hands better be careful
I think chrome-plate is pretty resistant to sweat. Using one's nails on the other hand...

QUOTE(devil&angel @ May 23 2008, 07:55 PM)
got this phone via Maxis Promo. Dam good phone. Hapy with it... rclxms.gif
Nice leh... Too bad not so popular. Might see more accessories for it otherwise.
mediumsliced
post May 27 2008, 08:45 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(DeAn85 @ May 26 2008, 11:33 PM)
actually i doubt on E51 WLAN function
fed up bout the connection
can't sign in live messenger (hav to try many many time)
web also slow
Where are you connecting to? Corp WLAN? Home? Coffee shop? It's pretty fast for me, when either in the office or at home. YMMV when at public hotspots.
mediumsliced
post Jun 5 2008, 06:46 AM

82 posts

Not so sure, but if nothing has changed since 1998, you should be able to use your UK mob here without unlocking. I used to be on Vodafone. Send me 10 quid and I'll mail you a pre-paid SIM to test out.

mediumsliced
post Jun 9 2008, 06:35 PM

82 posts

I started out with a drawstring pouch too. In the end, too lazy to take the trouble of taking it out and putting it back in every time a call comes in. In the end using it bareback, with a screen protector of course. smile.gif
mediumsliced
post Jun 12 2008, 09:05 PM

82 posts

Ooh, I wanna try. Let me back stuff up first. Will try it out and report back.

Added on June 12, 2008, 9:51 pmOK. Phone backed-up and raring to go...

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:30 pmZOMG! 81 MB!

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:31 pmDear boys and girls, remember to back your stuff up, 'cos the updating process will wipe everything and you'll have to restore a backup later.

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:32 pmFirmware version
Current: 100-34-20
Update: 200-34-36

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:38 pmUpdate started. Windows will detect some new hardware. Some actually failed installation. Let's hope nothing goes to hell.

/fingers crossed

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:41 pmUpdate complete! Now to take it for a swing and see what's new. Will hold off restoring the backup, just to have that new phone feeling again. wink.gif

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:45 pmHot damn! It's pretty darn fast! Minor delays from the initial firmware isn't noticeable now!

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:51 pmOK, happy with the new firmware. Now to restore an old backup.

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:52 pmPhone seems to be missing PC Suite Support after the flash. Hmmm... Will try reinstalling.

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:55 pmAh, it was pretty painless.

Added on June 12, 2008, 10:55 pmNow restoring backups. Let's hope Exchange is restored properly.

Added on June 12, 2008, 11:03 pmWow. Even after restoring the backup, the phone is still pretty darn fast. Now, it may be a placebo effect, but I do indeed notice the speed bump. Why don't you guys give it a spin and let me know how it swings for ya.

Over and out!

Added on June 12, 2008, 11:13 pmWowzers. Maps 2.0 is pretty darn fast too!

This post has been edited by mediumsliced: Jun 12 2008, 11:13 PM
mediumsliced
post Jun 18 2008, 09:01 AM

82 posts

Mine too actually.
mediumsliced
post Jul 5 2008, 11:41 AM

82 posts

Yup, that's the app to use. Bundled apps will be lost when you flash, hence the need to do a full backup before updating the phone's fw.
mediumsliced
post Jul 5 2008, 01:55 PM

82 posts

See #358 onwards. biggrin.gif
mediumsliced
post Jul 11 2008, 03:46 PM

82 posts

No, mine's pretty near instant. Regardless if it's running in the background or not.
mediumsliced
post Jul 28 2008, 11:10 PM

82 posts

I doubt they will take it in. Perhaps smaller shops my repair it for you for a fee. YMMV, so best to ask before you plonk. Give either Zitron or Avaxx a call.
mediumsliced
post Jul 29 2008, 05:17 PM

82 posts

That's more of a ladies colour. smile.gif
mediumsliced
post Jul 30 2008, 09:25 AM

82 posts

Kan he buy for you already, still got choice meh?
mediumsliced
post Jul 31 2008, 11:01 AM

82 posts

It's ok, if you don't mind the bling-bling. biggrin.gif
mediumsliced
post Aug 1 2008, 09:20 PM

82 posts

Welcome!
mediumsliced
post Aug 21 2008, 10:07 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Aug 21 2008, 09:53 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/772636

Anyone got idea how to fix this?
Is my maxis line problem or phone problem?
It's a Maxis thing. Unless you've used your SIM on another phone and 3G works fine, then it's the phone.
mediumsliced
post Sep 25 2008, 03:12 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(vNistelrooy @ Sep 5 2008, 09:18 AM)
hi all, i have e51 and i have been trying to make it work with exchange..mFe did not function properly..i cant install the certificate provided by my server..dat same cert is working fine on a htc phone..any advise?

Added on September 8, 2008, 10:21 ami was able to install the certificate, now i need to know how come this phone cannot browse https websites? my other SE phone connects nicely..do i have to upgrade the built-in browser or something?
Come to think about it, when I forced Gmail to always use HTTPS, the Gmail app on my E51 fails to connect, and when I changed the setting back to none, it connects. The Nokia browser probably doesn't fully support secure sites.

Added on September 25, 2008, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(katopunk @ Sep 20 2008, 03:35 AM)
have anyone experience intermittent mute problem?

like when you called someone up, they can't hear what you are saying. but you can hear them clearly. so i need to cancel the call then dial again.

another thing is, if you notice. the old nokia map which comes with early batch of e51 has more pin point places in the maps. eg, restaurant and etc. try search for mungo jerry.

when i updated to the new one nokia map 2. and i install the maps using map loader. the new maps sucks. lesser details. don't have mungo jerry. kanina!!~!
Perhaps your first problem is due to the network in your area? Maxis has been acting up on me too.

This post has been edited by mediumsliced: Sep 25 2008, 03:15 PM
mediumsliced
post Nov 17 2008, 02:42 PM

82 posts

Just updated mine in the office. Still don't see what's different.
mediumsliced
post Nov 18 2008, 02:13 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(intune @ Nov 18 2008, 02:55 AM)
I heard this phone get really heaty on the ears after a long chat .. is that true?
Not abnormally warm, if that's what you are worried about. Perhaps it's the metal lining the phone and the battery cover.
mediumsliced
post Dec 28 2008, 12:14 AM

82 posts

I don't think there are any variations sold in MY that doesn't do pinyin. Mine's an Avaxx set and it does pinyin out of the box.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0294sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:39 PM