Nokia Nokia E51, Wi-Fi for totally business-oriented
mediumsliced
Apr 9 2008, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(DeAn85 @ Apr 9 2008, 10:11 AM) did you guy sign in your mobile window live messenger? i did, but totally can't sign in.... message writing : i'm set"offline"mode and connection setting problem but i'm connected with wifi and using the web browser on the other hand,i also try mini opera as other pal mentioned but i'm stuck at front page, can't surf the other page like you guy said fast connection with this stuff  Mine works. Just checked. Accessed over office wi-fi connection.
mediumsliced
Apr 9 2008, 05:26 PM

You know, I haven't been in your scenario before. Can we have the number to try? Perhaps it's a network command issue. Perhaps it got malformed along the way. What network are you on? I wouldn't mind trying it out.
mediumsliced
Apr 10 2008, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Apr 10 2008, 09:49 AM) Am using Maxis, the number you have dialed is 03 58826564, let me know what you get....  Aiks, just dialed. It rang. And rang. And rang. None of that "the number you have dialed, is currently not in service" type message. Am on Maxis too. So, what gives?
mediumsliced
Apr 10 2008, 11:48 AM

OK, just tried it. The "Harap maaf, nombor yang anda dail, tiada dalam perkhidmatan" message comes on. Then I hang up. Then all is good. No hangs, no lockups.
Using *#0000#, it shows:
100.34.20 29-09-2007 RM-244 Nokia E51 (14.1)
What does yours show?
mediumsliced
Apr 10 2008, 04:03 PM

Anybody care to try with a second opinion?
Also, mydelsol, did you install any call related apps on your phone?
mediumsliced
Apr 11 2008, 11:19 AM

It might be an isolated issue with mydelsol's phone. Tried swapping your SIM with another person's?
mediumsliced
Apr 14 2008, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(Eoma @ Apr 14 2008, 05:17 PM) Hey guys, I sometimes receive sms's or calls with the +6 suffix and these will not show up as a Contact/Name even though I've stored both versions of that number (the regular non +6 and +6 number) in that respective Contact. Any way around this ? Thanks. You meant prefix, didn't you?  I am not sure about this, but I vaguely remember reading about some bug with 2 contacts with the same number giving problems to Nokia phones. I'm pretty anal about duplicates in my contacts, so I don't face that problem. Try removing one of the duplicates.
mediumsliced
Apr 15 2008, 11:24 PM

Hahahaha! I think I terkena what you guys have been describing. It's like, I already have a person's details in my contact list. Then, every time I receive SMS or phone calls from that person, their name doesn't appear, correct?
mediumsliced
Apr 17 2008, 11:10 PM

No leh, funny thing is, ALL my contacts are listed in the form of +60123456789. The only difference is, with this problematic contact, I've added an additional mobile detail in it.
mediumsliced
Apr 22 2008, 10:36 PM

You know that radio won't work without the headset plugged in, right?
mediumsliced
Apr 28 2008, 06:46 PM

Hey, how's YouTube Mobile working out for you guys? Mine doesn't work. Can you try it out? Go grab it from: http://m.youtube.comAlso, Skype just launched support for a couple of phones, ours not included, unfortunately.
mediumsliced
May 2 2008, 06:57 PM

You know what Dave? I've been looking for a 2.5 mm to 3.5 mm adapter too. Want to be kedekut and use my sweet pair of headcans to bench some tunes on my E51 but I can't find any adapters.
mediumsliced
May 9 2008, 02:43 PM

I would say the camera is pretty inferior. My 2-year old Panny VS7 took better 2 MP images than my current-gen E51. Anyway, that's isn't the E51's strong-point.
ekiddie, if you are looking for a cam-phone, you're reading the wrong thread.
mediumsliced
May 10 2008, 09:18 AM

I guess they had to skimp on a few details in order to squeeze down the price and the cam was one of the low priority areas. Apparently, there's going to be a no-cam version for those of us that work in secure facilities. But apart from that, RM1k gets you WiFi, metal body, 3.5G, S60 3.1, decent screen, slim build, MS Exchange support, excellent build and layout.
mediumsliced
May 12 2008, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(marble88 @ May 11 2008, 08:01 PM) wuah... serious this phone for business? huhu.. so low ler...  What's low? In other news, the original screen protector on mine is finally peeling off! Help! Anybody got themselves a screen protector they can recommend? This post has been edited by mediumsliced: May 12 2008, 03:04 PM
mediumsliced
May 12 2008, 04:12 PM

Nice. Which particular shop/kiosk did you buy it from in Digital Mall? PS: Was only kidding about the 1000-word review. Give you discount, 100-words only. This post has been edited by mediumsliced: May 12 2008, 04:17 PM
mediumsliced
May 12 2008, 04:40 PM

OK lah, you drive a hard bargain. 100-chara it is then.  Right, will go look this weekend. But actually, very lazy want to go there, always have to spin around looking for parking like a fool.
mediumsliced
May 20 2008, 08:49 AM

QUOTE(zad78 @ May 12 2008, 04:45 PM) why not you try the multi level parking lot there....its RM1.50 an hour. its beside the chinese food outlets. Managed to get it on Saturday. Found a spot near the back. Got it for RM15. Installed it myself. Pretty ok job for an amateur. Nice and shiny. Not sure if it's really scratch-resistant or not. Dare not try it. QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 19 2008, 03:05 PM) anyone selling the silver set? AP also nvm. thank you. Doubt it. QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 19 2008, 10:17 PM) is the Dpad made of metal too? Maybe. But then again, I wouldn't know it if it was chrome-plated plastic 'cos it sure feels like metal.