Entry Level Luxury Watches, For upper tier M40s and cheapskate T20s
ridox_orimabu
Nov 18 2021, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(PoorButHumble @ Nov 18 2021, 09:39 PM) Ya. Most collectors learned the hard way when they are well into a decade of collecting. That’s when the watches they purchased earlier in their collecting phase will start to break down and require servicing. Even those that you don’t wear will also need servicing at the 10 year mark due to the oils inside the movement drying up. I learned the hard way when watches in my collection broke down one after another. I remember spending over $20k in one year just on servicing fees before I started to sell watches that I don’t wear that much anymore. In the past, I had a sizable collection but had to consolidate into a smaller more manageable collection due to not wanting to maintain all of them. So end up wht is your collection now?
PoorButHumble
Nov 18 2021, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Nov 18 2021, 09:42 PM) So end up wht is your collection now? Mostly Omegas and Rolexes. But am moving into quartz watches now due to the lower maintenance costs and cool factor.
HairyRambutans
Nov 18 2021, 09:54 PM
Edifier
swanlover
Nov 18 2021, 09:58 PM
PRX is a steal if you only got few k budget…
If 10k+ budget Tudor could be the best choice..
Your money your decision…
krayden
Nov 18 2021, 09:58 PM
I recommend a used quarzt Grans Seiko. Got mine for around 8k. Build quality better than rolex. No need berthousand ringgit servicing after a few years. When you wanna wear, just pick up and go, no need set and wind. Real watch ppl wont look down on your poor quartz watch (most of them anyway)
icehart85
Nov 18 2021, 10:06 PM
Mana Grand Seiko?
Lembu Goreng
Nov 18 2021, 10:12 PM
Apple watch for the win!
Chic magnet also
ZeroSOFInfinity
Nov 18 2021, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(PoorButHumble @ Nov 18 2021, 09:45 PM) Mostly Omegas and Rolexes. But am moving into quartz watches now due to the lower maintenance costs and cool factor. Casio MRGs and GS Quartz would be a good start.
ridox_orimabu
Nov 18 2021, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(PoorButHumble @ Nov 18 2021, 09:45 PM) Mostly Omegas and Rolexes. But am moving into quartz watches now due to the lower maintenance costs and cool factor. Cool I was thinking u gone into that. Why not try GS quartz? Not the spring drive. The one with service interval of 50 years.
thexs
Nov 18 2021, 10:55 PM

Mine
Seiko SPB143 Tissot PRX Powermatic 80 Omega Seamaster Professional
Now I’m eyeing the Seiko ‘Seitona’ SSC813 and the new Hamilton Khaki Pilot
Grails? Rolex Datejust with fluted bezel IWC Big Pilot
thexs
Nov 18 2021, 10:56 PM

Btw owning more than 2 automatics you’ll need a watch winder unless you’re willing to hand wind every 2 days lol.
Quartz easier my G shock never disappoints
thexs
Nov 18 2021, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(swanlover @ Nov 18 2021, 09:58 PM) PRX is a steal if you only got few k budget… If 10k+ budget Tudor could be the best choice.. Your money your decision… Agreed the PRX is fucking amazing. Also Tudor BB58 is a bit small if you have bigger wrists. The new Pelagos is ugly for me.
thexs
Nov 18 2021, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(PoorButHumble @ Nov 18 2021, 09:00 PM) Million dollar question is where are you going to get your NOMOS serviced? It’s using in-house movement and there are no official service centers here locally. Seasoned collectors know to avoid brands with in-house movements and no official service centers to supply spare parts. Those two who voted NOMOS must be noobs. I like Nomos also. Service ah? It’s an excuse to travel to Germany ones every 5-7 years I guess 😂
Bonchi
Nov 18 2021, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(thexs @ Nov 18 2021, 10:56 PM) Btw owning more than 2 automatics you’ll need a watch winder unless you’re willing to hand wind every 2 days lol. Quartz easier my G shock never disappoints Pull the winder and leave it in the box. A few of mine has been like this for years. Daily wearing the casio f-91w now lol.
thexs
Nov 18 2021, 11:12 PM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 18 2021, 11:09 PM) Pull the winder and leave it in the box. A few of mine has been like this for years. Daily wearing the casio f-91w now lol. Yup now work from home so it’s worse. I wear my DW5600 most of the time anyway and when travelling to SEA countries. Don’t wanna lose your hand lol.
swanlover
Nov 18 2021, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(PoorButHumble @ Nov 18 2021, 09:27 PM) It’s still not in-house. In-house means unique movement produced and used exclusively by the brand. You don’t call Hamilton and Tissot watches with ETA movements in-house even though it is made by ETA and they are all part of the Swatch Group. So, the same logic applies to Tudor and Kenissi. Kenissi also makes movements for Chanel, Breitling and a lot of other micro brands. Same scenarios with Omega as they don’t make their own movements but supplies from ETA. Yup, Co-Ax exclusively for Omegas, but the MT is also exclusively for Tudor (or maybe shared with much expensive Breitling only). Chanel and other micros can’t touch this…
PoorButHumble
Nov 18 2021, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(thexs @ Nov 18 2021, 10:59 PM) I like Nomos also. Service ah? It’s an excuse to travel to Germany ones every 5-7 years I guess 😂 Service turnaround times are around 4 weeks for most brands but can be up to 6 months for PP and AP. I guess you are retired or don’t work as you will need to stay in Germany for 4 weeks while waiting to collect back your watch from servicing.
thexs
Nov 18 2021, 11:20 PM

QUOTE(PoorButHumble @ Nov 18 2021, 11:18 PM) Service turnaround times are around 4 weeks for most brands but can be up to 6 months for PP and AP. I guess you are retired or don’t work as you will need to stay in Germany for 4 weeks while waiting to collect back your watch from servicing. Never going to own a PP or AP so not a concern haha. They can mail it back to you. In fact you can mail it to them and get it mailed back if you really want to service in Glashutte. Insured package of course.
fuzzy
Nov 18 2021, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(thexs @ Nov 18 2021, 10:59 PM) I like Nomos also. Service ah? It’s an excuse to travel to Germany ones every 5-7 years I guess 😂 It's not even that hard to mail it overseas. Talk as if we live in stone age. Grand Seiko u send to Thong Sia also they just mail to Japan. Same goes for AP, PP. All also send overseas.
Nub!
Nov 18 2021, 11:22 PM
Just check the time from the phone la