74 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

[2021] MacBook Pro w/ M1 Pro/Max Discussion Thread, All systems Pro.

dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 11:04 AM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Nov 19 2021, 10:42 AM)
Yes, I had these exact issues with my naked Space Grey MacBook 16 before. And even under normal use! For the record, I usually baby my tech gadgets, so seeing scratches appear over time was definitely surprising, given how carefully I would handle the machines.

The way I see it ...

The silver MacBooks are more understated/subtle now in a sea of Space Grey MacBooks. (Many, including myself, who wanted to distinguish from the usual Silver Apple products have opted for Space Grey over the years.) Also, given how powerful these MacBooks are, having it in the 'usual silver' feels like an acknowledgement of how far Apple has come with their MacBooks, a bit like paying homage to the MacBooks of old. Then, there's the idea of practicality, and how silver MacBooks tend to have that timeless appeal.

However, the Space Grey MacBooks definitely exude sleekness and have that cool factor going for them. I also like how the grey can look different depending on the environment/lighting. They kind of tell you that it's a new generation MacBook; however, given that many MacBooks since 2015 have been in Space Grey, I feel like this may now be a moot point. And, of course, there's the issue of more obvious wear over time (only if you prefer not to use your MacBook with a case).

Lastly, I'm not sure about whether having a darker MacBook over a lighter one will yield any practical advantages. I mean ... unless you work in a room with absolutely no lighting/reflections/light-coloured objects, I feel it makes little difference to the overall experience.

Anyway, just my dua sen! icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks bro, yes I’ve seen my friends and colleagues who uses their space grey naked and there are visible scratches and silver lines around their machines after less than 6 months use with care (but they use it naked) and since I’m planning on using it naked this time around so I’ll opt for practicality…deep inside me I prefer the space grey but it’s probably a good time to switch (also coz I’ve read many comments and YouTube’s that the silver this year feels and looks different which could only tell when we see it in person), and I can’t wait for AASP to have them on display so I’ll just go with it, won’t go wrong getting a silver MacBook anyway…

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 19 2021, 11:13 AM
stuffx
post Nov 19 2021, 11:39 AM

719 posts

I saw a YouTube video few weeks ago mentioning about different touch feel on the latest MBP, suggesting it comes with a special coating. I cannot recall which video. Hopefully it really comes with a special coating to solve the space gray chipping issue.
Susuwatari
post Nov 19 2021, 11:55 AM

1,260 posts

I wouldn't bother about the color to be honest, just hope to get it asap for my work. Currently using space grey naked, no scratch of whatsoever after 5 years.
tarm
post Nov 19 2021, 12:13 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 10:40 AM)
Yea that’s the thing, this time around I’m planning to use it free and easy, as in no casing no external keyboard and monitor, wanted to utilize every single part of the laptop (might consider using a silicone keyboard but only when it’s in use, as I saw my colleague pouring his coffee into his mbp keyboard and formed out a few thousands to repair the mobo…sweat.gif hence the silver is more practical for me …

anyway I’ve switched to the silver and to my surprised it it changed to ‘preparing to ship’ right away, so there’s no chance to reverse the decision biggrin.gif was a little worried that it will push the delivery forward but it is apparently the same, still deliver by 23-25 Nov biggrin.gif it was a happy decision nonetheless..
Happy incident indeed!
ygchan
post Nov 19 2021, 12:27 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Asus W3V @ Nov 19 2021, 09:14 AM)
Anyone successfully use ShopBack when buying from apple online ?
Purchase Apple Watch before , ya, get cash rebate
stuffx
post Nov 19 2021, 12:58 PM

719 posts

Latest product like MBP 2021 and iPhone 13 series are not entitled for cashback on Shopback. For other items you can get 2% cashback.
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 01:22 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(tarm @ Nov 19 2021, 12:13 PM)
Happy incident indeed!
Should be getting it by Monday or Tuesday thumbup.gif

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 19 2021, 12:58 PM)
Latest product like MBP 2021 and iPhone 13 series are not entitled for cashback on Shopback. For other items you can get 2% cashback.
Sad they should have given us the rebate across all Apple purchases sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 19 2021, 01:59 PM
objectifyme
post Nov 19 2021, 02:30 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 11:04 AM)
Thanks bro, yes I’ve seen my friends and colleagues who uses their space grey naked and there are visible scratches and silver lines around their machines after less than 6 months use with care (but they use it naked) and since I’m planning on using it naked this time around so I’ll opt for practicality…deep inside me I prefer the space grey but it’s probably a good time to switch (also coz I’ve read many comments and YouTube’s that the silver this year feels and looks different which could only tell when we see it in person), and I can’t wait for AASP to have them on display so I’ll just go with it, won’t go wrong getting a silver MacBook anyway…
Won't go wrong getting a MacBook. innocent.gif
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 02:43 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Nov 19 2021, 02:30 PM)
Won't go wrong getting a MacBookinnocent.gif
Well, better not ..with that price tag biggrin.gif
stuffx
post Nov 19 2021, 03:25 PM

719 posts

Just now I bought another unit of 14” with the exact same custom specs and color, but I got a shipping date one week earlier compared to my order yesterday. So I immediately canceled the order I placed yesterday.
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 03:31 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 19 2021, 03:25 PM)
Just now I bought another unit of 14” with the exact same custom specs and color, but I got a shipping date one week earlier compared to my order yesterday. So I immediately canceled the order I placed yesterday.
Wow nice, so strange though they should have prioritized earlier delivery to people who have bought it yesterday sweat.gif

anyway, just received a text that my item is shipped! also received the email with tracking ID.. super speed smile.gif however its still shown as ‘preparing to ship’ in the order status page..

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 19 2021, 03:52 PM
Ziet Inv
post Nov 19 2021, 03:56 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 03:31 PM)
Wow nice, so strange though they should have prioritized earlier delivery to people who have bought it yesterday sweat.gif

anyway, just received a text that my item is shipped! also received the email with tracking ID.. super speed smile.gif however its still shown as ‘preparing to ship’ in the order status page..

That's really fast! Looks like 14" owners will get em first!
vostroxe
post Nov 19 2021, 03:59 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 03:31 PM)

So fast. those who ordered today, the shipment 2 - 3 weeks liao.
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 04:08 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 19 2021, 03:56 PM)
That's really fast! Looks like 14" owners will get em first!
those who pick 14” or 16” early yesterday should be getting it fast, especially those on main page without separate customs (especially on the ram upgrade)…I took the 16” 32/1TB that was on the main page and it was written delivery within 1-3 days (that was also one of my main criteria, can’t put myself to wait another month or I will end up cancelling and preordering different specs many times before they actually ship it out laugh.gif that 1 month wait since announced was a painful one and a roller coaster ride..no more waiting notworthy.gif

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Nov 19 2021, 03:59 PM)
So fast. those who ordered today, the shipment 2 - 3 weeks liao.
Yea I think once batch 1 sold out, the next batch will be 2-3 weeks as shown…selling like hot cakes but no where close to iPhones biggrin.gif

Ziet Inv
post Nov 19 2021, 04:09 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 04:08 PM)
those who pick 14” or 16” early yesterday should be getting it fast, especially those on main page without separate customs (especially on the ram upgrade)…I took the 16” 32/1TB that was on the main page and it was written delivery within 1-3 days (that was also one of my main criteria, can’t put myself to wait another month or I will end up cancelling and preordering different specs many times before they actually ship it out laugh.gif that 1 month wait since announced was a painful one and a roller coaster ride..no more waiting  notworthy.gif
Yea I think once batch 1 sold out, the next batch will be 2-3 weeks as shown…selling like hot cakes but no where close to iPhones biggrin.gif

Did you have some sort of browser reminding or something (i recall someone sharing it back when M1 first came to Malaysia last December) tongue.gif
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 04:13 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 18 2021, 12:36 PM)
Was in a super early morning meeting and got so excited when saw that it has finally arrived biggrin.gif last minute changes of mind, went with the 16” instead, getting it by 23rd

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 10:40 AM)
Yea that’s the thing, this time around I’m planning to use it free and easy, as in no casing no external keyboard and monitor, wanted to utilize every single part of the laptop (might consider using a silicone keyboard but only when it’s in use, as I saw my colleague pouring his coffee into his mbp keyboard and formed out a few thousands to repair the mobo…sweat.gif hence the silver is more practical for me …

anyway I’ve switched to the silver and to my surprised it it changed to ‘preparing to ship’ right away, so there’s no chance to reverse the decision biggrin.gif was a little worried that it will push the delivery forward but it is apparently the same, still deliver by 23-25 Nov biggrin.gif it was a happy decision nonetheless..
QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 19 2021, 04:09 PM)
Did you have some sort of browser reminding or something (i recall someone sharing it back when M1 first came to Malaysia last December)  tongue.gif
No I actually didn’t buy it early, I was in an early meeting till I saw someone updated this thread that it has arrived, ding dong and stuffs I pulled the trigger around 12.30pm yesterday…and cancelled it early this morning to switch to silver, and this morning still 1-3 days delivery, guess they just ran out of stock earlier changing it to 2-3 weeks…I believe after batch 2 sold out the next one would be 4-5 weeks or even longer…better be quick tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 19 2021, 04:20 PM
Ziet Inv
post Nov 19 2021, 04:17 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 04:13 PM)
No I actually didn’t buy it early, I was in an early meeting till I saw someone updated this thread that it has arrived, ding dong and stuffs I pulled the trigger around 12.30pm yesterday…and cancelled it early this morning to switch to silver, and this morning still 1-3 days delivery, guess they just ran out of stock earlier changing it to 2-3 weeks…I believe after batch 2 sold out the next one would be 4-5 weeks or even longer…better be quick tongue.gif
danggg envyyyy 23rd so fast tongue.gif
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 04:21 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 19 2021, 04:17 PM)
danggg envyyyy 23rd so fast  tongue.gif
Took a screenshot this morning, still says 1-3 days delivery tongue.gif

Well Apple has a record of surprising people (either push it earlier or later) there’s a slight chance they might even deliver it earlier than 23rd haha

This post has been edited by dikae: Nov 19 2021, 04:22 PM
Ziet Inv
post Nov 19 2021, 04:35 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 19 2021, 04:21 PM)
Took a screenshot this morning, still says 1-3 days delivery tongue.gif

Well Apple has a record of surprising people (either push it earlier or later) there’s a slight chance they might even deliver it earlier than 23rd haha

My experience for the 2 macbooks for the past 24 months were - they delivered on the first day of the promised date

e.g. if 15th to 23rd december, always deliver on 15th

so far so good, love it
dikae
post Nov 19 2021, 04:43 PM

an apple a day
9,231 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 19 2021, 04:35 PM)
My experience for the 2 macbooks for the past 24 months were - they delivered on the first day of the promised date

e.g. if 15th to 23rd december, always deliver on 15th

so far so good, love it
yeap always love buying from apple site but this year they have disappointed many people across all their products, too long waiting time compare to our local AASP ready stocks..a lot of people cancel while waiting and went with ready stocks instead..

anyway they have updated to shipped thumbup.gif

74 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.2516sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:03 PM