10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Options Q&A and Discussions, Covered calls, protective puts...

Yggdrasil
post May 26 2022, 02:38 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 26 2022, 02:14 PM)
if i encounter a drastic bear market, I'll incur losses (due to the dropped value of my stocks in CC), then I need to cough up the money to honour the puts i sold. so lose $$$ by 2x?
Either roll or buy back the puts at a loss.
Ramjade
post May 26 2022, 04:08 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 26 2022, 02:14 PM)
if i encounter a drastic bear market, I'll incur losses (due to the dropped value of my stocks in CC), then I need to cough up the money to honour the puts i sold. so lose $$$ by 2x?
Keep in mind when you sell a put if in the money it will be assigned.
Yes you need to cough out cash to buy 100 shares.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 26 2022, 04:13 PM)
selling options can work provided you are able to fully cover the 100 shares. when you have that amt of shares, the supposed $1.5k drop is a reasonable % of the stock value (not overleverage)
That's why I don't do naked calls. All my stuff are covered.
I only do naked puts. Cause I don't mind getting assign and it's just like buying house on loan. Sell covered call on it and slowly pay down the principal and interest.

But with interest rate increasing, my amount of naked puts have reduced to basically usd30k/year (basically enough for my options premium to cover + my salary at rm5k/month)

Like mentioned, if assigned I am ok with it cause the amount of premium I can generate is about half of that usd30k and I want to get assigned.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 26 2022, 04:24 PM
Medufsaid
post May 26 2022, 04:23 PM

3,497 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2022, 04:08 PM)
yea i know. just hinting what Toku's setup actually is

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: May 26 2022, 04:25 PM
Ramjade
post May 26 2022, 04:26 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 26 2022, 03:48 PM)
no time to do options yet.. stocks also enough headache for me.

now I know why people choose ETF.. so much less work needed. no need read up so much and care so much. dump money in ETF then cabut.. wait 5 years come back and check later.

I read that playing options the right way can reduce risk a lot.. but first we need to know what is the "right way".

Options much more complicated.. if one have time and confidence can try it.
if make wrong move heard can lose money very fast and a lot also.
You can do options on etf like spy, and qqq.You don't need to do options on stocks only. I just like stocks cause I don't like the rubbish that comes with etf. Like Boeing, intel, IBM.

Make your life simple. Buy etc and do options on them. Can sleep well at night too.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 26 2022, 04:27 PM
Toku
post May 26 2022, 05:53 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ May 26 2022, 04:23 PM)
yea i know. just hinting what Toku's setup actually is
Sorry, I was under the impression that the stock is what he wants to invest and he just want to lower his cost? May be I have mistaken.
That is just one way that I know to lower the cost of stock I want to keep, without having to take risk to sell it and hope to be able to buyback at a lower price.
Toku
post May 26 2022, 06:13 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2022, 04:08 PM)
That's why I don't do naked calls. All my stuff are covered.
I only do naked puts. Cause I don't mind getting assign and it's just like buying house on loan. Sell covered call on it and slowly pay down the principal and interest.

But with interest rate increasing, my amount of naked puts have reduced to basically usd30k/year (basically enough for my options premium to cover + my salary at rm5k/month)

Like mentioned, if assigned I am ok with it cause the amount of premium I can generate is about half of that usd30k and I want to get assigned.
I admired your fortitude. You basically all-in with options. Your tactics seems to be flawless. And I think in a sideway market, it is something I can do with a part of my portfolio.

May be you could re-evaluate again on your pricing ladder? Like someone posted before, an entry price mistake will take lots of % in returns to recover the loss. The stock price at current level is still overvalue....why waste your part time income...
While building your wealth, live your life as well... Money is not everything, spend it and enjoy life...
Ramjade
post May 26 2022, 06:17 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ May 26 2022, 06:13 PM)
I admired your fortitude. You basically all-in with options. Your tactics seems to be flawless. And I think in a sideway market, it is something I can do with a part of my portfolio.

May be you could re-evaluate again on your pricing ladder? Like someone posted before, an entry price mistake will take lots of % in returns to recover the loss. The stock price at current level is still overvalue....why waste your part time income...
While building your wealth, live your life as well...  Money is not everything, spend it and enjoy life...
It's never flawless. It's whether market shoot up or down too much.
Well I aim to achieve FAT FIRE in 10 years. So no choice need to grind. I have counted can't even achieved THIN FIRE on dividends but not impossible to achieve Mid to FAT FIRE with options and side income.
Toku
post May 26 2022, 11:30 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2022, 06:17 PM)
It's never flawless. It's whether market shoot up or down too much.
Well I aim to achieve FAT FIRE in 10 years. So no choice need to grind. I have counted can't even achieved THIN FIRE on dividends but not impossible to achieve Mid to FAT FIRE with options and side income.
First time I heard FAT FIRE and THIN FIRE. What are they?
Ramjade
post May 26 2022, 11:48 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ May 26 2022, 11:30 PM)
Fat fire means you have more than enough.
Thin fire means might be just enough and may require calculations/budget.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: May 26 2022, 11:49 PM
RayleighH
post May 26 2022, 11:49 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ May 26 2022, 11:30 PM)
https://www.businessinsider.com/personal-fi...retirement-fire

Lean FIRE is when someone has saved up 25 times their annual expenses and lives on a "lean" budget, spending less than the average American (around $60,000 a year).

By contrast, someone who achieves Fat FIRE spends more than the average person. Pursuing a Fat FIRE number — regardless of how much you actually plan to spend — can afford greater flexibility, freedom, and protection in early retirement.

With Coast FIRE, you save to a target number by a certain age and then stop saving and let compounding gains "coast" you to your ultimate target retirement nest egg.

Lon3Rang3r00
post May 27 2022, 11:05 PM

1,197 posts

It's funny that sometime i felt that whatever i posted, the market will go oppose me. Still, doesn't stop me to continue research and try out. I sell CC on PLTR at the strike of $8.5 on 24-May which at the time is trading around $7.6 didn't expect the deal which boosted their stock, too late to close the option just now, but nevertheless I will Sell Puts to buy it back at $8.5 next week.

Maybe I'll free up my $$ by buying Long Call instead and do PMCC or just totally ignore and let the stock grow and exercised the Call options when i remember, while using the $$ to buy other growth stocks to accumulate shares.

Lon3Rang3r00
post Jun 4 2022, 10:58 PM

1,197 posts

I have a few questions For PMCC

PMCC = which you are Buying a LONG deep ITM Call with around 180 DTE. Then selling a SHORT OTM Call with DTE <60 or whichever DTE you feel good about it.

Let's take AMD for example, Reference: AMD inc Yahoo Options Chart
- Buy Long Calls with the strike price $90 expiry on 16-December with the premium of $26.16.
- Sell Short Calls against it with the strike price of $120 expiry on 19-August with the premium of $5.75.

Questions:-
1) The total amount that I need to pay for the Buying the Long Call is $2616. Can i assume the breakeven price for this options excluded the Selling Calls is $116.16? (26.16+90.00). Meaning if AMD rises above $130, I'll be making profit if i exercised the call options anytime before Expiry and sell it immediately? (Provided i have the upfront cash to buy the entire share at $9000)

2) After i sell the calls for $575, my total cost for this PMCC is $2051. Next is to wait till 19-August, if it expired worthless then only i can sell another calls?
2a) What if the Short Call got exercised? Since I'm using IBKR, does the initial Long Call exercised automatically? or IBKR will treated as "Naked Calls" and ask me to cough out 100 AMD shares?
2b) If the short call got exercised, how much did i lost in total?

3) If i don't have enough cash to exercise the long call (buying the 100 shares before the long call expired), I'll have to sell a short calls to ensure it got called away before the expiry date?

notworthy.gif Still a toddler here

dwRK
post Jun 5 2022, 08:57 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Jun 4 2022, 10:58 PM)
I have a few questions For PMCC

PMCC = which you are Buying a LONG deep ITM Call with around 180 DTE. Then selling a SHORT OTM Call with DTE <60 or whichever DTE you feel good about it.

Let's take AMD for example,  Reference: AMD inc Yahoo Options Chart
- Buy Long Calls with the strike price $90 expiry on 16-December with the premium of $26.16.
- Sell Short Calls against it with the strike price of $120 expiry on 19-August with the premium of $5.75.

1) The total amount that I need to pay for the Buying the Long Call is $2616. Can i assume the breakeven price for this options excluded the Selling Calls is $116.16? (26.16+90.00). Meaning if AMD rises above $130, I'll be making profit if i exercised the call options anytime before Expiry and sell it immediately? (Provided i have the upfront cash to buy the entire share at $9000)

2) After i sell the calls for $575, my total cost for this PMCC is $2051. Next is to wait till 19-August, if it expired worthless then only i can sell another calls?
2a) What if the Short Call got exercised? Since I'm using IBKR, does the initial Long Call exercised automatically? or IBKR will treated as "Naked Calls" and ask me to cough out 100 AMD shares?

3) If i don't have enough cash to exercise the long call (buying the 100 shares before the long call expired), I'll have to sell a short calls to ensure it got called away before the expiry date?

enter it in ibkr, and it will show a p/l chart for you... you can also use many other options calculators on the web to visualize the trade

your bull call diagonal debit spread... is most profitable at 120 strike at expiry... and you want prices around here for both legs... lol... manage your trade based on this p/l chart... don't simply trade without proper understanding, your short calls shouldn't be naked unless it's deeply otm... but you'll need to manage your long call too...

practice paper trading first lah... anyways have fun...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jun 5 2022, 10:31 AM
Medufsaid
post Jun 5 2022, 12:45 PM

3,497 posts

Answering from my phone, so not gonna format my answers

just sell back the option. You'll forfeit timevalue if you convert to shares before expiry
2) After i sell the calls for $575, my total cost for this PMCC is $2051. Next is to wait till 19-August, if it expired worthless then only i can sell another calls
can rollover to further dates
your long call still has time value, I hope ibkr converts to a $120 short position. Your call will now become a synthetic put
if it's now a synthetic put, then there's max loss and unlimited gain, well until stock reaches $0
can always rollover

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jun 5 2022, 02:46 PM
Yggdrasil
post Jun 5 2022, 04:10 PM

2,210 posts

You should not exercise the calls even if you profit because you will be losing time value and it is costly to exercise. Usually you will sell to close.

At expiry, your BEP will be $116.16 without short call. If you sold the Aug call, it will be $110.41 (26.16+90.00-5.75) and your max loss will be $2,041 (26.16-5.75) if the share price is below $90.

Note that your longer DTE call that you bought is subject to greater IV crush/IV gain since it has longer DTE than the shorter call. This means you could incur loss or gain before even reaching expiry.

You can always roll before expiry. Of course, holding till the 19 Aug call expires gives you the most theta decay.

After it expires, whether you want to sell another call depends on the share price. If the stock price is below $90 on 20 August, you won't want to sell calls below $90 strike price. Meanwhile, selling calls above $90 strike price will give you peanuts. Like for real peanuts. Maybe like $200 max for 3 months DTE depending on IV.

Your short call should not be automatically exercised near expiry unless it is deep ITM. Anyhow, it is better to roll or close it rather than allow your broker to do funny things and also for a peace of mind.

It is likely that you will be short selling AMD shares i.e. cough out the shares if your short call gets exercised. This means you may incur short selling interest fees.

Your loss from the short call should be offset with the long call. The risk is when the stock spikes above $120 on 19 August, you buy to close, then the stock crashes below $90 by December.

This is why if your shorter DTE call is deep ITM and about to be exercised, just close it with the long call.

Can't tell for sure but likely a net gain. Sometimes you will still be in a loss although your short call did not get exercised because of IV crush on your long call.

This is why people don't usually buy calls when IV is high.

No.

Also, keep in mind that if AMD is below $90 in December, you might lose around $2k if things go South. You might be better off selling naked/covered put or bull put spreads at around $70 or $80 strike price to be on the safe side.
dwRK
post Jun 5 2022, 04:29 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 5 2022, 12:45 PM)
Answering from my phone, so not gonna format my answers

just sell back the option. You'll forfeit timevalue if you convert to shares before expiry
boss... time value has been lost regardless no?... going to shares eliminate decay since not holding anymore...
but op... in this instance just sell to close, no reason to pay double fees converting to shares and selling it...

can rollover to further dates
boss... i think he's asking if he must wait for his first sto call to expire worthless before selling another...
op... you can buy to close before expiry and then sell another... should not sell another as naked call if you don't know what you are doing, as your existing long call is insufficient to cover both, and beyond some point you will lose your shirt...

your long call still has time value, I hope ibkr converts to a $120 short position. Your call will now become a synthetic put
dunno...most likely ibkr will liquidate the long call if don't have enough funds in account... they wont convert/open another position that will subject op to new risks... should be well documented by ibkr help/education/somewhere

if it's now a synthetic put, then there's max loss and unlimited gain,  well until stock reaches $0
op... at 130 strike at expiry... your short call lost 440... but your long call gain 1400... overall position is 1200 gain, factoring in all the premiums i think...

can always rollover

op... just to add... imho this is not a good trade...

you risk about 2k for only 1k gain with only around 50% prob of success... ok good for learning lah... hahaha

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jun 5 2022, 04:40 PM
Lon3Rang3r00
post Jun 6 2022, 12:48 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 5 2022, 04:29 PM)
op... just to add... imho this is not a good trade...

you risk about 2k for only 1k gain with only around 50% prob of success... ok good for learning lah... hahaha
sad.gif Still taking baby steps at a time, always felt like just touching the surface of it... wondering why it's so hard for me to understand PMCC...

After i posted my previous, i go ahead and watch couple more of videos explaining on PMCC, and you probably guessed it right ~ i still have few underlying question that I wonder why most video don't talk about it. Firstly, I found that PMCC is just a term for a variant of Diagonal Spread or to be specified Calendar Spread rclxm9.gif (I'm dumbass). I also realized that buying the Long Call doesn't mean you own the 100 shares of the stock, you just own the "Options" so when something happen with your Short Calls falls ITM and got assigned, the brokerage will do the stupid right thing and liquidate any asset that you're holding except the Long Call Options, as most brokerage did not see the option as your "Asset".

So then, most videos discuss the Pros and Cons about using PMCC where the maximum risk only the amount of the money you paid for the premium on the initial Long Call + any subsequent premium if you roll or close your Short Call options at a loss. hmm.gif I wonder why none of the video that i watched mention about what to do with the Initial Long Call position? Is it i missing something here?

From my understanding, if you "Buy" to open a Call position and didn't do anything about it, the "Buy" option will reach it expiry date and expired worthless. And from those video i watched, I don't see how you can continue to sell a short call until it can cover the entire premium for the initial long call and still make a profit from it. So in the end i still have to cough out $9000 to fulfil the Long buy Option at expiry? (i really thing i missing something here, hope anyone can pointed it out)

p/s: Pretty sure all the sifu out there are planning to gang me on this... : notworthy.gif
dwRK
post Jun 6 2022, 07:00 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Jun 6 2022, 12:48 PM)
sad.gif Still taking baby steps at a time, always felt like just touching the surface of it... wondering why it's so hard for me to understand PMCC...
you skipped many baby steps that's why... bull call diagonal debit spread (pmcc) is an intermediate strategy... laugh.gif

After i posted my previous, i go ahead and watch couple more of videos explaining on PMCC, and you probably guessed it right ~ i still have few underlying question that I wonder why most video don't talk about it. Firstly, I found that PMCC is just a term for a variant of Diagonal Spread or to be specified Calendar Spread  rclxm9.gif (I'm dumbass). I also realized that buying the Long Call doesn't mean you own the 100 shares of the stock, you just own the "Options" so when something happen with your Short Calls falls ITM and got assigned, the brokerage will do the stupid right thing and liquidate any asset that you're holding except the Long Call Options, as most brokerage did not see the option as your "Asset".
usually you open the two legs as a pair, so the long call will get closed to cover the short call... if you didn't open as a pair, then they usually take cash first before liquidating other positions...

So then, most videos discuss the Pros and Cons about using PMCC where the maximum risk only the amount of the money you paid for the premium on the initial Long Call + any subsequent premium if you roll or close your Short Call options at a loss.  hmm.gif I wonder why none of the video that i watched mention about what to do with the Initial Long Call position? Is it i missing something here?

From my understanding, if you "Buy" to open a Call position and didn't do anything about it, the "Buy" option will reach it expiry date and expired worthless.
it will expire itm/atm/otm... otm is worthless, itm/atm you must decide what to do, sell it away or take assignment, if do nothing its gone but this depends on broker...

And from those video i watched, I don't see how you can continue to sell a short call until it can cover the entire premium for the initial long call and still make a profit from it.
your long call has value if done correctly, profit from long call + premiums collected from short calls

So in the end i still have to cough out $9000 to fulfil the Long buy Option at expiry? (i really thing i missing something here, hope anyone can pointed it out)

p/s: Pretty sure all the sifu out there are planning to gang me on this...  : notworthy.gif
nobody gang you yet... so far see ppl trying to help only... wink.gif

come i share imho the best site to learn everything about options... ppl can pay good money elsewhere to learn and wont be half as good... https://optionalpha.com/courses

Medufsaid
post Jun 7 2022, 10:44 AM

3,497 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Jun 6 2022, 12:48 PM)
So then, most videos discuss the Pros and Cons about using PMCC
which videos do you watch?
Davidtcf
post Jun 7 2022, 12:12 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

So complex rclxub.gif

I will try paper trading at options first before trying out the real thing.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:47 AM