FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

guy3288
post Nov 25 2025, 05:09 PM

5,845 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Nov 25 2025, 05:05 PM)
My first car I bought cash was in 2012.  It was around RM430k and even back then no audit letter issued to me.  My recent big car purchases have been over RM500k per car.
you are in different league bro,
you are paying LHDN in hundreds of k a year
you are ok
but not most of us here..... biggrin.gif

i believe many in here also can buy car cash RM500k
but they wont dare do it if paying tax below RM100k a year

GeekinE90
post Nov 25 2025, 05:22 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2025, 06:09 PM)
you are ok

Difficult to live stress free if you hide income from the taxman. Just pay what is due to the govt. You will live much happier and free.
HolyCooler
post Nov 25 2025, 06:37 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2025, 05:09 PM)
you are ok

I am always wondering how u guys avoiding tax.

As an employee and also a share-holder, i always follow the rule and pay everything. No one in the company would offer any "trick" to avoid tax, and the bosses would not do "special arrangement" for anyone also.

I am planning to get a new car and pay in full cash after i am retired, and i never worried about LHDN, this is peace of mind.

HolyCooler
post Nov 25 2025, 06:48 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 25 2025, 01:43 PM)
While I'm not sure how getting loan will avoid raising red flag in LHDN, I personally don't think getting loan nor pay cash will cause the red flag. Almost every time of my big ticket item, I will get another audit from LHDN. Even the most recent my car also raising the red flag. I'm just employed and max out most of the reliefs, so almost no case for them to waste money on me. I'm not sure raising the red flag is called for audit or whether there is any other example of this.
One of my relatives was very rich (30 years ago already has over million), doing business, he was always getting audited by LHDN. He told us it was due to some people jealous of his wealth and secretly reported him to LHDN to give him troubles.
guy3288
post Nov 25 2025, 08:02 PM

5,845 posts

looks like normal audit ,
the usual simple table audits
especially if you are just an employee
see you overclaim or not
unlucky can kena few times

less frequent is field audit
when they want to check your
activities

if tax fraud reported by someone
with evidence transaction details etc
that would be different.

i doubt simply reporting your enemy can result in any audit
false and malicious report is an offence

jasontoh
post Nov 25 2025, 08:20 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2025, 04:31 PM)
bro yes that is the point..WHEN and IF they got asked...how?

your frens all got  supportive docs to back up
what they declared sure ok bro.
now you tell........ biggrin.gif
all the while i suspected that was it

bank loan 0% tak da lah...

based on  credit card yes, i agree ada.
and if you know the lobang,
can even swipe card take cash out lagi syiok.
It's bank loan, not credit card - something like personal loan, I forgot what they usually call the name. This one usually depending on the banker whether they still have quota and call your phone or not. What I mean is credit card EzCash/Call for cash also got - which is about the same just that the credit card one will use the the card limit, but the loan one doesn't. It might however cause the CTOS/CCRIS not nice. Just in case you are wondering, the bank is RHB, I don't know how to get this type of kangtao though.

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Nov 25 2025, 08:25 PM
guy3288
post Nov 25 2025, 08:44 PM

5,845 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 25 2025, 08:20 PM)
It's bank loan, not credit card - something like personal loan, I forgot what they usually call the name. This one usually depending on the banker whether they still have quota and call your phone or not. What I mean is credit card EzCash/Call for cash also got - which is about the same just that the credit card one will use the the card limit, but the loan one doesn't. It might however cause the CTOS/CCRIS not nice. Just in case you are wondering, the bank is RHB, I don't know how to get this type of kangtao though.
personal loan?
No need to sign loan agreement?

you pay back monthly installment to a loan account?
no need to go to RHB?

i know RHB has special BT paid into savings account but
monthly installments charged into your credit card
this is not personal loan

jasontoh
post Nov 25 2025, 09:30 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2025, 08:44 PM)
personal loan?
No need to sign  loan agreement?

you pay back monthly installment  to a loan account?
no need to go to RHB?

i know RHB has special BT paid into savings account but
monthly installments charged into your credit card
this is not personal loan
This will take up your card limit. I can't recall what it was called already, but not personal loan, although it's basically personal loan with fancy naming, and it is approved based on the income. Also this was before Covid, my 1st time with any account with the bank before I terminate the service, recently I don't have it anymore.

This post has been edited by jasontoh: Nov 25 2025, 09:34 PM
guy3288
post Nov 25 2025, 10:32 PM

5,845 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 25 2025, 09:30 PM)
This will take up your card limit. I can't recall what it was called already, but not personal loan, although it's basically personal loan with fancy naming, and it is approved based on the income. Also this was before Covid, my 1st time with any account with the bank before I terminate the service, recently I don't have it anymore.
if bank calls to offer personal loan at 0% and zero fees
i would be very sceptical

unsecured personal loan is very high risk to banks

we default just how much penalty can they charge?
1% per year?

but when it was tied to credit card then different
penalties fee is very profitable

that is why we have so many 0% advances or BTs
in all kinds and forms
can even bank money into your savings
becos underlying terms in credit card penalties
is very profitable
Hansel
post Yesterday, 05:17 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Nov 25 2025, 05:05 PM)
My first car I bought cash was in 2012.  It was around RM430k and even back then no audit letter issued to me.  My more recent big car purchases have been over RM500k per car.
If you don’t mind, can you share with us a ballpark of the amt of tax you pay per year for the last few years when you bought your cars in cash ?
Hansel
post Yesterday, 05:21 AM

9,347 posts

Frankly… if one is earnings millions in wages snd in straighforward income without deductions, etc…. No reason not to pay the taxes. After all.., I still think Msian taxes are not exorbitant snd LHDN does not practise int’l tax. You guys can take that I have compared and I have experienced such in a few countries.
The main problem is when there are deductions and there are gray areas… which causes treatment variances. Then taxpayers starts debating.
These debates are time-wasting !
Ramjade
post Yesterday, 01:34 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2025, 05:05 PM)
bro we are talking about taking bank loans from malaysia banks

tell me which bank here  gives you loan at 0%.

banks  want to make money from you
no free lunch
Don't look at Malaysia banks
Look at rates by IBKR for Japanese yen
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/tradi...argin-rates.php
1.866%p.a

Another example by Singapore bank
https://www.dbs.com.sg/treasures/investment...-financing/mrtl
Take the Japanese yen and buy Malaysian bonds. How much interest don't know. I know you love bonds.
guy3288
post Yesterday, 02:33 PM

5,845 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 26 2025, 01:34 PM)
Don't look at Malaysia banks
Look at rates by IBKR for Japanese yen
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/tradi...argin-rates.php
1.866%p.a

Another example by Singapore bank
https://www.dbs.com.sg/treasures/investment...-financing/mrtl
Take the Japanese yen and buy Malaysian bonds. How much interest don't know. I know you love bonds.
bro got so good lobang meh?
cannot just look at interest
must consider procedures
admin fees
forex exchange
etc.

easiest is money in here
got 0% sapu them all

i have taken cummulatively at least RM5 millions
and counting.. some digital apps so long still takda kasi tutup lobang..
cukup lah what's available here...

no need look so far so yen there leh... smile.gif
Ramjade
post Yesterday, 03:39 PM

24,329 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 26 2025, 02:33 PM)
bro got so good lobang meh?
cannot just look at interest
must consider procedures
admin fee's
forex exchange
etc.

easiest is money in here
got 0% sapu them all

i have taken cummulatively at least RM5 millions
and counting.. some digital apps so long still takda kasi tutup lobang..
cukup lah what's available here...

no need look so far so yen there leh... smile.gif
Interactive broker no fees. You pay only interest and they give you real time spot rates. No banks will give you spot rates unless you are super super VIP. That is why I love interactive broker. They give common folks like me access to spot rates.

Of course must have collateral la for both

For DBS obviously need to maintain SGD350k with them which can be bond and or other investment you let DBS hold on.

Anyway not my cup of tea. I am more interested in passive income then this using foreign currency and investing in higher interest stuff.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Yesterday, 03:42 PM
HolyCooler
post Yesterday, 05:14 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 25 2025, 08:02 PM)

i doubt simply reporting  your enemy can result in any audit
false and malicious report is an offence
It was more than 30 years ago. And that time many government staff + businessman under table "transactions". The one who reported my relative should be in the same industry or could be close "friends". According to my relative, he said surely was reported by someone who know him well and know his income sources. He said it was quite troublesome to handle, he didn't say he got fined or not, i was only 10-12 years old that time when i overhead the adult's talking.

0.0171sec    1.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:10 AM