FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 01:25 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 30 2022, 12:46 PM)
DIY investors like you surely can beat these ILP fund managers return right?
nothing is certain.... anyone who tells you otherwise most probably is either not experienced enough or have an agenda.

that's why people say it is good to diversify....

I bought ILP like 15 years ago and been obediently paying my monthly premium since then.... now it has equity funds worth of like 30K rm.... not great, but not bad.
square2
post Dec 30 2022, 01:33 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 30 2022, 11:53 AM)
Dont mix up fixed rate with effective rate. Creditcard rate at 2.9-3.5% is effectively 6 to 7%.
that is because you need to pay on the next statement. if you already have cash on hand and no intention to lock it in FD, you could easily offset the amount

most importantly, know your game and the rules well

i am not good in trading, therefore i do not trade. if i am good at accumulating, then i will do it well

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 30 2022, 01:25 PM)
nothing is certain.... anyone who tells you otherwise most probably is either not experienced enough or have an agenda.

I bought ILP like 15 years ago and been obediently paying my monthly premium since then.... now it has equity funds worth of like 30K rm.... not great, but not bad.
imo, DIY is better but you better pick good blue chip stocks

ILP - agent takes 150% of your annual premium as service fee. i neither disagree or agree, but to have someone service you is much better. unless your other half have knowledge and financial literacy. it is better to pay to someone you know to serve your family in difficult times

This post has been edited by square2: Dec 30 2022, 01:35 PM
zstan
post Dec 30 2022, 01:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 30 2022, 01:25 PM)

as long as the funds are good enough to sustain the premium it is good enough for me. ILP is not for profit.
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2022, 02:01 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 30 2022, 12:46 PM)
DIY investors like you surely can beat these ILP fund managers return right?
QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 30 2022, 12:58 PM)
The accumulation of amount of variance between ilp and standalone, if used to invest over the span of 30 yrs, will be large ..later at age 60 can use it to subsidise the higher standalone premium.
The premium of ilp may not be fixed as if the returns from investment of ilp is not enough to cover the rises of medical inflation, then I believes the premium of ilp will rise to enable continuous os its sustainability.
I dont operate on instant cash availablity. Maybe, maybe not. But if you got heart attack and need urgent op, I am unlikely to come out with instant RM30-40k cash one shot.
guy3288
post Dec 30 2022, 02:19 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 30 2022, 11:48 AM)
Not really, only when traveling once every few months.
RM40k a month lifestyle...
Struggling wage earners will pengsan see how you splurge there

QUOTE(square2 @ Dec 30 2022, 11:43 AM)
thought about that. probably going to re-finance my housing loan.

some loans like car loans and credit card cash advance loans are dirt cheap. take it and throw inside during FD promotional rate could yield you additional 0.5-1% after contra.

the real deal comes when financial crisis strikes again. you can easily forgo the interest and get good blue chip stocks at 30-50% off
Bro first time i hear take credit card money (not 0% BT) and car loan money put in FD can make money
Are you sure about that?
You better go check properly ada untung kah like that..

Dont mix up fixed rate with effective rate. Creditcard rate at 2.9-3.5% is effectively 6 to 7%.
Too bad still got people unaware of this.

Cubalagi
post Dec 30 2022, 02:29 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 02:01 PM)
I dont operate on instant cash availablity. Maybe, maybe not. But if you got heart attack and need urgent op, I am unlikely to come out with instant RM30-40k cash one shot.
We are talking abt stand alone medical insurance vs ILP right? Not insurance vs non insurance. The stand alone medical card will still pay for your surgery.

Ramjade
post Dec 30 2022, 02:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 30 2022, 02:29 PM)
We are talking abt stand alone medical insurance vs ILP right? Not insurance vs non insurance. The stand alone medical card will still pay for your surgery.
Yes. I thought we are talking about cash Vs medical insurance. Yes standalone medical insurance will pay for the surgery.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 30 2022, 02:33 PM
square2
post Dec 30 2022, 02:59 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 30 2022, 02:19 PM)
Bro first time i hear take credit card money (not 0% BT) and car loan money  put in FD can make money
Are you sure about that?
You better go check properly ada untung kah like that..
Too bad still got people unaware of this.
yes. can earn. i tried it few times already. for lump sum calculation, just use flat rate. why? because cash already on hand.

the ultimate motive is not to earn the 1% difference. that 1% is only side income from me

i suggest using a excel/interest rate calculator to compare. clear cut answer

addon: i use my monthly salary to service the CC loan and housing. therefore, EIR does not applies to me. for living expenses, i usually allocate a certain budget for the year from stock dividend received previous year.

This post has been edited by square2: Dec 30 2022, 03:08 PM
Cubalagi
post Dec 30 2022, 03:43 PM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 02:32 PM)
Yes. I thought we are talking about cash Vs medical insurance. Yes standalone medical insurance will pay for the surgery.
Yes you are stil covered. Basically, for stand alone, you take the money you saved from the extra ILP premium and invest DIY into your dividend growth stocks or S&P500 or whatever. DCA over 30 years and more. The investments will then be used to set off the higher premiums of the stand alone in your advanced years.

icemanfx
post Dec 30 2022, 03:43 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 30 2022, 02:19 PM)
RM40k a month  lifestyle...
Struggling wage earners will pengsan see how you splurge there
It is never hard to spend money. Indulging finer things in life is not cheap sad.gif

Ramjade
post Dec 30 2022, 04:28 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 30 2022, 03:43 PM)
Yes you are stil covered. Basically, for stand alone, you take the money you saved from the extra ILP premium and invest DIY into your dividend growth stocks or S&P500 or whatever. DCA over 30 years and more. The investments will then be used to set off the higher premiums of the stand alone in your advanced years.
Not to mention some standalone card does not have guaranteed renewal.
gashout
post Dec 30 2022, 04:35 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

This post has been edited by gashout: Dec 30 2022, 04:35 PM
guy3288
post Dec 30 2022, 08:29 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(square2 @ Dec 30 2022, 02:59 PM)
yes. can earn. i tried it few times already. for lump sum calculation, just use flat rate. why? because cash already on hand.

the ultimate motive is not to earn the 1% difference. that 1% is only side income from me
i suggest using a excel/interest rate calculator to compare. clear cut answer

addon: i use my monthly salary to service the CC loan and housing. therefore, EIR does not applies to me. for living expenses, i usually allocate a certain budget for the year from stock dividend received previous year.
me and many have calculated, cannot make untung
always rugi

cant beat the bank.
you want to beat them use 0% Balance Transfer.

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 30 2022, 03:43 PM)
It is never hard to spend money. Indulging finer things in life is not cheap sad.gif
wah if married with kids and all going on that kind of lifestyle
how much saving would you need man..
SUSSihambodoh
post Dec 30 2022, 09:05 PM

436 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ Oct 20 2021, 11:41 AM)
I don't think people who achieved FIRE should live a frugal life. If that's the case, better add a few more years to achieve real FIRE. My own interpretation is to be able to live comfortably, eat semi luxuriously on weekends, travel locally every month and abroad twice yearly, play golf regularly and enjoy weekly massage session. These are rewards after years of working hard, investing and saving. Nevertheless still must have a monthly budget without fail.

Having said all that, I'm still a long way from FIRE.
The problem is all of us assume we will live until 70 years. Even if we do, we assume we will be healthy when we FIRE. Personally I have decided to FIRE and live frugally. As long as my principle is not touched, I rather have time than work another few years.

This post has been edited by Sihambodoh: Dec 30 2022, 09:07 PM
icemanfx
post Dec 30 2022, 09:13 PM

21,456 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 30 2022, 08:29 PM)
wah if married with kids and all going on that kind of lifestyle
how much saving would  you need man..
assets, net worth not only saving.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Dec 30 2022, 09:16 PM
guy3288
post Dec 30 2022, 09:56 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 30 2022, 09:13 PM)
assets, net worth not only saving.
alamak you know what i mean la......if got RM50 million takkan in savings right?
gashout
post Dec 30 2022, 10:12 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ Oct 20 2021, 11:41 AM)
I don't think people who achieved FIRE should live a frugal life. If that's the case, better add a few more years to achieve real FIRE. My own interpretation is to be able to live comfortably, eat semi luxuriously on weekends, travel locally every month and abroad twice yearly, play golf regularly and enjoy weekly massage session. These are rewards after years of working hard, investing and saving. Nevertheless still must have a monthly budget without fail.

Having said all that, I'm still a long way from FIRE.
I don't know what's real fire or fake fire.

If it's a long way to reach fire then it's not fire anymore. It's called retirement.

Fire is meant to retire early, there's a price to pay for that

The above lifestyle, not everyone wants. Like me, very simple only. 5k/month enough as I'm spending like 2k/mth. Whatever can save up then take it as a free trip.

Cyclopes
post Dec 30 2022, 10:20 PM

474 posts

How to invest your wealth in an unpredictable 2023

https://www.thepeakmagazine.com.sg/intervie...edictable-2023/
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2022, 11:40 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 30 2022, 10:12 PM)
I don't know what's real fire or fake fire.

If it's a long way to reach fire then it's not fire anymore. It's called retirement.

Fire is meant to retire early, there's a price to pay for that

The above lifestyle, not everyone wants. Like me, very simple only. 5k/month enough as I'm spending like 2k/mth. Whatever can save up then take it as a free trip.
Agreed. I can survive on RM2k alone. But not sure who's the inflation down the road going to be or how is my future wife going to be.

If you work until old that's retirement. FIRE means retire early and when you are quite healthy Vs at old age not much energy left.
Cubalagi
post Dec 31 2022, 08:37 AM

4,486 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 11:40 PM)
Agreed. I can survive on RM2k alone. But not sure who's the inflation down the road going to be or how is my future wife going to be.

If you work until old that's retirement. FIRE means retire early and when you are quite healthy Vs at old age not much energy left.
Once u have kids, it tend to mess up your FIRE plans.

163 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:36 PM