5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Cubalagi
post Oct 7 2021, 02:25 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Oct 7 2021, 11:31 AM)
There was a similar discussed topic before, but the topic is closed now.

Starting here for me and others to share their experiences and their ideas about FIRE.

I am a single mum, and my only child recently just started working. I am in my late 40s, My plan now is going to FIRE.

I am now working already since last year because of the pandemic. And I don't plan to go back to work and will be doing my leisure things and charity works.

At the moment, my banking assets is around RM5million ( half in FD, rest in UT, KLSE). I got burn in KLSE this year because of gloves, and lesson learnt. I don't have any bank loans.

What i dunno what to do in my financials, should i look for a financial planner to help me plan?

What do ppl living in FIRE do with their money? tongue.gif

THanks
You were correct in diversifying to other instruments n not limit yourself to just FD. There are many other investment options worth considering.

You were wrong in trying to follow the herd n jumping into the gloves.

I think more important than a financial planner is to improve your knowledge of investment products n asset classes.
Cubalagi
post Dec 30 2022, 12:46 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 11:08 AM)
Can. Why not? Cause you want to pay more when you are old or pay more or less fixed old premium that you pay when you are young? When you are old, how sure are you that you are able to fork out RM20k/+year? Unless you are super sure by all means get standalone card.

Another stuff is look at coverage limit and guaranteed renewal. As mentioned got standalone medical card with RM1.3m coverage but premium you pay when 70+years old is RM20k/year.

For me ILP more worth it as Rm3k+/year is likely going to be worth only RM1500/year in future.
DIY investors like you surely can beat these ILP fund managers return right?

Cubalagi
post Dec 30 2022, 02:29 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 02:01 PM)
I dont operate on instant cash availablity. Maybe, maybe not. But if you got heart attack and need urgent op, I am unlikely to come out with instant RM30-40k cash one shot.
We are talking abt stand alone medical insurance vs ILP right? Not insurance vs non insurance. The stand alone medical card will still pay for your surgery.

Cubalagi
post Dec 30 2022, 03:43 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 02:32 PM)
Yes. I thought we are talking about cash Vs medical insurance. Yes standalone medical insurance will pay for the surgery.
Yes you are stil covered. Basically, for stand alone, you take the money you saved from the extra ILP premium and invest DIY into your dividend growth stocks or S&P500 or whatever. DCA over 30 years and more. The investments will then be used to set off the higher premiums of the stand alone in your advanced years.

Cubalagi
post Dec 31 2022, 08:37 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 30 2022, 11:40 PM)
Agreed. I can survive on RM2k alone. But not sure who's the inflation down the road going to be or how is my future wife going to be.

If you work until old that's retirement. FIRE means retire early and when you are quite healthy Vs at old age not much energy left.
Once u have kids, it tend to mess up your FIRE plans.

Cubalagi
post Dec 31 2022, 09:00 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 08:39 AM)
I agree. That's why my buffer is RM15k paid in foreign currency. Should be doable. But downside is work for 15 years more.
For me in late 40s, chances are I will work till 60. However, Im no longer chasing promotions n high salary jumps. Nowadays, I prioritize job satisfaction n work life balance.
Cubalagi
post Dec 31 2022, 12:47 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(littleprawnReborn @ Dec 31 2022, 10:13 AM)
I'm in my late 30s and i'm feeling the same too... not sure is this alright since long way to go before reaching old age...
I've have already tender my resignation due to heavy congestion at the highway and office politics affecting me mentally... Looking for new job nearer to my place...
Now I'm placing priority on my health...
All the best.

Usually peak salary growth will be in the 40s, n then starts to moderate in 50s. You probably have to slug it out for another 10 years, then can start to slow down.

Make sure you eat well, exercise a bit, meditate/pray and take supplements for a better sleep.
Cubalagi
post Dec 31 2022, 01:21 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 31 2022, 12:53 PM)
FIRE if solo doable..

Add in kids .."habis cerita"

some more.. nowadays kids all private education. that suck out more $$$

then come the uni another round of sucking $$$..

then when they come out to work.. as parents we kesian. give downpayment for car.. downpayment for their property another round of sucking $$$$

so advise to the young.. do calculate all these into the retirement planning.
One number I found is that raising a child in Malaysia from age 0 to finish Uni level costs between RM393,000 to RM1,368,000.

Cubalagi
post Dec 31 2022, 01:23 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 01:02 PM)
That's why need frugal wife. Rm15k should be enought with max 2 kids
Bro,

Wife might be frugal on herself

But when it comes to children, hard to find mothers who want to be frugal..everything must be best. 😃

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Dec 31 2022, 01:23 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 6 2023, 03:00 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2023, 02:13 PM)
Ok. Will update here.
Why not just take online stand alone medical insurance? Invest the rest of your money.

Cubalagi
post Jan 6 2023, 03:40 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2023, 03:28 PM)
Cause I counted standalone Vs ILP until age of 80, ILP is cheaper than standalone by around 30-40k
Did the comparison include the possible compounded investment returns you could get from the extra savings?

N how much annual limit you are looking for?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 6 2023, 03:43 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 6 2023, 04:18 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2023, 03:54 PM)
No that's not counted. Just pure value.
I am ok with RM1m limit but no one want to give me RM1m limit. sad.gif It's either  1.3m, 1.5m or 2m.
The extra savings, say put in a low cost S&P 500 index fund for 50 years (say you are 30). Should be counted I think.

And I wonder do u really need a RM1 million annual limit?
Cubalagi
post Jan 10 2023, 11:30 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(raynmann @ Jan 10 2023, 11:05 AM)
my monthly expenses so far is only rm6k per month
RM6k per month.RM3.5m investment assets. Meaning 2
05% annual withdrawal rate. Yes, can survive.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 10 2023, 11:30 AM
Cubalagi
post Feb 4 2023, 12:21 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Feb 3 2023, 03:50 PM)
When heavy rain, and u need to get down to open ur gate to park ur car then u know how important the auto gate is! I just fix one and so thankful recent rain season.

Is a need not want  sweat.gif
Esp important for old retired folks. Risk of slipping falling. I put an autogate for my parents landed property.

Me, I just stay in condo.

Cubalagi
post May 18 2023, 04:57 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 18 2023, 03:23 PM)
I believe it is more of a statistical fluke.

Lets say a person has 10 million ringgit networth. 99.9% chance within the 1% population size.
but if said person's family size is 5 persons, then it becomes 2 million on average. 

then again, we don't know how Knight F calculate this, but the stats is not too inconsistent with the T20-M40-B40 income stats.
Also.pretty consistent with KWSP where only 0.5% of members have more than RM1m in their account.

Cubalagi
post May 20 2023, 06:54 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 20 2023, 02:29 PM)
Yup that's right. Ok la. My profit for past 6 months have been hovering in the range of USD300-400/week.
Better do some "normal" job, to avoid lhdn.
Cubalagi
post May 21 2023, 09:23 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 20 2023, 08:37 PM)
Of course. That's why I am planning to do part time after I serve my 90 days notice.
It's capital gain. Not dividend. Hence no tax until they decided to tax capital gains.
I am not bringing money back unless really needed. Can survive on part time.
Risk management. Don't be greedy. Cukup USD300-400/month.
On the cap gains, lhdn can still tax if they intrepret that you are "working" as a trader. Full time traders have kena before.

So its good that you have a part time job that pays PCB.

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 20 2023, 07:33 PM)
don't worry... I think Ramjade is not using any local broker (i don't know any that offers such facility) to sell options.

legally no need to declare anything as long as not bring the premium back to Malaysia
But now he FIRE, so may need to.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: May 21 2023, 09:36 AM
Cubalagi
post May 25 2023, 04:09 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ May 25 2023, 04:03 PM)
T10 konon. But actually B40 only. 8k is peanut butter with roti.
All these grading by EPF is way outdated.
I think 8k net, with no more mortgage n no dependants can live pretty decent life in KL.
Cubalagi
post May 25 2023, 04:16 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 25 2023, 04:11 PM)
what to do.... i just use what is official available for us to view in terms of stats... given by dosm.

also I picked the one for whole Malaysia... KL's T10 is 11K rm pm.

that's the scary part... if the stats is true... what does it mean?
if the stats are false or outdated, it just means gov skewing the data...
Meaning life is hard for many Malaysians...no suprise right?

Cubalagi
post May 25 2023, 04:19 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ May 25 2023, 04:14 PM)
I wasn't referring to a post retirement income. I was referring to the grading by EPF. which is mainly during your active working life.
Dont think its epf grading, its department of statistics.which come up.with these T20, 40 income tresholds.

But its quite consistent with EPF account balance demographics, which is published annually.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0654sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:42 PM