6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

IT salary downtrend, Thai surpass us

TSpremier239
post Oct 7 2021, 09:42 AM, updated 5y ago

173 posts

The National Tech Association of Malaysia (Pikom) expects salaries of local digital professionals ranging from entry level to senior management level to continue on a downward trend in 2022, as findings showed a clear easing in the average salary of local digital professionals since 2019, it said in its report, Economic and Digital Job Market Outlook in Malaysia

Pikom has forecast a salary growth of only 0.1% for 2021 and 2% for 2022, from an average salary growth of 2.2% in 2020, due to the direct impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, including movement control orders (MCOs), economic uncertainties, and job losses.

CEO Ong Kian Yew said the salaries of digital professional have not changed much and have not not grown since 2019.

“To increase the salary of local digital professionals, the country needs to shift from a mover to a creator of technology. With innovation, we can expect higher growth in salaries in this industry,” Ong said in a virtual press conference after the launch of the report today.

The four key areas of the report are: an in-depth analysis of the economy, a critical review of the digital economy, domestic salary trends for 2021 and 2022, and a regional salary outlook.

Pikom has forecast lower gross domestic product growth of between 2% and 2.5% for 2021, and 5% growth for 2022.

Based on data from JobStreet, Pikom concluded that the downward trend in salaries for digital professionals started in 2019.

Despite this downward trajectory, the number of job advertisements for digital professionals in JobStreet remained high, reaching 135,451 in 2020 and 97,909 in June, 2021, according to JobStreet.

“Another interesting finding was that the number of senior manager positions has gone down compared to previous years, while demand has been high for low to mid-level jobs. Mainly due to the cost of hiring senior professionals is beyond the reach of many businesses struggling from the effects of the pandemic. Another possibility is that senior talents may tend to stay longer in the current employment due to the uncertainties in the job market.”

The report highlighted regional salaries from 11 selected economies and eight specific IT or digital job designations for this research covering common and traditional IT jobs such as software, hardware, network, project management, and consultancy.

Malaysia ranked seventh while the US topped the list followed by Singapore, Australia, the United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, and Thailand. Countries behind Malaysia are Indonesia, Vietnam, India, and the Philippines. It is interesting to note that Thailand has surpassed Malaysia in average salary for digital jobs. This is a wake-up call for Malaysia as one of the prevailing factors in brain drain is financial compensation, the report said.

Pikom research and publication committee chairman Woon Tai Hai said the segments that have grown by leaps and bounds are e-commerce, online connectivity infrastructure, digital adoptions, digital payment platforms, and the digitalisation of some service oriented sectors.

“The term ‘transformation’ for some is perhaps obsolete and instead ‘acceleration’ is more appropriate. While the digital economic contribution to the national economy may have reached the 20% target, set many years ago, we are of the opinion that this digital journey may be further accelerated and will potentially ‘reshape’ the landscape of the digital industry. Also, MyDigital Blueprint and 5G deployment initiatives will be another set of impetus in driving the industry further,” Woon said.
TSpremier239
post Oct 7 2021, 09:43 AM

173 posts

source from: thesundaily.my

probation cant post link
SUSMPKL
post Oct 7 2021, 09:44 AM

Because Thailand downsized many it staff. U either high pay do multiple men work or unemployed.
SUSpfizer
post Oct 7 2021, 09:46 AM

149 posts

Too many IT graduate in market. Supply > demand
cdspins
post Oct 7 2021, 09:46 AM

2,714 posts

Maybe also partly due to cabotage?
SUStikaram
post Oct 7 2021, 09:48 AM

10,722 posts

2024: AI take over IT work

This post has been edited by tikaram: Oct 7 2021, 09:49 AM
SaberCortez
post Oct 7 2021, 09:53 AM

710 posts

IT Salary, IT so broad liao. I seen companies Sales also they put under IT.
lifeofkuli
post Oct 7 2021, 09:55 AM

97 posts

To those keep commenting IT downtrend, are you from IT? If you are, and salary still low, I would suggest you to review your career path, either you are sux in your skills or you don't know your strength and negotiate the best for yourself.

I'm an experienced IT professional and been in this industry since 2010, 2500% hike in basic salary in 11 years and still growing, excluding my side income

Edit: you may look at FANG if still have doubts on IT package.

This post has been edited by lifeofkuli: Oct 7 2021, 09:57 AM
lifeofkuli
post Oct 7 2021, 09:56 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Oct 7 2021, 09:53 AM)
IT Salary, IT so broad liao. I seen companies Sales also they put under IT.
I believe that's presales role, and it is an opportunity for IT to learn
Tacotaco
post Oct 7 2021, 09:56 AM

24 posts

Re route only. What's so hard?

Wee wee re route until jobs also get re routed.
x-frame
post Oct 7 2021, 10:05 AM

576 posts

#Janjiorangkita
Sycamore
post Oct 7 2021, 10:23 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Oct 7 2021, 09:48 AM)
2024:  AI take over IT work
unker seems quite clueless in IT field. sweat.gif
HafeesFadil
post Oct 7 2021, 10:26 AM

170 posts

not complaining but Thai really focus much on their IT Development.

Most of the shop there using shopify which beat MY customer edi base on our database.

really aggressive TH.
SUStikaram
post Oct 7 2021, 10:34 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(Sycamore @ Oct 7 2021, 11:23 AM)
unker seems quite clueless in IT field.  sweat.gif
It is all about digital right? from phone to software

2020 developer hire 9 out of 10
2021 developer hire 8 out of 9
2022 developer hire 7 out of 8
2023 developer hire 6 out of 7
2024 developer hire 4 out of 6

My son said wan.

He is IT from top ranking university in china

This post has been edited by tikaram: Oct 7 2021, 10:36 AM
SaberCortez
post Oct 7 2021, 10:35 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(lifeofkuli @ Oct 7 2021, 10:56 AM)
I believe that's presales role, and it is an opportunity for IT to learn
No thanks, I avoid sales like a plague. They put everything under IT nowdays. Call center also IT, normal sales who selling internet package also IT. I am no expert but they need to divvy up which particular part of IT is having downtrend. As far as I am concern, those core IT jobs are still uptrend and still going higher like Software Engineer, Devops, Architect etc.
SaberCortez
post Oct 7 2021, 10:36 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Oct 7 2021, 10:48 AM)
2024:  AI take over IT work
If the job can be taken over by AI, the person is probably not good to begin with.
SUStikaram
post Oct 7 2021, 10:37 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Oct 7 2021, 11:36 AM)
If the job can be taken over by AI, the person is probably not good to begin with.
Ya, I hate speak to AI when phone credit card company.

But that is the trend now.

SaberCortez
post Oct 7 2021, 10:37 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Oct 7 2021, 11:34 AM)
It is all about digital right? from phone to software

2020 developer hire 9 out of 10
2021 developer hire 8 out of 9
2022 developer hire 7 out of 8
2023 developer hire 6 out of 7
2024 developer hire 4 out of 6

My son said wan.

He is IT from  top ranking university in china
Your son is a student. You know how ex those AI platform is? Normal company cannot afford. Also they are not as advanced to the point of replacing an actual engineer. More like a tool to make work faster.
lifeofkuli
post Oct 7 2021, 10:40 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Oct 7 2021, 10:35 AM)
No thanks, I avoid sales like a plague. They put everything under IT nowdays. Call center also IT, normal sales who selling internet package also IT. I am no expert but they need to divvy up which particular part of IT is having downtrend. As far as I am concern, those core IT jobs are still uptrend and still going higher like Software Engineer, Devops, Architect etc.
You can't walk away from presentation if you wants high salary in IT, imagine you have excellent skillset but you didn't know how to present to the committee members, I would say presales role able to groom an IT tech person to another level.
SUStikaram
post Oct 7 2021, 10:40 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Oct 7 2021, 11:37 AM)
Your son is a student. You know how ex those AI platform is? Normal company cannot afford. Also they are not as advanced to the point of replacing an actual engineer. More like a tool to make work faster.
My son graduated, now assit in developing harnest energy from orbited power station and part of it is developing AI system

I dont know what is that.

You can google shanghai Jio tong university. Top University there. All the Crazy fast speed train system in China is develop from this university

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:20 AM