Maxis Kaon AR2140 Wifi 6 Router, Horrible Router

TSKx1229 P
post Sep 20 2021, 01:23 PM, updated 3y ago

Probation

Well , recently maxis upgrade my old maxis tplink router to this kaon media ar2140 wifi 6 router , ACTUALLY this isn't an UPGRADE but DOWNGRADE , very limited feature (I bet routers from a decade ago have more features than this crap)

Here's is the lacking features I faced :
-No IP&Mac binding option (for Wake On LAN over mobile network)
-No VPN integration
-No Fttp Server
-No DHCP Internet option (Bridge mode = brick mode )
- and many more , tell me at comments

HELLO now we already at 2021 , where privacy is a huge concern for a lot of people , THIS KAON ROUTER JUST SUCKS , LIKE REALLY SUCKS
... Other than wifi 6 and mesh , I really CAN'T think any more good about this router , I heard the installation guy say this router cost RM600, if it really sells at that msrp that's really a SCAM.. Look online RM600 can get you ROG or flagship kind of router , surely this Kaon router ISN'T...Now stick with my OLD ROUTER ( also from maxis but TP-Link makes it ) is definitely a BETTER option

I'm very disappointed for this wifi 6 router , advertised as LEADING EDGE TECHNOLOGY but LACKS the basic features. If planning to get maxis fiber consider one more time , or you need to pay extra to buy a good router...
sHawTY
post Sep 20 2021, 01:56 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

Buy your own router, problem solved
YoungMan
post Sep 20 2021, 02:21 PM

5,394 posts

Yay janji boleh pakai. In this case free is not always the best.
dragon360
post Sep 20 2021, 02:27 PM

140 posts

want everything functions? buy yourself your own router that u can set what u want in it… EZ FIX !! lol!
Jjuggler
post Sep 20 2021, 03:21 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,155 posts

QUOTE(Kx1229 @ Sep 20 2021, 01:23 PM)
Well , recently maxis upgrade my old maxis tplink router to this kaon media ar2140 wifi 6 router , ACTUALLY this isn't an UPGRADE but DOWNGRADE , very limited feature (I bet routers from a decade ago have more features than this crap)

HELLO now we already at 2021 , where privacy is a huge concern for a lot of people , THIS KAON ROUTER JUST SUCKS , LIKE REALLY SUCKS
... Other than wifi 6 and mesh , I really CAN'T think any more good about this router , I heard the installation guy say this router cost RM600, if it really sells at that msrp that's really a SCAM.. Look online RM600 can get you ROG or flagship kind of router , surely this Kaon router ISN'T...Now stick with my OLD ROUTER ( also from maxis but TP-Link makes it ) is definitely a BETTER option

I'm very disappointed for this wifi 6 router , advertised as LEADING EDGE TECHNOLOGY but LACKS the basic features. If planning to get maxis fiber consider one more time , or you need to pay extra to buy a good router...
As mentioned by other respected forumers above, buy your own router. When you have free time, please go through this site, discussing on why should you avoid using ISP router. Even the maxis router supplied by TP-Link through customized ISP firmware, isn't safe either.
acbc
post Sep 20 2021, 03:23 PM

8,476 posts

Maxis scam people one.

Better u terminate the service on the contract is over.
PRSXFENG
post Sep 20 2021, 09:36 PM

1,760 posts

This is just my guess but all those options could be hidden behind an admin/root account that we don't know

on the old TP-Link Archer c5v, there were 3 levels

user/user - basic, not much, can change wifi name and setup internet and that's about it

administrator/[serial number] - most know this, unlocks most but not all settings

MaxSysAdm/Ng88Mxs@2019! - the "ultimate" root account, has every setting possible on the router afaik.

The problem is getting said credentials for that top tier account for the new Kaon router
TSKx1229 P
post Sep 20 2021, 09:39 PM

Probation

QUOTE(dragon360 @ Sep 20 2021, 02:27 PM)
want everything functions? buy yourself your own router that u can set what u want in it… EZ FIX !! lol!
Lol all the missing I mentioned before DOES exist in OLD maxis tplink router , I'm just so disappointed for this new router , maybe will flash custom firmware if I found one...
TSKx1229 P
post Sep 20 2021, 09:46 PM

Probation

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 20 2021, 03:23 PM)
Maxis scam people one.

Better u terminate the service on the contract is over.
I would like to change to time but isn't available in my neighborhood , then no point changing tm maxis as they share the same line
acbc
post Sep 20 2021, 10:48 PM

8,476 posts

QUOTE(Kx1229 @ Sep 20 2021, 09:46 PM)
I would like to change to time but isn't available in my neighborhood , then no point changing tm maxis as they share the same line
Celcom, DiGi, Unifi and Maxis used the same fiber backbone but different ISPs and not linked to each other.

U can do a traceroute to check the networks from each ISPs.

This post has been edited by acbc: Sep 20 2021, 10:49 PM
PRSXFENG
post Sep 27 2021, 09:41 AM

1,760 posts

poking around the old archer c5v on the latest 2021 firmware, I found the following credentials, maybe worth a shot trying them on the kaon in case they reuse passwords?

MaxSysAdm
!!bestHOME!!0084
B83C P
post Nov 27 2021, 08:33 PM

Probation

Specs of the kaon WiFi 6 router :
512MiB ram
256MiB nand
3 arm a7

normally, the ISP blobs use around 200MiB of ram, just kill the voice process ( if ur not using it) and u will get 120MiB back.
ssh is enabled by default as well and like what PRSXFENG said, the password is of the same format except that the username is a bit different, you may also try with the administrator acc..
afterwards, you will be greeted with a restricted shell. I cant tell you how to bypass, figure it out urself..
at this point, u already have full access to the router, you may install anything from wireguard to ur custom built binaries!
B83C P
post Dec 12 2021, 01:18 PM

Probation

Guys here's a repo I made specially for AR2140, it includes the way to gain root, and some possible fixes for certain issues ( such as instant disconnection upon connecting to the router )
github.com/B83C/max2140_bin
adamw
post Dec 12 2021, 01:50 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,252 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 27 2021, 09:41 AM)
poking around the old archer c5v on the latest 2021 firmware, I found the following credentials, maybe worth a shot trying them on the kaon in case they reuse passwords?

MaxSysAdm
!!bestHOME!!0084
Does this 2021 firmware work on my Archer C5v, Archer C5v v1 00000000? If yes please give link. Btw none of those MaxSysAdm
password given above work on mine. TIA.
B83C P
post Dec 12 2021, 02:14 PM

Probation

QUOTE(adamw @ Dec 12 2021, 01:50 PM)
Does this 2021 firmware work on my Archer C5v, Archer C5v v1 00000000? If yes please give link. Btw none of those MaxSysAdm
password  given above work on mine. TIA.
the password follows the scheme below:
!!bestHOME!!xxxx

where xxxx is the last 4 digits of the S/N number of your router.

If it still doesn't work, try using this : github.com/sta-c0000/tpconf_bin_xml to decipher the configuration file and retrieve the password
adamw
post Dec 12 2021, 02:18 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,252 posts

QUOTE(B83C @ Dec 12 2021, 02:14 PM)
the password follows the scheme below:
!!bestHOME!!xxxx

where xxxx is the last 4 digits of the S/N number of your router.

If it still doesn't work, try using this : github.com/sta-c0000/tpconf_bin_xml to decipher the configuration file and retrieve the password
Oh, thanks for the info.
Oltromen Ripot
post Dec 12 2021, 11:45 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
3,797 posts

i thought the selling point of this kaon thingy is about mesh....
B83C P
post Dec 28 2021, 12:00 PM

Probation

Would anyone mind telling me the firmware version your router currently has? Not sure whether mine is bugged or misconfigured...

QuantumEdge
post Dec 29 2021, 10:36 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(B83C @ Dec 28 2021, 12:00 PM)
Would anyone mind telling me the firmware version your router currently has? Not sure whether mine is bugged or misconfigured...

Mine installed today, same

Firmware version is here lol, login page

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Dec 29 2021, 10:59 PM
B83C P
post Jan 1 2022, 03:46 PM

Probation

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Dec 29 2021, 10:36 PM)

alright thx for the reply smile.gif
it seems that the kaon api is still too new to be used in production so I guess we might have to wait a bit longer...
It is the only key to grabbing the full firmware without having to tinker with JTAG or dumping via CFE

ineser
post Jan 4 2022, 07:23 PM

1,018 posts

Hijack a bit, those on maxis fiber, able to help if can access this web?
Basically can access to hrnz.co.nz however when I go to "results" section I am unable to load
https://infohorse.hrnz.co.nz/datahrs/results/010249rs.htm

Tried changing DNS to Google or 1111 also cant.
QuantumEdge
post Jan 4 2022, 09:38 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Jan 4 2022, 07:23 PM)
Basically can access to hrnz.co.nz however when I go to "results" section I am unable to load

Nope, can't
ineser
post Jan 5 2022, 08:48 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Jan 4 2022, 09:38 PM)
Nope, can't
Thanks man. Seems like Maxis is blocking it. Using Digi mobile and my other unifi can access it.
PRSXFENG
post Jan 5 2022, 11:04 AM

1,760 posts

That link loads for me
Using Quad9 w/ ECS DNS over DNSCrypt

This post has been edited by PRSXFENG: Jan 5 2022, 11:04 AM
heidarren
post Jan 6 2022, 02:02 AM

246 posts

It works for me too, I'm using Pihole with Google DNS+DNSsec
ineser
post Jan 6 2022, 04:18 PM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 5 2022, 11:04 AM)
That link loads for me
Using Quad9 w/ ECS DNS over DNSCrypt
QUOTE(heidarren @ Jan 6 2022, 02:02 AM)
It works for me too, I'm using Pihole with Google DNS+DNSsec
Thank guys for replying.
A bit noob here, seems to me that using third party DNS is fine however both of u using custom software/hardware to use third party DNS?
I am using default Maxis Kaon router and just change the DNS settings there only.
PRSXFENG
post Jan 6 2022, 06:30 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Jan 6 2022, 04:18 PM)
Thank guys for replying.
A bit noob here, seems to me that using third party DNS is fine however both of u using custom software/hardware to use third party DNS?
I am using default Maxis Kaon router and just change the DNS settings there only.
Yeah it appears both of us are running pihole on a raspberry pi to use as DNS 😅
jagadis
post Jan 22 2022, 05:27 PM

Aspire to Inspire before we expire
1,102 posts

Using this router now. Seems like my MAcbook Pro and Nintendo having a hard time connecting to 5G band. Anyone experiencing the same?

What would be a good replacement router?
buqiuren
post Jan 24 2022, 10:27 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(jagadis @ Jan 22 2022, 05:27 PM)
Using this router now. Seems like my MAcbook Pro and Nintendo having a hard time connecting to 5G band. Anyone experiencing the same?

What would be a good replacement router?
If you aim for good and reliable router, go with ASUS.
Same segment with your AR2140, you can consider ASUS RT-AX55 or RT-AX56U
I choose ASUS is because of it powerful, rich features, user friendly robust stock firmware. Beside, over the time ASUS do consistent provide firmware update for security batch.

FastRealm
post Jan 24 2022, 10:34 AM

14 posts

Cheap and useless router but promoting it as a premium high end router. Worst router i ever use.
CLKH03 P
post Jan 24 2022, 12:33 PM

Probation

Hi, I'm using Asus XT8 and it is directly connected to the Modem provided by Maxis (Huawei) but I would like to use the Maxis VOIP service but it requires me to use the main router, and I would not like to use the bridge or repeater option to my XT8 as the Maxis (AR2140) is quite unstable from time to time. Anyway to bypass it and use a different method to use VOIP function? Can't the maxis router be the repeater and have the VOIP function still????
PRSXFENG
post Jan 24 2022, 04:23 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Jan 24 2022, 12:33 PM)
Hi, I'm using Asus XT8 and it is directly connected to the Modem provided by Maxis (Huawei) but I would like to use the Maxis VOIP service but it requires me to use the main router, and I would not like to use the bridge or repeater option to my XT8 as the Maxis (AR2140) is quite unstable from time to time. Anyway to bypass it and use a different method to use VOIP function? Can't the maxis router be the repeater and have the VOIP function still????
I think you can do this?

Modem -> Asus -> Maxis

To forward, go to LAN -> IPTV (why did Asus even put it there)
if you selected Maxis Fibre profile it should say "VoIP LAN Port X"
connect your stock router to that port

and I think slight amount of configuring needs to be done to the stock router and it will work
CLKH03 P
post Jan 27 2022, 03:26 PM

Probation

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 24 2022, 04:23 PM)
I think you can do this?

Modem -> Asus -> Maxis

To forward, go to LAN -> IPTV (why did Asus even put it there)
if you selected Maxis Fibre profile it should say "VoIP LAN Port X"
connect your stock router to that port

and I think slight amount of configuring needs to be done to the stock router and it will work
Unable. My house Maxis is different, uses VID 11 instead of the others, So I had to put it under Manual and set it up myself.
PRSXFENG
post Jan 27 2022, 04:30 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Jan 27 2022, 03:26 PM)
Unable. My house Maxis is different, uses VID 11 instead of the others, So I had to put it under Manual and set it up myself.
Ah same as me, select the "Maxis-Fibre-Special" profile
parkward
post Jan 27 2022, 07:56 PM

QUOTE(Kx1229 @ Sep 20 2021, 01:23 PM)

Here's is the lacking features I faced :
-No IP&Mac binding option (for Wake On LAN over mobile network)
-No VPN integration
-No Fttp Server
-No DHCP Internet option (Bridge mode = brick mode )
- and many more , tell me at comments

Bro, if want to sell your Maxis Kaon AR2140, PM me
buqiuren
post Jan 28 2022, 11:14 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 20 2021, 09:36 PM)
This is just my guess but all those options could be hidden behind an admin/root account that we don't know

user/user - basic, not much, can change wifi name and setup internet and that's about it

administrator/[serial number] - most know this, unlocks most but not all settings

MaxSysAdm/Ng88Mxs@2019! - the "ultimate" root account, has every setting possible on the router afaik.

The problem is getting said credentials for that top tier account for the new Kaon router
This should not be the way.

Router, many other people also called it RG (Resident Gateway)
Router act like your house gate to secure your house.

If firmware of the router can access by "Master" password, it is like giving the key to outsider.

Actually router record all your internet traffic, once people trap on it, all your traffic will be reveal.

shredder
post Jan 30 2022, 11:40 PM

235 posts

any1 DONT want their kaon router? do pm me
CLKH03 P
post Feb 1 2022, 08:40 PM

Probation

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jan 27 2022, 04:30 PM)
Ah same as me, select the "Maxis-Fibre-Special" profile
Bro, any way to directly from modem to asus router then output to maxis router for VOIP phone service?

PRSXFENG
post Feb 2 2022, 09:46 AM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 1 2022, 08:40 PM)
Bro, any way to directly from modem to asus router then output to maxis router for VOIP phone service?
Not sure what you mean there but the usual way is to

Modem -> Asus -> Maxis for voip

Wifi would be disabled on the maxis.
As well as other unneeded parts

If you want direct modem voip sadly can't.
CLKH03 P
post Feb 2 2022, 04:08 PM

Probation

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 2 2022, 09:46 AM)
Not sure what you mean there but the usual way is to

Modem -> Asus -> Maxis for voip

Wifi would be disabled on the maxis.
As well as other unneeded parts

If you want direct modem voip sadly can't.
I mean how did you configure the maxis router? It only has 2 mode which is router mode and repeater (Repeater mode will disable the VOIP function). Plus my asus router needs to manually configure to VID 11, other settings does not work for me. I have yet to try Maxis Fibre Special but i'll try once I got home. But is it really possible to run the AR 2150 Kaon router directly from the asus router as IPTV? Won't it try to connect the Wan itself under IPTV mode and make the XT8 disconnect from the Wan? Plus have you try this method before?

I need solutions for my router.... Can't do it when Maxis is locking everything down.
PRSXFENG
post Feb 2 2022, 04:12 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 2 2022, 04:08 PM)
I mean how did you configure the maxis router? It only has 2 mode which is router mode and repeater (Repeater mode will disable the VOIP function). Plus my asus router needs to manually configure to VID 11, other settings does not work for me. I have yet to try Maxis Fibre Special but i'll try once I got home. But is it really possible to run the AR 2150 Kaon router directly from the asus router as IPTV? Won't it try to connect the Wan itself under IPTV mode and make the XT8 disconnect from the Wan? Plus have you try this method before?

I need solutions for my router.... Can't do it when Maxis is locking everything down.
Oh, not sure on the Kaon tbh, the older tplink revealed more settings to disable other stuff
CLKH03 P
post Feb 2 2022, 04:21 PM

Probation

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 2 2022, 04:12 PM)
Oh, not sure on the Kaon tbh, the older tplink revealed more settings to disable other stuff
It is crazy that Maxis is still locking down each and every setting when it suppose to be available to the consumer to make that decision. I would love to switch to TM once my contract is over.
afif92
post Feb 3 2022, 02:25 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 2 2022, 04:21 PM)
It is crazy that Maxis is still locking down each and every setting when it suppose to be available to the consumer to make that decision. I would love to switch to TM once my contract is over.
then you will regret after that if you stream a lot from China website.. if not, you are welcome to aboard unifi
CLKH03 P
post Feb 3 2022, 08:08 AM

Probation

QUOTE(afif92 @ Feb 3 2022, 02:25 AM)
then you will regret after that if you stream a lot from China website.. if not, you are welcome to aboard unifi
Perfectly okay with TM as my last was also TM with 800 mbps, but then I had to move so I can't bring my plan with me and the place only supports Maxis and contract bounded. This is absurd. I would want a VOIP with my XT8 as my main router but then the solution is still not available......
afif92
post Feb 3 2022, 05:10 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 3 2022, 08:08 AM)
Perfectly okay with TM as my last was also TM with 800 mbps, but then I had to move so I can't bring my plan with me and the place only supports Maxis and contract bounded. This is absurd. I would want a VOIP with my XT8 as my main router but then the solution is still not available......
Have you ever tried below solution?

1) make Maxis router in bridge mode

2) use Maxis profile in Asus router

3) connect the Maxis router to Asus LAN port (VOIP) stated in Maxis profile in Asus VLAN section
froggyx
post Feb 3 2022, 05:15 PM

340 posts

Hi Guys,

Just wanna ask....after resetting the router...how do i configure it to mesh??

I tried connecting but cant change the operating mode of the router....resetting made the router go back to master mode....

CLKH03 P
post Feb 4 2022, 12:07 AM

Probation

QUOTE(afif92 @ Feb 3 2022, 05:10 PM)
Have you ever tried below solution?

1) make Maxis router in bridge mode

2) use Maxis profile in Asus router

3) connect the Maxis router to Asus LAN port (VOIP) stated in Maxis profile in Asus VLAN section
But there's no bridge mode for the router. there's only router mode or repeater mode under the special access. (Not full i think)
PRSXFENG
post Feb 4 2022, 07:55 AM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 4 2022, 12:07 AM)
But there's no bridge mode for the router. there's only router mode or repeater mode under the special access. (Not full i think)
Try...

MaxARSysOpr as username
!!bestHOME!!XXXX as password

Replace XXXX with last 4 digits of serial number

CLKH03 P
post Feb 4 2022, 04:40 PM

Probation

Thanks everyone. I'm now able to run the VOIP and the XT8 as my main router again.

Cheers!
afif92
post Feb 4 2022, 11:16 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 4 2022, 04:40 PM)
Thanks everyone. I'm now able to run the VOIP and the XT8 as my main router again.

Cheers!
wow.. can change to bridge mode after login using real admin account? nice... In asus router, you choose what profile?
PRSXFENG
post Feb 5 2022, 08:42 AM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(afif92 @ Feb 4 2022, 11:16 PM)
wow.. can change to bridge mode after login using real admin account? nice... In asus router, you choose what profile?
For those using Maxis on Unifi infra, choose "Maxis-Fibre"
For those on Maxis using their own infra, choose "Maxis-Fibre-Special"

For me I set manually cause I didn't need to use VOIP and would rather have a free ethernet port
CLKH03 P
post Feb 5 2022, 12:46 PM

Probation

QUOTE(afif92 @ Feb 4 2022, 11:16 PM)
I choose Maxis Fibre Special and it also let me use Lan port 2 as the VOIP port. The Maxis router is not in bridge mode, rather it's in Router mode, the maxis router does not have internet but the VOIP phone service is up in that case. You must use the "real and OG" admin account to able to do this. While Maxis keep telling me that my way of doing is impossible, but in reality you just need their "OG and real" admin account to enable it. This is outright a scam.
afif92
post Feb 5 2022, 02:19 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 5 2022, 12:46 PM)
I choose Maxis Fibre Special and it also let me use Lan port 2 as the VOIP port. The Maxis router is not in bridge mode, rather it's in Router mode, the maxis router does not have internet but the VOIP phone service is up in that case. You must use the "real and OG" admin account to able to do this. While Maxis keep telling me that my way of doing is impossible, but in reality you just need their "OG and real" admin account to enable it. This is outright a scam.
So, did you change maxis router mode from router mode to bridge mode like I said earlier to get work with voip?
jetblast
post Feb 8 2022, 03:10 PM

1,010 posts

I just off the DHCP setting and plug the Kaonmedia wan to the Asus lan 3 to get the Voip to work.
Modem>Asus router>Kaonmedia>phone.

CLKH03 P
post Feb 9 2022, 11:06 PM

Probation

QUOTE(afif92 @ Feb 5 2022, 02:19 PM)
So, did you change maxis router mode from router mode to bridge mode like I said earlier to get work with voip?
No the maxis router still in router mode, not bridge mode that way it won't use any internet but still remain the VOIP phone function.
aneip
post Feb 11 2022, 01:14 PM

2,433 posts

What can usb do? can support printer?
yan7181
post Jul 30 2022, 11:56 AM

86 posts

Anyone know how to setup parental control on the maxis AR2140? Doesn't seem like it has such functions when I login 192.168.1.254
sub7even
post Aug 17 2022, 11:18 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(yan7181 @ Jul 30 2022, 11:56 AM)
Anyone know how to setup parental control on the maxis AR2140? Doesn't seem like it has such functions when I login 192.168.1.254
Not a good solution as it is a normal router not a NextGen. The only it can do is scheduling.

If you have extra cash, better buy this FortiWifi.. just look in shopee

This post has been edited by sub7even: Aug 17 2022, 11:27 PM
jsnhoh
post Aug 29 2022, 11:16 AM

893 posts

Hi sifu, just curious, does this kaon media router support guest wifi ? I had login as maxarsysopr and couldn't find the option there.
togekiss
post Sep 1 2022, 09:44 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 20 2021, 01:56 PM)
Buy your own router, problem solved
yes, this is the best way forward.
netken
post Sep 19 2022, 11:27 PM

1,224 posts

my kaon WPS led keep blinking despite disabling it … is this normal?
BenYeeHua
post Sep 20 2022, 09:41 AM

1,740 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Sep 19 2022, 11:27 PM)
my kaon WPS led keep blinking despite disabling it … is this normal?
Did you using it as mesh?
It can be mesh connecting, else, someone might trying to break your WiFi via WPS, but as long as you disabled WPS static pin, it will be fine.
Because you can only connect WiFi by clicking WPS on your device + router to pair without password, not WPS static pin anymore.

https://www.maxis.com.my/content/dam/mxs/do...2140_Manual.pdf

This post has been edited by BenYeeHua: Sep 20 2022, 09:42 AM
netken
post Sep 20 2022, 03:21 PM

1,224 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 20 2022, 09:41 AM)
It can be mesh connecting, else, someone might trying to break your WiFi via WPS, but as long as you disabled WPS static pin, it will be fine.
Because you can only connect WiFi by clicking WPS on your device + router to pair without password, not WPS static pin anymore.

I disable the WPS from the admin page - but i think it still looking for Mesh to connect - it keeps blinking.

i can't see any option to disable mesh - but i think should be safe - it is inside the house and i only use WIFI from ASUS connected to the Kaon router via LAN.

KAON wifi both 2.4ghz and 5.0ghz is disabled - just irritating OCD see that WPS keep blinking ... lol ....

netken
post Sep 20 2022, 03:47 PM

1,224 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 20 2022, 09:41 AM)

Somehow it is connected on as mesh - i already set as router mode and also disable WPS.

just OCD that is it is still blinking - any idea where to disable Mesh at the admin page?

but should be safe since i disable all SSID WIFI by Kaon only use it as a connecting router and LAN to another Asus router (WIFI from there).
QuantumEdge
post Sep 20 2022, 05:02 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Sep 20 2022, 03:47 PM)
Somehow it is connected on as mesh - i already set as router mode and also disable WPS.

just OCD that is it is still blinking - any idea where to disable Mesh at the admin page?

but should be safe since i disable all SSID WIFI by Kaon only use it as a connecting router and LAN to another Asus router (WIFI from there).
Tape it over rclxs0.gif
netken
post Sep 20 2022, 06:38 PM

1,224 posts

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Sep 20 2022, 05:02 PM)
Tape it over  rclxs0.gif
hahahahhaha! kan kan …
BenYeeHua
post Sep 21 2022, 05:47 AM

1,740 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Sep 20 2022, 03:47 PM)

As saw in Page 2 of the pdf, don't select repeater mode(mean stay as "Router (AP)"), then disable DHCP + connect both router via LAN port, which also act like a switch instead of router. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by BenYeeHua: Sep 21 2022, 05:47 AM
netken
post Sep 21 2022, 08:03 AM

1,224 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 21 2022, 05:47 AM)
As saw in Page 2 of the pdf, don't select repeater mode(mean stay as "Router (AP)"), then disable DHCP + connect both router via LAN port, which also act like a switch instead of router. tongue.gif
ahhhh okay ... went back last night and confirmed i selected Router (AP) ... but maintain DHCP on and connect another ASUS router via LAN (running the WIFI SSID) ... perhaps this is the cause ....
thpace1 P
post Sep 21 2022, 01:06 PM

Probation

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 20 2021, 09:36 PM)

have anyone tried for this newer version?
BenYeeHua
post Sep 21 2022, 01:21 PM

1,740 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Sep 21 2022, 08:03 AM)
ahhhh okay ... went back last night and confirmed i selected Router (AP) ... but maintain DHCP on and connect another ASUS router via LAN (running the WIFI SSID) ... perhaps this is the cause ....
Then maybe try select as repeater mode? hmm.gif
As it can be bug only happen when you using router mode as repeater, but it should not be the case la, can be crappy firmware lol. laugh.gif
PRSXFENG
post Sep 21 2022, 01:22 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(thpace1 @ Sep 21 2022, 01:06 PM)
have anyone tried for this newer version?
it has been changed, the ultimate credentials for the Kaon router are

MaxARSysOpr
!!bestHOME!!XXXX
XXXX is last 4 of serial

This post has been edited by PRSXFENG: Sep 21 2022, 01:23 PM
netken
post Sep 21 2022, 02:53 PM

1,224 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 21 2022, 01:21 PM)
Then maybe try select as repeater mode? hmm.gif
As it can be bug only happen when you using router mode as repeater, but it should not be the case la, can be crappy firmware lol. laugh.gif
if i set as repeater mode - can it still control the WAN dialup with PPPOE?
netken
post Sep 21 2022, 02:53 PM

1,224 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 21 2022, 01:22 PM)

MaxARSysOpr
!!bestHOME!!XXXX
XXXX is last 4 of serial
yes thanks to this - i using admin interface.
thpace1 P
post Sep 22 2022, 01:31 AM

Probation

MaxARSysOpr
!!bestHOME!!XXXX
XXXX is last 4 of serial
wow. Thank you very much

very diff feature available
BenYeeHua
post Sep 22 2022, 11:40 PM

1,740 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Sep 21 2022, 02:53 PM)
if i set as repeater mode - can it still control the WAN dialup with PPPOE?
It is main router with WiFi disabled?
Then no. sweat.gif
he1008
post Sep 27 2022, 12:51 AM

All the sifus here, just installed maxis fibre and got the AR2140 router, but I cannot find the DMZ function to put one my servers there, even using the root admin trick someone mentioned above also doesn't reveal that function, is it totally not available on this router? What would be my best option if I need the DMZ function? If the answer involves getting a new router, then would I still be able to use the 3 units of AR2140 (signed up for the 800mbps service) as mesh units for extra signal coverage?
PRSXFENG
post Sep 27 2022, 01:41 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(he1008 @ Sep 27 2022, 12:51 AM)
All the sifus here, just installed maxis fibre and got the AR2140 router, but I cannot find the DMZ function to put one my servers there, even using the root admin trick someone mentioned above also doesn't reveal that function, is it totally not available on this router? What would be my best option if I need the DMZ function? If the answer involves getting a new router, then would I still be able to use the 3 units of AR2140 (signed up for the 800mbps service) as mesh units for extra signal coverage?
Not sure on the DMZ fucntion as I dont have the router

for the other units as mesh, you MUST get a router that supports Wifi Alliance EasyMesh

So far the only ones I've seen on the market are Maxis provided routers + some D-Link COVR models
BZP
post Oct 3 2022, 11:48 PM

MaxARSysOpr
!!bestHOME!!XXXX
XXXX is last 4 of serial
Oh yeah, found what i needed after my router get replaced today! thumbsup.gif

Any one tried the mesh feature? Is it stable for 2 storey house?
Any recommendation for mesh wifi to pair with?
ND2909 P
post Nov 2 2022, 05:04 PM

Probation

Came across this when I upgraded maxis plan from 100mbps to 300mbps, but seems like LAN port is limiting my speed, so want to get root account.
Came to surprise it's on Astro's website.

Username: administrator
Password: Router S/N (Available on the sticker at the back of the router)

But anyhow still need solutions to bypass LAN port speed limit. Anyone knows how do let me know.
PRSXFENG
post Nov 2 2022, 06:19 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(ND2909 @ Nov 2 2022, 05:04 PM)
Came across this when I upgraded maxis plan from 100mbps to 300mbps, but seems like LAN port is limiting my speed, so want to get root account.
Came to surprise it's on Astro's website.

Username: administrator
    Password: Router S/N (Available on the sticker at the back of the router)

But anyhow still need solutions to bypass LAN port speed limit. Anyone knows how do let me know.
the true root account is above, MaxARSysOpr and !!bestHOME!!XXXX (SN)
as for lan speed problem, have you tried other lan cables?
make sure its cat5e or cat6
if its only cat5 it will only go up to 100mbps
reezs
post Nov 3 2022, 03:50 PM

240 posts

Hi, just a quick question. Any powerline adapter that support 500mbps ISP line? mine is tplink av1300, the max can go around 100mbps when doing speed test.
B83C P
post Nov 14 2022, 08:39 AM

Probation

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Dec 29 2021, 10:36 PM)

Qutie strangely, the firmware for my device has been silently upgraded... as opposed to the r11 revision several months ago.

Ichibanichi
post Nov 14 2022, 08:44 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(B83C @ Nov 14 2022, 08:39 AM)
Qutie strangely, the firmware for my device has been silently upgraded... as opposed to the r11 revision several months ago.
Standard issue router have remote access default enable.
Either you disable it or change to after-market router
QuantumEdge
post Nov 14 2022, 03:46 PM

1,148 posts

QUOTE(B83C @ Nov 14 2022, 08:39 AM)
I've only been using this router for the 1st day of installation, or maybe once in a while to troubleshoot stuff
So not noticing anything...
Gaara92
post Nov 15 2022, 05:37 PM

Herald
610 posts

Anyone here know what is the credential for Maxis huawei lg8245x6 2021 router? I tried most of the login including the !!bestHOME!!XXXX still not accessible.
PRSXFENG
post Nov 15 2022, 08:09 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Nov 15 2022, 05:37 PM)
Anyone here know what is the credential for Maxis huawei lg8245x6 2021 router? I tried most of the login including the !!bestHOME!!XXXX still not accessible.
Tried with username of MaxDNSPrUsr and the !!bestHOME!!XX password?
Unless maxis changed their password format again via a remote firmware upgrade
Gaara92
post Nov 15 2022, 08:32 PM

Herald
610 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Nov 15 2022, 08:09 PM)
Tried with username of MaxDNSPrUsr and the !!bestHOME!!XX password?
Unless maxis changed their password format again via a remote firmware upgrade
Yes including that one. But the other router with version LG8245X6-10, I can access it using that particular credentials.
wongnc
post Dec 23 2022, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(CLKH03 @ Feb 9 2022, 11:06 PM)
No the maxis router still in router mode, not bridge mode that way it won't use any internet but still remain the VOIP phone function.
You don't have to do that. Your Asus router have full functionality, configuration as follows:

LAN1 IPTV VLAN 823
LAN2 INTERNET VLAN 621
LAN3 INTERNET VLAN 621
LAN4 VOIP VLAN 822

Whichever port for what purpose, just fill in the VLAN number, (I don't use voip):

wongnc
post Dec 23 2022, 05:59 PM

Also, for Maxis Kaon AR2140, I would recommend you go to management and change the password and disable TR-069 remote management.
Jal111111 P
post Jan 24 2023, 07:25 PM

Probation

Hi guys. Sorry if its a silly question but maxis Kaon router has no antenna. Would getting a tplink archer wifi 6 ax 73 router help with wifi coverage in a 2 story house? Also, currently on 500mbps package but only getting 150-200mbps on wifi downstairs. (I downgraded from 800mbps because wifi speed was nowhere near.

Again, would getting that TPlink router help with speed as well?
jsnhoh
post Jan 24 2023, 09:08 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(Jal111111 @ Jan 24 2023, 07:25 PM)
Hi guys. Sorry if its a silly question but maxis Kaon router has no antenna. Would getting a tplink archer wifi 6 ax 73 router help with wifi coverage in a 2 story house? Also, currently on 500mbps package but only getting 150-200mbps on wifi downstairs. (I downgraded from 800mbps because wifi speed was nowhere near.

Again, would getting that TPlink router help with speed as well?
Setting up mesh routers will be better in this case.
Jal111111 P
post Jan 24 2023, 10:30 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Jan 24 2023, 09:08 PM)
Setting up mesh routers will be better in this case.
I did, using the Mesh units maxis gave but honestly its so bad i cant even stream a video on youtube with it 😅
jsnhoh
post Jan 25 2023, 12:15 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(Jal111111 @ Jan 24 2023, 10:30 PM)
I did, using the Mesh units maxis gave but honestly its so bad i cant even stream a video on youtube with it 😅
Buy Asus or tplink mesh router. And the position of your mesh router also very important
Crystal2
post Jan 28 2023, 03:29 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Sep 20 2022, 03:21 PM)
I disable the WPS from the admin page - but i think it still looking for Mesh to connect - it keeps blinking.

i can't see any option to disable mesh - but i think should be safe - it is inside the house and i only use WIFI from ASUS connected to the Kaon router via LAN.

KAON wifi both 2.4ghz and 5.0ghz is disabled - just irritating OCD see that WPS keep blinking ... lol ....
I was previously using Asus RT-AX86U for my UniFi and this Kaon sucks in terms of WiFi range and stability. How do you connect your Asus to the Kaon modem? Using the Asus as an Access Point or Bridge?

Can we reverse the connection & use Asus as the main router and Kaon connected to it for the VOIP? Thank you.

Ichibanichi
post Jan 28 2023, 06:21 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Jan 28 2023, 03:29 PM)
I was previously using Asus RT-AX86U for my UniFi and this Kaon sucks in terms of WiFi range and stability. How do you connect your Asus to the Kaon modem? Using the Asus as an Access Point or Bridge?

Can we reverse the connection & use Asus as the main router and Kaon connected to it for the VOIP? Thank you.
I managed to do it.
My main router is Asus tuf-ax3000 and the Kaon is only meant for the house phone line.
Check back your asus router which port is set for voip. Mine is port 3. I can't recall any special setting is require for the kaon but maybe you can try with default setting 1st.
Connect the Kaon Wan port to the asus router voip port.
Hopefully it work for you.
Crystal2
post Jan 28 2023, 10:02 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jan 28 2023, 06:21 PM)
I managed to do it.
My main router is Asus tuf-ax3000 and the Kaon is only meant for the house phone line.
Check back your asus router which port is set for voip. Mine is port 3. I can't recall any special setting is require for the kaon but maybe you can try with default setting 1st.
Connect the Kaon Wan port to the asus router voip port.
Hopefully it work for you.
Thank you.

I set the VLAN in LAN4 of Asus to 822. Do I need to do any settings on the Kaon?
Ichibanichi
post Jan 29 2023, 02:22 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Jan 28 2023, 10:02 PM)
Thank you.

I set the VLAN in LAN4 of Asus to 822. Do I need to do any settings on the Kaon?
Try default setting in Kaon 1st
castoricosX
post Jan 30 2023, 02:38 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jan 29 2023, 02:22 AM)
Hi, mind to screenshot the setting, i want to use tp link ax20, as main router. Port lan4 is default for voip. So in kaon maxis router for telephone only, must setup ppoe also? Thanks
Crystal2
post Feb 4 2023, 02:46 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Ichibanichi @ Jan 29 2023, 02:22 AM)
I tried, TQ. Gave up. Forced to use the Kaon as main router.
PRSXFENG
post Feb 4 2023, 09:23 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Feb 4 2023, 02:46 PM)
did VLAN 822 not work?
try VLAN 14
benson208
post Feb 5 2023, 01:34 AM

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Jan 28 2023, 10:02 PM)
Thank you.

After tagging 822 lan4 at asus router, some router real port is reverse. Example tagging port is 1,2,3,4 but real port is 4,3,2,1.
U try tagging lan4 822 voip, then connect cable at port 1.

maybe can working fine.

This post has been edited by benson208: Feb 5 2023, 01:34 AM
Crystal2
post Feb 11 2023, 03:48 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Feb 4 2023, 02:46 PM)
Hi

Thanks to all the Sifu's here, I finally managed to set my Asus as the main router and Kaon as the Access Point for the VOIP.

1) Tagging VLAN in Asus RT-AX86U

If Maxis is using UniFi Infrastructure:

ISP Profile: Maxis-Fiber
VLAN : VOIP
Port: LAN3

2) Disable the DHCP Server for both IPv4 & IPv6
- to prevent Kaon Router from accessing the internet,

3) Disable TR069
- to prevent Maxis Support from changing the master ID & password, settings &/or updating the firmware remotely,

4) Disable WiFi Radio
- to avoid clashes of WiFi signals with the Asus router, and

5) Connect Ethernet Cable from the Asus LAN3 port to the Kaon WAN port

Thank you very much

This post has been edited by Crystal2: Feb 12 2023, 09:02 AM

normality78
post May 16 2023, 02:16 PM

45 posts

Guy's, I know this Kaon router do have a USB port for us to plug in the "standby" 4G Dongle that provided by Maxis. May i know is there any others mesh out there do have this feature? TPlink?
PRSXFENG
post May 16 2023, 06:17 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(normality78 @ May 16 2023, 02:16 PM)
Guy's, I know this Kaon router do have a USB port for us to plug in the "standby" 4G Dongle that provided by Maxis. May i know is there any others mesh out there do have this feature? TPlink?
Asus routers have USB port that supports 4g dongles

However, Maxis locks that dongle to its own devices

normality78
post May 16 2023, 07:02 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ May 16 2023, 06:17 PM)
Asus routers have USB port that supports 4g dongles

However, Maxis locks that dongle to its own devices
ah.... shxt... there's nothing can be done i guess
il0ve51
post Jul 26 2023, 10:09 PM

984 posts

hi guys can this koan router work with tplink x50 mesh?
PRSXFENG
post Jul 27 2023, 09:28 AM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jul 26 2023, 10:09 PM)
hi guys can this koan router work with tplink x50 mesh?
Nope
TP-Link is using their own mesh technology

Kaon is using EasyMesh, an open standard
il0ve51
post Jul 28 2023, 04:05 PM

984 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jul 27 2023, 10:28 AM)
Nope
TP-Link is using their own mesh technology

Kaon is using EasyMesh, an open standard
can we change maxis kaon router to other compatible for x50 mesh. i bought 3 pcs set for x50. now very waste if cannot use
PRSXFENG
post Jul 28 2023, 05:27 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jul 28 2023, 04:05 PM)
can we change maxis kaon router to other compatible for x50 mesh. i bought 3 pcs set for x50. now very waste if cannot use
Yes, simply ask Maxis for the PPPoE Credentials then there are guides online
However, you lose the 4G backup and VoIP Phone

But a quick guide
Make note of the LAN port of the ONT that the original Kaon is connected to (LAN1 or 2)
Unplug the Kaon
Plug in the Deco directly
Setup the deco, select PPPoE mode, enter details from Maxis, then for VLAN Internet, enter 621 if you were using LAN2 or 11 if you are using LAN1
(11 is for Maxis own infra, 621 is for Maxis on TM)
(Or select one of the preset profiles but the lan port may become reserved for IPTV which is not really used these days?)

Alternatively, to keep VoIP/4G, you could just directly connect up the Deco to the Kaon and setup in Dynamic IP Mode
This does come with some downsides such as Double NAT and having 2 conflicting wifis
ssplayboy
post Aug 9 2023, 01:41 PM

20 posts

Here Mikrotik Owner with Maxis Voip phone enable

Modem Lan 2 -> Mikrotik (WAN1)ether 1.
Mikrotik (WAN1) ether 1 <--bridge--> Mikrotik ether 2. Bridge do not put any vlan number
Mikrotik ether 2 --> Maxis router WAN port. enable Voip like normal. yes finally work here.

Mikrotik (WAN1)ether 1 with Vlan 621 PPPOE connection.

Maxis Kaon AR2140 Wifi 6 Router, Horrible Router +1, this only use for phone calling, just change a month ago

This post has been edited by ssplayboy: Aug 9 2023, 01:44 PM
Zi-Tech
post Aug 15 2023, 12:56 AM

Eh, pangkat sudah tukar ka
768 posts

Just install maxis fiber bisnes... Quite horrible router. 2.4ghz channel intermittent disconnect with my tv(youtube just show no connection) and affected wireless pos system also...

Attached old tenda ac18, until now no issue for intermittent disconnection. Later will change to asus router at the shop...
SpikeTwo
post Sep 1 2023, 03:28 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

hi experts. how to do port forwarding on this Maxis Koan? tqtq
LizStephenie
post Sep 1 2023, 03:35 PM

309 posts

Hi guys,
I see quite a few mentions regarding tr069. How to disable it?
Cheers. smile.gif
PRSXFENG
post Sep 1 2023, 05:05 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(LizStephenie @ Sep 1 2023, 03:35 PM)
Hi guys,
I see quite a few mentions regarding tr069. How to disable it?
Cheers. smile.gif
Not sure if it still works on the Kaon but the option to configure it shows up when you login with root credentials
Which are

MaxARSysOpr
!!bestHOME!!XXXX
XXXX is last 4 of serial

For the Kaon

Do note that doing this closes the door that maxis uses to remotely manage the router, so you will not get firmware updates, and if some settings have been wrongly configured they cannot fix it for you

(With that said, my old TP-Link c5v they accidentally set the wrong PPPoE credentials in the management system so it kept overriding my config with wrong details causing me to lose internet access, so I had to disable it)
ahrasis
post Sep 10 2023, 09:21 AM

38 posts

Is anybody using its DMZ feature and how does it turn out?

In my experience, the access to the router becomes impossible after some times (from immediate to few hours) and it will go directly to the DMZ after it is set, which is weird to me. I also tried to set remote access on different port but their access too all failed after DMZ is set.

I have to apply the 8 seconds reset, to regain access.

What do you think? Is this the router factory fault or a normal disability of this router?

This post has been edited by ahrasis: Sep 10 2023, 09:22 AM
choongsian
post Sep 27 2023, 12:31 PM

Hi Sifus here, can Maxis Kaon Easymesh connect to TPlink AX73 V2 Easymesh? now AX73 latest firmware update is Easymesh supported, if yes how to do it?
drake88
post Oct 14 2023, 06:09 PM

339 posts

anyone can enlighten me how do i block an ip address via this Not so friendly router
zamans98
post Oct 25 2023, 12:59 AM

�oquıɐɹ ǝɥ� ɹǝ�o 'ǝɹǝɥ�ǝɯos
8,477 posts

I need to upgrade this useless/junk Router.

Pain in the arse to setup VOIP and related.

Some pointer helped but latest firmware has tone down the config pages despite fired up with admin super user login.

SOLUTION is ASUS or of the same etnicity

NubPro
post Oct 31 2023, 03:14 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 4 2022, 07:55 AM)
Try...

MaxARSysOpr as username
!!bestHOME!!XXXX as password

Replace XXXX with last 4 digits of serial number
This is the solution if anyone is looking!
You will get access to Mac address bindings and port forwarding etc

This post has been edited by NubPro: Oct 31 2023, 03:15 PM
mmohdnor
post Nov 4 2023, 07:47 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(wongnc @ Dec 23 2022, 05:55 PM)
You don't have to do that. Your Asus router have full functionality, configuration as follows:
LAN1 IPTV VLAN 823
LAN2 INTERNET VLAN 621
LAN3 INTERNET VLAN 621
LAN4 VOIP VLAN 822

Whichever port for what purpose, just fill in the VLAN number, (I don't use voip):

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Feb 11 2023, 03:48 PM)
Hi

Thanks to all the Sifu's here,  I finally managed to set my Asus as the main router and Kaon as the Access Point for the VOIP.

1) Tagging VLAN in Asus RT-AX86U

If Maxis is using UniFi Infrastructure:

ISP Profile: Maxis-Fiber
VLAN : VOIP
Port: LAN3

2) Disable the DHCP Server for both IPv4 & IPv6
- to prevent Kaon Router from accessing the internet,

3) Disable TR069
- to prevent Maxis Support from changing the master ID & password, settings &/or updating the firmware remotely,

4) Disable WiFi Radio
- to avoid clashes of WiFi signals with the Asus router, and

5) Connect Ethernet Cable from the Asus LAN3 port to the Kaon WAN port

Thank you very much
Hi

Hmm, this is interesting. Maybe I should try this too.
Plan to remove my Maxis router AC1200 (Main router) to Tp-Link AX20 or AX50/AX55 totally. But I need the VoIP (business use).

Currently, I am still using the Maxis AC1200 router as the main (bridge mode + Wifi off) and AX20 connected to it.
Maxis router is only used for the VoIP purpose (bridge mode, Wifi off).

Will I be able to use the VoIP if I change the main Maxis router to AX20 or AX50/AX55 in this case?
>>> Become "AX50/AX55 (main router)" + "AX20 extended via cable (or EasyMesh)" + "Maxis router for VoIP only / Wifi Off"

Your example is for Asus. I am going Tp-Link here because already have one AX20, adding another AX50/AX55.

Using Maxis 300Mbps package, already out of contract. Plan to grab the free upgrade to 500Mbps in the future. No point downgrading to 300mbps at a meager discount (get free new wifi 6 router) but need to renew contract. sweat.gif sad.gif

Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Nov 4 2023, 07:54 PM
OlgaC4
post Dec 6 2023, 09:07 AM

4,257 posts

Parking
h@ksam
post Dec 9 2023, 03:13 AM

@ is a
3,444 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Sep 1 2023, 03:28 PM)
hi experts. how to do port forwarding on this Maxis Koan? tqtq
username
administrator

password
S/N on box

under Security -> NAT
OlgaC4
post Dec 9 2023, 10:44 AM

4,257 posts

Can i set up voip when Maxis koan is on bridge mode?
OlgaC4
post Dec 11 2023, 05:44 PM

4,257 posts

Manage to set up both voip and bridge mode with a little trick.
mechanicolet
post Dec 11 2023, 09:43 PM

Need assistance here.

I have 2 maxis router. plan to set up a mesh.
50% success now. both can talk toghther with WPS.

Im trying to have a wired backhaul but i have the following problem.

At the Router i set a Band Steering where both 2.4G and 5G have the same name.
Connect Router with the nod via WPS then, attached the Ethernet cable.
The NODE register 2.4G the same as router but the 5G was register as _BackHaul_d8_
All appliance connected to 2.4Ghz and makes the 5Ghz unusable...

The real question is, is maxis router support ethernet backhaul?

Thank You.
OlgaC4
post Dec 11 2023, 10:10 PM

4,257 posts

QUOTE(mechanicolet @ Dec 11 2023, 09:43 PM)
Need assistance here.

I have 2 maxis router.  plan to set up a mesh.
50% success now.  both can talk toghther with WPS.

Im trying to have a wired backhaul but i have the following problem.

At the Router i set a Band Steering where both 2.4G and 5G have the same name.
Connect Router with the nod via WPS then, attached the Ethernet cable.
The NODE register 2.4G the same as router but the 5G was register as _BackHaul_d8_
All appliance connected to 2.4Ghz and makes the 5Ghz unusable...

The real question is, is maxis router support ethernet backhaul?

Thank You.
Yes it support. But better to use 2nd unit as ap eth port.
mechanicolet
post Dec 11 2023, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Dec 11 2023, 10:10 PM)
Yes it support. But better to use 2nd unit as ap eth port.
if i change the 2nd unit from Bridge to Router(AP) will it still MESH?

This post has been edited by mechanicolet: Dec 11 2023, 10:45 PM
OlgaC4
post Dec 11 2023, 10:48 PM

4,257 posts

QUOTE(mechanicolet @ Dec 11 2023, 10:43 PM)
if i change the 2nd unit from Bridge to Router(AP) will it still MESH?
I don’t think so.
mechanicolet
post Dec 11 2023, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Dec 11 2023, 10:48 PM)
I don’t think so.
Thank you for the clarifications. this is helped me much to decide.
Much APPRECIATED !

So i've decided to to buy XT8 instead. 45minutes to 12.12.
kwai_83
post Dec 12 2023, 11:14 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(mechanicolet @ Dec 11 2023, 11:18 PM)
Thank you for the clarifications.  this is helped me much to decide. 
Much APPRECIATED !

So i've decided to to buy XT8 instead. 45minutes to 12.12.
great model .but i saw 12.12 price wise no much alot gap.u going for twin pack?
mechanicolet
post Dec 12 2023, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Dec 12 2023, 11:14 AM)
great model .but i saw 12.12 price wise no much alot gap.u going for twin pack?
Yes twin pack.

Actually I use twin pack before then my house got stuck with lightning. Both unit sent to Armand for repair.

Then call maxis to replace modem and they gave me another router. Ended me experimenting 2 maxis router for mesh. Result was sucks... So ordering another twin pack.

I do hope Armand able to repair minimum one.. So I can end up 3 unit for complete house coverage in every level.
mechanicolet
post Dec 14 2023, 01:07 PM

Update.

Armand able to repair my XT8. Alhamdulillah. Insya Allah will have 4 nos of XT8 for full coverage of the house.

(Asus official unable to service. they have 1 to 1 replacement during warranty period only.)
ImAn
post Jan 12 2024, 11:58 PM

47 posts

can i sharing external drive/printer via USB port on the router? so that i can access data wirelessly or printing wirelessly.
zero_kbom
post Jan 14 2024, 12:28 AM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
950 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Dec 11 2023, 05:44 PM)
Manage to set  up both voip and bridge mode with a little trick.
Can share how? Tq
OlgaC4
post Jan 14 2024, 09:10 AM

4,257 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jan 14 2024, 12:28 AM)
Can share how? Tq
2 lan cables. 1 bridge to the main wan port for VOIP and another as Ap to the lan port.
fkinmeng
post Jan 15 2024, 10:53 AM

6,179 posts

if want to use the 4g dongle, have no choice but to use this router?

the options are very limited in the settings page.
OlgaC4
post Jan 15 2024, 11:18 AM

4,257 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jan 15 2024, 10:53 AM)
if want to use the 4g dongle, have no choice but to use this router?

the options are very limited in the settings page.
You can use mikrotik routher for the 4g dongle
pokemon
post Jan 15 2024, 05:07 PM

2,121 posts

Nothing good from maxshit
OlgaC4
post Jan 15 2024, 05:34 PM

4,257 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jan 15 2024, 05:07 PM)
Nothing good from maxshit
Signal from this router is powefull the rest is crap.
QuantumEdge
post Feb 5 2024, 02:01 PM

1,148 posts

R00TK1T claims to have breached Maxis, threatens to release customer data and expose vulnerabilities
Kaon router users be aware

https://www.lowyat.net/2024/315837/r00tk1t-...breached-maxis/
zioburosky13
post Feb 13 2024, 05:56 PM

554 posts

I am hijacking this thread for few questions:

Just switched to Maxis Home Fibre 1Gbps, and yes, the free router is a Maxis Kaon AR2140 Wifi 6.

- Where do I find the VLAN number option in my previous router, an Asus RT-AX3000, which is the key component to enable the Maxis Home fibre service?

- Any extra setup I should do for the Kaon AR2140 Wifi 6 router?
Current LAN connection speed via the Kaon AR2140 wifi 6 router. Notice the upload speed. o-0

This post has been edited by zioburosky13: Feb 13 2024, 06:22 PM
PRSXFENG
post Feb 13 2024, 07:29 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Feb 13 2024, 05:56 PM)
I am hijacking this thread for few questions:

Just switched to Maxis Home Fibre 1Gbps, and yes, the free router is a Maxis Kaon AR2140 Wifi 6.

- Where do I find the VLAN number option in my previous router, an Asus RT-AX3000, which is the key component to enable the Maxis Home fibre service?
- Any extra setup I should do for the Kaon AR2140 Wifi 6 router?
Current LAN connection speed via the Kaon AR2140 wifi 6 router. Notice the upload speed. o-0
You want to use your old Asus in place of the Kaon?

LAN -> IPTV -> ISP Profile -> Manual
And for your setup
Then enter 41 into the internet section
Optionally, insert 44 into one of the other LAN ports if you intend to reuse the Kaon as a voip device

Your Infrastructure is kinda rare, Celcom Timur Sabah
zioburosky13
post Feb 13 2024, 09:53 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 13 2024, 07:29 PM)
You want to use your old Asus in place of the Kaon?

LAN -> IPTV -> ISP Profile -> Manual
And for your setup
Then enter 41 into the internet section
Optionally, insert 44 into one of the other LAN ports if you intend to reuse the Kaon as a voip device
Like this?

Your Infrastructure is kinda rare, Celcom Timur Sabah
Apparently, here Maxis is using Celcom Timur's fibre network for their fiber optic service.
Astro did the same thing too.

What is a voip device use for?

This post has been edited by zioburosky13: Feb 13 2024, 09:55 PM
PRSXFENG
post Feb 13 2024, 09:57 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Feb 13 2024, 09:53 PM)
Like this?

What is a voip device use for?
with pppoe credentials entered into WAN section, that should work

VOIP is... normally you may have a house phone connected to the Kaon for what is basically a landline phone
if you wish to use it, then you need to set it up and connect the kaon to said port

if you dont plan to use the phone ports on the kaon, you can just leave it blank so you can use it as normal lan ports
zioburosky13
post Feb 13 2024, 10:32 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 13 2024, 09:57 PM)
with pppoe credentials entered into WAN section, that should work

VOIP is... normally you may have a house phone connected to the Kaon for what is basically a landline phone
if you wish to use it, then you need to set it up and connect the kaon to said port

if you dont plan to use the phone ports on the kaon, you can just leave it blank so you can use it as normal lan ports
I think I might skip this one.

Edit: just found out this 'Invalid IP Address'. What gives? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by zioburosky13: Feb 14 2024, 11:04 AM
joeboto
post Feb 26 2024, 10:08 AM

insert title
894 posts

holy sh1t the kaon ar2140 is so bad. 2.4ghz (iptv) got a LOT of timeouts and disconnections.
PRSXFENG
post Feb 26 2024, 08:30 PM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Feb 13 2024, 10:32 PM)
I think I might skip this one.

Edit: just found out this 'Invalid IP Address'. What gives?  shocking.gif

I believe it's just complaining your IP is invalid for the DDNS service since it's an internal 10.x.x.x address since you are behind GCNAT / Private IP

just disable the DDNS feature
joeboto
post Feb 27 2024, 02:27 PM

insert title
894 posts

QUOTE(joeboto @ Feb 26 2024, 10:08 AM)
holy sh1t the kaon ar2140 is so bad. 2.4ghz (iptv) got a LOT of timeouts and disconnections.
had to use tplink archer c9 (old stuff) as 2.4ghz, disable the kaon 2.4ghz. now iptv stable no time outs. doh.gif
ahrasis
post Yesterday, 08:40 AM

38 posts

How to port to Tp-Link AX73 from this Kaon AR2140? I noticed that there is no VoIP in AX73. Anybody port like this before?
PRSXFENG
post Yesterday, 08:56 AM

1,760 posts

QUOTE(ahrasis @ Mar 28 2024, 08:40 AM)
How to port to Tp-Link AX73 from this Kaon AR2140? I noticed that there is no VoIP in AX73. Anybody port like this before?
depending on the setup, you got 3 options

1. use phone ports on huawei/fiberhome/zte modem - only on maxis own infra, no instructions out there
2. the most common setup. disable internet, wifi and other interfaces on the kaon, then on the tplink forward the voip vlan to one of the ethernet ports, and connect the kaon up and use it just for the phone ports
3. use a software or ethernet based phone like MicroSIP or a ethernet voip phone, refer to
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5243640

0.0390sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:51 PM