11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

[2021]iPhone 13 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V1, Oh. So. Pro.

attw
post Sep 21 2021, 02:06 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(UnknownMy @ Sep 21 2021, 12:34 PM)
Actually, looking at the battery capacity I kinda confuse on how 13 Pro that has more feature than regular 13, but has lower battery capacity (3125 vs 3240), still  can last longer than regular 13 in term of playback or standby time (which as claimed in spec sheet)...these kinda sus to me sweat.gif
Ya, it remains to be seen how the 13 Pro will compare vs the 13 in the independent battery tests so we'll have to wait and see.

QUOTE(frostier @ Sep 21 2021, 12:45 PM)
comparing with 12 Pro Max.. not regular 13
Apple's comparison is always like for like, as in they will compare 13 mini vs 12 mini, 13 vs 12, 13 pro vs 12 pro and 13 pro max vs 12 pro max. They won't give you official numbers but they will say it lasts how many hours more laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 21 2021, 02:07 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 21 2021, 01:56 PM)
Dumb question.

1st October can preorder 13 PM as well? Or just the 13 and Mini?

Can preorder all models.

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 21 2021, 02:00 PM)
Hehe, just chop in this thread, I will be 13 pro max user too. Upgraded from XS max.
Bro! Long time no see! Good to have you back!
attw
post Sep 21 2021, 03:47 PM

32,468 posts

Ok, here's a summary of the battery capacity and official numbers as published on Apple's website: -

Discuss!

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 21 2021, 04:23 PM
attw
post Sep 21 2021, 03:57 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 21 2021, 03:50 PM)
Lol I just noticed , 12 pro without Max. No wonder I will back to “MAX”,
Delivery by this Saturday.
Ahhh, typo... Thanks bro, will correct it later
attw
post Sep 21 2021, 04:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 21 2021, 03:37 PM)
Every year I see you’re here laugh.gif

Like since iPhone 5S? Hahaha.

Joining the PM this year? Might go for the new color.
Hahaha, yeah, I buy an iPhone every year like clockwork. Planning to get the Pro Max as well this year and also targeting the new color biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 21 2021, 03:41 PM)
XS max super good, till I no reason to upgrade
How's the performance and battery life now? Still good?

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 21 2021, 03:58 PM)
Omg , u put a lot effort 🤭🤭🤭
Hahaha... ok la, I contribute where I can smile.gif
attw
post Sep 21 2021, 04:53 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 21 2021, 04:10 PM)
My battery never charged before.
Maybe my McDoDo cable still help a lot for auto power cut off.
Ok la, time to change di... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 21 2021, 04:28 PM)
You're the one thing constant in all the iPhone thread.

I'd be worried if I don't see you getting a unit laugh.gif

Gonna cop the 128 new color PM as well.

Doubt I need 256.
Hahaha, yeah, but I've been toning down my activities here, just came back active when the new phones launched.

Was eyeing a 128GB as well (my current iPhone 11 usage is at 30-odd GB of 128GB) but my iPhones are generally passed on to my wife after I'm done trying and she needs 256GB coz she got loads and loads of stuffs on her phone. I tried asking her to "spring-clean" her phone before but now I know better and just keep quiet laugh.gif

So it's 256GB for me...

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 21 2021, 04:54 PM
attw
post Sep 21 2021, 07:56 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 21 2021, 05:15 PM)
Haha as long as happy-wife, happy life.
100%! Hahaha... She does like her 12 Pro Max Pacific Blue now though but she still thinks the Midnight Green 11 Pro Max was better smile.gif

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Sep 21 2021, 07:23 PM)
attw will iPhone change battery to a newer one will help phone get faster meh? Mcm no logic..
Depends on how degraded the current battery is coz Apple is known to throttle down speed on phones with older batteries...
attw
post Sep 22 2021, 03:29 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 22 2021, 08:17 AM)

I watch YouTube reviews strictly for entertainment, they almost never influence my decision to purchase a product or otherwise, hahaha. A lot of them are just there to get their viewership up, they’ll put titles like “iPhone 13 has big problems”, “Don’t buy iPhone 13 till you see this” bla bla bla..

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 22 2021, 10:32 AM)
That battery is tempting. 2.5hours extra vs my 12 Pro Max.

The screen is worth mentioning since its an OLED @ 120Hz - visually should look more appealing vs iPad Pro. Defo good for content viewing etc.

I say only, but won’t be getting it this time round 🥲
Still got time to change your mind bro laugh.gif

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 22 2021, 12:08 PM)
Since pro and pro max has no difference this year other than the screen size, what's the final bump that pushes you to get the Pro Max instead of the Pro?

Doing some final thinking, kinda want to get the Pro Max but at the same time, since not much difference besides screen size and battery life, might be inclined to go Pro only this year hmm.gif
Ya, thinking the same, especially if the 13 Pro’s battery life is good, but then again I’m so used to having a phone with big screen. My only hesitation with the 13 Pro Max is the weight. 240g is a lot!!

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 22 2021, 01:36 PM)
Yup, I wish Apple would make pro max range lighter.
I also usually get the upsize version too. Hence, still deciding. I’d opt for Sierra blue 128. In your case, maybe the 256 is a better choice since you are already considering more storage space.
Hey sis! Good to see you again! smile.gif

Ya, I wished the Pro Max would have been lighter. They could have swapped out the stainless steel frame for lighter aluminium ones. I get that it won’t look or feel as premium but I’d happily accept the lighter weight and less fingerprint marks on the stainless steel smile.gif

attw
post Sep 22 2021, 10:14 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 22 2021, 03:38 PM)
hahaha let’s see what Maxis has too offer bruce.gif

But I doubt the weight increase will be that significant if you’re coming from a 11 Pro Max or 12 Pro Max la, that few grams won’t be too significant I guess.
Tried both the 11 Pro Max and 12 Pro Max, sold the former and passed the latter to my wife before I bought a 12 for myself and I so enjoyed the lighter weight 12 and am now using an 11. Problem is I carry two phones around these days hence started to really appreciate the lighter phones, heh heh…

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 22 2021, 03:44 PM)
Same here.

Thus looking at 13P instead.

Since we might be allowed to travel, might be taking more videos and etc. So yeah, extra storage helps a lot.
Well I think things look up for local travel, but overseas travel won’t be so soon biggrin.gif
But for taking videos and photos, the larger screen would be better, no? Bigger viewfinder!

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 22 2021, 05:03 PM)
Wah can sell for 4k, I can easily just get the 13 Pro Max from Maxis by topping up another 200 bucks for the 256GB variant. attw how? 🤣
Yeah Maxis forever lambat one. Their independent dealers already asking me if I wanna pre-order 🤣🤣
Dunno la bro, as someone who buys (and sells) many phones over the years, I find it harder and harder to fork out RM3k or more for a used phone these days so to sell off a used phone at RM4k especially during the times of Covid is a difficult ask. Last year I sold my 256GB 11 Pro Max at RM4k with about a month of warranty left before the 12 Pro Max launched and considered myself a bit lucky to be able to get a buyer back then - doubt I would be able to get that kind of price had the warranty expired. The warranty of the12 Pro Max my wife is using now will expire on November 14th, so I still have a bit of time to decide if I wanna sell off the phone (if Switch is still offering 3755 for a trade-in next month I will be very tempted).

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 22 2021, 10:16 PM
attw
post Sep 23 2021, 11:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 22 2021, 11:34 PM)
Haha yeah was browsing around Carousell and saw the price around 4K plus minus for the base 12 Pro Max. But yeah if Switch is offering that price seems quite a decent deal - my unit is just 2 days earlier than your wife’s, so we have a balance of 1 month warranty left. In another words, changing phone again under 11 months  tongue.gif
Come on bro... you know you want to... do... not.... resist... laugh.gif

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 23 2021, 01:51 AM)
True. You are tempting me back to the PM range!
haha, yeah, as they say, go big or go home! That said the early reviews

QUOTE(nocko @ Sep 23 2021, 09:51 AM)
How do you usually gauge your selling price? thinking of selling mine as well instead of trading in  hmm.gif
For me I usually look at the lowest possible online price for a new unit now and then I'd expect something approximately 20% to 30% lower, depending on the phone condition and whether or not it still has warranty. Another method is to look at the trade in prices offered by the likes of Switch and Machines and you can probably go RM400 to RM500 more - otherwise might as well just trade in. You can usually set any selling price you want but the question would be at what price would folks be willing to buy smile.gif

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Sep 23 2021, 10:14 AM)

Battery-wise, 13 series seems to be a huge upgrade across the board to the point that even the mini surpasses last years non-mini.
It's also interesting that the 13 Pro that has a smaller battery (in terms of mAh) performs better than the 13. I'm definitely stoked for the battery life this round!

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 23 2021, 11:11 AM
attw
post Sep 23 2021, 11:22 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(nocko @ Sep 23 2021, 11:12 AM)
I am a bit lazy to do research ahahahh hence why I wanted to go for trade-in initially but I might opt to pick up 13 a bit later

hence wondering if selling off is a better route  hmm.gif
Trading in would be the least hassle option then smile.gif
attw
post Sep 23 2021, 12:24 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 23 2021, 11:45 AM)
I already put my name forward for Maxis’s ROI 😅🤦🏻‍♂️

Heard they even offered doorstep delivery so I dont have to head out to get my unit. Haha the poison is strong.
QUOTE(dikae @ Sep 23 2021, 11:56 AM)
where can i register for that? any links? haha
QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 23 2021, 12:03 PM)
Usually independent telco stores will put up their ROI list on their social pages, ie Facebook.

So I just search Maxis Sunway or Subang and you will see their distributor’s page and there’s a link to register.
This would be from the MEP stores right? (maxis Exclusive Partners) I don't think maxis branches will offer any ROI. Their website is up but it's fairly general.

https://www.maxis.com.my/en/devices/iphone-13/
attw
post Sep 23 2021, 01:54 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 23 2021, 01:16 PM)
Yup MEP.

Official Maxis branches wont publish anything without HQ’s directive
I've got some bad experiences with MEPs in the past - one insisted PWP for accessories and one insisted iPhones only for new line registration, hahaha... I guess I'll go hunting at maxis branches instead... Probably take October 8 off since I have leaves to burn as didn't travel at all this year laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 23 2021, 07:00 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 23 2021, 02:15 PM)
Yup, I’m back again usually around the iPhone launching timeframe. Else will just surf in silence. Haha.

Maybe next year iPhone 14 will be lighter. That’s one reason why I’m looking at the regular iPhone 13 (second phone) while retaining my iPhone 12 Pro Max.

I also wanna see if scb got any promo during launch day. Last year they had some.
Ahh, ok. Which colour way for the 13? Pink? smile.gif
attw
post Sep 23 2021, 10:04 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 23 2021, 07:39 PM)
Was browsing Dbrand to get some skins for my laptop then I came across their TG for iPhone 13 Pro Max - and its actually quite decently priced for 2 units per pack.

Pulled the trigger, so yeah its inevitable. 13 Pro Max lets go?
Hahaha, nice. Looks like you pulled the trigger first, haha. I'm still browsing for cases at the moment biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 23 2021, 09:22 PM)
Pink or starlight. smile.gif

Sierra blue if opting for 13pm.
Get the 13PM, sell your 12PM and get another 13, hehehe...
attw
post Sep 24 2021, 11:19 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 23 2021, 10:36 PM)
Now thinking of which case to get, but surely must be a MagSafe case since I charge using Magsafe.
Yup, casing’s next on my list.
Ya, also wanna get a MagSafe case but the choices are quite limited right now from local sellers. I might go for a modest Ringke case first and then wait for the Black Friday sale to get directly from US like I did for my Nomad case last year smile.gif

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 24 2021, 04:21 AM)
Hi everyone….it’s good to be back here reading all of your inputs. Last I was here was during iPhone 11 Pro launching😅…..

Anyway, does anyone know any details about DIGI’s Pre order installments? Was thinking of using Telco’s contract this time around, searched their website but nothing pertaining to any pre orders are up yet.

Thanks 🎈🙏🏻
The telcos normally won't release their plans and phone pricing till much closer to the preorder date - so you'll likely only see their plans coming up on 30th Sept noon or evening...

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 24 2021, 08:58 AM)
Yup this is true.

I happen to know the owner of a few MEP stores - they usually will force bundle the accessories for hot items, so I rather just buy directly from Maxis. But ROI through MEP just as a backup in case direct no stock.
I can accept the bundling of accessories to a certain extent but I've seen some MEPs outright refuse to sell the device unless it was with a new line registration. That's a bit much laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 24 2021, 11:34 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 24 2021, 11:23 AM)
Thanks so much.
Yeah I guess you’re right, whoever’s planning to get it from the telcos, must wait to the very last moments to know their plans and how much it’ll cost. They are definitely keeping mum about it for now.
Ya, I'm getting mine from maxis too but being with them for so long now I'm guessing their plans won't be that much different from last year. For my 128 plan I'm expecting to pay about RM4,3xx for the 256GB 13 Pro Max.
attw
post Sep 24 2021, 01:39 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 24 2021, 12:16 PM)
Yesss Nomad!

I’ll get it directly too, came with a bunch of cool stickers which you dont get if you purchase it locally.

How is Ringke cases? Thinking of getting normal case - or the Apple case.
Ya, Nomad has generous offers on Black Friday - 40% off. Even after shipping and conversion still reasonable vs the local resellers here. That said though I’m gonna skip Nomad this year and probably try some other case I’ve not tried before - Mous or Rhinoshield.

QUOTE(ahlin @ Sep 24 2021, 12:23 PM)
I'm still contemplating as the upgrade is minimal
Beautiful, the colour look kinda different? Or just lighting issue?
Must… not… resist… bro laugh.gif

attw
post Sep 24 2021, 08:28 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 24 2021, 01:40 PM)
Do you have to pay upfront?
Because I just called DIGI, they told me that in order to get the iPhone 13, if you don’t have a credit card, then you’ll have to pay upfront 12 months. If ada, then just deduct pulak. I’m like…aiyooo why la like that? Sigh….if have to pay upfront 12 months, might as well i just pay for the whole thing at  store.
No, I don’t have to pay upfront. For those with no credit card, maxis has the Zerolution program whereby they just bill you for the cost of the phone over 24 equal monthly payments during the length of your contract - but that program offers little to almost no subsidy for the device price and they reserve the right to block the phone if you default on your bill payment. I think upfront payment from telcos are kinda a thing from the past - unless you’re fairly new to the telco and have no history with them then they try to minimise the risks.

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 24 2021, 01:51 PM)
Because I have butterfingers 😅, the only choice that I can have for casings are just from otterbox. I sibuk only and went to their website yesterday, they have discounts up to 20% and free shipping. Usually I bought mine at the authorized seller in lazada or machines…. Harga online at official otterbox website and at lazada only a few bucks difference even after conversion rates. But yeah, some people might not like that brand because it’s bulky..
Used Otterbox Defender for my iPhone 4 back in the day and did use the Symmetry for my 6 Plus/6S Plus. You’re right, they are kinda bulky, hahaha. In the past few years I’ve just been alternating between Spigen and UAG, but I did try the Nomad for my 12 Pro Max last year. A leather case is nice and all but it’s a little too fragile - it easily gets water marks and scratches. Definitely not for those with OCD laugh.gif

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Sep 24 2021, 03:45 PM)
This year seem like Apple dont have this issue, most colours still in stock during pre order at other countries
https://www.gsmarena.com/iphone_13_pro_ship...-news-51098.php

I think the 13 and 13 Mini won’t have an issue, but the Pro and Pro Max seems to be selling well - I’m guessing the Sierra Blue one biggrin.gif
QUOTE(ahlin @ Sep 24 2021, 04:42 PM)
Resist, for A WEEK.  whistling.gif
You know you want one! Hahaha…
attw
post Sep 25 2021, 09:46 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TomYummy @ Sep 24 2021, 11:49 PM)
I think for future resale value the best bet is the Sierra Blue. Maybe that will be the most sought after.  blink.gif
The colour wouldn’t add to the resale value I don’t think, but there will certainly be more interested buyers in the Sierra Blue smile.gif

QUOTE(ezypepper @ Sep 24 2021, 11:53 PM)
I’ve been a long standing customer with DIGI, but then again, maybe the CS I was talking to didn’t want to give more details. So let’s just see what the telco have to offer on the 1st of October. I’m sure people are clamoring for the IP13 this time around, Takkan they want to use that pay up front strategy right? I remembered my sister purchased her IP11 pro, the same as zerolution plan in maxis as you’ve mentioned. No issues of any upfront payments from DIGI. Only deduct every month as always. Weird how the telcos wanna keep this info until the very last min. Hello, people need to plan their budget end of the month and 24 months after hahaaha..

Yea, it’s kinda bulky that otterbox casing. I’m a great fan of their pop socket line. But even if they have a holder at the back, still being buttery fingers….it’ll just slipped of my nimble fingers! Sigh ahahah…but, it’s freaking sturdy la. So, I don’t mind getting another one for the 13 pro. No leather casings for me though, as you’ve mentioned, it does leaves marks and scratches easily. If I don’t scratch it, I know my cats will kepoh and cakar🤣
I bought my iPhone 4 on contract with DiGi and to be honest it was pretty straightforward. They lump the bill and instalment for the phone into the bill and auto-debited my credit card for 24 months with 0% interest so in a way it was like they had a Zerolution way before maxis did, hahaha.. My only issue with them was coverage was not that great in my neighbourhood and the line often went dead with bad weather - like Astro laugh.gif Anyways, I’m sure all the telco plans and phone prices will be not that far off from last year’s so can use that as a benchmark.

I just ordered a Ringke Onyx todayto use temporarily first while I continue scouting for a more premium case. Want one with MagSafe support but unfortunately local resellers don’t have that yet. Will probably wait a bit longer or see if I can get a discount during the Black Friday sale and buy directly from the States or something. We’ll see…

QUOTE(doppatroll @ Sep 25 2021, 08:37 AM)
I wont bet on that ..... Only those who preorder online will not be charge upfront. There is a new rules where you have to pay upfront lately, Last time i did take Zerolution from maxis centre on my 12 pro.... and i had to paid RM 1,200 for the upfront fee but of course the fee will deduct back to your bill...Check with you local store first to avoid disappointment....
I’ve bought 6,6S, 8 Plus and 11 Pro Max from maxis, and also have my current Apple Watch S5 and iPad Pro on Zerolution - never had to pay any upfront. In fact, bought the 12 Pro Max from them with my wife’s account last year and we weren’t asked for upfront either. Anyways, you’re right, the amount does get deducted back from the bill so it’s probably no biggie anyways.

QUOTE(dikae @ Sep 25 2021, 05:28 PM)
Had the same dilemma last year and the year before, went with 256gb and realise it’s the same as wife’s 128gb...so this time going for 128...since I won’t be shooting 4K ProRes anyway biggrin.gif
Same here, hahaha. I also wanna go 128GB but the phone eventually makes it way to my wife and she has lots of stuffs on her phone, might need 256GB just to be safe. Anyway, my stance would probably be “I’ll take whatever you have in stock for Sierra Blue, maxis. 128 or 256.”

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 25 2021, 09:46 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1742sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:10 AM