7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1

Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 10:02 AM

842 posts

I have just booked RS Silver, old boring colour but easy to maintain. and can remain shiny even after many years with annual coating.

Thinking of getting V Spec but silver really looks so much better with RS black rims and black handles, etc.

Hit over 50 years old now and many feel Civic too racy for me but I am those old guys that enjoyed driving, so driving to work in 1 to 2 hours is really not chore for me.

Been driving 15 years old Civic FD for family time and 12 years old Persona for daily work (cost saving and persona excellent handling for its price).

Initially looking for SUV for family car, but CX5 too old although still looks good but high price + tech age, small infotainment, boring meter cluster is a dealbreaker. Cross, foot break and boring dashboard is a dealbreaker and my wife don't like the feel at rear seating (quite ok). Subaru XV a bit small at rear seating. Mazda CX30, the rear seat totally cannot seat ppl when I drive and push back the driver seat. No legroom at all. Others good big SUV there out of budget.

So back to Civic which is MY preference (always prefer sedan especially good driving exp type) and already give my wife chances at SUV...hehe.

After booking only I do more serious in-depth research (coz waiting list long, so book first) and discover a few issues that seriously bugs me.

1. Hard seat, during test drive, I ok wan coz seating in FD 1.8 fabric spec, long drive also can feel butt pain but I think FE might be worse. So for my wife, not sure she can tahan or not but then when got long drive trip, I will be driving, maybe buy a seat cushion for spare and my wife. For me, I prefer the body hugging of original seat unless by butt pain flare up. For rear seat, can using the 3 pcs car seat cover to soften if kids want to lie down.

2. Low seat. Even FD also consider lower seat when compare to likes of my other car, Vios and City but still high when compared to FE. Don't know in future my knee can tahan or not but its a Civic...I can tahan..My wife only 5 foot 2...Will feel kerdil when driving or seat in passenger seat but she say ok....although she prefer SUV (although even more kerdil but can see down from highpoint..haha) coz everyone say family car should but SUV.

3. Most concern now, just realize FE especially RS ground clearance is 134mm/5.2inches (based on internet spec), I think my FD is 170mm or so (at least on or over 6.6 inches). I have no issue with FD going anywhere during trips, holidays and potholes/rougher roads but with this low 5.2inches, would I have problems with lots of high bumps, building basement parking and port klang port hole roads? I start to have doubts coz I intend to let my wife use it alternately for work in Port Klang especially with the 18" low sidewall. If change vSpec, will lose the combi seat that is my preferred seat material although 17" wheel size perfect (hate that rim tho thus one of reason to switch to RS). Prefer original rim rather than aftermarket coz supposedly more heavy duty (at least all my previous vehicles are).

Then another question pop in...personally, flash flood, I kena my house in Botanic Klang couple of years ago. Luckily it went up and almost reach the side step (not yet) of FD...If it ever happen again, I think govt really can't remedy this, FE with over 1 inch lower will have problem or not with that and any slightly flooded road that my FD, City and Persona can go thru. Something that might never happen again but then this is Malaysia with increasing flash flood thing..So should I consider SUV becoz of the real Flash Flood, should I sacrifice the fun driving FE for something that might or might not happen again? Without alternative suitable SUV, the only new one coming will be CRV but that is 20K or more (new one sure raise price). Internal dash looks like Civic but pocket will blow holes or should I say explode but this is a real SUV. Limbo now coz in my heart, I still prefer Civic FE, skip FC, too sharp aggressive looks for my age but then RS also but I like..

Additional questions I have
1. Does V Spec has same 5.2inches ground clearance or only RS.
2. May uses 70mai dashcam coz far cheaper than honda. The aftermarket dashcam will use the 12v cig plugs right? What about Honda overprice dashcam, go direct to fusebox or still using 12v cig plug. I try to leave the cig plugs free coz I use it quite often to pump tyre (own michelin tyre pump). If honda goes direct to fusebox, I might just takes the authorized ones.
3. I likely go lazy go for direct ecotint. Most outside tint keeps saying jpj compliant but when see VLT 70%...plus the windscreen sure fail inspection. If use blackpearl, although it feel nice in the sun, will visibility be bad at night? Usually using Vkool Elite for all my cars but now this tint price goes out budget liao.

Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 11:01 AM

842 posts

Thanks, that is great info.

Like that if dashcam use 12v cig port...then when use car pump, dashboard camera kena shutdown?

If secretly use fuse box, then if any electrical thingy happen, warranty sure void...Haiz. Should I live with shitty dashcam, or go crazy, but honda dashcam to fusebox, then switch the cam out with 70mai..but that means spending almost 2 k for dashcam....haiz. Installing dashcam also can kepala sakit.

I really going for ecotint for convenient sake coz Ecotint long history and got ok reputation outside. Even Vkool last time listed 55 TSER, heat rejection really good. This one 45 TSER, so bad kah?

If UV rejection real figure, then might still ok coz VLT 80 front sure pass JPJ in future. The tint meant to protect the dashboard. Only will use good tint especially rear windscreen. My car original VKool really lasted 12 to 17 years, still worked no issue. Dashboard colour still good even under hot sun for years. Only front tint start getting a bit blurry. Time to change. Budget again..
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 11:05 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 10:50 AM)
70mai the best for bang for quality video and price
But using 12v port. Will the cable near port dangle around?
What about when I need to use the port for tyre pump. Disconnect power to camera everytime?

I already looking at A500 or A800 earlier but tot can direct go fusebox coz honda sure got port for dashcam since they offering one.
Then this warranty thing comes in.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 23 2023, 11:16 AM
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 11:21 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 11:12 AM)
Can get installer for good installation. Especially the wiring
But without hardwiring the dashcam, means the dashcam parking mode will be disable when off engine.

Does Honda's one has parking mode?
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 02:05 PM

842 posts

SA just replied, ground clearance of V-Spec and RS same.
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 03:51 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jun 23 2023, 03:45 PM)
50 on front windscreen is just nice for our climate.

Not too dark too during night drive, just nice
But JPJ rules is 70% front windscreen with tint. Meaning tint should be higher than 70%.
50% VLT limit is the front side tint. Rear and back windscreen no limit now for non commercial vehicle.
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 03:55 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 11:12 AM)
Can get installer for good installation. Especially the wiring. And for pump, why not make it at petrol station?
Have to jaga 4 cars. Next time 5 cars. Very tiring to keep driving to petrol station to pump, always rosak.

I pump at home when I like, cold pressure. My wife, kid, mom all spoiled by me.. I jaga all the kereta.
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 03:58 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Lemmy0 @ Jun 23 2023, 10:18 AM)
Iโ€™m using Hondaโ€™s authorized dashcam, direct to fuse. recording quality reallyโ€ฆ No eye see. Wanted to report a car cutting queue, pass by my side also cannot see number plate clearly. But considered I took eHEV and I donโ€™t want any trouble in future from Honda Malaysia with all sort of donkey excuses to void my warranty.

Used their tint as well, donโ€™t expect good heat rejection ๐Ÿ˜… my previous car also use ecotint but can feel the differenceโ€ฆ also same reason as above why I took their package. Another reason is SA gave me discount on tinted.
The eco-tint, u take black pearl or normal. If black pearl, is 5% rear ok kah at night, can see?
I find it quite troublesome to find JPJ compliant, meaning 75% above tint to be safe. Either too expensive or too cheap (poor quality). So in the end, ecotint with 80% makes the easy choice but at higher price for the quality given if heat rejection is not really as indicated.

Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 05:39 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 23 2023, 03:52 PM)
that's entirely up to your call your decisions.
if you really love the Civic, why not relocate to a higher home? hah?
if not, then maybe you don't really love the civic, go SUV lo.

You got me there.. If I can afford to relocate my home coz of Civic, I won't be buying Civic liao... There is a whole world of high price powerful sedan out there as long as money is no concern.. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Civic is my dream sedan coz this the highest level sedan I can afford... Haha.. I will abandon Civic within milliseconds if I got a few hundred k to spend on car.. ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

But my college age blood sucker daughter is sucking me dry.. So Civic remained my dream sedan๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜˜

U think I dont want Suv meh.. Subcompact b segment I tak ngam, national ones I scared take long term. C segment one I cannot afford....Now wait SEE all new CRV how.. If Civic not get by launch, I go see CRV but price might shoot up over 170k for mid spec, wait pocket exploded, so let me think think first. Wait daughter say want study master, as a super loving spoiled daughter dad, how can I not supportโค๏ธโค๏ธโค๏ธ
Cavino
post Jun 23 2023, 05:42 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 23 2023, 04:08 PM)
install the tire pressure monitor devices if to ocd on pumping. much better. 5 cars, no issue.
No exp in this... How much ar to install full set on a car?

Let me calc budget first for 4 cars. I'm serious.
Cavino
post Jun 24 2023, 09:37 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Lemmy0 @ Jun 23 2023, 07:31 PM)
I took black pearl, so far so good for me, maybe my area more street lamps. And after changing from my 2019 Yaris with BSM to Civic, I never change lane if I canโ€™t see anything (dark roads).

Also Black Pearl RWS is 20% VLT, not 5% ya.
rear window is 10%.

But you will need to tolerate with the heat rejection. Just checked my previous ecotint FWS was 50% VLT, compared to current 70%โ€ฆ freaking hell, can feel the warm from FWS to my face during sunny days.
Tq. That is great info but I tot this current tint is 80% VLT FWS, tser only 45% as opposed to other tint 70% with 50 to 55% TSER thus the greater heat. I think since my panel only has more expensive local brand rayno and even more expensive not smart tag friendly 3m, I likely will take black pearl.
Cavino
post Jun 24 2023, 09:42 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 23 2023, 09:58 PM)
The battery is very small capacity so if parking without sun for many days, it'll run out eventually especially if you got open close door a lot and shake the car to wake it up.

In those cases, just plug it to charge a while.

Otherwise, ok to run pure solar.
So cheap can get and no need installation. I ignorantly tot need to hardwire sensor into the tyre area only can work. I think I going to buy tpms for all my car, ya, I now learn how to call this.

So long no check car forum, missed lots of info and I have been doing all the unnecessary manual checking all these years. With this, I can pump only when needed.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 24 2023, 10:07 AM
Cavino
post Jun 24 2023, 09:48 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jun 23 2023, 08:53 PM)
For pump, Iโ€™m using xiaomi portable pump for my house cars, and my bike.
Did not realise xiaomi got portable pump. Earlier I bought from Mr DIY, condo, heavy duty and worked great for years. However the latest Mr. DIY store with carsun or something, horrible quality, 1 set cease to work after 1 time, another set short-circuit the 12v car fuse. I just throw the 80+ pump away. Don't want claim 2nd warranty and risk short circuit again.

So I go for the very expensive michelin with low noise and vibration pump. Now I know xiaomi, I going to get to put in my other car as emergency pump.
Cavino
post Jun 24 2023, 09:53 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 23 2023, 07:23 PM)
Get Civic la
No need wait no need think

CRV is going to inflate in prices.
You see CRV prices now, expect 10-20% hike.
Based on Thailand pricing, large price increase is very likely. If price out of 170k, then it's out from my max budget consideration.

I just hope... Tiny hope that they tone down the spec as usual and increase a few k only. Anyway, if by luck, Civic silver rs get within these few months, then no need consider. Only if crv launch still not get Civic, I consider.
Cavino
post Jun 24 2023, 12:31 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(jackpop @ Jun 24 2023, 11:25 AM)
is the car is too low ? especially going through bump and also multilevel car park ? any issue ?
Yesterday sat in my friend's RS drive. Passenger seat is firm but not hard as I thought. Seat have more tighter body hugging seat thus some will feel the seat much harder as our butt don't have much space to move in front especially driver seat.

Coming from FD fabric seat which is much softer but still firm, I'm quite comfortable with FE seat. Prefer it that way but obviously butt hugging firm seat makes the butt sore in long drive but then in more softer but firm FD seat, I also sore butt when drive long distance. So no issue for me. The rear seats really much firmer than FD but due to wide legroom and seats, quite comfortable but don't compare with those more luxurious seat like CX5. Can soften with those 3 piece car seat cover. So seat issue settled for me. Low seat a bit of issue for older ppl with knee problem getting out but I think still manageable, give and take, no perfect for sportier ride.

The car is indeed quite low compared to fd side by side but no issue going to pavilion basement. But as friend say, this is standard car low, not sport car low, so no issue so far as long as u slow down a lot and don't run through bump, just slow down a lot which I did for all my cars anyway to protect absorber, etc. Those apply to all car anyway.

For flooding, suv safer but pickup truck best.. Hahaha.. I don't know. Waiting to see crv or Civic come out first. Then got budget or not. Wife say crv too big, don't like.. Civic lor. Big also don't like, low also worry.. Haiz

Those especially high bump with scratch all over, slow to a crawl to pass lor. Low profile tyres 18" tyre just more susceptible to tyre bengkak or burst if going through big pothole.. So must be much more careful for rs.

Speak like my own experience only but my own largest tyre is 16" with 55 height.. So really no exp but trye noise and road feel really much more pronounce in rs, quite rougher in ride for 18" low profile wide tyres. Want those conti feel, maybe have to take v or e spec for the smaller rim and higher tyre profile. Pocket blow bigger holes for 18" but then suv tyres also blow very big hole .. Want big car, pay big money..

My wife suggest the new Axia... That 22k model to save money... I don't know what to say.. Err. Ok. I buy new 22k Axia for u, ur 17 years poor old car, City, I "sit tai" a bit, I drive. She kept quiet since then.

So conclusion is still... I resolved most of my doubt regarding the hard seats, low seat but not the lower ground clearance due to flood phobia but I think maybe I think too much due to my earlier once in lifetime or maybe more house flooded phobia. Other than flood phobia issue that reach 6inch deep last time, the 5.2" inches ground clearance should not be a problem.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 24 2023, 07:07 PM
Cavino
post Jun 25 2023, 12:28 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(keenie @ Jun 24 2023, 01:26 PM)
Well played! Haha!
Some may think that is just a joke... It really happened while I'm planning budget for civic. She is really serious when she said that and my respond really also serious. I can pay cash but u drive since u suggest. She abandon the idea, straight when she will be the one driving it. Save lots of money tho if she goes for it. ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Want to drive new car tho.. Many years no new car liao... ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ฌ๐Ÿ˜ But my old cars dont want to spoil.. ๐Ÿ˜…. Now all become old cars liao in tip top comfortable driving condition but no resale value, at least not worth to sell coz although aged, still excellent condition.

Now daughter need extra car, chance come already. I got excuse to buy...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 25 2023, 12:44 PM
Cavino
post Jun 26 2023, 04:28 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Lemmy0 @ Jun 26 2023, 01:21 PM)
Good thing is, my rear right windows are making screeching noise when wind down, will get SC check and claim if necessary on my 10k service. Without the risk of โ€˜you buat tinted kat luarโ€™ ๐Ÿ˜‚
Warranty, precisely why I considering manufacturer tint even not up to par but outside tint nowadays front most not JPJ compliant except for VKool Elite (73% to 75% borderline). Years ago, never have such issue, tint is tint, any other warranty not affected. Now even windows tint also got blame. If take the 6 mil side windows package, don't know thicker tint got coz the screeching problem or not but since its honda approved, still can claim. Outside security tint with 6 mil will get 100% blame.

Going thru the early posts, just realised 70mai A800 front and rear camera can also use the front USB charging port instead of 12v cig port. I can free up the 12v port for vacuum and tyre pump.

Anyone using the front USB charging port for dashcam? Not sure of the power delivery as the USB port only supply 2.5A. Sufficient for 2 camera kah?

The other USB port is for link direct to infotainment specially android auto, is it?

Cavino
post Jun 26 2023, 05:47 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 26 2023, 12:17 PM)
Tint need to check IRR% and TSER%. Tbh tint from manufacturers usually not the highest spec on market. Tbh Ecotint brand kinda very old brand and got also people put poor review on it.
Raybarrier name very familiar, years ago retail got use the name but ecotint now no list in official website thus no idea what is the IRR.

Ecotint reputation has a old but moderate reputation, definitely not premium, more like 2nd grade but still not those ayam brand one. Unfortunately my SC only has official ecotint and panel for Rayno that is even more expensive at about 3K (newer brand here, unknown long term reputation) or 3M. Don't want to cut holes in windscreen for smart tag, so 3M out. Rayno, more expensive, unknown reputation, don't know can last. So only Ecotint left unless I do outside meaning got warranty risk with the nitpicking, main bola SC nowadays.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 26 2023, 07:15 PM
Cavino
post Jun 26 2023, 05:58 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(hukiju @ Jun 26 2023, 04:32 PM)
i suggest buy fuse tap and 70mai hardwire to hardwire it. It is easy to do it, just did it myself last weekend.
That hardwire thingy will void fuse and electrical system warranty. No want risk that coz this car really too many gadget. No want mod anything or void anything. Too old, no energy to play, kiasi liao.

Also have to start budgeting for 18" low profile tyre PS5 tyre in 3 or 4 years time. Ya, I'm a stupid no money but still wanna buy michelin PS4 or PS5 kaki. Love PS4 on my FD. Still change to overpriced PS4 now coz PS5 not available for 16".

Mmm...maybe I re-consider, go buy new Facelift City instead...budget seems to be getting higher and higher, the more i plan. Wait really go buy new CRV how?
My planned savings to pau a 20 year old yi lai when I retire will goes up in smoke if this goes on.
Cavino
post Jun 26 2023, 08:41 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 26 2023, 07:54 PM)
My 70mai a500s with a 3rd party 12V cigarette adapter has a tendency to overheat on a hot day. Then it will shut down by itself. I thought it was the usb adapter but it seems to be running cool and doesnโ€™t heat up. The camera unit itself is very hot, easily 50-60C near the power cable port on the camera unit.
Aiyo, good quality, inexpensive dashcam also got problem. Like that if I want dashcam, I pay for Honda's shitty dashcam. It least hardwired, cable hidden, got warranty (i think). No void fuse warranty or cable dangling or taking up charging spot. Sc cannot complain coz official. Just pay double the amount for peace of mind.

Just Cannot see sharp, cannot see sharp lar, maybe leng lui walk in front cannot see face, see shape good enuf. As long as got peace of mind, the camera can capture something if anything happen. Never look at factory dashcam of my other vios...ever. Just fire and forget....or just forget since I never really notice it. That day, just remember and check after 3 years...yeah, its still running. Also not sharp.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1937sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:24 AM