LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1

squareballs
post Jul 5 2023, 12:35 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 5 2023, 11:27 AM)
So....my turn.
I used foam pads (KCLow will know its our favourite material)
https://shopee.com.my/CEO-%F0%9F%87%B2%F0%9...5456.4913172354

My first attemp was to shim the screws holding down that glossy trim with rubber washer, it didn't work so well.

second and final attempt (3 days so far no noise), was to use the foam tape and put 2-3 layers between the door side, and the trim in sandwich.

I think the root cause is the protrusion pressing on the plastic on the door side and causing the annoying contact / rattle sound when it vibrate.

sometimes i just hope they dont make that ambient light cover.. laugh.gif
squareballs
post Jul 5 2023, 02:28 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 5 2023, 01:11 PM)
I was frankly horrified when I see the some of the screw bosses being heat staked into mushrooms.

Like you said, a simple door trim they split it to 4-5 pieces, join it with re-melted plastic but it looked very obviously to be screw points.

Complicating a design and then using one way fastening....hmmmm....Titan sub anyone?

Macam last minute your big boss ask you to cheapen the project and you just decided lantak-lah.
Yes exactly! and i thought mine was defect.. seems like its a design.. laugh.gif
squareballs
post Jul 7 2023, 11:51 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(68 others @ Jul 7 2023, 08:37 AM)
have any one tried to trade in or sell off civic 2022 V spec?
How much can you get?
Thinking of changing to a smaller car, maybe Ora good cat
2022 v spec even for 130k also tough to sell off. Unless meet a desperate buyer.

I believe the sweet spot to sell off [if planning to] is 2-3 years time..
squareballs
post Jul 8 2023, 05:17 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(alexlim_88 @ Jul 8 2023, 04:13 PM)
Just booked my car.... been driving city 2007 until now...  the feeling is so unreal now...

1. Once I got my car, i'm gonna send the car to do car floor sound proofing.  Is Car Comfort Shop ok?
2. I  asked the SA about installing third party dash cam with internal wiring to allow recording while engine is dead, he said as long as no existing wire is cut, then is OK. Is that true?
no heartache seeing new car kena strip ?

squareballs
post Jul 8 2023, 05:19 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jul 7 2023, 07:00 PM)
FE model lesser buyer?
If Civic FC Ketam very fast one, those 2020-2021 I survey during March, very fast got buyer booking and I lost chance I think 2 units, and price ranging RM123k - 129k
i seriously dont understand why FC ketam still can fetch so high price.. laugh.gif
squareballs
post Jul 10 2023, 09:59 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 9 2023, 09:33 PM)
That's the one. The model nobody buy. 7th gen. Luckily FD came out when I need another car.

Oh, btw. Anyone using ehev model?

1. Pickup really significantly stronger than RS or not?
2. The motor noisy or not? Hrv really quite noticeable, I heard, what abt Civic?
3. Highway drive engine how? Pushing, noisy or running power smooth just like non hybrid.

I'm considering this of still cannot get car after crv not out or price not ngam... But looking at the currency and looming us debt and local market condition, my wife ask me to reconsider coming fl City...at least more reasonable than the earlier suggested Axia.

Haiz, heng heng booked Civic liao, upgrade ok, now ask to downgrade to City.... Used to think City ok one for our new car... But now after sit in Civic... Suddenly feels the mature nice rear looking city suddenly feel so.... small, like Civic cut in half size (not true, just trying to imagine the feeling)..but City more than 50k cheaper, that's 1.5 cars vs Civic. If buy crv, can buy almost 2 whole new City..
civic ehev and city facelift.

I’ll just get the civic E or V variant. Sweet spot in between.
city is at the region of 9x, the civic ehev is near to 170k.. civic E/V is at the sweet spot in between.

You can’t compare the driving dynamics of a B segment and C segment. And of coz SUV also can’t be compared.
Looks like your decision making is highly depending on the car price.. just get the car u like to drive.. just ignore your wife this time 😁

squareballs
post Jul 10 2023, 01:03 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Jul 10 2023, 11:21 AM)
1) It is 315nM vs 240nM. Yes, it is a big difference.
2) It is actually very quiet, you will hear the motor sound it is a very low whirring sound. You will notice the artificial engine noise more rather than the motor sounds.
3) Max speed is lower than regular civic turbo, it can go up to 191km/h easily anytime. Civic turbo can go up to 200km/h I think.
This i agree.. been there done that..
but on highway still kena Bezza and Myvis cucuk.. cry.gif
squareballs
post Jul 14 2023, 08:54 PM

4,331 posts

Sc called this afternoon.. steering rack arrived. That’s quick , around 2-3 weeks only

squareballs
post Jul 17 2023, 11:26 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jul 16 2023, 10:51 PM)
FE still has this steering rack issue?
yes
squareballs
post Jul 31 2023, 11:00 AM

4,331 posts

Sent my car in for steering rack claim.. tomorrow afternoon only siap..

lets see how this new rack perform.. laugh.gif
squareballs
post Aug 1 2023, 12:04 PM

4,331 posts

Collected my car.. steering smooth like butter and so quiet…

My receipt did not show what part was changed, just show replace steering rack.

Ok la not too bad less than 1 month settle.
Now is to see how long this new rack will last.. 😂
squareballs
post Aug 1 2023, 11:07 PM

4,331 posts

CRV and civic , totally different car, different feel.

If you want comfortable ride, but don’t mind the dated interior design, just go for the CRV turbo.

If the 170k ehev civic is over budget. Just get the RS or V spec. Settle
squareballs
post Aug 2 2023, 10:05 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 1 2023, 02:14 PM)
Ya mine got, can't remember if specific part numbers were written down
Saw the invoice on Honda touch .. they changed my G/Box Assy around 3.5k.. I think now they don’t change the whole thing already. Only this part
squareballs
post Aug 2 2023, 12:38 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2023, 11:04 AM)
Ya correct, same also, just can't remember if exact part numbers stated for mine lol

Price yes same as you mentioned
(Mine referring printed cuz i don't have access to wife Honda touch lol)
guess ours changed almost same time.. lets see whose will need to claim again in future laugh.gif
squareballs
post Aug 7 2023, 12:13 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(death_nite @ Aug 6 2023, 01:02 PM)
Anyone know how to turn off and on the HU (besides turn off and on the car)?

My usb cable broken so the hu disable the port for protection. The error asked me to remove the device and cable and to reset the error code need to turn off and on the HU.

I tried using the knob button. But it just turn off/on the audio. I press and hold the knob but nothing happened.
try to find the fuse for HU? unplug and insert again..

not sure la, just my guess.. if still cant its time to go back SC
squareballs
post Sep 11 2023, 04:07 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(fuzai91 @ Sep 9 2023, 09:58 PM)
Anyone experiencing sticky or stiff steering at highway speed? I’m feeling it only 3,400km in. I read online that US owners are suing Honda for this but not sure if anyone’s tried to fix this with the Honda dealership here?
steering rack definitely.. wait till it worsen and got sound, go claim warranty
squareballs
post Oct 7 2023, 01:04 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 7 2023, 01:01 AM)
Am looking at the Civic but have one concern. You guys are not worried about the sticky steering issue after the 5 years warranty period?
many things can happen in 5 years..
maybe by the time 4th year, sell off and change new car..

for me its either get the car i like, and live with it, or get a boring car that i dont like.

but thats me la. my FE changed new rack in June, now slight DUK sound is back occasionally. laugh.gif
but i just leave it la. until teruk only go SC claim, most probably next year it will worsen.

If it happens again for the 3rd time.. ok time to find a new car brows.gif
squareballs
post Oct 8 2023, 11:06 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 7 2023, 01:24 PM)
Ahahha. I guess you guys are still young and have high tolerance with it.

I typically drive my car till it can't go anymore. Case in point, I am still driving a 18 year old Accord cause it was maintained well and did not have repeated issues. Only thinking of changing now cause I think transmission was giving way but after sending back to Honda to check, they told me everything is okie and can't find any fault with the gearbox. From that day onwards, my transmission did not exhibit any issue. lol
im almost 40 yo... recent years couldnt be bothered with these things already, just let it be.
even some little rattling sounds/scratches i also numb already.

when i am in my 20s. i cannot tahan all these things on my car, always go bising at SC doh.gif laugh.gif
squareballs
post Oct 8 2023, 11:35 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 8 2023, 11:18 AM)
Kinda agree, my first car preve, i very free go complain here there up down left right. The car driver seat assembly change 3 times due to fabric issue and ngek ngek sound 😂, front brake rotor change twice due to helicopter sound when brake, engine mounting change becos vibration kuat within warranty period.

Civic, complain abit here there but eventually just live with it 😅 but rattling kuat they fixed for me la. No major problem, 90% time enjoy driving, 10% is due to when issue pop up 😂 at least it is a much better car to drive. I guess probably after i sat in my collague a45 amg then i heard rattling here there so i think, hmm ok la lol. Its brunei car so i believe not ckd from msia. And the hard plastic interior really..
I drove my friend's BRZ, and the rattling is everywhere laugh.gif

He told me, you want to whack corners, you want performance, you want fast, just live with the rattling. Which is quite true la hahaha
squareballs
post Oct 8 2023, 03:25 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Oct 8 2023, 02:13 PM)
I'm like that too when I was in my 20s. lol.

We're about the same age I guess but I still want at least those things to work as it should. Scratches and dings on the body I can overlook but if my steering sticks, I am very sure that I will be pissed.

Since I'm surveying, besides the steering rack issue, any problems with the CVT? Reason I held out buying an Accord or Civic was because they moved from AT to CVT which I don't like the feel. Too much engine whining without the car moving. biggrin.gif
CVT no issue so far.. about the CVT whining sound i dont really notice it, sounds just like my previous 6AT car.

as for the steering rack.. since still surveying. can just wait and see next year..
in FB group there're people saying about improve rack, but personally i dont really believe it laugh.gif

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2031sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:33 AM