krynzpeaches
post Jan 22 2008, 04:06 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Ohh, I wanted to share this!!!

wub.gif

Look...! A story book based on glider!

I love the illustrations!

Gonna search if they have it here at Borders or Kino... Or else order it! rclxm9.gif

-----

Eee, so bad lar...

Even the fish shop that I go for my mealworms, last time got WC gliders too, but I think not as bad... Although I pity them, but the aunty seems to give them a variety of fruits wor... Always different one every time I go... But they are very skinny... So sad...

sad.gif
KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 22 2008, 04:12 PM

2,047 posts

Haha, I bet if you've seen some of the inside pages, you'd double freak out...

But I like it wub.gif

The illustrator pays good attention to detail in a childish way smile.gif

I like!

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 22 2008, 05:11 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Jan 22 2008, 04:47 PM)
Thanks KP. I'll keep that in mind. I'll try to find the tweezer here 1st. But if cant find, I'll find u.  tongue.gif

I meant the milk, not the tweezer doh.gif

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Jan 22 2008, 04:53 PM)
hm....i don really get what do u mean by Out Of Pouch. u mean 2 months of OOP joeys are better? and 1 thing i dun understand is wat do u mean by 3 months from birth means it's only 1 month OOP? u mean a joey will be ready to sale when is reaches 4 months?(2 months from birth and another 2 months OOP). kinna confuse here rclxub.gif . mind to explain again? tongue.gif  biggrin.gif

OMG shakehead.gif

*Falls off the chair...*

Then you seriously know nothing about suggies yet...

If you are seriously interested to keep suggies, you need to do some research dear...

It's not that 2 months OOP is better... 2 months OOP is the right age, is the correct age, the supposed age for a joey to be separated from their mother.

Sugar gliders are marsupial, so when a joey is born, they will crawl into their mother's pouch and stay in there/grow in there for 2 months.

All the while in the pouch, we cannot see it, touch it or take it out.

After 2 months being in the pouch, then they will come out. That is what we call Out Of Pouch (OOP)

Right after OOP, the joeys eyes will still be closed until it is 2 weeks OOP.

The joey will need to be with their mother until it is 8 weeks OOP because during this period they will be nursing and learning everything that their parents teach them.

Understand?

So the right weaned age is atleast 8 weeks OOP (or if you wanna add with their time being in the pouch, yes, it is 4 months after birth)

Clear?

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 23 2008, 11:36 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(mako @ Jan 23 2008, 04:28 AM)
Hi jamien u didnt offend me at all cos i agree that i m mass breeder but i deny being a miller like what reanne accused me of...milller means the person who doesnt care n bother about the health or the appearance of those pets n really mistrat them just only for their offspring..they r more concerned about the babies n not on the adults ..but i m not those type of breeder...so i don mind u saying mass breeder cos i really m one ..i m understanding guyn not like those brainless ppl barking simply n accusing ppl...

*sighhh*

Please read and understand Reanne's elaborated explanation (I know it's long, but I have read every single of her word)

Don't put your defense mode up front before you finish reading her replies.

What she is pointing out is nothing but the truth (and she is not pointing it to you...)

It doesn't matter what it's called, be it mass breeder or miller, but when one breeds that way, those two terms carry the same meaning.

I will not touch on hamster breeding and such as I am not even close to good at it. But my main concern is about breeding gliders.

Breeding gliders is not as close to how you breed hamsters. It is way, way more complicated and time consuming and will delay your turn around time if you do it properly (because you need to wait for atleast 4 months before you should sell the joeys) I shall name anyone who breeds glider in mass a "miller" as fast as a heart beat! Because I know they will not be practising the proper glider breeding ethics.

And if you do breed gliders, I would love to see their breeding place and such if you allow me to - period.

We are all concerned about breeding because we love animals not the other way round, so it is always good to be open and willing to accept new things in a forum discussion like this.

notworthy.gif

KP

Added on January 23, 2008, 11:38 amOhh Broken_string,

I hope you'll glider will recover soon!

Poor little suggie!

sad.gif
KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jan 23 2008, 11:38 AM
krynzpeaches
post Jan 23 2008, 03:22 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jan 23 2008, 11:48 AM)
Speaking of tweezers, cannot just use a common tweezer?

I dunno if can use the common tweezer we use to pluck facial hair...

I'm using those tweezer to pick up small things one... The one with pointed ends...

Something like this,

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jan 23 2008, 02:58 PM)
what is Turnip Greens?
turnip is sengkuang right?
need to find good ratio of calcium, dun want to rely only on papayas and yogurt.

Turnip is not sengkuang... More like those Lobak Putih...

Anyway, turnip green is the leaf part of the turnip which looks like this,

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jan 23 2008, 03:26 PM
krynzpeaches
post Jan 23 2008, 03:35 PM

2,047 posts

Mine has pointed tip like in the pix, but is bent not straight up like that so it never pokes up to my suggies face...

sweat.gif

Lemme look for another pix...

KP

---

It's something like this...

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jan 23 2008, 03:39 PM
krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 12:11 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jan 23 2008, 03:51 PM)
i juz back from the vet
he also say cant do much if he keep on scratching ta wound.
he giv me some xray paper and ask me to make a collar for him to prevent him from doing so anymore

so i need to buy some scraps of those cloth u use to make the sleeping pouch to cover the edge of those plastic from hurting ta suggie.

let me know when ur free to meet up  wink.gif

Alaa, if you had told me earlier, today also can since cuti ma...

This weekend lor, okay?

QUOTE(spinel-sun @ Jan 23 2008, 04:16 PM)
oh..my dydy hor...when i feed her slurp n kibble...she'll bite,then chew chew chew till dry dy thn she'll spit out one wor...

does all snuggies does tat??when i see d kibble like all kena chew dy bt wet wet abit...like nv eat like tat...  shakehead.gif

wink.gif

Haha, that's very normal dear wink.gif

Most suggies do that. The thing they spit out is called "pulp"

They have extracted all the juices and such, the pulp is sort of the excess non-value food anymore smile.gif

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Jan 23 2008, 05:07 PM)
Now, i got  rclxub.gif , is this a tweezer or forcep? haha..

Sorry, I can't help but LOL when I saw your pix laugh.gif

That one is used for planted tanks, yes...

But if for mealworms, must be a gigantic mealworm ooo tongue.gif

Hehehe laugh.gif

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Jan 23 2008, 06:34 PM)
and guys..i havent start feeding worms lah...how ar?

can die ar? im in subang...most of the kedai ikan not selling the ulat lah

if got also..selalu habis...and they oni sell d bigger worms...

Haha, won't sampai die lar... But how come any fish shop in Subang don't have mealworms/ulat... hmm.gif

When you find later, sure kena borong banyak-banyak lor tongue.gif

KP

krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 09:58 AM

2,047 posts

broken_string,

Ohh dear...

I really wish he would stop struggling as we are just trying to help him out...

sad.gif

I know you have done all your best and I hope you will continue to do so...

I pray that he will recover very soon...

sad.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 24 2008, 01:31 AM)
I'm so envious over all of you who owns a pair of sugar gliders. If you are working and have a dog at home, how do you find time to own a pair? Care to share?

Leave the dog at home and bring your suggies to work brows.gif

Haha, that's one...

Make time to play with them atleast a while during their feeding time which is usually after 11 pm...

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Jan 24 2008, 06:18 AM)
KP

tak banyak la....got 1 shop in ss14, stock selalu habis...

and in USJ 9...they sell, most of d worms they give like nyawa2 ikan..

then mati...half good, half dah mati(black color)...keep 1 day..

next day...d smell terrible...and after 1 day, can see very2 small ulat

coming out from d mealworms....mcm maggots tau...how ar?

Err, if a shop sells to me half dead mealworms (the hitam2 ones) I also won't buy...

Try cari other places lagi lar... I'm sure must have one...

KP

krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 11:10 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(onezkatana @ Jan 24 2008, 11:05 AM)
its it ok give the ulat carrot...coz i look at pet shop..
they give carot to ulat..then they became so gemuk2...

but i have a problem to keep criket... i try to keep in small aquarium with a news paper..
but he doesnt work...huhuhuu
anywant can help..

1 more anybody call sell to me a small amount of Repti-Vite and Repti-Cal..
coz i see at pet word its so expensive n terlalu byk
the expired date its so close...

anybdy want to sell to me

Yes, it's good to give the mealworms carrot as gutloading, but make sure it's not wet when you put it in and remove it after leaving it over night, else it will rot and your whole mealworm can die and stink from it smile.gif

Keeping cricket is tricky, cannot put them in small containers, they will die easily. Need something big like a "baldi" or something... Then put papers and cover the top with proper mesh. If not well ventilated also can die easily and stink.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 11:22 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Jan 24 2008, 11:21 AM)
speaking of carrot, how do we feed joeys with it? squash the juice out? boil or just give them the raw one cuts into cubes?
n also other vegeis..how do u feed them?

Most veggies just give it raw smile.gif

Cut into smaller cubes or you can puree it smile.gif

KP

krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 11:52 AM

2,047 posts

Picture time!!! rclxms.gif

The long promised pictures of the new cage icon_idea.gif

Promise not to laugh cuz it's still so bare... The cage is just too big! Probably need about a month of proper renovation tongue.gif Ofcourse after full renovation, will post it again lar...

In thepetglider.com, this cage is referred to as "the glider mansion"... Hoho... laugh.gif

Total measurement, 55 inch tall (appx. 4.5 ft!) x 30 inch wide (2.5 ft) x 18 inch deep (1.5 ft)

The whole cage!!! Cannot even fit fully in my camera's viewfinder sweat.gif

The top part, where most of the stuff is tongue.gif

Feeding station smile.gif

Sleeping pouch and hammock smile.gif

Tunnel and fleece strips turn climbing gym tongue.gif

Wodent Wheel aka "Gym" tongue.gif

The inhabitant/owner of the mansion! "Okay, enough pixs, we wanna sleep..." sez Iggy smile.gif

--- End of tour tongue.gif ---

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 02:41 PM

2,047 posts

Haha, thanks!

notworthy.gif

Still a lot to be done tho blush.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 05:00 PM

2,047 posts

Dead crickets smell horrible! Yuck!

That one time really stuck to me and I have never bought crickets since...

Haha, thanks!

I know some suggies can open those slide doors, but since their prev cage (which also has those slide doors) until now, they have not managed to open it tongue.gif So I leave it be... My husband also warned me, but I know fully well that mine can't open it tongue.gif

Hehe laugh.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 05:32 PM

2,047 posts

CFP,

Iggy said "tak muat lar..." Hehehe laugh.gif

Tak sempat tanya lar, cuz that day everything was in a mess and rush... The owner was there, the cashier was down, got snake supplier demanding claim and so on...

But will ask the next time I go there flex.gif

---

The cage is still so empty... I prefer all the stuff to be high up so that it won't catch their poo also wink.gif Will add more stuff gradually smile.gif

Not all suggies love heights... Luna is a serious crawler and dwell more at the bottom part of the cage doh.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 24 2008, 05:51 PM

2,047 posts

Haha, I did freeze the crickets that survived the next day... But my husband doesn't like the idea of crickets in our freezer sweat.gif

If only we have those canned ones nod.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 25 2008, 12:04 AM

2,047 posts

Yes, mealworms and cricket provide them with protein, but make sure to gutload it a little, the mealworms and crickets sold here are not enough healthy.

Can feed them everyday too in little amount.

I hope you don't mind, but please get a bigger cage for your suggie. The hamster cage shown in the GS is wayyyyy too small for suggies even tho the joey looks small.

Big cage is very important to keep suggies.

Do spend some time reading the first page as well as some discussion done here in this forum. There are plenty of useful infos for newbies.

Keeping glider is not a short term commitment, it's a long term commitment.

Selling is easy, but keeping them needs a lot more commitment.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 25 2008, 10:44 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Jan 25 2008, 12:47 AM)
can i give th crickets only? what do you mean by gut loading them? cut them into half? take the juices inside right?

Cannn... They say crickets are better than mealworms actually just that it's harder to keep...

Aiyorrr, for gut loading, refer to first page or prev pages, has been discussed so many times...

Cut into half and take out the juices is "gutting" or "siang" not gut loading doh.gif

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jan 25 2008, 02:35 AM)
sifu sifu wanna ask..getting suggie at 2month+ oop better or 4~5month oop?will those extra month make huge impact on bonding?

As long as it is positively 2 months OUT OF POUCH NOT 2 months FROM BIRTH is fine.

If the 4-5 months OOP is already hand tamed not wild ones, it should be fine too.

But bear in mind, most seller can tell you any age they like unless they keep records of their birth and OOP dates. Like what they are doing in the pet shops...

Cross check with the pixs we've shown here to roughly determine the age.

I'll upload some other more in a while smile.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 25 2008, 08:31 AM)
KP,
Very nice cage! Where did you bought it from and how much did it cost you? How many sugar gliders are living in there?

Thanks!

I think it is much more worth it than the ones you surveyed last time if you can remember smile.gif

I bought it at Pet Safari lor... The cages there are good and have lotsa options, just the pets are not...

It's RM250, you'll get a 10% disc if you're a member tho' wink.gif

4 of them living in that big mansion wink.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 25 2008, 12:18 PM

2,047 posts

Nyehehehe, when they have a name, I'll introduce 'em tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 25 2008, 02:11 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Jan 25 2008, 12:31 PM)
sorry for my bad english or my question.. i couldnt understand the term and i had read through about half of the thread.. thks for your answer and sorry if i trouble you in any way..  smile.gif

No worries lah.

If you've been here long enough, you'll understand most of the people's style here including me.

Need explanation in BM can ask me, chinese mebbe crazymouse, reanne or broken_string can help tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jan 25 2008, 03:14 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 25 2008, 02:40 PM)
KP,
Now got 4 sugar gliders already? Is it 2 in the pouch?

Yeap, 4!

All big already flex.gif

All 4 we're in the pouch when the pix was taken tongue.gif

KP

19 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0751sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:31 PM