Sorry!
KP
Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials
Dec 24 2007, 04:03 PM
2,047 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Ampang, UK Side ;) |
Ohh, forgot to update you.
Will PM you. Sorry! KP |
Dec 24 2007, 04:12 PM
Yeah, normally around 7 hours using Gua Musang route. But with the flood and landslide, have to use LPT...
KP |
Dec 24 2007, 05:09 PM
Anywhere from 2 weeks to 2 years.
It all depends on how the person bonds with the glider. KP |
Dec 26 2007, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(malowie @ Dec 24 2007, 05:53 PM) if i do everything needed i.e drape my shirt over its cage, let it sleep in the bonding pouch all day, play with it. how? If you are consistent enough and bond with it the right way, should take appx. 2 - 3 weeks... But do remember, bonding also depends on the gliders time and personality, some will bond easily than others, some not. And that is something we can't force. QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 25 2007, 02:01 AM) Night time is their active time. It is NEVER advisable to leave them in the bonding pouch during their active time (which means when they are up and awake) That is why I had to set up their travel cage in the car when they woke up. Traveling with suggies is always better during the day time. Unless you can provide a sufficient cage/space for them to jump around during night time travel. They don't do well being confined in the bonding pouch during wake time. QUOTE(Jamien @ Dec 25 2007, 11:52 AM) There was once when I was returning home from my hometown in Penang during chinese new yesr. We started in the afternoon (about 12) and ended home at about 12 midnight. Can suggie just stay in the pouch if i can't let them out yet? Refer to my answers above. QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Dec 25 2007, 03:56 PM) I always feel that way when visiting pet shops too, but we must refrain ourselves from doing so and think about what will happen if the pet shop thinks by selling pets in poor condition also got buyer, they'll just keep doing so and you wouldn't have the money anymore to save the rest right? QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 25 2007, 04:07 PM) Banana.... worst food to give. Very likely the gliders would have health problems, especially their bone structure.... Anyway, yes, you feel pitiful for the gliders..... but the shop does not care. Do you know what happens once you purchase that pair? Once you bought it, the shop owner would then go and get another pair from a supplier to replace and resell..... he is just waiting for someone who takes pity on them and buy them out of pity, then once he gets his cash, he would pocket the profit and move on and buy another 2.... that is how a petshop works. So your kind act may cause 2 more gliders to go through the same situation. Sometimes we cannot save all the gliders, the SPCA in Malaysia is hopeless when it comes to commercial shops coz they do not have the authority nor power. If we set up a Sugar Glider organization, we too won't have the authority to put these traders out of business..... the only way to stopping them is to stop supporting them. There will be the lost of a few lives but then this would make the petshop realize their mistake and stop selling or keeping in such a condition. The pet business is a tough and heartbreaking thing in Malaysia.... we must stop supporting bad petshops. AGREE! QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 25 2007, 04:41 PM) unlike slushee, my female joey. i'll never bring her out bcus she tends to startle a lot. n crabs a lot too. Then you must take her out more often than your male suggie. She needs to get use to a lot of things and more bonding time too. My suggies used to startle easily too, but I just keep bringing them along and just make sure they know they are safe with me. Now its very hard to even startle them anymore QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 25 2007, 08:19 PM) how do i teach them to eat mealworm? they just stare at the mealworm i even cut the head and feed it in front of them I think when a suggie is ready, they will accept the mealworm readily. I have never had problems giving mealworms to even a young joey... They just dig it QUOTE(Jamien @ Dec 25 2007, 08:25 PM) One man was poking his finger at the glider, thinking it was cute and would probably lick his finger. Instead, it started crabbing loudly and took a bite on the man's fingernail. O_O Scary lil things. The sugar gliders must feel crabby from the glaring light and lack of nutrition. Padan muka! Kakakakaka The oldest rule in the book about approaching animals is : "Never put your finger first in front of ANY type of animal." I'd imagine if I were there, I'd be laughing my ass off! KP |
Dec 26 2007, 01:08 PM
Damn pet shops! KP |
Dec 26 2007, 02:15 PM
Kakaka
What fun! --- You can wear perfume, but perfumes will mask your smell and at anytime you don't wear them, they might not recognize you. Plus, if you often change your perfume type, it will seriously cause confusion to your suggies. So if you wanna wear perfumes, stick to one type and don't wear it too much... Personally, after having suggies, I don't wear perfumes anymore... I only wear perfumes when I know I'm not going to be around them. KP |
Dec 27 2007, 05:49 PM
Dec 28 2007, 10:02 AM
For : bubbles11
1) if the sg is already 1 year old, would it be hard to tame n bond again? Previously owned and tamed or bought as adult at pet shop? Anyway, any age of suggie can be tamed and bonded with, the difference is the time for it to happen and the amount of effort and patience you need. The older the suggie, the more effort and time needed. 2) what is the average maintenance cost for a sg monthly? Monthly, I would say anywhere between RM30-RM50 depending on the diet you feed as well as the maintenance stuff for their housing. Initial set up would cost a lot more. 3) besides fruits n vege, is there anything else that u feed it with? 1st page has almost all the info 4) can sg be toilet trained? NO, suggies cannot be toilet trained. They go wherever and whenever they like QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 27 2007, 10:27 PM) Just recently, i heard that they are going to have a suggies gathering, but ur..maybe... not so soon. Hopefully to update everybody on the gathering next week as I'll check on a place this weekend QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Dec 28 2007, 02:01 AM) talking about cat food .. i just saw the saddest thing ever . anyone know 88 marine shop ? the upper floor has a petstore. guess what i found .. a adult suggie selling for rm320 the display is kinda big .. around 2ft by 1.5ft by 1ft but ..... the suggie is inside a steel cage size around 12inch by 5inch by 5inch small amount of water inside a small bowl a few pieces of catfood inside a small bowl What the... In another small cage in a big cage?? What the hell for? I so wish I can burn those bad pet shops! QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 28 2007, 06:54 AM) I bet they will Haha, okay, check your PM ------- Last night, I was doing some sewing in the room next to Iggy's when I heard him barking... At first malas nak layan, but after a few barks, I went to hush him up... When I enter the room, the cage door was wide open... Iggy was inside and Luna no where in sight... Rupa-rupanya Luna has escaped and Iggy was kindda looking for her indirectly alerting me... Immediately when I entered the room he stopped barking. Looked around the room for Luna, lucky she wasn't far, just underneath the cage rack... Persuade her with some mealworms and returned her to the cage. Patted Iggy and said thanks to him for being such a good boy *It was my mistake too, I forgot to lock the cage after returning Iggy inside KP This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Dec 28 2007, 10:03 AM |
Dec 28 2007, 10:39 AM
If not mistaken it's in Sunway.
I think in the pinned Pet Shop list got the address. KP |
Dec 28 2007, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(AlexNg87 @ Dec 28 2007, 01:55 PM) Yup, RM320 is kindda pricey if the gilder has been there for quite some time... Someone wants to let go of her glider in GS, she said tame and healthy and is selling both for a reasonable price. Mebbe you can check that out... Advisable to get both from her tho cuz they have been together ever since... KP |
Dec 28 2007, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 28 2007, 05:36 PM) Well done Iggy.. It's the best opportunity to escape but he remained where he was and ready to signal to you as well. I think you will add extra care to double check before you leave after this incident. It happened to my piggies on several occasions when i put them in the other cage. But they didn't step out of the cage even after several hours before i realised. They didn't escape because they DON'T WANT to escape, so comfortable here, why do i want to escape? Haha, ermmm, not actually the first time happened 2-3 times already The last time, Iggy did went out too and had made his way on top of the ironing board, but I'm not so worried if he goes out of the cage cuz it's easy to get him to come back to me... But Luna... I think last night he didn't go out because he just got back from his free roam time KP |
Dec 31 2007, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 28 2007, 06:00 PM) It seems that Iggy and Luna both have quite different personalities. Are they in compatible age or have wide age gap? How old are they now? Yeah, their personalities are as different as the earth and wind... Yes, they are age compatible. Luna is only appx. 1 month older than Iggy. As in this month, Luna is appx. 17 months and Iggy is appx. 16 months. Luna is different and hard because she came from a disordered background. Her prev owner had her since joey but has never taken good care of her. At the age of 9 months, she was still crabby even with her own owner. I took her in when she was 10 months. Within 1 week she was able to take food from my hand, within 2 weeks she has stopped crabbing at me completely. She is so disoriented until today. Doesn't like to stay on me, doesn't know how to groom herself properly, still poo and pee in the pouch occasionally... The list does go on for a bit... She drives me insane sometimes that makes me feel like throwing her out of the window! But I remain patience because she is Iggy's companion and Iggy cares for her so much... This is what happened when a glider gets neglected from young... And trying to save them needs A LOTTT of patience... QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 28 2007, 07:46 PM) Yeah, if he cannot get Luna to come out from hiding behind the wheel, he will also bark for me to help him get Luna out Mengada-ngada betul! QUOTE(Jamien @ Dec 28 2007, 07:48 PM) Not necessarily. It all depends on the owners upbringing. Plus you must expect one to be different from the other cuz no 2 suggies are alike. QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 29 2007, 02:06 AM) just COD with KP tonite they totally rejected the new stuff guess i will sleep with the stuff instead of them. let the pouch and everything have my smell first. tomorrow la put them back in the cage. penat penat aje pasang mana tahu they dont want pulak. haih. bad stuff about finger feeding them the yogurt, now they think im really their food. keep sniffing me and having a bite of anywhere Haha, just leave the stuff in the cage. They will learn to explore it and know how to use it in no time About feeding yogurt with your finger, the trick is never to let them lick the yogurt till finish on you finger... Always, dip/add more yogurt before they finish it off... This is because it is their instinct to bite whenever the tree sap is finish in order to make it it come out more... So in this case you are like the tree... When you leave the yogurt till totally finish, they will try to bite to make more yogurt come out... QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Dec 30 2007, 02:31 AM) hun,kp .. got joey or not ar ? someone at homeapet looking for one . can buat questionaire la to her .. Dunno, ask Hun QUOTE(mofa @ Dec 30 2007, 03:15 AM) Not club exactly, more like where suggie lovers hang out and talk You're welcomed to join! QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 30 2007, 05:02 AM) Haha, cuteness!!! QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 30 2007, 05:55 PM) I love it when they hand upside down like that Very cute indeed! QUOTE(emino @ Dec 30 2007, 06:53 PM) When you get a joey/glider, you become a father, so you will need to shop for baby wipes no doubt Lucky they don't wear diapers KP |
Dec 31 2007, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(dai86 @ Dec 30 2007, 10:55 PM) hey, got something wanna ask u guys whose suggie edi breed..... i found out that my fatty's pouch there have a 'bunch' of something... and my male suddenly became no smell at all.... is it my fatty is pregnant??? Monitor the "bump". DO NOT attempt to open it. Do you see you female often cleaning her pouch? If yes, than there is a high chance there's a joey or 2. Monitor and see if the "bump" grows bigger within this 2 weeks. Funny, breeding males will musk and smell more during the presence of joey/s not no smell at all... At this period, the male will mark all his territory and his family creating a more smelly environment. QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 30 2007, 11:09 PM) Who knows the pronunciation for sugar glider in Bahasa? I know tikus mondok is guinea pig but for SG? Many times my friends asked me and i would thought for very long and finally managed to come up with what i thought best as tupai terbang. There is no BM name for Sugar Glider. Tikus Mondok is not GP. Tikus Mondok is Mole. GP is Tikus Belanda. In the Indonesia, some parts/people call Sugar Gliders - "Anjing Terbang", because they bark and they glide which looks like flying... The closest description about Sugar Glider in BM is something like "Tupai Terbang", but they aren't from the "Tupai" family... Hahaha, it's hard to explain in BM, what more to the "kampung" folks... QUOTE(spinel-sun @ Dec 31 2007, 02:05 AM) does u guys punya snuggies pee n poo in their bonding pouch?? my dydy does wor...izzit abnormal? ohoh..heard there is gathering next week?? Normally suggies won't pee and poo in their pouch because they will normally keep their sleeping place clean... Some reasons they poo and pee in the pouch is, - They are still too young. - They are still new to you. - They are afraid. Yes, you are definitely welcome to join the gathering QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 31 2007, 04:08 AM) dai, remember that day i told u...when u said ur fatty got bitten at the back..i ask u to check in 16 days, she might b pregnant..... but now she might not b pregnant..she might have joeys in her pouch already ! so wait n see...heheheh...d joeys will be out in no time...congratzz!! Added on December 31, 2007, 5:16 amguys... is there any possibilites for me to change my gliders active n sleeping time? coz my gliders seems to be active around 930am to 1pm...the rest they will be in their sleeping pouch It is very hard to tell when a suggie is pregnant because their gestation period is only 16 days and the size of the joey being in the womb is so little to even see a "bump". It is also very hard to see the birth of the joey because the whole process is pretty much silent and takes place between morning to evening (it is very rare for them to give birth at night) Normally when the owner noticed the "bump", the joey is already In the Pouch (IP) --- Yes, it is possible to change their active time, but it takes a while and might not change very much because they can tell when it is daytime and when it is night time. For example, my gliders used to wake up and be active around 11 pm onwards till 7-8 am the next day. But ever since puasa time, with me being back early for break fast and also waking up early for sahur, their schedule has changed to waking up around 7 pm onwards when it is starting to get dark, active around 2-3 hours, sleep back and up again around 12 am till 6.30-7 am... ----- Sighhh, have not had much time to let Iggy roam free since having a cat Feeling bad... Must make it up to him soon... KP *Have to split into 2 post... Too many emoticons it said...* |
Dec 31 2007, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 31 2007, 12:46 PM) This is a very touching story! Sounds a bit like mine. Once she was in a terrible plight. Then a hero comes along, seized her out of the slump. And then she met the price charming, Iggy..and live happily ever after.. Hahaha.. Hahaha, that sounds funny That is why I would always remind people to do more research before committing to these darling creatures... Being able to keep them for only a few months or even just a year or two is not a good commitment... Rehabilitating them takes a lot of patience and time... It's not an easy job to the caretaker and the glider itself. KP |
Dec 31 2007, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 31 2007, 01:17 PM) do SG eat anything they see on the floor? coz one of them likes to go and hide under my bed now they know how to mengada ngada ask me to open the cage and let them out when they get older, will they be familiar with the lights? Most likely they won't eat the stuff they see on the floor, however some suggies do nibble and test things out. Be careful of the dust too, they might accidently swallow or inhale it. Haha, mine all know how to beg to come out or curi2 wanna come out when I feed them... Nope, their eyes are designed to be sensitive to lights, won't make much difference when they grow up... However they can still adjust to little or brief lights without a problem KP |
Jan 2 2008, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Dec 31 2007, 04:28 PM) damn jelous .. if i do that to my chika , sure he bite my chin .. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Haha, I can do that too! And I can do that with my nose too! I love giving them a nose rub Only one time Iggy managed to nip my nose QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 31 2007, 04:36 PM) Look closely, you will see something different and use that to differentiate them... I can tell all my suggies apart now QUOTE(kyin @ Dec 31 2007, 08:11 PM) Give me RM300 and I'll give you one. QUOTE(spinel-sun @ Jan 1 2008, 04:03 AM) I got my dydy from a fren...she dun really crab at me,got la...bt she pee n poo in her bounding pouch lo... i tink she still young..cant control hw ar?if u bring ur snuggie out whole day...hw to let them go poo n pee?? takkan let her climb on d body to poo n pee gua?? I seldom leave her alone in her cage lo...most of the time if im around i'll let her out to explore..bt she'll wan to go somewhere dark to sleep lo... does anyone knows which petshop has most snuggie toys n stuf?? has anyone tried bringing their snuggies to class b4?? I would lo if she would jz sleep and not make noise...haha~ Yes, she is still young and has not learn how to control or poo and pee properly. Suggies sleep most of the time during the day unless you wake them up. During sleeping they don't normally poo or pee. I bring mine out whole day too and never had any problem. Yes, they will poo and pee wherever they like including on you. You cannot control this. I bring mine to work on alternate days. They never disturb me or make any noise, I am the one always disturbing them... A well bonded and tamed suggie will not cause you any trouble if you bring them out in the pouch even for a whole day. QUOTE(dai86 @ Jan 1 2008, 03:58 PM) happy new year to all!! yo yo yo!!!!!!!!!! uhhu.... the 'bump' grow bigger edi and seems like the whole pouch is 'bump' now. haha.... i think she really is pregnant... and the baby(es) inside the pouch...... saw one day that she cleaning her pouch... huh.... dunno how many baby(es) she having... haha.... can't wait to see the baby to come out. haha......... (but is really weird that the male don't have any smell at all). and it seems that the male is a bit 'silence' this few days. he don't even dare to fight for food with fatty. he even will go to other place when fatty is sleeping in the coconut shell... haha..... Happy New Year to you too! She's not pregnant anymore lah, she already has the joeys IP (In Pouch) When she is up to 5-6 weeks, you can tell roughly how many joey/s are in the pouch by the shape of her pouch. If the bump is loop sided to one side only, meaning it's only 1 joey. If the bump is balance on both sides and looks like a walnut shape, meaning there's 2 joeys. The male will know when he has joeys coming. He will be more caring towards the family and usually musk to protect it's territory. ----- Was at Pet Safari yesterday. The joeys there is a heartbreak to look at. I was minding my business and wanted to leave as soon as possible because I cannot tahan being there longer and not able to do anything... As I was about to leave, there was a group of people asking the staff at the counter "What is that?" and pointing to the 2 huddled joeys in the glass tank on the counter... To my surprise, I heard the staff explaining, "Ohh, that is a sugar glider, some sort of squirrel mix with flying fox mix with rodent..." I was like WTF!!! Then one of the girl asked again, "Can they stay in air-cond?" Then the staff answered, "Can, but they need this heating/basking light..." While pointing to the huge basking light on top of the glass tank... Arghhh, WTF!!! I chirped in, "Hello, that's wrong lah..." But my voice got drowned by the noise and no one heard me... Feeling so frustrated, I left hurriedly... But that totally killed my mood to shop or walk around anymore... I left for home... But all the way back I can't help kicking myself for not really standing up for those poor suggies... I should have voiced out loudly, I should have corrected the staff and told the people the right thing, I should have done something..... I felt really bad... I vow to atleast say something loudly the next time I hear/see something wrong... I would like to encourage all the suggie lovers to do the same too! Say something, voice it out loud... We must do something to create awareness with hope that it will make a little difference to those poor suggies! KP This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jan 2 2008, 10:51 AM |
Jan 2 2008, 11:09 AM
Yeah! I totally cannot accept when the staff said sugar glider needs the heat/basking light...
What they think suggies a mix of reptile too??? Stupid people! Common sense that all big eyes animals are nocturnal and bright lights are a definite NO-NO... I should have kicked that guy hard on the shin!!! KP |
Jan 2 2008, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(spinel-sun @ Jan 2 2008, 02:58 PM) wat does snuggies do during d nite when v sleep ar?? if need,can i know where to get them?? When we sleep, they are up and active about. They will be looking for food at this time, hanging about, climbing whatever they can climb, stretching, gliding (if they have the space), grooming and so on. You can keep them occupied by providing them glider safe toys for their entertainment and exploration, such as some ropes, bird swings, wodent wheel and so on. QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Jan 2 2008, 03:21 PM) _KP i went to pet safari last saturday. this guy held d suggie by its tail konon wanted to show those curious ppl its gliding membrane. then d suggie fell on d floor for 5 times la gak. i said directly to that guy.. 'jahat'. then that guy gave me that stern look of his. lalala. OMG!!! I would love to shout and scold at that guy there and then!!! Bloody b*****ds! KP |
Jan 2 2008, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Jan 2 2008, 04:49 PM) krynzpeaches, those sugar glider still at there with shining bright light there..... Oh man.... very sad for that, last time i see got 1 sugar glider baby nose like hurt, then i ask y like that, he say is like that...... How do they get that stupid info that say need bright light .... Tiger also need to sleep somewhere cool 1..... But 1 thing we need to make clearly, actually that shop look like not pet safari, ya i know that is inside there, but it call another name for that shop. Is it we can send something directly to tell Pet safari there? ( got website with contact & suggestion ) I think this time is new stock one. Got a few in there. Very sad looking... That part in Pet Safari is called Toby Reptile, which is under Toby Pets, but all are still under Pet Safari management I think... QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jan 2 2008, 05:32 PM) SG loves wheel so much wodent wheel is the safest for them. but a bit expensive. u can order from KP. i think normal wheel also can use, but the placing is important. need to make sure they didnt get thrown out from the wheel accidentally. here's how i place mine. notice at the back of the wheel he got some place to cling when the wheel is spinning too fast (not sure if they purposely do that). need to get another one, they sometimes berebut to play Yeah, they'll love the wheel once they know it. Safest is Wodent Wheel because of the design, size as well as being certified as the only wheel safe for small animals. If you wanna use other wheel type, make sure it is 12 inch of size, solid running surface, no open gaps that will cause the tail to be caught and the placement of the wheel must be near the ground, but do be careful as injuries could happen with normal wheels. KP |
Jan 2 2008, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(silverwineus @ Jan 2 2008, 06:19 PM) It's so good that your suggies know how to excercise and keep fit. i think it will be an advantage to their well being. I should try that next time and do you train them from young? I'm just afraid to encounter the disappointment if they don't appeciate and utilise this expensive excercising equipment since you say that it's pricey. So not yet come up to a decision. Not to worry. That's why I mentioned "when they learn to use it, they'll definitely love it." Some suggies will know how to use it almost the instant you put it in their cage. Some will take time to learn and appreciate it. Iggy only learned how to use the wheel after a month of trying and jumping off whenever it moves. Now he's a devil on the wheel compared to Luna Luna accepted the wheel and knows how to use it immediately KP |
| Change to: | 0.0611sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:17 AM |