i find that they are often more honest/forthcoming than other pet stores but some ppl (esp new customers) find them a bit 'cold'
Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?
Sep 11 2007, 12:10 PM
4,250 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
i find that they are often more honest/forthcoming than other pet stores but some ppl (esp new customers) find them a bit 'cold'
Sep 11 2007, 12:25 PM
3,819 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
not sure...i haven been to seapark...
Sep 11 2007, 01:23 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 11 2007, 11:18 AM) science diet has a reputation of being the most terrible dog kibble around. IIRC it is the corn in it. Period. Wow, are you sure? My gf is feeding her Japanese Spitz this brand. Never thought its that bad. Do you have any URL that says such statement? I'd like to prove it to her. Thanks. QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Sep 11 2007, 11:22 AM) lilcatty tried innova(if not mistaken) and she says that copper's shit smell very bad... Innova make the poo smell bad ah? Innova or Innova Evo? They're different right?i think im gonna grab a sample pack of royal canin too and see if mikey loves it...he don seem to like acana as well although he prefers is more than BW..nowadays i have to mix his kibbles with something sweet like orange juice like that to make him eat... Acana or Blackwood... I think I might try out Acana. By the way, why orange juice? I thought dogs stomach very acidic - so if with orange juice... then wouldnt that be very bad? QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 11 2007, 12:05 PM) how come seapark pet supplies so popular oh?their stuff cheaper ah? Because they are friendly and helpful. They are also a pro at grooming Westies. ihawk98 and myself goes there. Its the same row with the Poh Kong.issit located near the mcD or the hawker center there near ss2 morning market QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 11 2007, 12:10 PM) i find that they are often more honest/forthcoming than other pet stores but some ppl (esp new customers) find them a bit 'cold' Yes, I also think they are friendly and very honest. They have taught me many things when I told them I am first time dog owner.QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Sep 11 2007, 12:25 PM) Where you live? Is SS2 very far from you? |
Sep 11 2007, 01:40 PM
Lamb n Rice
Adult Maintenance I have only seen this one sold by vets, must cost an arm and a leg! would be a good starting point. google is your best friend. if you really want to know what chicken-by-product meal or meat-by-product meal is; QUOTE Is meat meal good for my pet? In its simplest, purest form, meat meal is meat with the water and fat removed. The dried meat is then ground into small granules or powder for use in pet food. Pure meat meal, as opposed to meat and bone meal or meat by-product meal, is a good source of concentrated protein which is nutritionally excellent for your pet. Pure meat meal cannot contain blood, hair, hoof, horn, hide trimmings, manure, or stomach or rumen contents, except for amounts that may be unavoidably included during processing. It cannot contain any added extraneous materials, and may not contain any more than 14 percent indigestive materials. Also, no more than 11 percent of the crude protein in the meal can be ingredients the dog cannot digest. Source: Dr Fosters and Smith Some might dismiss all this as a blatant internet based anti-science plan/smear movement though, the choice is ultimately yours. Anti Science Plan Article 1 More complaints Also read this before going hunting for your next packet of dog food. Added on September 11, 2007, 1:42 pmdisclaimer: I am sure pedigree, alpo and other supermarket brands are just as bad, they however do not market their food as 'premium' quality or at 'premium' prices This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 11 2007, 07:55 PM |
Sep 11 2007, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 11 2007, 01:40 PM) Lamb n Rice madmoz,Adult Maintenance would be a good starting point. google is your best friend. if you really want to know what chicken-by-product meal or meat-by-product meal is; Source: Dr Fosters and Smith Some might dismiss all this as a blatant internet based anti-science plan/smear movement though, the choice is ultimately yours. Anti Science Plan Article 1 More complaints Also read this before going hunting for your next packet of dog food. Added on September 11, 2007, 1:42 pmdisclaimer: I am sure pedigree, alpo and other supermarket brands are just as bad, they however do not market their food as 'premium' quality or at 'premium' prices THanks for the link, I will show it to my gf tonight and make sure she stops with Science Diet. |
Sep 11 2007, 02:23 PM
2,232 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
i tried b4 blackwood.....
but i feel that my dog tends to have more poo than usual.....need to pick up so many 'gold' in 1 day.... tat's y duwan feed edi |
Sep 11 2007, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Sep 11 2007, 02:23 PM) i tried b4 blackwood..... Pet shop suggested that Blackwood is actually very compact, hence no need to feed much. If feed much, then sure a lot of 'goldbar' will drop out.but i feel that my dog tends to have more poo than usual.....need to pick up so many 'gold' in 1 day.... tat's y duwan feed edi |
Sep 11 2007, 04:46 PM
pennywise..i didnt really put a lot so its ok...i oni put 2 teaspoon...jus enough to make his kibbles sweeter so that he would take them...my puppy is exceptionally picky for his age and he would rather starve than to eat something he don like...so i got no choice...
plusi haven been to seapark coz i got no car |
Sep 11 2007, 06:46 PM
939 posts Joined: May 2007 |
LOL for me Nutro Choice is really my choice since Copper's fur improved alot and everyone likes his fur texture
Sep 11 2007, 06:49 PM
yes, methinks so too... start with the better ones like california, canidae, evo and go by process of elimination. i really want to try orijen next.
Sep 11 2007, 07:42 PM
84 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Been feeding my dog eukanuba, that's the best brand around my area at dat time.....but the problem with it is that very easily get worms in the food.
So tried Canidae. My dog loves it. But bought a small pack, so cant really tell how good is it yet. Then emergency (shop ran out of the brand) bought science plan. Aiks...dog shit is like lumpy, liquidity like dat. Anywayz, going back to Canidae. http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...index.php/cat/1 saw this website the other day. |
Sep 11 2007, 09:33 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(Miss VPN @ Sep 11 2007, 12:59 AM) Is Royal Canin suitable for small dog? Is it really that good Yes, Royal Canin is pretty suitable for any dog. For small dogs, the kibble are quite tiny, I got a sample but gave to my hamsters instead hahahah.... smells really nice. I only have Royal Canin for cat at home, which is to feed my hedgehogs. I know it is addictive coz my hedgehogs like RC more than Orijen.I really can't compare which brand is the best for my sasha coz she so picky on her food. It is a pretty nice smelling and oily dogfood, what I heard is it has lots more flavour so that is why dogs are so addictive.... but if compare ingredients with holistic brands, of course will choose holistic lah. RC comes in many variety. Got for mini, small, large, joint problem.... some even for specific breeds I think.... I can't remember much about RC for dogs. |
Sep 11 2007, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 11 2007, 09:33 PM) Yes, Royal Canin is pretty suitable for any dog. For small dogs, the kibble are quite tiny, I got a sample but gave to my hamsters instead hahahah.... smells really nice. I only have Royal Canin for cat at home, which is to feed my hedgehogs. I know it is addictive coz my hedgehogs like RC more than Orijen. Recommend me a hollistic dog food that is not 40% high in protein (like ORijen and Evo) and yet its not bland (like California Natural) and not over-rated (like Eaglepack). Hehehe... Thanks in advance!It is a pretty nice smelling and oily dogfood, what I heard is it has lots more flavour so that is why dogs are so addictive.... but if compare ingredients with holistic brands, of course will choose holistic lah. RC comes in many variety. Got for mini, small, large, joint problem.... some even for specific breeds I think.... I can't remember much about RC for dogs. |
Sep 11 2007, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 11 2007, 09:35 PM) Recommend me a hollistic dog food that is not 40% high in protein (like ORijen and Evo) and yet its not bland (like California Natural) and not over-rated (like Eaglepack). Hehehe... Thanks in advance! Hahahah.... try Canidae.... or Go Natural..... there are a few other brands but I have forgotten the names.... For me, I always like to get samples 1st before buying.... Go Natural got trial pack, Canidae I am not sure lah. |
Sep 11 2007, 09:51 PM
Canidae and Go Natural eh? Ok... is Acana hollistic as well?
Sep 11 2007, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 11 2007, 09:51 PM) Acana can be considered holistic. Acana does not contain artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives. So pretty good lah. So far my boxer's stool and skin is good.Another brand is called Solid Gold but only a few petshops carry this brand. I have never tried it on my dogs but it is a holistic brand. Quite expensive too. I think more expensive than Origen. |
Sep 11 2007, 10:16 PM
Its quite hard for me to find Go Natural, so I think Acana is possibly my choice, especially when they are from the same manufacturer as Orijen.
Sep 11 2007, 10:21 PM
Go Natural I think Pet Safari got.... but then these are limited brands in the market, like Solid Gold.
Just try out Acana. Maybe try out the Salmon and Potatoes la, it is for sensitive skin. |
Sep 11 2007, 10:23 PM
788 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 11 2007, 09:35 PM) Recommend me a hollistic dog food that is not 40% high in protein (like ORijen and Evo) and yet its not bland (like California Natural) and not over-rated (like Eaglepack). Hehehe... Thanks in advance! I would then suggest Canidae. It is actually very decent food |
Sep 11 2007, 10:32 PM
im feeding acana but my furkid seems to be dropping more fur lately when i groom...so i think im gonna change to mayb RC or orijen after this....might even grab a sample pack of blackwood and try that again...
| Change to: | 0.0482sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:27 AM |