99 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

madmoz
post Sep 17 2007, 12:07 PM

4,250 posts

that's the thing, he is NOT a picky eater, but he doesn't seem to like the sample evanger kibbles... instead of running up to his bowl as he normally does, he trudges slowly... then when i tried again with his normal eagle pack, fuuyooh super fast ler!
jaunty_niel
post Sep 17 2007, 12:14 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

probably he doesnt like evangers lor..
mine will rather starve to vomit than eating those things dat they don like.
Eg: some kibbles, oranges..
TSPennywise
post Sep 17 2007, 02:29 PM

5,796 posts

Casper also same like Siu Kat but even worst with Eaglepack, rather die type if fed Eaglepack!
HugoBoss
post Sep 17 2007, 02:32 PM

18 posts

Can giv oranges wan meh? hun say citrus cannot de wor.
joanalooidog
post Sep 17 2007, 03:46 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(HugoBoss @ Sep 17 2007, 02:32 PM)
Can giv oranges wan meh? hun say citrus cannot de wor.
Mochi detected.............. laugh.gif

wat kibbles have u bought??
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 17 2007, 05:51 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Oranges.... the seed is toxic to dogs.... and also it can cause them to have diarrhea coz acidic.
jaunty_niel
post Sep 18 2007, 06:47 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

jus gave them "lem" once n they jus turned away.
haha..
zeist
post Sep 18 2007, 07:54 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Orijen and Blackwood, ok got it! biggrin.gif
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:15 AM

5,796 posts

Acana smell exactly like Orijen - the smell is very strong!
jaunty_niel
post Sep 19 2007, 12:19 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

isit?
den nex time i should try acana..
since acana in sea park oni rm35..2.5kgs o..
more worthy than orijen..

same ingrediants?
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:23 AM

5,796 posts

I am not sure about the same ingredients part but same manufacturer la. Acana has lower percentage of protein which I think is more suitable for small dogs.

Indeed Orijen is damn good but look at what the reviewer at dogfoodanalysis.com says, "High protein may not be suitable for puppies." Even though it's only stated as puppies, how do you define puppies? 1 year? 10 months? 6 months?

So basically I have the mentality that the sentence actually meant "High protein may not be suitable for small dogs." because of digestion issue and also much dependent on the activeness or inactiveness be it indoor or outdoor.

I think Acana's 28% protein is very good already.
zeist
post Sep 19 2007, 12:23 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 19 2007, 12:15 AM)
Acana smell exactly like Orijen - the smell is very strong!
How about quality wise? tongue.gif
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:25 AM

5,796 posts

Here is what the Editor of dogfoodanalysis.com wrote for Acana

Pros: First ingredient is a named meat product.
Cons: Insufficient meat content, use of controversial filler.

The first ingredient in the food is a named meat product in meal form. The next ingredient is oatmeal which is decent quality. Rice bran is a grain fragment.

It is a concern to see chicken fat is the fourth ingredient. Research at Purdue University has identified fat in the top four ingredients of a dry food as a factor increasing the risk of bloat in large breed dogs (smaller breeds are untested).

Beet pulp is controversial filler. It is a by-product, being dried residue from sugar beets which has been cleaned and extracted in the process of manufacturing sugar. It is a controversial ingredient in dog food, claimed by some manufacturers to be a good source of fibre, and derided by others as an ingredient added to slow down the transition of rancid animal fats and causing stress to kidney and liver in the process. We note that beet pulp is an ingredient that commonly causes problems for dogs, including allergies and ear infections, and prefer not to see it used in dog food. There are less controversial products around if additional fibre is required.

We appreciate the inclusion of a whole egg and a range of vegetable ingredients in the food.

Note that this food uses citric acid as a preservative and therefore should not be premoistened prior to feeding (a bloat risk factor).

Added on September 19, 2007, 12:27 amInitially I wanted to get Innova but then I decided to go with Acana as these are made from the manufacturer of Orijen. I will try to switch around a bit on my next purchase as changing your dog food periodically is a good thing: Read them here: http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/changing_foods.htm

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Sep 19 2007, 12:27 AM
jaunty_niel
post Sep 19 2007, 12:28 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

da review is not really good leh..all negative reviews..
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:30 AM

5,796 posts

Yea, a lot of dog food will receive negative review but it depends on your own beliefs also la. Dont be too dependent on the website even though it gives us a very good headstart.

You can give it a try, then change to another brand.

My next purchase will be Innova followed by Evanger maybe. Nowadays, I mix Casper's breakfast and dinner with Inu canned food but I just realized today that it included by products also. Anyway, for me nevermind, let him finish them and then I will look for canned food without by-products next!
jaunty_niel
post Sep 19 2007, 12:35 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

i tot we should never feed wetfood mixed wif kibbles?
kibbles should be fed alone rite or else it would cause digestion problems..

i tried orijen, its good but too costy as i need 2 feed 4 dogs, n i'm only a student. dats y i op-ed to blackwood 2months ago. my bro will b paying for cocoha himself nex month onwards, so i guess i can afford more for them, again.
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:41 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Sep 19 2007, 12:35 AM)
i tot we should never feed wetfood mixed wif kibbles?
kibbles should be fed alone rite or else it would cause digestion problems..

i tried orijen, its good but too costy as i need 2 feed 4 dogs, n i'm only a student. dats y i op-ed to blackwood 2months ago. my bro will b paying for cocoha himself nex month onwards, so i guess i can afford more for them, again.
I have never heard about wetfood and kibbles will cause digestion. Maybe Hun can enlighten us with some of her knowledge? Kibbles eat like that very takda rasa wan wor. Wetfood eat on its own will eat a lot wan wor = higher cost.

I think kibbles around RM35 is considered cheap lor. Innova for Puppy, RM50 for 2kg I think.
jaunty_niel
post Sep 19 2007, 12:55 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

last time i read in 1 article in some doggy website, saying dat we should not mix anything else with the kibbles, execpt those fish oil n stuffs..
2morrow i'll go look for the correct way.
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:58 AM

5,796 posts

Please post up the link if you found it again ok? Thanks, I am going to bed now.
jaunty_niel
post Sep 19 2007, 01:17 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

btw, y is it called kibbles?

99 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:23 AM