Hotlink Pantas 5G

westlife
post Jan 28 2025, 10:20 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Jan 28 2025, 10:00 AM)
Great, thanks for sharing. I couldn't purchase the eSIM for some reasons, it couldn't go through beyond the registration phase on my pixel 7 android 15.

Got myself a SIM from a convenience store instead. Enjoy your trip
Ic. Both also works. Price wise I think it is the same no matter physical or esim. Both cost rm5 for the new sim.

Just that esim is really convenient and save on the physical slot especially for iphone that only has one.
westlife
post May 1 2025, 09:06 AM

14,251 posts

How much to activate 365 days validity under pantas plan?

westlife
post May 1 2025, 09:08 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Apr 22 2025, 11:30 AM)
correct, so if the credit is not needed for other purpose, can top up RM10 each month for three months, then buy 365 days validity at the end of the third month.

that way, you get 15 months validity for RM30.
To activate the 365 days validity, how much does it cost?
westlife
post May 1 2025, 10:40 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(RDoe @ May 1 2025, 09:35 AM)
RM30

The option is under "Internet" then "Others" in the Hotlink Pantas plan.
Icic. Thanks.
westlife
post May 1 2025, 10:41 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ May 1 2025, 09:52 AM)
[/spoiler]

Assuming you just ported-in/ activated Hotlink, you are under "Hotlink Prepaid Plan".

You need to convert to "Pantas Plan" first in Hotlink app with RM2 payable.

By converting to Pantas Plan, you will get 30 days validity with it. So you don't have to immediately spend RM30 to buy 365-validity. Do pump in sum money to buy a 365-validity internet pass first and for emergency calls.

Then after the initial 30-days validity, pump RM10 to get another 30-days validity. Repeat that another 2 cycles. By the end of 90 days, you should have RM30 credit (assuming you didn't make any calls/ SMS).

Then use that RM30 credit to buy the 365-validity.

So in total for RM2 (convert to Pantas Plan get 30 days validity) + RM30 (RM10 x 3 reloads over 90 days), you have 120 days + 365 days validity in total.
Thanks a lot for the tips.
westlife
post Sep 5 2025, 07:23 PM

14,251 posts

hotlink prepaid now has esim also rite?
westlife
post Sep 5 2025, 09:21 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Sep 5 2025, 08:05 PM)
Yes. But not easy to transfer from one device to the other. Need to go to Centre to get a brand new QR Code for next device.

Atok Yeoh Tiong Lay has the best (and the correct way) for eSIM implementation. No need QR Code to activate or transfer to another devices. MCMC needs to force all telcos to follow Atok Yeoh Tiong Lay's eSIM protocols.
Even iPhone built-in estimates transfer function also does not work?
westlife
post Sep 5 2025, 09:51 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(Piers @ Sep 5 2025, 09:33 PM)
for prepaid: tried on 15pm to 16pm it didnโ€™t work.
but the green card they provide work on the same device if need to reset the phone with the same esim.
someone posted in iphone section for postpaid can only transfer once to new device, so troublesome ๐Ÿ™„
wah... blink.gif
westlife
post Sep 6 2025, 01:36 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(RDoe @ Sep 6 2025, 09:03 AM)
Have, but I was told that their eSIM QR code is printed on a SIM pack (like the physical SIM plastic card), and that they got "no stock".ย  blink.gif
I think it's easier (and maybe only possible) with the same device, like when you need to do a hard reset. Or not...
iPhone built-in eSIM transfer function does not limit to same device.

But from hotlink eSIM FAQ they seems to allow only hotlink postpaid to do that, hotlink prepaid eSIM if change phone must get the new eSIM at maxis store again.

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 6 2025, 01:41 PM
westlife
post Sep 11 2025, 01:35 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Sep 10 2025, 12:21 PM)
surprised to see my hotlink got line in SG now.

roaming on Starhub (unexpectedly) instead of the Singtel.

this time no credit deducted, unlike in the past, everytime connect to 4G abroad some credit will go missing.
dun get it. why won't it has no line in lion city? all hotlink prepaid/postpaid comes with free auto roaming.

credit deducted abnormally i had this issue all time previously when i was on hotlink prepaid also. if one is on a hotlink prepaid plan (with no free basic data one), everytime when there is a 'handshake' to mobile data in overseas network, it will cause unknown charges. only workaround is not to connect to 4G/5G network i think.

as contrast, my digi prepaid now has no such issue, even i have no active data pass, or no activate roaming data pass, even the mobile data is turned on and data roaming is turned on also it does incur unknown charge which my credit is not deducted for no reason.
i think one reason is that the celcomdigi kuning plan comes with 500MB free basic data (even after used up this one, no additional pay per use charge becos one needs to purchase additional quota to continue to use data).

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 11 2025, 02:03 AM
westlife
post Sep 11 2025, 02:35 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Sep 11 2025, 02:22 AM)
go read the complaints in maxis forum.

like you said about the handshake, etc, to connect to 4g you need to allow some data to flow. previously maxis shut close completely data when roaming unless you have roaming data. i know some other telcos who do this, eg china mobile and vietnamese telcos. when their sim cards are used abroad in a country that supports 4g and above, they get no network.

digi got around this problem by allowing minute data to flow and therefore allows connection to 4g network when roaming. their billing system is intelligent enough to deduce that small amount of data exchange is used for 4g protocol, not actual mobile data use. digi zero rates it, hence no credit deduction. i saw the zero rated transactions in the itemized billing before.
i know this issue long ago, as said, i had used hotlink prepaid for quite sometime previously. there were time i called up to get them to recover the unknown charges, but too troublesome already, so i put my phone on 3G only mode last time to overcome this while even want to do also not possible becos 3G was shut down sometime back.

anyway, i am not sure if this is still a prob, if yes, then it is still a problematic issue to users.
westlife
post Sep 11 2025, 10:58 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Sep 11 2025, 10:44 AM)
SG shutdown 3G and many foreign sim card users (including hotlink) are having no network.

Forgot to aeroplane mode my phone and shocked to see Starhub on my hotlink but pleasantly surprised that credit remained intact.

That's why I am happy to report here for those who are unsure like you.
Ic. Good to know that by roaming to StarHub does not incur additional charges to the credits.

Are u travelling in and out daily to lion city?
westlife
post Sep 11 2025, 11:31 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Sep 11 2025, 11:25 AM)
occasionally ๐Ÿ™‚
Ic. Thanks. Good to know that the issue is sort of resolved now.

My friend just switch from hotlink postpaid to hotlink prepaid yesterday. And he is going to switch to hotlink pantas plan as he just needs to buy rm30 add-on to keep the line active for 365 days. Although unlikely he will keep so many remaining credits inside but good to know that his remaining credits will likely be safe now.
westlife
post Sep 12 2025, 04:32 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Sep 12 2025, 04:14 PM)
i think it will be safer if you remind your friend to constantly monitor his credit balance.  biggrin.gif
yes, will remind him also.

anyway i will ask him to disable mobile data and data roaming option in iphone for that line.
this should make it safer to avoid data charge.

He does not need to use the hotlink prepaid for mobile data in both bolehland and lion city anyway. tongue.gif
westlife
post Oct 21 2025, 08:41 PM

14,251 posts

using hotlink prepaid (default plan now - not pantas).

now at taiwan but hotlink esim shows - no service. why is it so? it has been working which has service when i was in lion city, but only in taiwan no service. why??
westlife
post Oct 22 2025, 07:27 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(jasontanky @ Oct 22 2025, 06:47 PM)
Balance less than RM10๏ผŸ Or the telco just blocked u to access 4G network since u have no subscription to data roaming plan? Since Taiwan is 4G only, therefore no service
balance got impact? my balance is rm5 now.
westlife
post Oct 23 2025, 12:22 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(RDoe @ Oct 23 2025, 08:19 AM)
At one stage, yes. Need minimum credit balance of RM10 in order to roam. I think it might still be such.

Shouldn't have anything to do with whether you've data roaming subscribed.
ic. ok thanks. will try to top up above rm10 and see if it works.

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0248sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:33 PM