113 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.34, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

wyneus P
post Dec 22 2021, 10:27 PM

Probation

Hi Sifus, can help recommend?

1. Budget : <3.5k can add up to 3.7k if required
2. Usage : Youtube, Movies, Casual Gaming
3. Requirements: Display Size, Battery Life and Weight doesn't matter coz laptop will always plugged in to Monitor and Power. Wait time can up to 3 months, no rush.

Was looking into Lenovo Ideapad Gaming 3 (Part Number: 82K2017FMJ) for the 16gb ram but sold out already.
am_i_rulez
post Dec 23 2021, 07:24 AM

Group: Senior Member
1,274 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 22 2021, 07:42 PM)
wait time?
Not urgent. So not a problem short or long
jonuslee
post Dec 23 2021, 02:30 PM

Simple Guy with a Simple Life
1,167 posts

My friend bought Asus vivobook 15 oled Ryzen 5 5500u with 8gb Ram and 512GB ssd at RM2700 at 12.12 . I plan to buy one but now cannot get the price at Rm2700 with this spec with Oled screen d. Is this vivobook oled good for normal usage?
ZM Fong
post Dec 23 2021, 07:32 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Dec 22 2021, 09:20 PM)
yea I'm ok with non-gaming laptop
how about wait time?
QUOTE(wyneus @ Dec 22 2021, 10:27 PM)
Hi Sifus, can help recommend?

1. Budget : <3.5k can add up to 3.7k if required
2. Usage  : Youtube, Movies, Casual Gaming
3. Requirements: Display Size, Battery Life and Weight doesn't matter coz laptop will always plugged in to Monitor and Power. Wait time can up to 3 months, no rush.

Was looking into Lenovo Ideapad Gaming 3 (Part Number: 82K2017FMJ) for the 16gb ram but sold out already.
can get IPG3 3050 prebuilt at that price with code i think
QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 23 2021, 07:24 AM)
Not urgent. So not a problem short or long
ideapad 5 14 prebuilt can get under rm2.5k with code, not sure still available or not
QUOTE(jonuslee @ Dec 23 2021, 02:30 PM)
My friend bought Asus vivobook 15 oled Ryzen 5 5500u with 8gb Ram and 512GB ssd at RM2700 at 12.12 . I plan to buy one but now cannot get the price at Rm2700 with this spec with Oled screen d. Is this vivobook oled good for normal usage?
model itself is mediocre, OLED too many uncertainties
jonuslee
post Dec 23 2021, 08:18 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 23 2021, 07:32 PM)
how about wait time?

ideapad 5 14 prebuilt can get under rm2.5k with code, not sure still available or not

I see.may I know what is the disadvantage of old?.IPS still better?Because the price RM2700 is tempted and very hard to find with these spec plus with oled screen.Thanks.
jonuslee
post Dec 23 2021, 08:19 PM

1,167 posts

how about wait time?

I see.may I know what is the disadvantage of oled?IPS still better?Because the price RM2700 is tempted and very hard to find with these spec plus with oled screen.Thanks.
tohff7
post Dec 23 2021, 10:31 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

how about wait time?

I can wait no issue
blaze91
post Dec 24 2021, 09:01 AM

1,009 posts

Hi sifus please help me

current laptop looks like going to kaput. thinking of changing to a newer one

1. Budget : RM5k (can +-rm500 from the amount)
2. Usage : multipurpose. Not purely on heavy gaming but moderate .
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : display 15.6 and above, weight doesn't matter, waiting time does not matter too

Did a bit of searching and found Acer Nitro series closer to the price but some are with Ryzen and I dont have much input about ryzen either so was looking for i7 11th gen. Please guide me confused.gif

This post has been edited by blaze91: Dec 24 2021, 09:03 AM
am_i_rulez
post Dec 24 2021, 10:22 AM

Group: Senior Member
1,274 posts

how about wait time?

what code?

wohoo
post Dec 24 2021, 10:25 AM

250 posts

Hi Sifus,

I want to buy a laptop. But is not urgently needed now. I have identified the model I want. Should I buy now or wait till next year?

Of course, now will have those discounts. Not sure to wait or buy now

This post has been edited by wohoo: Dec 24 2021, 10:26 AM
megadisc
post Dec 24 2021, 11:41 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(wohoo @ Dec 24 2021, 10:25 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I want to buy a laptop. But is not urgently needed now. I have identified the model I want. Should I buy now or wait till next year?

if no discount then dont buy

get illeagear if u in KL.
msacras
post Dec 24 2021, 07:46 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 24 2021, 10:22 AM)
what code?

DOORBUSTER one of the better code out there for now. But not much different from the default BUYNOW
msacras
post Dec 24 2021, 07:52 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2021, 09:01 AM)
Hi sifus please help me

1. Budget : RM5k  (can +-rm500 from the amount)
2. Usage  : multipurpose. Not purely on heavy gaming but moderate .
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : display 15.6 and above, weight doesn't matter, waiting time does not matter too

Did a bit of searching and found Acer Nitro series closer to the price but some are with Ryzen and I dont have much input about ryzen either so was looking for i7 11th gen. Please guide me confused.gif
Ryzen (5th gen) > i7 11th gen

Your budget can almost buy an RTX3070 Acer nitro, the cheapest RTX3070 lappy around (lowest I saw is RM5.8k). But I'm not entirely sure if it's worth going for it as Acer nitro is based on a budget model and not entirely designed for high end card like RTX3070 in mind (but at least they kept the power limit low, so less concern regarding overheating).

Your budget is more realistic with RTX3060 lappy. Yes, it's noticeably weaker than RTX3070 but at least you can get some laptop with better build quality and cooling within your budget than overstretch it just to get a cheapest RTX3070.
ZM Fong
post Dec 24 2021, 08:31 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Dec 23 2021, 08:18 PM)
I see.may I know what is the disadvantage of old?.IPS still better?Because the price RM2700 is tempted and very hard to find with these spec plus with oled screen.Thanks.
refer to my previous few post

ady given my advice so if u insist on buying, no one can stop u
QUOTE(tohff7 @ Dec 23 2021, 10:31 PM)
I can wait no issue
for how long?
QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2021, 09:01 AM)
Hi sifus please help me

1. Budget : RM5k  (can +-rm500 from the amount)
2. Usage  : multipurpose. Not purely on heavy gaming but moderate .

legion 5 with 3060 can get under rm5k with code
QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Dec 24 2021, 10:22 AM)
what code?

pls DM
QUOTE(wohoo @ Dec 24 2021, 10:25 AM)
Hi Sifus,

if not urgent, don't buy 1st
blaze91
post Dec 24 2021, 10:06 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Dec 24 2021, 07:52 PM)
Ryzen (5th gen) > i7 11th gen

Your budget can almost buy an RTX3070 Acer nitro, the cheapest RTX3070 lappy around (lowest I saw is RM5.8k). But I'm not entirely sure if it's worth going for it as Acer nitro is based on a budget model and not entirely designed for high end card like RTX3070 in mind (but at least they kept the power limit low, so less concern regarding overheating).

Your budget is more realistic with RTX3060 lappy. Yes, it's noticeably weaker than RTX3070 but at least you can get some laptop with better build quality and cooling within your budget than overstretch it just to get a cheapest RTX3070.
Thanks for the suggestion. Mind to share link for acer? Is the cooling system in acer good given that nitro like you said is budget model. I have compiled a list of models within <= 6k. Can you suggest on it ?
And also more question on Ryzen. Until now I didn't consider AMD processors because thought they are crap and will be troublesome in longer run. Based on your comments up there. Is it getting Ryzen 5th gen is good? What are the processor models? I dont have much knowledge in AMD processors

Adding the list here, others please feel free to suggest on below

Dell
G15 Gaming Laptop
"11th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-11800H (24MB Cache, up to 4.6 GHz, 8 cores)
"
"NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 3050 Ti 4GB GDDR6
"
"16GB, 2x8GB, DDR4, 3200MHz
"
"512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive
"
15.6 inch FHD (1920 x 1080) 120Hz 250 nits WVA Anti- Glare LED Backlit Narrow Border Display
Rm5,349.00

Acer Nitro 5
AN515-57-76RF
Intel® CoreTM i7-11800H 8-core processor (24 MB Smart Cache, 2.4 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 4.6 GHz, DDR4)
NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX™3050 4GB GDDR6 (75W)
8GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM
512GB PCIe NVMe SSD
15.6" display with IPS (In-Plane Switching) technology, Full HD 1920 x 1080, high-brightness (300 nits) Acer ComfyViewTM LED-backlit TFT LCD
Rm4799

ILLEGEAR
ONYX V (TGL)
Intel i7-11800(8C/16t)
RTX3050Ti 4GB
16GB DDR4 RAM 3200MHZ
1TB Samsung PM991 M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive
15.6" 120Hz FHD
RM5,407

ILLEGEAR
Rogue TGL
Intel i7-11800(8C/16t)
RTX3050 4GB
16GB DDR4 RAM 3200MHZ
17.3" 144Hz FHD
RM5,258

ILLEGEAR
Rogue TGL
Intel i7-11800(8C/16t)
RTX3050Ti 4GB
16GB DDR4 RAM 3200MHZ
17.3" 144Hz FHD
RM5,588

GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
11th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-11800H (2.3GHz~4.6GHz)
NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 3050 Ti Laptop GPU 4GB GDDR6
16GB 3200MHZ (8GB+8GB)
Gen4 512GB(5K) SSD
17.3" Thin Bezel FHD 1920x1080 IPS-level Anti-glare Display LCD (144Hz, 72% NTSC)
RM4,899

GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
24GB RAM
512GB SSD
17.3" Thin Bezel FHD 1920x1080 IPS-level Anti-glare Display LCD (144Hz, 72% NTSC)
RM5,199

GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
16GB RAM
512GB SSD + 1TB HDD
RM5,149

GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
24GB RAM
512GB SSD + 1TB HDD
RM5,548

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 24 2021, 08:31 PM)
refer to my previous few post

ady given my advice so if u insist on buying, no one can stop u

for how long?

legion 5 with 3060 can get under rm5k with code

pls DM

if not urgent, don't buy 1st
This post has been edited by blaze91: Dec 24 2021, 10:08 PM
msacras
post Dec 24 2021, 10:41 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2021, 10:06 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Mind to share link for acer? Is the cooling system in acer good given that nitro like you said is budget model. I have compiled a list of models within <= 6k. Can you suggest on it ?
And also more question on Ryzen. Until now I didn't consider AMD processors because thought they are crap and will be troublesome in longer run. Based on your comments up there. Is it getting Ryzen 5th gen is good? What are the processor models? I dont have much knowledge in AMD processors

Adding the list here, others please feel free to suggest on below

Dell
G15 Gaming Laptop
"11th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-11800H (24MB Cache, up to 4.6 GHz, 8 cores)
"
"NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 3050 Ti 4GB GDDR6
"
"16GB, 2x8GB, DDR4, 3200MHz
"
"512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe Solid State Drive
"
15.6 inch FHD (1920 x 1080) 120Hz 250 nits WVA Anti- Glare LED Backlit Narrow Border Display
Rm5,349.00

Acer Nitro 5
AN515-57-76RF
Intel® CoreTM i7-11800H 8-core processor (24 MB Smart Cache, 2.4 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 4.6 GHz, DDR4)
NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX™3050 4GB GDDR6 (75W)
8GB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM
512GB PCIe NVMe SSD
15.6" display with IPS (In-Plane Switching) technology, Full HD 1920 x 1080, high-brightness (300 nits) Acer ComfyViewTM LED-backlit TFT LCD
Rm4799

ILLEGEAR
ONYX V (TGL)
Intel i7-11800(8C/16t)
RTX3050Ti 4GB
16GB DDR4 RAM 3200MHZ
15.6" 120Hz FHD
RM5,407

ILLEGEAR
Rogue TGL
Intel i7-11800(8C/16t)
RTX3050 4GB
16GB DDR4 RAM 3200MHZ
17.3" 144Hz FHD
RM5,258
ILLEGEAR
Rogue TGL
Intel i7-11800(8C/16t)
RTX3050Ti 4GB
16GB DDR4 RAM 3200MHZ
17.3" 144Hz FHD
RM5,588

GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
16GB 3200MHZ (8GB+8GB)
Gen4 512GB(5K) SSD
RM4,899

GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
24GB RAM
512GB SSD
RM5,199
GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
16GB RAM
512GB SSD + 1TB HDD
RM5,149
GIGABYTE
Gigabyte G7
24GB RAM
512GB SSD + 1TB HDD
RM5,548
The things bout AMD been lackluster and worse than Intel had been wrong ever since AMD launched their 4000-mobile series last year. Their 5000-mobile Ryzen easily beat Intel's offering, often with cheaper price somemore. This may change once Intel got their upcoming 12th gen mobile CPU sorted out, but before that AMD is the smarter choice.
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Legion...r.559368.0.html

Like I suggested above, it's mostly about the GPU and cooling. I ain't saying Acer Nitro is too bad for a budget laptop, just that it may not be optimal if you're to pair it with high end stuff like RTX3070. At RTX3060 level it's certainly still OK.

This post has been edited by msacras: Dec 24 2021, 10:55 PM
blaze91
post Dec 24 2021, 10:54 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Dec 24 2021, 10:41 PM)
The things bout AMD been lackluster and worse than Intel had been wrong ever since AMD launched their 4000-mobile series last year. Their 5000-mobile Ryzen easily beat Intel's offering, often with cheaper price somemore. This may change once Intel got their upcoming 12th gen mobile CPU sorted out, but before that AMD is the smarter choice.
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-Legion...r.559368.0.html

Like I suggested above, it's mostly about the GPU and cooling.
I see thanks for explanation. I did a quick comparison between those being offered in ryzen 5000 series as below:

https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel...42191vsm1442974

https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel...42191vsm1522632

Can check and let me know why the comparison did not mention any advantage. And also can suggest the models of latptop within that ryzen series you mentioned? The legion site is like so complicated and confusing icon_question.gif
msacras
post Dec 24 2021, 11:15 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2021, 10:54 PM)
I see thanks for explanation.  I did a quick comparison between those being offered in ryzen 5000 series as below:

https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel...42191vsm1442974

https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel...42191vsm1522632

Can check and let me know why the comparison did not mention any advantage.  And also can suggest the models of latptop within that ryzen series you mentioned? The legion site is like so complicated and confusing icon_question.gif
Those are user marks. In these modern days, paper specs especially clockrate don't tell you the full stories, performance is dynamic according to the power and cooling available. Follow reviews to have better ideas on what's happening.

Technically i7 is no slough either, but it's still the less wise option for it's costlier and less energy efficient. Basically AMD = more energy efficient = less heat = can run cooler = better sustained performance. Those 2 Ryzen7 equipped Legion5 can easily sustain the performance at 2.1k marks, higher than the i7.
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Tiger-Lake-H-...s.548021.0.html

Legion 5 is an acceptable all rounder but it's price no longer as no-brainerly cheap as previous gens/years offering (basically previous years, Legion5 is the to go with gold standard for appropriate budget laptop due to good performance+decent build+great price).

p/s: The only charm of going with Intel is if you're someone who happen to need/use Thunderbolt connection. One of the main potential of Thunderbolt is to allow the use of external-GPU, which is more towards those high-end ultrabook without equally powerful GPU instead of gaming laptop we're talking bout here. And ya, Thunderbolt compatible laptop typically came with extra price premium and certainly over the 5k-ish budget we're discussing bout today.

This post has been edited by msacras: Dec 24 2021, 11:22 PM
blaze91
post Dec 24 2021, 11:25 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Dec 24 2021, 11:15 PM)
Those are user marks. In these modern days, paper specs especially clockrate don't tell you the full stories, performance is dynamic according to the power and cooling available. Follow reviews to have better ideas on what's happening.

Technically i7 is no slough either, but it's still the less wise option for it's costlier and less energy efficient. Basically AMD = more energy efficient = less heat = can run cooler = better sustained performance. Those 2 Ryzen7 equipped Legion5 can easily sustain the performance at 2.1k marks, higher than the i7.
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Tiger-Lake-H-...s.548021.0.html

Legion 5 is an acceptable all rounder but it's price no longer as no-brainerly cheap as previous gens/years offering (basically previous years, Legion5 is the to go with gold standard for appropriate budget laptop due to good performance+decent build+great price).
Thanks now I get it. Yeah I went and checked legion 5 laptops(Ryzen 5600H) way pricier with just 8GB ram compared to Illegear models with i7 but of course again legion pricier because using GTx3060 I guess.In illegear website Ryzen series are super pricey and limited. Eg 17" models which have 2 options only:
https://www.illegear.com/shop/illegear-prod..._bit_em_edition

Ryzen74800H itself 5.8 k...Im like WTF haha

Any other model laptop suggestion apart from Nitro5?

Acer I saw these models' with Ryzen 5800H:
https://store.acer.com/en-my/an515-45-r69u
https://store.acer.com/en-my/an515-45-r4k8

I dunno why they got 2 different models with same spects though
ZM Fong
post Dec 24 2021, 11:42 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2021, 10:54 PM)

pls ban userbenchmark
QUOTE(blaze91 @ Dec 24 2021, 11:25 PM)
Yeah I went and checked legion 5 laptops(Ryzen 5600H) way pricier with just 8GB ram
R5+3060 (130W with MUX)+16G+512G+165Hz can get under RM4.9k

113 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:04 AM