RM2,300 for fresh grad is inhumane, Why you should ask for 50% increment

TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 09:06 AM, updated 5y ago

619 posts

RM2,300 pay for graduates in KL has to end! Why fresh graduates should ask for 50% raise after 2 years. Stop enslaving graduates and push them towards “debt bondage”.

It is not right for CEOs like myself to earn so many more times when we try to squeeze you that RM200-400. Some banks and big companies CEOs are earning RM150,000 to RM700,000 a month when your parents need to subsidise you to survive. These figures I have gotten from their companies annual reports. You can verify.

Their expenses to live with dignity in KL is RM3,415.

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

It is only natural that after working for two years, you expect yourself to earn a living wage, RM4,000 in KL.

My full post on LinkedIn: https://lnkd.in/g2xfXsX
moonsatelite
post Jun 29 2021, 09:12 AM

737 posts

Not trying to troll, but the argument from the employers are:

Buy Axia E (Manual Transmission), only RM 256 for 9 years
or buy Bus Pass RM 50 only
Phone bill, use those RM 30 - RM 35 plan that's plenty. 3Mbps is enough
Room, get some roommates

otai_g
post Jun 29 2021, 09:23 AM

623 posts

take or leave it.
only 2 options.
jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 09:23 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

Another day another thread.

While I agree that 2300 is tough to survive on in KL, your lists of expenses are high.

Many single income families make do with less so you can basically see where this is going. Is it hard, yes, but that's where we all start from.

Not sure how you go about your budget. I don't spend more than 600/month on food. My daily food budget is 20/day and I am fine. Rent a cheaper room. Why are you paying 100/m for your phone bill? I'm sure if you cut your cloth accordingly, you can make do with 2300.

Don't confuse dignity with being lavish. It's a matter of perspective.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 09:31 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Jun 29 2021, 09:12 AM)

Room, get some roommates
Soon they will pay RM1,800. Never change in years
soules83
post Jun 29 2021, 09:34 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 09:06 AM)
RM2,300 pay for graduates in KL has to end! Why fresh graduates should ask for 50% raise after 2 years. Stop enslaving graduates and push them towards “debt bondage”.

It is not right for CEOs like myself to earn so many more times when we try to squeeze you that RM200-400. Some banks and big companies CEOs are earning RM150,000 to RM700,000 a month when your parents need to subsidise you to survive. These figures I have gotten from their companies annual reports. You can verify.

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

It is only natural that after working for two years, you expect yourself to earn a living wage, RM4,000 in KL.

my cousin just got her RM2k salary last month.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 09:34 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:23 AM)

While I agree that 2300 is tough to survive on in KL, your lists of expenses are high.

Many single income families make do with less so you can basically see where this is going. Is it hard, yes, but that's where we all start from.

Not sure how you go about your budget. I don't spend more than 600/month on food. My daily food budget is 20/day and I am fine. Rent a cheaper room. Why are you paying 100/m for your phone bill? I'm sure if you cut your cloth accordingly, you can make do with 2300.

Phone bill of RM100 allow you to avoid broadband too. Just enough. Phone bill is quite inelastic.

My food is RM900 as graduates need to join colleague for lunches too. If you work in KL Sentral and stay in Setapak, I think that is your cost.

TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 09:36 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:34 AM)
my cousin just got her RM2k salary last month.
So RM2,300 is luxury
soul78
post Jun 29 2021, 09:41 AM

935 posts

i wake up travel by bus 1 1/2 hour everyday for the past 3 years to go to work from one state to another to go to work. wake up at 5am every day to go to bus station to grab a bus.

Then after that still no car and started renting a room when salary was ok and then still took lrt/mrt to work every day for another 4 years..

nowadays flesh glad come out oredi complain earning peanuts and still wanna own a car straight away.

I bought my first car at the age of 30 and it was a Myvi.
nowadays flesh glad also dun want to look at myvi and oredi wanna drive SUV or civic ketamz when they earning peanutz...

work their way up the leddar la.. instead of complaining.. coz nowadays mellinnials sooo sayur... cant stand to slog like the boomers generation...
cockerish
post Jun 29 2021, 09:45 AM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:41 AM)
i wake up travel by bus 1 1/2 hour everyday for the past 3 years to go to work from one state to another to go to work. wake up at 5am every day to go to bus station to grab a bus.

Then after that still no car and started renting a room when salary was ok and then still took lrt/mrt to work every day for another 4 years..

nowadays flesh glad come out oredi complain earning peanuts and still wanna own a car straight away.

nowadays flesh glad also dun want to look at myvi and oredi wanna drive SUV or civic ketamz when they earning peanutz...

work their way up the leddar la.. instead of complaining.. coz nowadays mellinnials sooo sayur... cant stand to slog like the boomers generation...
Times are different. Those days you don't have Facebook...social status is now best thrown all over fresh grad face. Everyone wants to earn money and buy shit they don't need because social representation expect them to do so. This is reality and you don't know it yet by the time your kid grow up..don't be suprise that your so call those days are these guys those days and pressure to survive will be even higher

jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 09:46 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 09:34 AM)
Phone bill of RM100 allow you to avoid broadband too. Just enough. Phone bill is quite inelastic.

My food is RM900 as graduates need to join colleague for lunches too. If you work in KL Sentral and stay in Setapak, I think that is your cost.
Be smart with your money shop around.

My unlimited data phone bill is 70. That is a whopping 30% lower than what you are spending. And no, I don't have broadband either.

What, you think I don't eat lunches with colleagues? Really want to save money, pack lunch.

If you are working in sentral why are you staying in Setapak? Staying nearer or with public transportation access means you can drive less. You can stay at Pantai Dalam where it is near and cheap, and have access to lower cost food.

Budget your costs accordingly.
mini orchard
post Jun 29 2021, 09:50 AM

14,511 posts

Just too many general degree graduates that have this problem.

If one is more focus, the pay is higher. Just from comparing the pay of my children.
kelvinfixx
post Jun 29 2021, 09:52 AM

1,590 posts

last time my inhuman employee gave me 1500 salary when I am freshie.
soul78
post Jun 29 2021, 09:54 AM

935 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ Jun 29 2021, 09:45 AM)
Times are different. Those days you don't have Facebook...social status is now best thrown all over fresh grad face. Everyone wants to earn money and buy shit they don't need because social representation expect them to do so. This is reality and you don't know it yet by the time your kid grow up..don't be suprise that your so call those days are these guys those days and pressure to survive will be even higher
brainwash from tv is already enough.. whether you subject your kids to further exposure to all the other digital products is up to you as parents...
I personally dont allow them to touch any digital devices up to the age of 10 then they can start slowly get into it. At least they can grow up and appreciate nature and other stuffs around them and mixing with people the old fashion way compared to letting them being hooked up to the internet from the early start..

Again is how other parents bring up their kids .... there is no right or wrong.. just what kind of exposure you want your kids to have during their growing up years and what you want them to become ...
jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 09:55 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

Funny how these fresh grads complain they can't survive on xxxx salary.

I'm making 5 figures and my monthly costs is less than the list. Yet they can afford to use handphones that cost 5x what I am using, sign on to mobile plans costing more, saddle oneself with an necessary high cost NEW car. And live in ways many would think it's a luxury.

Socmed is doing you guys no favours.

We have all started out that way. The basic necessities have not changed. It's just the added fluff that makes it look costly.
cockerish
post Jun 29 2021, 10:05 AM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:54 AM)
brainwash from tv is already enough.. whether you subject your kids to further exposure to all the other digital products is up to you as parents...
I personally dont allow them to touch any digital devices up to the age of 10 then they can start slowly get into it. At least they can grow up and appreciate nature and other stuffs around them and mixing with people the old fashion way compared to letting them being hooked up to the internet from the early start..

Again is how other parents bring up their kids .... there is no right or wrong.. just what kind of exposure you want your kids to have during their growing up years and what you want them to become ...
How old is your kid ? The issue is not how young they are but the environment they are in. The digital poison starts when they are in thier teens onward. Everywhere they look ( Facebook, YouTube, hell even lowyat has predictive advertisement based on what you search ) is plastered all over thier face.

The other thing is you think that bringing them up in a cave is prevention. If they have friends.....the influence becomes greater and you can't fight that. You have to embrace it. The way you bring up is considered those days method. In the era of digitalization...these ways will resort the kid by hating you ( some hate is good but despise is not. You end up being a father they never want to talk to)

There is no wrong or right answer but if you interviewed this current generation you will see how much opinionated they are. In all sentence you will hear the word I feel quite a little bit. Those days Mana ada I feel...is terus buat ..
MANU4LIFE
post Jun 29 2021, 10:10 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:23 AM)

RM20/day x 30 days = RM600 no?
cockerish
post Jun 29 2021, 10:10 AM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:55 AM)
Funny how these fresh grads complain they can't survive on xxxx salary.

I'm making 5 figures and my monthly costs is less than the list. Yet they can afford to use handphones that cost 5x what I am using, sign on to mobile plans costing more, saddle oneself with an necessary high cost NEW car. And live in ways many would think it's a luxury.

Socmed is doing you guys no favours.

We have all started out that way. The basic necessities have not changed. It's just the added fluff that makes it look costly.
Yes I agree. A fine example is once u tasted wagyu, you never want to eat KFC. Once u earn so much money, you get absorbed into society status that a celebratory meal of KFC won't be justice to your status and a meal to celebrate will be at nobu. Give credit cards and the younger generation quickly become in debted. Your salary can't fund your wants and your parents stop giving out allowances and what happen next ? Banks give you credit card that makes you feel powerful with a single swipe over than brand new iphone 12

Once the nostalgia goes away in 3 to 4 month, iphone 13 comes out and you swipe again without settling that 12 month repairmnt period.

One subject that must be improved in our national syllabus is financial planning. Parents must be responsible too with the kids and teach them how to manage finance and gratitude
Ludwig.
post Jun 29 2021, 10:12 AM

LOOOL
539 posts

your expenses list is pretty high
my car loan 5 years is only rm400
petrol also only rm250+ per month
my food expenses, and this is without me looking at prices, is max rm600 per month
my phone plan is data plan by tunetalk rm200/yr which is around rm15+ per month

so its not necessarily about the salary, but also financial management as well
Mikeshashimi
post Jun 29 2021, 10:13 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Car RM500 - Axia = RM350.00
Petrol RM300 = this equates to 2336km per month for the Axia (roughly)
Parking RM100 = I know parking is expensive in WM so... maybe can cut down if jalan abit more
Room RM600 = Get roommates can cut down to RM250.00
Parents RM300 = Case to case basis
Food RM900 = meal prep, can save at least 10-20%
Phone bill RM100 = RM30 plan is more than enough
Phone cost RM100 = Phone cost?
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0 = Jogging and bodyweight workouts are free
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

From your list can easily cut RM200-300 per month. If you take public transport then even more, maybe up to RM500 - 600.

Of course it's not ideal, but that is what making it "work" is like.

RM1,500.00 is tight, but manageable.

If fresh grad expects RM2,300.00, then expect that many will not be hired, and those that are, are expected to do 2-3 peoples' worth of work.
keyser soze
post Jun 29 2021, 10:17 AM

569 posts

If you rent a room. Why not rent 1 nearer to your office? So you can walk, take public transport to work? Which means you won't need to buy car yet. Save you RM900. Add back RM100 for taking public transport.
Just choose a plan that gives you free phone.
Only pay your parents after probation with increment.
MANU4LIFE
post Jun 29 2021, 10:19 AM

114 posts

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

erm where is insurance? EPF cant count as expenses. phone cost is phone instalment?
soul78
post Jun 29 2021, 10:25 AM

935 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ Jun 29 2021, 10:05 AM)
How old is your kid ? The issue is not how young they are but the environment they are in. The digital poison starts when they are in thier teens onward. Everywhere they look ( Facebook, YouTube, hell even lowyat has predictive advertisement based on what you search ) is plastered all over thier face.

The other thing is you think that bringing them up in a cave is prevention. If they have friends.....the influence becomes greater and you can't fight that. You have to embrace it. The way you bring up is considered those days method. In the era of digitalization...these ways will resort the kid by hating you ( some hate is good but despise is not. You end up being a father they never want to talk to)
There is no wrong or right answer but if you interviewed this current generation you will see how much opinionated they are. In all sentence you will hear the word I feel quite a little bit. Those days Mana ada I feel...is terus buat ..
There is a difference between bringing up kids into this world that THINKS they are ENTITLED versus bringing up kids into this world that understands everything that is given to them is a BLESSING and teaching them that everything comes with a price..

Digitization is a blessing for those who can afford them. Its not a necessity in life of needed for basic human life.
If a parent cant reach the kids to know the difference at a young age, then its the parents fault.

When given a choice of teaching gardening and carpentry vs how to use the internet to your kids, i would choose gardening and carpentry instead.. What about other skills like basic plumbing/pipe works and fixing basic electrical skills. I use to hate my dad when i was young asking me to help him to do all these things and took my time from playing with my friends or hanging out.

But now i am greatful that this was instilled to me by him and they will learn to understand it when they grow up.

Survival skills like this is needed more than ever for our kids in the future that we are sending them into..
popopi
post Jun 29 2021, 10:30 AM

1,197 posts

Fresh grad want daily starbucks salary, can continue to dream...
jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 11:00 AM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(MANU4LIFE @ Jun 29 2021, 10:10 AM)
RM20/day x 30 days = RM600 no?
Yep. 600. And even then, I think I'm eating pretty decent. I up my budget to 900 and I will be gaining a lot of weight. So it's a health thing also. I only eat 2 meals a day, maybe with a light snack in between meals. So 20/day is more than enough to splurge on cheat days. I make my own coffee because it's better. Tapau most of the time so don't have to spend on unnecessary drinks.

Again. Fresh grads are asking all the wrong questions. You are just starting out. Ask NOT what you can live WITH, but ask what you can live WITHOUT.
MANU4LIFE
post Jun 29 2021, 11:17 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 11:00 AM)
Yep. 600. And even then, I think I'm eating pretty decent.  I up my budget to 900 and I will be gaining a lot of weight. So it's a health thing also. I only eat 2 meals a day, maybe with a light snack in between meals. So 20/day is more than enough to splurge on cheat days. I make my own coffee because it's better. Tapau most of the time so don't have to spend on unnecessary drinks.
Again. Fresh grads are asking all the wrong questions. You are just starting out. Ask NOT what you can live WITH,  but ask what you can live WITHOUT.
very true bro, i agree...when we first started as freshie we did not expect to drink starbucks everyday or go clubbing all the time, that time savings is most important to build up your financial standings...everyone goes through the same process except for those truly exceptional
darkskies
post Jun 29 2021, 11:18 AM

2,336 posts

Depends on your negotiation skills..
Generally fresh graduate should be around RM2.5k .
And also depend on what type of company and role they offered you.
You see the JD is super long like your school R&R Board with only RM1.8k , you pretty much know the company doesn't know what they're hiring.
Speak up abit on the salary.
Convince them that the role they're hiring requires more then what they offered. Just don't be rude. If they don't buy your advise, just move on with other company.
When you step into society.. it doesn't takes only 1-2 interview for that perfect job and salary.
Sometimes 10-20 you can't even find what you want. But the worse thing is just seating around waiting for that golden opportunity to appear.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 12:11 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 29 2021, 10:13 AM)
Car RM500 - Axia = RM350.00
Petrol RM300 = this equates to 2336km per month for the Axia (roughly)
Parking RM100 = I know parking is expensive in WM so... maybe can cut down if jalan abit more
Room RM600 = Get roommates can cut down to RM250.00
Parents RM300 = Case to case basis
Food RM900 = meal prep, can save at least 10-20%
Phone bill RM100 = RM30 plan is more than enough
Phone cost RM100 = Phone cost?
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0 = Jogging and bodyweight workouts are free
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%
From your list can easily cut RM200-300 per month. If you take public transport then even more, maybe up to RM500 - 600.

Of course it's not ideal, but that is what making it "work" is like.

RM1,500.00 is tight, but manageable.

If fresh grad expects RM2,300.00, then expect that many will not be hired, and those that are, are expected to do 2-3 peoples' worth of work.
My list of accommodations also need to come with parking. Give or take, not much he can save. If he has a Myvi 1.5 petrol also he cannot save. Food is 900 because the guy also need to eat healthier not just any fried bee Hoon like our time. These days humane treatment is different vs 2005-2010. I still think 2,300 cannot. 2,900 possible. 3,500 is for good graduates. 4,500 for best grad. My thought only.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 12:12 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Jun 29 2021, 11:18 AM)
Depends on your negotiation skills..
Generally fresh graduate should be around RM2.5k .
And also depend on what type of company and role they offered you.
You see the JD is super long like your school R&R Board with only RM1.8k , you pretty much know the company doesn't know what they're hiring.
Speak up abit on the salary.
Convince them that the role they're hiring requires more then what they offered. Just don't be rude. If they don't buy your advise, just move on with other company.
When you step into society.. it doesn't takes only 1-2 interview for that perfect job and salary.
Sometimes 10-20 you can't even find what you want. But the worse thing is just seating around waiting for that golden opportunity to appear.
May need to go 100 interviews in this market
klch87
post Jun 29 2021, 12:15 PM

779 posts

To be honest salary for fresh grad is not enough for almost all major cities in the world?

Maybe in canada or NZ is the good place for fresh grad to be since i really havent heard them complaining low pay there.

Stirmling
post Jun 29 2021, 12:18 PM

291 posts

Yeah lol
Now imagine rm2.3k for those with work experience
I feel kesian to them.
whphon
post Jun 29 2021, 12:29 PM

166 posts

delete your account from all social media and forum

and start work hard

confirm you getting 10x later

if you continue to stay on social media, confirm you couldnt run anyway from this figure
Mikeshashimi
post Jun 29 2021, 01:25 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 12:11 PM)
My list of accommodations also need to come with parking. Give or take, not much he can save. If he has a Myvi 1.5 petrol also he cannot save. Food is 900 because the guy also need to eat healthier not just any fried bee Hoon like our time. These days humane treatment is different vs 2005-2010. I still think 2,300 cannot. 2,900 possible. 3,500 is for good graduates. 4,500 for best grad. My thought only.
Myvi is a luxury. If you have to cut out money for health because you're driving a Myvi, then you're not going to make it.

Why drive a Myvi when can downgrade to an Axia?

If you know that money is an issue, then you can't be fussy about choices. That's life.

RM2,900 - RM3,500 businesses will reduce hiring, simple.

That's already RM34,800 per annum on a single graduate not including EPF and SOCSO (employer's share).

Michael_Light
post Jun 29 2021, 01:30 PM

473 posts

I am sure any MNC or banks will pay more than that for fresh grad, local small business not sure.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 01:30 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 29 2021, 01:25 PM)
Myvi is a luxury. If you have to cut out money for health because you're driving a Myvi, then you're not going to make it.

Why drive a Myvi when can downgrade to an Axia?

If you know that money is an issue, then you can't be fussy about choices. That's life.

RM2,900 - RM3,500 businesses will reduce hiring, simple.

That's already RM34,800 per annum on a single graduate not including EPF and SOCSO (employer's share).
Business need to plan on efficiency and productivity. We created too many non productive jobs that allow business to earn low margins.

10 years ago auditing firm already offer 2,800 for fresh grad.

Covid-19 aside, 2,300 is really very low.

svchia78
post Jun 29 2021, 01:34 PM

975 posts

Kalau pandai sangat, jadilah boss sendiri. No one owes you a living.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 01:38 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Jun 29 2021, 01:34 PM)
Kalau pandai sangat, jadilah boss sendiri. No one owes you a living.
Many employees would be doing that the coming decades
sweet_pez
post Jun 29 2021, 01:45 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 09:34 AM)

My opinion sits with the 2 fellow forumers below.

I don't get why there's a phone bill and phone cost. Let me assure you i'm only paying RM40 for my phone package and i don't even have Wifi at home laugh.gif

RM2.3k is tight by today's standard but it's not impossible to have an average lifestyle.

Get an average car befitting one's affordability. Even if it's an Axia, it's fine so long it does the job. Public transportation is the best to reduce petrol, maintenance or any toll cost. Despite renting a house/ room for RM600 and still need RM300 for petrol is pretty high btw. If this person is renting a room, I would think it's a smarter choice to rent nearby the office (ie. within 10km). In that case, petrol would be like, probably RM150-RM200 per month or less.

Food RM 900 is like average RM30 per day. Yes and no to it. At most only have 1 meal (lunch) with colleague right? I'll presume it's RM 10 for lunch.
- breakfast can make oats/ boil eggs etc at home = cost less than RM5
- dinner can cook or takeaway from zhapfan shops or nearby noodle/ rice shops = aim for less than RM10
- Lunch RM10

Total should be around RM25 or less per day. If wanna save, meal prep own lunch and occasionally makan with colleagues. By eating with colleagues 3x a week (Mon, Wed and Fri) you still maintain that rapport and get to save 2 days a week (or the other way round). In fact yes, you can still pack lunch and eat with colleagues.

It might seem like petty calculation but at the end of the day, it's about making smart adjustment to your lifestyle based on what you have/ able to get.

I'll say if RM2.3k:
- Meal: RM 600
- Car: RM 400
- Petrol: RM200 (would expect this to be lower since renting outside)
- Rental: RM600
- Phone: RM60
- *Insurance (ie. medical card): RM40
- Parents: RM 300
- Parking: RM 100

*Optional of course, can subscribe later when he/ she gets a raise. But still, imo it's essential.

Hahahaha sayur ah, thought it's strawberry! laugh.gif
But that's right... indeed back in the days cost aren't that high.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:46 AM)

My unlimited data phone bill is 70. That is a whopping 30% lower than what you are spending. And no, I don't have broadband either.

What, you think I don't eat lunches with colleagues? Really want to save money, pack lunch.

If you are working in sentral why are you staying in Setapak? Staying nearer or with public transportation access means you can drive less. You can stay at Pantai Dalam where it is near and cheap, and have access to lower cost food.

svchia78
post Jun 29 2021, 01:45 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 01:38 PM)
Many employees would be doing that the coming decades
Coming decades? That's slow.... now is the time... the push is already here now...
metalfire
post Jun 29 2021, 01:49 PM

1,309 posts

got job = bonus already.

you don't want, plenty others out there ready to take the position.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 01:50 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Jun 29 2021, 01:49 PM)
got job = bonus already.

you don't want, plenty others out there ready to take the position.
Covid will be over. 2,300 will stay
danielmckey
post Jun 29 2021, 01:53 PM

1,053 posts

If you dun wan the job, Bangla wan it... No more complaint..
metalfire
post Jun 29 2021, 01:53 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 01:50 PM)
Covid will be over. 2,300 will stay
the job still there for you then good lar.

plenty out there come back position no more.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 01:57 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Jun 29 2021, 01:53 PM)
If you dun wan the job, Bangla wan it... No more complaint..
Poor grad can only compete with Bangladeshi
danielmckey
post Jun 29 2021, 02:01 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 01:57 PM)
Poor grad can only compete with Bangladeshi
Starting is to compete not forever. Up the ladder fast if your potential higher than the average... Otherwise just stay low...
Topace111
post Jun 29 2021, 02:22 PM

2,102 posts

I think large companies has much higher starting salary, some audit and law firms easily starts at rm3k for fresh grads. The same applies to the management trainees at large MNCs and PLCs.

Salary is also partly driven by market forces. Company offer high salary to attract talent and offer lower salary for certain jobs that does not require talent.

I think the TS is referring to meeting "social expectation" where a fresh grad will:
1) Have a nice imported car: Honda civic/ Toyota Vios
2) Rent a decent condo
3) Dine at Tony Roma/ Rakuzen once weekly
4) Travel to nice locations

Most of these are moot now due to covid situation in our country but fresh grads even in SG and HK save costs bu doing the following:
1) Stay with parents (save rent, food, ..etc) and work until stable
2) Share with room with roommates like college
3) Eat at affordable places like mamak/ Nasi campur
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 03:42 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 29 2021, 02:22 PM)
I think large companies has much higher starting salary, some audit and law firms easily starts at rm3k for fresh grads. The same applies to the management trainees at large MNCs and PLCs.

Salary is also partly driven by market forces. Company offer high salary to attract talent and offer lower salary for certain jobs that does not require talent.

I think the TS is referring to meeting "social expectation" where a fresh grad will:
1) Have a nice imported car: Honda civic/ Toyota Vios
2) Rent a decent condo
3) Dine at Tony Roma/ Rakuzen once weekly
4) Travel to nice locations

Most of these are moot now due to covid situation in our country but fresh grads even in SG and HK save costs bu doing the following:
1) Stay with parents (save rent, food, ..etc) and work until stable
2) Share with room with roommates like college
3) Eat at affordable places like mamak/ Nasi campur
Nasi campur at KL Sentral also not cheap.

This guy only have Myvi. He nvr share a room but his room not too nice. He needs Parking too at condo.

He really cannot cut 1000 from this budget

TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 03:44 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(danielmckey @ Jun 29 2021, 02:01 PM)
Starting is to compete not forever. Up the ladder fast if your potential higher than the average... Otherwise just stay low...
Is sad that our life have to start this way and many bosses only want to give RM100 increment and they may need to compete 20 years if they want to be loyal to company
ragk
post Jun 29 2021, 04:25 PM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

I'm earning 5 figure but i still using RM38 phone plan only...
Fresh graduate should find working place which is reachable by public transport, car are huge depreciated asset and commitment if ur salary wans't that good yet, and obviously renting can be lesser if u shared with ppl.
In my early working year i rarely spend except on insurance and investment, u really doesn't have much choice to change your life if ur bank got no money. 50% increment after 2 years is possible in professional field, but u have to change job, most company dont raise much salary

This post has been edited by ragk: Jun 29 2021, 04:28 PM
IJustWantToAsk
post Jun 29 2021, 07:45 PM

216 posts

Can share plan details, probably gonna change plan soon anyway
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 07:50 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Jun 29 2021, 04:25 PM)
I'm earning 5 figure but i still using RM38 phone plan only...
Fresh graduate should find working place which is reachable by public transport, car are huge depreciated asset and commitment if ur salary wans't that good yet, and obviously renting can be lesser if u shared with ppl.
In my early working year i rarely spend except on insurance and investment, u really doesn't have much choice to change your life if ur bank got no money. 50% increment after 2 years is possible in professional field, but u have to change job, most company dont raise much salary
Since most company don’t raise much salary, they can actually pay you more and let you live with dignity. But they chose to let you hanging by the line. I elaborated in my post below.

https://lnkd.in/g2xfXsX
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 07:54 PM

619 posts

My example above is not extreme poverty, it does show what living with dignity requires in KL.

This is meant for discussion. Thanks all for reply and view.
jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 08:08 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(IJustWantToAsk @ Jun 29 2021, 07:45 PM)
The plan now given the mess we have to deal with is to cut all unnecessary cost as best as possible. Build up your cash reserves. Always keep in mind that everyone will be cutting that cost and you current bring home income may change for the worst.

With respect to TS, I wish not to derail his topic even though I may not necessarily agree with his point.
TeeKanne
post Jun 29 2021, 08:12 PM

151 posts

Can you share the unlimited data phone bill? I am using Hotlink around 60is but ada cap data la. But using not too much but ok la.
jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 08:27 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 07:54 PM)
My example above is not extreme poverty, it does show what living with dignity requires in KL.

This is meant for discussion. Thanks all for reply and view.
I get where you are coming from. But I hope you see our perspective also. 20 years ago, I also think like you. But the harsh realities of life changes that quickly. We have all gone through that phase. If you think that your current company isn't not giving you enough "dignity", then look for others.

I just find your use of the world "dignity" a bit condescending.
What is dignity? How about those earning less than you. Don't they deserve dignity? The world is not perfect. We just have to make do with what we have. Dignity don't come with your monthly paycheck. Employers don't owe you "dignity".

If you have the notion that just because you are a fresh grad, you deserve some form of "dignity", think again. Unfortunately, that's not how the world works. The country as a whole is going backwards already even without the mess we call covid. People are loosing thier livelihood as we speak here. Salaries can only go up when productivity in a country as a whole improves. Otherwise the cost of labour increases cannot be sustained. We have to ask the correct questions why our salaries are not going up.

As my reply above, the best we could do is to re-evaluate our priorities and what we can do without. Cut costs and shore up your cash reserves for emergencies.

I cut my own salary and since we have not worked this month, my grand total for commissions is a big fat zero. My income is half the usual but it hasn't impacted me significantly because I don't have any loan commitments. House and car has been paid off. My house is in order.

Now is not the time to talk about "dignity" when the large proportion of the workforce is just trying to survive the cuts.
jaycee1
post Jun 29 2021, 08:31 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

QUOTE(IJustWantToAsk @ Jun 29 2021, 07:45 PM)
QUOTE(TeeKanne @ Jun 29 2021, 08:12 PM)
Can you share the unlimited data phone bill? I am using Hotlink around 60is but ada cap data la. But using not too much but ok la.
I'm using a U mobile GX68 postpaid plan. That gives me unlimited data. I switched from a Digi unlimited 100 plan last year.

But anyways, plans change, so shop around and find what works best for your usage.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 09:03 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 08:27 PM)
I get where you are coming from. But I hope you see our perspective also. 20 years ago, I also think like you. But the harsh realities of life changes that quickly. We have all gone through that phase. If you think that your current company isn't not giving you enough "dignity", then look for others.

I just find your use of the world "dignity" a bit condescending.
What is dignity? How about those earning less than you. Don't they deserve dignity? The world is not perfect. We just have to make do with what we have. Dignity don't come with your monthly paycheck. Employers don't owe you "dignity".

If you have the notion that just because you are a fresh grad, you deserve some form of "dignity", think again. Unfortunately, that's not how the world works. The country as a whole is going backwards already even without the mess we call covid. People are loosing thier livelihood as we speak here. Salaries can only go up when productivity in a country as a whole improves. Otherwise the cost of labour increases cannot be sustained. We have to ask the correct questions why our salaries are not going up.

As my reply above, the best we could do is to re-evaluate our priorities and what we can do without. Cut costs and shore up your cash reserves for emergencies.

I cut my own salary and since we have not worked this month, my grand total for commissions is a big fat zero. My income is half the usual but it hasn't impacted me significantly because I don't have any loan commitments. House and car has been paid off. My house is in order.

Now is not the time to talk about "dignity" when the large proportion of the workforce is just trying to survive the cuts.
I see your point. We all been through hardship. The new generation need not suffer what we did. That’s the whole point we have minimum wage ya?

corad
post Jun 29 2021, 09:06 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

How much are you / your company paying fresh grads ?

say someone with 2.5 GPA from Lim Kok Wing Creative Writing
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 29 2021, 09:53 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 29 2021, 09:06 PM)
How much are you / your company paying fresh grads ?

say someone with 2.5 GPA from Lim Kok Wing Creative Writing
The problem of undertraining is another topic for another day.

There are good quality fresh grads today that get 2,300. That is the main issue that I am raising.

The CGPA 2.5 can be earning 10k doing e commerce now. New generation is very different from ours.

Our country also train a lot of students that cannot think, they will ended up not being employed for graduate jobs.

If you require a competent fresh grad with a good productivity, I don’t see how that should be 2,300 in KL. Many years back, 2009, my workplace paid 3,200. 2013 I paid 3,000-3,500.
BLKH3
post Jun 29 2021, 10:09 PM

471 posts

I totally, totally, agree with this. You people can call me a boomer, I don't care. But I find TS budget for Rm2300 is still too lavish for a fresh grad. Young people come out expect want everything cushy and nice.

Car RM500 I am sure fresh grad can find cheaper car than this. If not, public transport.
Petrol RM300 Look at above.
Parking RM100 Again, look at above.
Room RM600 seems reasonable
Parents RM300 seems reasonable
Food RM900 For one person, RM600 is already enough. What food is TS/fresh grad eating? Purata RM900/30days is RM30 per day.
Phone bill RM100 With wifi calling using Whatsapp/Signal, believe it or not, my phone bill is only about RM3 per month, itupun just for the data only when go outside, receive and send SMS. YES, RM3 per month! Digi.
Phone cost RM100 Early come out to work, want to pay installment for phone? Buy the cheapest smartphone available and call it a day.

When I was young, I made do without so many things and learnt a lot of life lessons on the way. Again, you all can call me boomer for all I care because boomer means 'tough and wise'. RM2300 for fresh grad just right.

This post has been edited by BLKH3: Jun 29 2021, 10:15 PM
Ralna
post Jun 29 2021, 10:14 PM

I love who I am
657 posts

Supply vs demand

Let's say a company has only RM30,000 budget for junior executives.

Would you hire:

A) RM2300 x 13 pax
B) RM3000 x 10 pax
C) RM3500 x 8 pax
D) RM5000 x 6 pax

This is excluding employers' share of EPF contribution, which is usually included in the budget. So, the actual number of junior execs hired is 2-3 pax fewer than what's stated above.

So, from employers' perspective, since supply > demand, they can just pick and choose whoever is okay with the salary offered. They focus on quantity (equating it to productivity) and not quality. Yeah, it's true that pay peanuts and you get monkeys. But then, surely there are good monkeys, not just bad ones.

Most companies are still stuck in 'more = better' mindset. Well, we can't really blame them, as generally, the quality of fresh grads in Malaysia is getting low and lower. There are too many higher institutions producing fresh graduates but of low quality. You can often hear employers and recruiters complaining about fresh graduates.

So, with such loss of confidence in fresh graduates, how do you think employers would want to offer higher salaries to fresh graduates? Gotta be fair to employers too, especially now we're in the midst of a pandemic.

Fresh graduates should just take up those offers that they feel okay enough to feed themselves and give some to parents (temporarily sacrificing some personal leisure), and work hard to prove themselves to be worthy of higher salaries when the economy becomes better, post-pandemic.

If fresh graduates aren't happy with what they're getting, unemployed people with families to feed would gladly take up those offers. So, what's left for fresh graduates are probably the bread crumbs.

That's the reality out there.

As for top management, why are they highly paid? Because they determine the survival of the company. If the captain is lousy and the ship sinks... that's it, everyone will sink together.

Is it fair to cut CEO salaries to 'subsidise' low-quality fresh graduates? I don't think so. CEOs have worked hard to reach the position they're holding. So, why penalise CEOs out of compassion for fresh graduates? Nah. Business is not charity.

BLKH3
post Jun 29 2021, 10:17 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ Jun 29 2021, 09:45 AM)
OR maybe, don't bow down to pressure from Facebook and spend within your means. Shocking, I know...
Remember, you have a mouth to feed, not people to impress.
BLKH3
post Jun 29 2021, 10:19 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:54 AM)

This is the best way to raise kids. The old fashioned way where kids don't bury their noses into smartphones and tablets.

That was my first salary when I started working in KL years ago (early to mid 2010s). It's definitely tough and you will have to be careful with how you spend.

If 2.3k is still not enough, take on a 2nd and 3rd job to cover the expenses. Not ideal but if you do not wish to sink, that's one of the few ways to survive.

You can push for more, say rm3000. See what the employers say. 95% of the time they will tell you to go and replace you with someone who will accept rm2000 instead.

Happened to me before.
Murasaki322
post Jun 30 2021, 12:56 AM

452 posts

Sad how most responses are about cutting down living costs, downgrading quality of life, be thrifty, stingy and miserly to "solve" i.e. argue away the low fresh graduate salary problem to be swept under the rug. Then there are others who play the "holier than thou card" saying they suffer more, walk 20km to work or live with 6 people in a 600sqft rented flat, and that graduates these days are soft, weak, entitled and complain too much. No doubt, graduates that are soft, weak and entitled are aplenty these days, and this horde of low grade graduates are the very ones dragging down the statistical mean of fresh graduate salaries by accepting lower and lower offers. All the unqualified applicants get a university offer, every Tom, Dick, Harry gets a degree. Then they graduate into the professional world with a laborer's worldview and attitude, never catching up to the ever steeper learning curve.

Back then, tertiary education was rare, and only those truly qualified deserve it and complete it successfully. They deserve to live with dignity under a cushy salaried job. But not graduates these days. Most graduate into B40 salaried life. Only the cream of the crop deserves a dignified starting salary packaged with growth potential, enough to feed themselves, their family and progress into the next stage of life comfortably. "But what about those who earn lesser than you? Isn't that unfair to them to not deserve 'dignity'?" That's something they should reflect on themselves whether they are qualified to deserve it, and what are they going to do about it. Yes, the world is not perfect that way. If one knows he/she cannot do well in a degree, learn trades skill or work to learn skills through experience instead, there is potential to grow faster and greater than degree graduates. But no, these people insist to squeeze into the degree bandwagon and the fresh graduate cohort is saturated with below par standard degree holders. Like some said, e-commerce or youtubers can easily earn much more. So why grind with others in the professional sector?

Sure there are other macro factors like stagnant nation productivity and supply-demand issues. Education is a business to generate money by churning out graduates regardless of quality. Many industries and companies in Malaysia are sweat shops for low skill, cheap laborious jobs. The institutional race-selective preference of admission into education or employment isn't helping either. There exist fairly paid fresh graduates on par to international standards, albeit limited. They are only paid highly because they deserve it as top-grade candidates, while the rest are just the churn.

With dwindling currency strength that reduces purchasing power year after year, cutting living cost and living like paupers is just a solution to survive. To thrive as a collective, something revolutionary needs to happen. Until then, sendiri jaga sendiri, go wherever benefits you the most, which enables your full potential to be utilized for a dignified compensation. Life is short and meant to be lived to the fullest, not to accept every downside compromise and remain the victim of a systemic failure.

soules83
post Jun 30 2021, 08:34 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 09:36 AM)
So RM2,300 is luxury
its a very bad time for new grad.

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Jun 29 2021, 10:45 PM)
That was my first salary when I started working in KL years ago (early to mid 2010s). It's definitely tough and you will have to be careful with how you spend.

If 2.3k is still not enough, take on a 2nd and 3rd job to cover the expenses. Not ideal but if you do not wish to sink, that's one of the few ways to survive.

You can push for more, say rm3000. See what the employers say. 95% of the time they will tell you to go and replace you with someone who will accept rm2000 instead.

Happened to me before.
Malaysia rising living cost and salary not up in par.
arc_archive
post Jun 30 2021, 08:41 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Jun 29 2021, 09:12 AM)

Room, get some roommates
I do agree with RM35 unlimited data plan with 3mbps cap. It changes my expenses wholly after migrating to prepaid after years becum a postpaid subsciber. Years ago, a cheap prepaid might not be enuff with data cap but with thw intoduction of internet pass, u can enjoy cheap internut that is enuff to surf the web or light binge watch utube. A fast internet only needed at home thus my unifi served the purpose.
sweet_pez
post Jun 30 2021, 10:32 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jun 30 2021, 12:56 AM)

Because at the end of it, more than 90% of Malaysia's companies are SMEs. With small businesses, their profit may not be large enough to cover for all these overhead expenses. Every penny saved is important to the business.

Its a capitalist market after all. If you're in demand for your skillset, there's nothing to worry. Money will follow for sure. So weather it out in the junior stage and subsequently move up or move out.

blu3gyrl
post Jun 30 2021, 02:35 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 03:42 PM)

This guy only have Myvi. He nvr share a room but his room not too nice. He needs Parking too at condo.

Car - I agree with others that there are other options under RM500 per month like Axia and also Proton. So buying MyVi is a bad move if you cannot afford it.

Food - I work at KL Sentral too and you can get food under RM10 at Brickfields area. I can get a bowl of noodles/economy rice and a drink for RM9 altogether. If you forgo drinks and go back to office to drink water, even cheaper. You probably need to explore out a bit more to find cheaper options. If you wanna save, that's how you gotta do it.

Petrol - 300 per month is quite a lot. I drive to work daily and my petrol is only around RM200 per month.

Phone Bill - There are cheaper options.. My juniors at work are using around RM50 per month.

Phone Cost - What is this ah?

This post has been edited by blu3gyrl: Jun 30 2021, 04:21 PM
SUSAhmad Zulkifli
post Jun 30 2021, 04:00 PM

50 posts

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

You should specify which job are you referring to bro. If you are talking about a degree holder but working as an accountant for an SME then of course la Rm2k salary.

Your salary is determined by your JOB not your ACADEMIC qualifications. If your a PHD holder but driving grab then you get grab level pay la. Pakai otak sikit.

If your really talented. Pindah kerja pergi job yang elok sikit.

This post has been edited by Ahmad Zulkifli: Jun 30 2021, 04:01 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 30 2021, 08:03 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(blu3gyrl @ Jun 30 2021, 02:35 PM)
Car - I agree with others that there are other options under RM500 per month like Axia and also Proton. So buying MyVi is a bad move if you cannot afford it.

Food - I work at KL Sentral too and you can get food under RM10 at Brickfields area. I can get a bowl of noodles/economy rice and a drink for RM9 altogether. If you forgo drinks and go back to office to drink water, even cheaper. You probably need to explore out a bit more to find cheaper options. If you wanna save, that's how you gotta do it.

Petrol - 300 per month is quite a lot. I drive to work daily and my petrol is only around RM200 per month.

Phone Bill - There are cheaper options.. My juniors at work are using around RM50 per month.

Do you pay parking in KL Sentral and condo?

TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 30 2021, 08:04 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Ahmad Zulkifli @ Jun 30 2021, 04:00 PM)
You should specify which job are you referring to bro. If you are talking about a degree holder but working as an accountant for an SME then of course la Rm2k salary.

Your salary is determined by your JOB not your ACADEMIC qualifications. If your a PHD holder but driving grab then you get grab level pay la. Pakai otak sikit.

If your really talented. Pindah kerja pergi job yang elok sikit.
Accountant is also a respected job for graduates

Malaysia PhD don’t know what job to get.
roybreaker
post Jun 30 2021, 10:26 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 29 2021, 08:31 PM)
I'm using a U mobile GX68 postpaid plan. That gives me unlimited data. I switched from a Digi unlimited 100 plan last year.

But anyways, plans change, so shop around and find what works best for your usage.
Is this U moblie GX68 plan got speed cap or high speed data?

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jun 29 2021, 10:19 PM)
This is the best way to raise kids. The old fashioned way where kids don't bury their noses into smartphones and tablets.

Happened to me before.
This happened to me also. There was 1 particular job required 2 years experience. I applied for it as I see myself fit to the JD. Got called for interview. The interviewer was happy with my achievements and projects done during university time (related to the job). At the end of the interview, he wants me onboard and asked to wait for HR call. I got rejected by the HR manager because my expected salary was high (Based on the market range for that job) and she said I only deserve entry level pay.
coolguy_0925
post Jun 30 2021, 11:30 PM

4,552 posts

QUOTE(blu3gyrl @ Jun 30 2021, 02:35 PM)
Probably the money spent to buy a smartphone
Topace111
post Jun 30 2021, 11:33 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 03:42 PM)

I think it depends on work also. If the work requires travel a lot, then car is necessary but most company compensate if travel is part of job like travel to client. If the job has limited travel and near MRT, the rm100 pass is a good offer in my view like in kl sentral.

Food at kl sentral/ nu sentral considered high class Liao. Most go brickfields (few mins away). Many nice chap fan or banana leaf at rm6,7.

Accomodation wise, I think cannot run but I will swallow ego and stay at relatives / family for first 2 years (when salary is very low).

My grad job is with big4 with long crunch hours. The travel allowance and OT allowance helps a bit financially. No social life so that saves lots of monies and departmental trip is mostly subsidized so travel holiday costs also reduced. Got some colleagues renting same room from college days even when they working (landlord assume still studying)
blu3gyrl
post Jul 1 2021, 01:23 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 30 2021, 08:03 PM)
Do you pay parking in KL Sentral and condo?
Carpark - Yes, when I first started working, I was working at Bukit Bintang area. Carpark was around RM 100-160 per month there. For cheaper carpark, you need to get there earlier to get a spot. If later than 7.45am, need to park at more expensive rate carpark. Now at KL Sentral, thankfully my company subsidised my carpark after my promotion. However, you can find cheaper carpark at around Brickfields area. This is where my colleagues get their cheaper carpark. Before I got my carpark though, I opted to take public transport to work coz it's cheaper. RM10 per day via MRT and Park&Ride facility.

Condo - No, not at that time. During my first few years of work, I stayed with my parents. However I had to give RM500 monthly to my brother as his allowance for my first 3 years of working. He was a student at that time. This amount is separate from the allowance that I also give to my parents.

All in all, I think what people are suggesting here is that he work his expenses around the salary he has for now. There are cheaper options. When get a better pay next time, then can adjust for more comfort. We all started as fresh grads before, having to save and pinch to survive and that also no savings for first few years. That's how life is lah.

This post has been edited by blu3gyrl: Jul 1 2021, 01:25 PM
BLKH3
post Jul 1 2021, 02:00 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 30 2021, 11:33 PM)
I think it depends on work also. If the work requires travel a lot, then car is necessary but most company compensate if travel is part of job like travel to client. If the job has limited travel and near MRT, the rm100 pass is a good offer in my view like in kl sentral.

Food at kl sentral/ nu sentral considered high class Liao. Most go brickfields (few mins away). Many nice chap fan or banana leaf at rm6,7.

Accomodation wise, I think cannot run but I will swallow ego and stay at relatives / family for first 2 years (when salary is very low).

My grad job is with big4 with long crunch hours. The travel allowance and OT allowance helps a bit financially. No social life so that saves lots of monies and departmental trip is mostly subsidized so travel holiday costs also reduced. Got some colleagues renting same room from college days even when they working (landlord assume still studying)
renting same room instead of same house? working already should rent one room.
MiLKTea
post Jul 3 2021, 02:30 PM

942 posts

Got toilet paper only alr demand this and that.
Not even proving your worth yet pun.
Work your way up lah.
Phuiiii
BLKH3
post Jul 3 2021, 02:38 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Jul 3 2021, 02:30 PM)
Got toilet paper only alr demand this and that.
Not even proving your worth yet pun.
Work your way up lah.
Phuiiii
I feel the same way as you but NO need to be so harsh. You too were once fresh grad.
MiLKTea
post Jul 3 2021, 03:20 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jul 3 2021, 02:38 PM)
I feel the same way as you but NO need to be so harsh. You too were once fresh grad.
Sorry if i sound too harsh but you need to knock some reality to these students who still in kayangan mode.

Yes i was fresh grad once but I was very thankful for my first job and first employer
Murasaki322
post Jul 3 2021, 03:34 PM

452 posts

Stop looking at ways to cut down costs and expenses. This is why Malaysia will only have cheap industries ran with a chinaman mindset. The matter at hand is the low starting salary of a fresh graduate. Not how he/she spends the money.

1. Who's complaining about the low salary? If he/she is some "hobbyist degree" graduate then it should only be expected. If a law/medical/finance/STEM related graduate, then look at his/her accomplishments, anything below 2.0 CGPA should not even be considered a degree.

2. What's the reason behind the low salary? Is it because of Malaysian companies cannot afford to pay competitively? Or is it the graduate him/herself does not have inherent value or potential to grow into the job, i.e. low quality graduate.

3. How and why is the salary so low for Malaysian fresh graduate? Is it caused by a systemic cripple in the education and economic sector of the nation? Or is it supply and demand factor? It could also be that good ones never complain with their competitive pay, and only the bad ones keep complaining because of their low worth to the employer? Survivorship bias? Confirmation bias?

This post has been edited by Murasaki322: Jul 3 2021, 03:35 PM
Redshelf411
post Jul 4 2021, 12:37 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 3 2021, 03:34 PM)
Stop looking at ways to cut down costs and expenses. This is why Malaysia will only have cheap industries ran with a chinaman mindset. The matter at hand is the low starting salary of a fresh graduate. Not how he/she spends the money.

1. Who's complaining about the low salary? If he/she is some "hobbyist degree" graduate then it should only be expected. If a law/medical/finance/STEM related graduate, then look at his/her accomplishments, anything below 2.0 CGPA should not even be considered a degree.

2. What's the reason behind the low salary? Is it because of Malaysian companies cannot afford to pay competitively? Or is it the graduate him/herself does not have inherent value or potential to grow into the job, i.e. low quality graduate.

3. How and why is the salary so low for Malaysian fresh graduate? Is it caused by a systemic cripple in the education and economic sector of the nation? Or is it supply and demand factor? It could also be that good ones never complain with their competitive pay, and only the bad ones keep complaining because of their low worth to the employer? Survivorship bias? Confirmation bias?
You have pointed out some very solid pointers. However I think it largely boils down to everyone not caring enough to make things work.

Employers think its ok to pay low salaries for staffs on all levels. In one of my previous posts I've read comments along the lines of "if not happy, feel free to leave; bosses can always replace you with similar salaries or even cheaper salaries. take it or leave it".

Some employees and staffs think its ok to produce crap work and submit. I should also mention how after working in Malaysian companies for a few years, the talent is only until that much. It doesn't go any higher. Maybe there is no longer room to grow. Maybe its the culture that does not allow the Malaysian individual to grow. If we are going by the logic where you get paid for your level of talent, that is.

I don't think Malaysia is in the position to ask for more. What can Malaysia offer the world besides cheap labor, which in turn they exploit locals by paying low salaries and giving low benefits? As disappointing as it gets, I think I have to echo some of the sentiments voiced by some of the users here: better you have a job than have none at all.

That's why there's a common saying: "if you are smart enough, and have the money, you would have left the country for better pastures."
AND "you get what you paid for".
dudewhatisthis
post Jul 4 2021, 12:06 PM

103 posts

I bet my life savings in 20 years, people will still claim 2k to be a “good” salary for fresh grads despite the rising living costs in the same timeframe.

This post has been edited by dudewhatisthis: Jul 4 2021, 12:07 PM
Murasaki322
post Jul 4 2021, 12:37 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ Jul 4 2021, 12:06 PM)
I bet my life savings in 20 years, people will still claim 2k to be a “good” salary for fresh grads despite the rising living costs in the same timeframe.
and there will always be those who argue how that 2k should be spent minimally by downgrading life quality to those of undeveloped nations, yes fresh graduate should take that 2k and save it, live in the woods, hunt rabbits and gather berries for food while drinking water from a well to avoid the exorbitant rising cost of living a decent life.
Zyrise5465
post Jul 4 2021, 02:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 4 2021, 12:37 PM)
and there will always be those who argue how that 2k should be spent minimally by downgrading life quality to those of undeveloped nations, yes fresh graduate should take that 2k and save it, live in the woods, hunt rabbits and gather berries for food while drinking water from a well to avoid the exorbitant rising cost of living a decent life.
Yep, 20 years later people will make some post and breakdown how to spend 2k wisely as a fresh grad (factoring in inflation), probably we'll see some advices like ask fresh grad drink water only until getting promoted to senior position, then they only will be able to afford soft drink. I bet Axia will be considered as a luxury in future, then people will recommend fresh grad to downgrade to bike/bicycle instead. God forbid all these fresh grad having normal life.
CSW1990
post Jul 4 2021, 07:53 PM

995 posts

Too many graduates now and most are still “immature “. What important is that how you can justify that you are the one worth to get higher salary. I don’t believe if a fresh graduate with above average cgpa, mature thinking, good attitude and good English comprehension/presentation during interview cannot secure a job with reasonable or above average salary.
Sometimes can’t blame the employers actually many fresh grad nowadays I saw are irresponsible one.
Also those low cgpa, lousy English speaking one most are the goyang kaki/enjoy life/ game addicted type in college...
BLKH3
post Jul 4 2021, 11:01 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 3 2021, 03:34 PM)

You cannot just look at getting as much as you want, you also HAVE to look at how he/she spends the money. It is BOTH. Otherwise, if employers gives you RM10k straight out of college, you will come back to this forum saying the same thing.

Problem is, fresh grad only looks at fresh grad point of view and employer only looks at employer point of view. What I hate is as soon as somebody progressed from employee to employer, he begins to discard his fresh-grad thinking and become stingy Chinaman boss.
K0MR4DE
post Jul 5 2021, 09:19 PM

138 posts

Okay let me add on my perspective as a freshie (< 3 years of exp.)

IMHO, the reason why low salary happens to freshie its because, the university overproduce them. Everyone can get a piece of Degree nowadays, because lax of entry requirement and easy PTPTN approval. Definitely, supply vs demand issue here.

Now, I'm looking for ways to enhance my piece of paper. To differentiate myself from waves of freshie out there.
hellothere131495
post Jul 6 2021, 05:24 PM

473 posts

it can be enough if you plan your expenses wisely.

But definitely on the borderline...
klch87
post Jul 7 2021, 01:33 PM

779 posts

i can foresee this low pay wont be going away soon and is already embedded in malaysian culture for many many years.

even right now when covid19 pandemic is still lingering and after recovery, lots of ppl who are jobless will be exploited with mediocre salary.

all i can say is that most fresh grads have the disadvantages at the start due to low salary bracket but i am inclined to say that if they play their cards right, they can get out from the dilemma within 2-3 years.
sol_badguy
post Jul 8 2021, 01:37 PM

192 posts

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

11 years ago, when I was picking my first car, the salesman that I dealt with told me that she requires at least rm6000 to get by in klang valley.

Well, she traveled a lot to find buyers- and had to pay tolls and so on.., had 3 kids..

But I think your food calculation is a little bit high. Maybe can reduce to RM 20 per days - that means you have to cook some of the meals, and buy some
SUSKarl Jung
post Jul 12 2021, 04:36 AM

56 posts

Obscenely high salary for top while bottom feeders very low salary. Typical capitalist scenario.
Davan
post Jul 13 2021, 09:30 AM

42 posts

Check back 10years back how much for fresh graduate
Achilles Yong
post Jul 13 2021, 03:34 PM

124 posts

People who said to look back on how much fresh grads were paid many years ago, I assume you have taken inflation into account?

*Edit* I'm not saying that fresh grads should be paid this or that amount, just want to understand if there is some points I'm missing, feel free to correct me if so.

This post has been edited by Achilles Yong: Jul 13 2021, 03:40 PM
SUSKarl Jung
post Jul 13 2021, 08:02 PM

56 posts

Fresh grad duty is to be involved with riots if the country is in problem. Salary will always be low if country leadership sucks. Please riot violently fresh grads... It's for your future.
Lancer07
post Jul 21 2021, 09:25 PM

599 posts

Quite sad to hear that

No way can salary increment rate to chase up the inflation rate now
gooroojee
post Jul 21 2021, 09:32 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

The median salary in Malaysia is RM2k. Meaning half our Malaysian workforce make less than this amount a month.

Cost of living is cheap. Cost of lifestyle is expensive.
SUSpfizer
post Jul 21 2021, 09:42 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jul 21 2021, 09:32 PM)
The median salary in Malaysia is RM2k. Meaning half our Malaysian workforce make less than this amount a month. 

That is bad. No wonder most of malaysian dont have saving.
BLKH3
post Jul 22 2021, 11:30 AM

471 posts

You sure boh? Where is your source?
gooroojee
post Jul 22 2021, 02:47 PM

LowYee
2,193 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Jul 22 2021, 11:30 AM)
You sure boh? Where is your source?
Sammie7
post Jul 25 2021, 12:29 AM

333 posts

Ppl earning third world country salary but want to live a first world country lifestyle.
Pacmangoku
post Jul 25 2021, 12:34 AM

lë Fantôme
828 posts

That's why I have respect for your generation. Just work your way up instead of complaining right from the start. cool2.gif
happy_berry
post Jul 25 2021, 12:31 PM

2,465 posts

First they tell you that rice,vege and egg is enough- no need chicken. Then they tell you rice and egg is already enough - we can survive without vege. Then eventually they tell you eh rice and kicap is good enough - can live until old age. Do you see the fucking trend here?

Some of the replies are made by clowns. Glorifying unnecessary suffering like a badge of honour, here have your trophy.

TomYummy
post Jul 25 2021, 03:28 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Jul 25 2021, 12:31 PM)
First they tell you that rice,vege and egg is enough- no need chicken. Then they tell you rice and egg is already enough - we can survive without vege. Then eventually they tell you eh rice and kicap is good enough - can live until old age. Do you see the fucking trend here?

Some of the replies are made by clowns. Glorifying unnecessary suffering like a badge of honour, here have your trophy.
That's why take lowyat with a pinch of salt, where most membbers are lowlife and/or simply blatant liars.

Their definition of "life" is surviving on kicap rice. Also, the crab mentality: Sam had to suffer as fresh grad, Azmin too, Sandeep too so you have to do the same, it's okay, why you complain strawbelly?

Don't even waste your time explaining and educating on this forum.

This post has been edited by TomYummy: Jul 25 2021, 03:30 PM
chromatino_hex
post Jul 23 2022, 08:37 PM

176 posts

This post is ridiculous. I am going to necro this thread. It is impossible to live a healthy lifestyle with RM2,300 salary.

You need to eat 2,400 calories meal (vegetable, meat, fish) + vitamins.
Gym membership also need money.

Unless you are comfortable with eating unhealthy mamak style meals every day (just pour curry on your rice without any nutrients), then of course RM2,300 a month is enough.

This post has been edited by chromatino_hex: Jul 23 2022, 08:39 PM
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2022, 10:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

Parking in KLCC area mana ada RM100. Unless your counting it as hybrid work arrangement where you park half a month and WFH the other half?
Because I work in Yap Kwan Seng before, easily RM10-12.70 a day coz the RM8 one is a small lot and forever full.
22 working days a month on average.. how to fit in RM100.. unless you work for those smol companies in upstairs shoplots where you can still park DBKL street parking and cheat the parking half the time?
RM100 is inviting saman kind of parking leh, as I remember DBKL season pass is RM160 or 320/mo for street parking

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 29 2021, 01:30 PM)
Business need to plan on efficiency and productivity. We created too many non productive jobs that allow business to earn low margins.

10 years ago auditing firm already offer 2,800 for fresh grad.

Covid-19 aside, 2,300 is really very low.
2006-2007 a decent meal was RM5.10 for nasi ayam and a kopi peng, and mamak usually give 10c discount making it RM5 nett
That time fresh grad earn RM2500

Now inflation of essentials and salary deflated rclxub.gif
Roadwarrior1337
post Jul 23 2022, 11:01 PM

979 posts

I just bought one big bittergourd and 2 tomato

Walaneh 13 bucks and this is from a kedai runcit at my neighbourhood

How the f kids that stay in kl survive with minimum gaji
Roadwarrior1337
post Jul 23 2022, 11:02 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 23 2022, 10:59 PM)
Parking in KLCC area mana ada RM100. Unless your counting it as hybrid work arrangement where you park half a month and WFH the other half?
Because I work in Yap Kwan Seng before, easily RM10-12.70 a day coz the RM8 one is a small lot and forever full.
22 working days a month on average.. how to fit in RM100.. unless you work for those smol companies in upstairs shoplots where you can still park DBKL street parking and cheat the parking half the time?
RM100 is inviting saman kind of parking leh, as I remember DBKL season pass is RM160 or 320/mo for street parking
2006-2007 a decent meal was RM5.10 for nasi ayam and a kopi peng, and mamak usually give 10c discount making it RM5 nett
That time fresh grad earn RM2500

Now inflation of essentials and salary deflated  rclxub.gif
You may park at great eastern mall for 7 ringgit all day and walk over to klcc. Exercise gooding yo
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2022, 11:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:01 PM)
I just bought one big bittergourd and 2 tomato

Walaneh 13 bucks and this is from a kedai runcit at my neighbourhood

How the f kids that stay in kl survive with minimum gaji
Sacrifice by NOT eating veggie, veggies cost too much money.
I was on carnivore diet for many many years until masuk hospital due to tummy bug (totally red inflamed in the endoscope/colonoscope)..doc scared me say I need to eat more veggies.. cry.gif
SUSceo684
post Jul 23 2022, 11:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:02 PM)
You may park at great eastern mall for 7 ringgit all day and walk over to klcc. Exercise gooding yo
You need to uprate the extra cost of petrol to go to that far end of Jalan Ampang and potong gaji cost as well.
And anyhow 7*22 also more than 5*20.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 23 2022, 11:05 PM
Murasaki322
post Jul 23 2022, 11:47 PM

452 posts

I hear rumors of Intel offering interns RM2400/month, a steep increase from RM1500 in the past few years.
SUSdattebayo
post Jul 24 2022, 01:05 AM

5,366 posts

the post was created back in 2021, when Covid was at its worst

now economy sectors have all been reopened

which sectors still hiring freshgrads for 2.3k?

i think even chinamans would pay at least 2.8k in KV region?

even being a shop assistant in handphone accessories shop should get above 2k these days

please, name and shame those companies which still offer 2.3k, at least in KV, i am eager to know

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jul 24 2022, 01:06 AM
thesoothsayer
post Jul 24 2022, 01:51 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 23 2022, 11:47 PM)
I hear rumors of Intel offering interns RM2400/month, a steep increase from RM1500 in the past few years.
That's almost the starting pay for engineers 20 years ago. Good to see them keeping up with inflation. My internship salary there was 680 22 years ago.
SUSTanahGagal
post Jul 24 2022, 01:58 PM

146 posts

Tak suka?

Vote PH in next GE for a change
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 02:37 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(TanahGagal @ Jul 24 2022, 01:58 PM)
Tak suka?

Vote PH in next GE for a change
You still believe in this sort of stories?

Honestly, I used to be a PH supporter and went to Bersih protests. I was also a PACA for two general elections. But, to be honest, I don't believe in PH anymore.

Want to earn better wage - work harder. Don't dream of regime change. Look at GST and SST. Did the prices of good and services drop after the abolishment of SST? The answer is no, why?

Anyway, the problem for the current generation is - hoping to get good pay but never think of the contribution. For a fresh graduate to earn 2300 a month, after adding EPF, Socso, EIS, HRD levy, insurance and etc, the direct cost is around 2500. If you add in the work stations, computer, and all other overheads, the cost for a fresh graduate should be around 2700 a month. Can this fresh graduate contribute a profit of 3000 per month? To be frank, I doubt so. Worse, more of the fresh graduates aim for easy tasks, can work in air-cond office, got internet access, many annual leaves for work life balance.

SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 03:23 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 02:37 PM)

Honestly, I used to be a PH supporter and went to Bersih protests. I was also a PACA for two general elections. But, to be honest, I don't believe in PH anymore.

Want to earn better wage - work harder. Don't dream of regime change. Look at GST and SST. Did the prices of good and services drop after the abolishment of SST? The answer is no, why?

Anyway, the problem for the current generation is - hoping to get good pay but never think of the contribution. For a fresh graduate to earn 2300 a month, after adding EPF, Socso, EIS, HRD levy, insurance and etc, the direct cost is around 2500. If you add in the work stations, computer, and all other overheads, the cost for a fresh graduate should be around 2700 a month. Can this fresh graduate contribute a profit of 3000 per month? To be frank, I doubt so. Worse, more of the fresh graduates aim for easy tasks, can work in air-cond office, got internet access, many annual leaves for work life balance.
2 separate issues la. Yes no matter which party wins it won't have a direct impact to your lifestyle. It does, however have indirect impact in terms of policies and corruption.
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 03:37 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 24 2022, 03:23 PM)
2 separate issues la. Yes no matter which party wins it won't have a direct impact to your lifestyle. It does, however have indirect impact in terms of policies and corruption.
Agree - politic and job/wage are two separate issues. Should not bring in false hope.

Wages should depend on the economy growth, individual performance and demand-vs-supply.

If one fresh graduate could contribution more than RM 5000 profit per month to a company, it is stupid for the employer to continue the monthly RM 2300 salary. I believe 80% of the employers in the job market know this basic principle. The 20% of the employer will not be able to retain their employees - as a result, will not survive in the business world.
rootbeer
post Jul 24 2022, 03:41 PM

223 posts

stop complaining, it is not the company fault, it is the govt fault for keep devalue ing the country currency with supporting corrupted useless MP.

SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 05:52 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 03:37 PM)
Agree - politic and job/wage are two separate issues. Should not bring in false hope.

Wages should depend on the economy growth, individual performance and demand-vs-supply.

If one fresh graduate could contribution more than RM 5000 profit per month to a company, it is stupid for the employer to continue the monthly RM 2300 salary. I believe 80% of the employers in the job market know this basic principle. The 20% of the employer will not be able to retain their employees - as a result, will not survive in the business world.
That's where indirect gov policies affect wages lo

If the gov of the day is corrupted then less companies will want to invest in malaysia which could cause the ringgit value to depreciate hence leading to higher cost of living like you see now

Also if the gov don't have policies to attract value workers to move up into value added economy then we will be stuck will low value low wage kind of economy like you see now lo. Unfortunately fresh grad that are good and can contribute would have already moved to Singapore/Australia/UK/USA.

Brain drain is a real problem and it becomes a chicken and egg problem. Companies can't pay high because there is limited talent and the talents leave to other countries because they are not paid high. And the cycle continues

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 24 2022, 05:54 PM
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 06:42 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 24 2022, 05:52 PM)
That's where indirect gov policies affect wages lo

If the gov of the day is corrupted then less companies will want to invest in malaysia which could cause the ringgit value to depreciate hence leading to higher cost of living like you see now

Also if the gov don't have policies to attract value workers to move up into value added economy then we will be stuck will low value low wage kind of economy like you see now lo. Unfortunately fresh grad that are good and can contribute would have already moved to Singapore/Australia/UK/USA.

Brain drain is a real problem and it becomes a chicken and egg problem. Companies can't pay high because there is limited talent and the talents leave to other countries because they are not paid high. And the cycle continues
Let say ringgit appreciate to 1 USD = 1 MYR. Would MNC come over to invest? With this exchange rate, they probably invest in their own country. Why should they come and invest in an expensive country? Of course, you may argue, why can't 1 MYR = 1 USD? Big corporation from other countries also go and invest in US. Yes, that is true, America is still the biggest economy in the world. Malaysia is not.

On the other hand, Malaysia is not the only country that experiences high inflation. The exchange rates for Malaysia against EUR, GBP and JPY are higher since the Russia-Ukraine war. But, is this a good news? Not necessarily. Malaysia is a net export country. Malaysia’s trade surplus continues to rise despite the political instability in 2020. Strong ringgit will not benefit the export market.

Malaysia adopts the Westminster systems. That means, despite high profile corruptions in both camps of politicians, the country’s economical and financial policies are consistently monitored and managed by the civil services such as Bank Negara. So, practically, if the voters place idiots to sit in the parliament (in fact they did), the country will still run as normal because of this civil service.

I don’t deny there are brain drain. This has been an issue long time ago. Many of my classmates remained in Singapore after their graduation – in 1988. However, Malaysia has improved a lot since 70’s. If there is no opportunity or future in this country, you won’t see so many foreign labour coming. You won’t see anyone local bother to book new cars. Malaysia is far away from the status of failed state.

Monthly salary of 2300 is an issue, that is true. But, the employees have to ask themselves, what are their profit contributions to the employers?
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 07:41 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 06:42 PM)
Let say ringgit appreciate to 1 USD = 1 MYR. Would MNC come over to invest? With this exchange rate, they probably invest in their own country. Why should they come and invest in an expensive country? Of course, you may argue, why can't 1 MYR = 1 USD? Big corporation from other countries also go and invest in US. Yes, that is true, America is still the biggest economy in the world. Malaysia is not.

On the other hand, Malaysia is not the only country that experiences high inflation. The exchange rates for Malaysia against EUR, GBP and JPY are higher since the Russia-Ukraine war. But, is this a good news? Not necessarily. Malaysia is a net export country. Malaysia’s trade surplus continues to rise despite the political instability in 2020. Strong ringgit will not benefit the export market.

Malaysia adopts the Westminster systems. That means, despite high profile corruptions in both camps of politicians, the country’s economical and financial policies are consistently monitored and managed by the civil services such as Bank Negara. So, practically, if the voters place idiots to sit in the parliament (in fact they did), the country will still run as normal because of this civil service.

I don’t deny there are brain drain. This has been an issue long time ago. Many of my classmates remained in Singapore after their graduation – in 1988. However, Malaysia has improved a lot since 70’s. If there is no opportunity or future in this country, you won’t see so many foreign labour coming. You won’t see anyone local bother to book new cars. Malaysia is far away from the status of failed state. 

Monthly salary of 2300 is an issue, that is true. But, the employees have to ask themselves, what are their profit contributions to the employers?
If what you say were true then do you think MNC prefer to invest in Singapore or Malaysia? The fact that there are many more regional HQ in Singapore compared to Malaysia proves my point despite SGD being much stronger than MYR. Again it boils down to having the necessary talent, infrastructure and policies (which SG has and MY don't).

Strong currency will not benefit country who exports non value added goods. There is a difference. Malaysia exports mainly low value raw commodity and/or low value products that is why a strong currency is detrimental to malaysia as customers can always buy somewhere else. Conversely Singapore for example, focus on more intangible, higher value products like services as exports like private banking so they are less susceptible to losing business due to a stronger currency.

Wrong. Its not that malaysia is not improving but other neighbouring countries are improving at a much faster rate than malaysia. And its not about attracting foreign workers per se its about attracting high value, highly skilled foreign workers. Malaysia only attract the low value lowly skilled workers which is not ideal to grow the economy into a higher value economy.

The problem is that the rot starts from above. The politicians are corrupted, the ministers are corrupted hence setting a culture of corruption in the civil service as well over the many years.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 24 2022, 07:42 PM
SUSTanahGagal
post Jul 24 2022, 07:51 PM

146 posts

People needs hope

ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 10:25 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 24 2022, 07:41 PM)
If what you say were true then do you think MNC prefer to invest in Singapore or Malaysia? The fact that there are many more regional HQ in Singapore compared to Malaysia proves my point despite SGD being much stronger than MYR. Again it boils down to having the necessary talent, infrastructure and policies (which SG has and MY don't).

Strong currency will not benefit country who exports non value added goods. There is a difference. Malaysia exports mainly low value raw commodity and/or low value products that is why a strong currency is detrimental to malaysia as customers can always buy somewhere else. Conversely Singapore for example, focus on more intangible, higher value products like services as exports like private banking so they are less susceptible to losing business due to a stronger currency.

Wrong. Its not that malaysia is not improving but other neighbouring countries are improving at a much faster rate than malaysia. And its not about attracting foreign workers per se its about attracting high value, highly skilled foreign workers. Malaysia only attract the low value lowly skilled workers which is not ideal to grow the economy into a higher value economy.

The problem is that the rot starts from above. The politicians are corrupted, the ministers are corrupted hence setting a culture of corruption in the civil service as well over the many years.
I got my first degree from Singapore and worked there for four years.

Companies set up their centre in Singapore for reasons. Firstly, as a small state, their infrastructure, particularly telecommunication, is easier to build and maintain. However, just look at the share price for SingTel. What is the IPO price back in 1993 and what is the current price?

Secondly, it offers tax incentives to encourage. But, ask yourself, why those bankers that left Hong Kong could not get their employment passes? Read the following news

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...pe-to-singapore

So, Singapore government realize that it needs to offer opportunities to locals - just like the Malaysian government. You look at Singapore from a Malaysian point of views. You don't feel the paint of local Singaporean who have to compete with Malaysian, Mainland Chinese, Indian, Filipino for job security.
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 24 2022, 11:06 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 10:25 PM)
I got my first degree from Singapore and worked there for four years.

Companies set up their centre in Singapore for reasons. Firstly, as a small state, their infrastructure, particularly telecommunication, is easier to build and maintain. However, just look at the share price for SingTel. What is the IPO price back in 1993 and what is the current price?  

Secondly, it offers tax incentives to encourage. But, ask yourself, why those bankers that left Hong Kong could not get their employment passes? Read the following news

So, Singapore government realize that it needs to offer opportunities to locals - just like the Malaysian government.  You look at Singapore from a Malaysian point of views. You don't feel the paint of local Singaporean who have to compete with Malaysian, Mainland Chinese, Indian, Filipino for job security.
And why would they set-up their HQ in Singapore? Yes you're absolutely right on infrastructure. But you did not mention the 2 other factors. Ease of getting talent and stable, largely corruption free government policies.

Share price is not a reflection of the performance of a company FYI.

Why do you think many bankers in HK wants to go to Singapore instead of Malaysia? That pretty much answers your question, no? I think a stricter visa requirement is necessary to ensure only the very best comes into Singapore. In fact your statement directly contradict to what most Singaporeans are saying that Singapore imports too many foreigners. In fact there is a study from NTU saying 43% of people in Singapore are foreigners and I think the SG gov is trying to quell that.

But you have to understand only through competition one becomes better. Malaysian have it too easy that's why they are uncompetitive. That's also partially why MNC shun Malaysia in favour of Singapore, which then result in lower value of MYR.

Now don't get me wrong, Singapore has its flaws but in terms of governance, and policies as well as attracting talents, they are leap and bounds better than malaysia and even you know this. That is why 1SGD = RM3.21 today

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 24 2022, 11:09 PM
ongss
post Jul 24 2022, 11:51 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 24 2022, 11:06 PM)
And why would they set-up their HQ in Singapore? Yes you're absolutely right on infrastructure. But you did not mention the 2 other factors. Ease of getting talent and stable, largely corruption free government policies.

Share price is not a reflection of the performance of a company FYI.

Why do you think many bankers in HK wants to go to Singapore instead of Malaysia? That pretty much answers your question, no? I think a stricter visa requirement is necessary to ensure only the very best comes into Singapore. In fact your statement directly contradict to what most Singaporeans are saying that Singapore imports too many foreigners. In fact there is a study from NTU saying 43% of people in Singapore are foreigners and I think the SG gov is trying to quell that.

But you have to understand only through competition one becomes better. Malaysian have it too easy that's why they are uncompetitive. That's also partially why MNC shun Malaysia in favour of Singapore, which then result in lower value of MYR.

Now don't get me wrong, Singapore has its flaws but in terms of governance, and policies as well as attracting talents, they are leap and bounds better than malaysia and even you know this. That is why 1SGD = RM3.21 today
Foreign companies set up HQ at Singapore for a number of reasons. That we don't have to debate.

Please, share price is not a reflection of the performance of a company? Are you sure? If your company is doing extremely well and your share price is lousy, a hostile takeover is inevitable. That is the reason listed companies have been privatized. One of the key factors for companies to set up their regional hub in Singapore is the telecommunication. But, why the share price for SingTel is much lower than the IPO in 1993? There is no hostile takeover for SingTel because many Singaporeans are holding their discounted SingTel shares through their CPF account.

The news I shared - not sure if you understood. Even Singapore gov is starting to reject talents to give more opportunities to locals. That is what Malaysia gov (regardless whoever in power) has been consistently doing, only open the 3D jobs to the foreigners. If Malaysia allows foreign universities graduates to work here freely, I am sure the fresh graduate monthly salary wil be lower than 2300 a month.

1 SGD = 3.2 MYR does not mean anything. 1000 JPY = 32.59 MYR. 1000 Korean Won = 3.40 MYR, does it mean Malaysia is better off than Japan or South Korea?

True, through competition one becomes better. I personally welcome competition. In fact, when I start up a business, my competitors are companies from India, which could easily get the MSC status and enjoy tax free incentive. But, governing a country and the monetary policies are more complex than you think.
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 25 2022, 07:35 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 24 2022, 11:51 PM)
Foreign companies set up HQ at Singapore for a number of reasons. That we don't have to debate.

Please, share price is not a reflection of the performance of a company? Are you sure? If your company is doing extremely well and your share price is lousy, a hostile takeover is inevitable. That is the reason listed companies have been privatized. One of the key factors for companies to set up their regional hub in Singapore is the telecommunication. But, why the share price for SingTel is much lower than the IPO in 1993? There is no hostile takeover for SingTel because many Singaporeans are holding their discounted SingTel shares through their CPF account.

The news I shared - not sure if you understood. Even Singapore gov is starting to reject talents to give more opportunities to locals. That is what Malaysia gov (regardless whoever in power) has been consistently doing, only open the 3D jobs to the foreigners. If Malaysia allows foreign universities graduates to work here freely, I am sure the fresh graduate monthly salary wil be lower than 2300 a month.

1 SGD = 3.2 MYR does not mean anything. 1000 JPY = 32.59 MYR. 1000 Korean Won = 3.40 MYR, does it mean Malaysia is better off than Japan or South Korea?

True, through competition one becomes better. I personally welcome competition. In fact, when I start up a business, my competitors are companies from India, which could easily get the MSC status and enjoy tax free incentive. But, governing a country and the monetary policies are more complex than you think.
Yes, share price is not a reflection of a company's performance. For example Tesla with its high share price and market cap is nowhere near the financial performance of Toyota. Go look at the revenue profits of both companies and you will see. Share price is what investor are willing to pay that's about it.

And i am not sure why you keep harping on telecom industry or the share price of Singtel. Again its not a reflection of the performance of the company merely what investors are willing to pay for it similar to the Tesla vs Toyota example above

Did the Singapore government say they are REJECTING TALENTS? where and in which article they are saying they are rejecting talents? Please show? Last i checked they are still welcoming talent albeit the right talent and never did they say they are rejecting talents.

Value of ringgit determines your import price as both malaysia and singapore import most of their consumables from rice to even petrol. And since imports are mostly in USD, a low value of ringgit means more expensive imports.

Are you sure you are doing business? Coz this seems basic but you don't seem to know. Besides i don't get what you are trying to argue here anymore? There are 1million malaysia working in Singapore currently and many more PRs. If Malaysia were better than singapore do you think 1million malaysian would leave their home to work in Singapore? I mean I don't see 1 million malaysian living and working in Australia, Indonesia or Thailand or UK.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 25 2022, 07:51 AM
ongss
post Jul 25 2022, 12:19 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 25 2022, 07:35 AM)
Yes, share price is not a reflection of a company's performance. For example Tesla with its high share price and market cap is nowhere near the financial performance of Toyota. Go look at the revenue profits of both companies and you will see. Share price is what investor are willing to pay that's about it.
And i am not sure why you keep harping on telecom industry or the share price of Singtel. Again its not a reflection of the performance of the company merely what investors are willing to pay for it similar to the Tesla vs Toyota example above

Obviously, you are not trained in business fields and hence you categorized SingTel and Tesla in the same nature. Share price is a reflection of the company's value.

As far as I look into it, based on BCG matrix, SingTel is the Cash Cow. Already invested heavily in the infrastructure, which had entry barriers that not many corporates were able to get in. Tesla is the Star, and this represents a lot of growth in a company.

You are talking about MNC set up HQ at Singapore, so we have to talk about SingTel, the biggest telco operator in the island that provided Singapore with the competitive advantages. Remember your statement “Share price is what investor are willing to pay that's about it” – if Singapore is the place where all major MNC set up their HQ, the telco services provided by SingTel should lead to more tremendous profits and provide values that investors can’t turn away.

SingTel was listed back in 1993, Singapore gov sold S$2.00 a share to its citizen. For those who bought at open category, we paid S$4.10. But, the current share price for SingTel is S$2.65. You can’t answer that, right?

On the other hand, Tesla is a Star. Just like NIO and XPEV – their share prices all are “hope”. Investors are hoping the transformation of the automobile industry will lead to the quantum leap. Therefore, as what you said, “share price is what investor are willing to pay that's about it”. So, in short, I was willing to pay US$6 and US$18 respectively for NIO and XPEV back in 2018 even their financial performances are worse than SingTel – that is the “hope”.

Did the Singapore government say they are REJECTING TALENTS? where and in which article they are saying they are rejecting talents? Please show? Last i checked they are still welcoming talent albeit the right talent and never did they say they are rejecting talents.

Action is louder than talk – please read the Bloomberg article I shared at

Expat bankers did not get their Employment Pass and read again the key sentences “emerging markets investor Mobius has left Singapore for Dubai”. Perhaps you should ask why those experienced bankers’ EP application were rejected.

Value of ringgit determines your import price as both malaysia and singapore import most of their consumables from rice to even petrol. And since imports are mostly in USD, a low value of ringgit means more expensive imports.

Firstly, read more and understand more about the trade, economy and finance, Malaysia has enjoyed trade surplus

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mala...aging-near-term

Secondly, the civil services in Malaysia are not as stupid as you want them to be. China has been Malaysia’s biggest trade partner for 13 years and Malaysia is one of the countries that provides trade settlement in RMB.

Are you sure you are doing business? Coz this seems basic but you don't seem to know. Besides i don't get what you are trying to argue here anymore? There are 1million malaysia working in Singapore currently and many more PRs. If Malaysia were better than singapore do you think 1million malaysian would leave their home to work in Singapore? I mean I don't see 1 million malaysian living and working in Australia, Indonesia or Thailand or UK.

The fact that Malaysians leaving for better life elsewhere has been a norm since 1970’s. In fact, back in 1980’s and 1990’s, there were plenty of Malaysians went to Japan, Taiwan, Australia, UK to work illegally. As a result, there were strict visa requirements to enter Japan. If you wish to join those 1 million in Singapore, no one will stop you.

Nevertheless, coming back to the point about the basic monthly salary of MYR 2300. There are 1.4m to 2m documented migrant workers in Malaysia. There are another unofficial estimates of 1.2m to 3.5m additional migrants.

https://www.iom.int/countries/malaysia#:~:t...0in%20Southeast

The cost of hiring migrant workers – not cheap as you think. I know it because I am hiring 4 of them to build my house now. A skilled Indonesia construction worker commands a daily rate from MYR 150 – MYR 220 per day depending on their experiences. That is more expensive than hiring a new fresh graduate. In 2018, migrant workers remitted MYR 29. 2 billion back to their home country.

https://www.dosm.gov.my/v1/uploads/files/7_...Remittances.pdf

From my end, I don’t wish to spend too much to argue – because your mindset has been set. I just want to conclude the following:

(1) If the fresh graduate could contribute more than RM 3500 profit every month, the employers are stupid to pay them merely RM 2300 per month.
(2) Don’t expect employer to run a welfare business by providing wages for the employees to enjoy the new lifestyle. Cost of living is high – true, that also impact business operations.
(3) Look for other vocational fields/skillset – not just office work with air-cond and internet access. A foreign construction worker can earn up to RM 4000 per month. Take tiling in construction industry as an example, the labour charges: (a) Indonesian worker - RM 3.50 per sqft. (b) Bangladeshi worker - RM 2.80 per sqft © Local Chinese - RM 7.00 per sqft.

This post has been edited by ongss: Jul 25 2022, 12:26 PM
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 25 2022, 12:30 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 25 2022, 12:19 PM)
Obviously, you are not trained in business fields and hence you categorized SingTel and Tesla in the same nature. Share price is a reflection of the company's value.

As far as I look into it, based on BCG matrix, SingTel is the Cash Cow. Already invested heavily in the infrastructure, which had entry barriers that not many corporates were able to get in. Tesla is the Star, and this represents a lot of growth in a company.

You are talking about MNC set up HQ at Singapore, so we have to talk about SingTel, the biggest telco operator in the island that provided Singapore with the competitive advantages. Remember your statement “Share price is what investor are willing to pay that's about it” – if Singapore is the place where all major MNC set up their HQ, the telco services provided by SingTel should lead to more tremendous profits and provide values that investors can’t turn away.

SingTel was listed back in 1993, Singapore gov sold S$2.00 a share to its citizen. For those who bought at open category, we paid S$4.10. But, the current share price for SingTel is S$2.65. You can’t answer that, right?

On the other hand, Tesla is a Star. Just like NIO and XPEV – their share prices all are “hope”. Investors are hoping the transformation of the automobile industry will lead to the quantum leap. Therefore, as what you said, “share price is what investor are willing to pay that's about it”. So, in short, I was willing to pay US$6 and US$18 respectively for NIO and XPEV back in 2018 even their financial performances are worse than SingTel – that is the “hope”.
Action is louder than talk – please read the Bloomberg article I shared at

Expat bankers did not get their Employment Pass and read again the key sentences “emerging markets investor Mobius has left Singapore for Dubai”. Perhaps you should ask why those experienced bankers’ EP application were rejected.
Firstly, read more and understand more about the trade, economy and finance, Malaysia has enjoyed trade surplus

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mala...aging-near-term

Secondly, the civil services in Malaysia are not as stupid as you want them to be. China has been Malaysia’s biggest trade partner for 13 years and Malaysia is one of the countries that provides trade settlement in RMB.
The fact that Malaysians leaving for better life elsewhere has been a norm since 1970’s. In fact, back in 1980’s and 1990’s, there were plenty of Malaysians went to Japan, Taiwan, Australia, UK to work illegally. As a result, there were strict visa requirements to enter Japan.  If you wish to join those 1 million in Singapore, no one will stop you.

Nevertheless, coming back to the point about the basic monthly salary of MYR 2300. There are 1.4m to 2m documented migrant workers in Malaysia. There are another unofficial estimates of 1.2m to 3.5m additional migrants.

https://www.iom.int/countries/malaysia#:~:t...0in%20Southeast

The cost of hiring migrant workers – not cheap as you think. I know it because I am hiring 4 of them to build my house now. A skilled Indonesia construction worker commands a daily rate from MYR 150 – MYR 220 per day depending on their experiences. That is more expensive than hiring a new fresh graduate. In 2018, migrant workers remitted MYR 29. 2 billion back to their home country.

https://www.dosm.gov.my/v1/uploads/files/7_...Remittances.pdf

From my end, I don’t wish to spend too much to argue – because your mindset has been set. I just want to conclude the following:

(1) If the fresh graduate could contribute more than RM 3500 profit every month, the employers are stupid to pay them merely RM 2300 per month.
(2) Don’t expect employer to run a welfare business by providing wages for the employers to enjoy the new lifestyle. Cost of living is high – true, that also impact business operations.
(3) Look for other vocational fields/skillset – not just office work with air-cond and internet access. A foreign construction worker can earn up to RM 4000 per month. Take tiling in construction industry as an example, the labour charges: (a) Indonesian worker - RM 3.50 per sqft. (b) Bangladeshi worker - RM 2.80 per sqft © Local Chinese - RM 7.00 per sqft.
Firstly Singtel is a singaporean company. It originated from singapore so your point about MNC like sintel setting up HQ in singapore is moot. It is a singaporean based company first and foremost.

Secondly please read up on how share price is not a reflection of company performance. I don't want to write war and peace here.

Thridly you look at market cap not share price. I do not want to discuss these as it is besides the point and you don't seem to know even the basics.

I dispute point (1). The others i begradingly agree. But again i fail to see your argument. This entire post of mine is to rebut your notion that malaysia is a better economically compared to Singapore.
ongss
post Jul 26 2022, 11:53 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 25 2022, 12:30 PM)
Firstly Singtel is a singaporean company. It originated from singapore so your point about MNC like sintel setting up HQ in singapore is moot. It is a singaporean based company first and foremost.

Secondly please read up on how share price is not a reflection of company performance. I don't want to write war and peace here.

Thridly you look at market cap not share price. I do not want to discuss these as it is besides the point and you don't seem to know even the basics.

I dispute point (1). The others i begradingly agree. But again i fail to see your argument. This entire post of mine is to rebut your notion that malaysia is a better economically compared to Singapore.
I am in the business to help MNC to set up shared service centres at Bangsar South and Cyberjaya. Every now and then, the functions or teams or towers in these shared service centres come and go whenever the management find low cost locations.

To bring jobs to any low cost locations (e.g. India, Philippines, Malaysia, Czech Republic, Poland), besides the local talent pools, other important factors to consider are stable power supply, stable network and internet.

If there are many MNC HQ choose to go to Singapore, as you claim, the demand for network services will grow and reflect in the values for SingTel share price. Why don’t you compare Telekom’s share price trend vs SingTel? You only bring in Tesla to argue. I guess you don’t even understand the basic principle BCG Matrix that is taught in any business course. SingTel and Tesla are completely two categories – just like Malaysia and Singapore.

Share price is a reflection of the value of the company. If you don’t understand, that is your problem, it is not my obligation to teach you how to invest for future.

You ask yourself, do you really know the reason 1m Malaysian working in Singapore and not in Australia, UK, Indonesia or Thailand?

You think all that 1m Malaysia workforce in Singapore are top bankers, top IT experts? Are you telling me that the hundred over thousand motorcycle riders that cross the borders are the best talents in this country?

Basically, I believe more than 80% of that 1m are population that are hoping to earn 3.2 exchange rate. Malaysia Chinese like to use the derogatory word “foreign labour” to describe the millions of migrant workers from Indonesia, Bangladesh and Myanmar. Ask those Singaporean and hundred thousand of riders that cross the causeway, what are the word people refer them as?

Wages, work, productivity, fiscal policies – all should not be politicized. By hoping one person that can’t even manage his own party to be next Prime Minister, that is a dream. I know, many keyboard hero like to label me as BN supporter, I am a crony that benefit from gov contracts. So amazing like power went off and postal votes surfaced. I don't bother all the labels. I am a Malaysia supporter.

I don't wish to spend too much time to argue with you. No point because your brain has been filled with things yourself know best.

Just to conclude, RM 2300 monthly salary is the market equilibrium. If one can contribute more than RM 3500 profit per month to the company and his/her employer only pays her RM 2300, then his/her employer is an idiot. My advice is to leave and look for a better employer. If he/she cannot find another employer who is willing to pay more than RM 2300, then nothing the government can do - even another government. Raise the minimum pay to RM 3500 will not help if the productivity and profit contributions are not there.

SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 26 2022, 12:22 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 26 2022, 11:53 AM)
I am in the business to help MNC to set up shared service centres at Bangsar South and Cyberjaya. Every now and then, the functions or teams or towers in these shared service centres come and go whenever the management find low cost locations.

To bring jobs to any low cost locations (e.g. India, Philippines, Malaysia, Czech Republic, Poland), besides the local talent pools, other important factors to consider are stable power supply, stable network and internet.

If there are many MNC HQ choose to go to Singapore, as you claim, the demand for network services will grow and reflect in the values for SingTel share price. Why don’t you compare Telekom’s share price trend vs SingTel? You only bring in Tesla to argue. I guess you don’t even understand the basic principle BCG Matrix that is taught in any business course. SingTel and Tesla are completely two categories – just like Malaysia and Singapore.

Share price is a reflection of the value of the company. If you don’t understand, that is your problem, it is not my obligation to teach you how to invest for future.

You ask yourself, do you really know the reason 1m Malaysian working in Singapore and not in Australia, UK, Indonesia or Thailand?

You think all that 1m Malaysia workforce in Singapore are top bankers, top IT experts? Are you telling me that the hundred over thousand motorcycle riders that cross the borders are the best talents in this country?

Basically, I believe more than 80% of that 1m are population that are hoping to earn 3.2 exchange rate. Malaysia Chinese like to use the derogatory word “foreign labour” to describe the millions of migrant workers from Indonesia, Bangladesh and Myanmar. Ask those Singaporean and hundred thousand of riders that cross the causeway, what are the word people refer them as?

Wages, work, productivity, fiscal policies – all should not be politicized. By hoping one person that can’t even manage his own party to be next Prime Minister, that is a dream. I know, many keyboard hero like to label me as BN supporter, I am a crony that benefit from gov contracts. So amazing like power went off and postal votes surfaced. I don't bother all the labels. I am a Malaysia supporter.

I don't wish to spend too much time to argue with you. No point because your brain has been filled with things yourself know best.

Just to conclude, RM 2300 monthly salary is the market equilibrium. If one can contribute more than RM 3500 profit per month to the company and his/her employer only pays her RM 2300, then his/her employer is an idiot. My advice is to leave and look for a better employer. If he/she cannot find another employer who is willing to pay more than RM 2300, then nothing the government can do - even another government. Raise the minimum pay to RM 3500 will not help if the productivity and profit contributions are not there.
That's because Malaysia focus on low cost low skilled labour like you yourself said so. Like shared service centers. That's my point all along. Until malaysia move up the value chain, most of the MNC who come to Malaysia to set up shop will be looking for just that. Low cost. Conversely, companies don't go to Singapore, HK or USA looking for low cost. They look for value. Like R&D, private banking, fintech, etc. These are the high paying high value jobs. Not saying there are absolutely no R&D company that set up shop in Malaysia but lesser than SG. These are the value added jobs along with banking and finance that Malaysia should aspire to be.

All the other arguments are besides the point abd no i disagree that share price is a reflection of the company performance. Arguing that is moot. You can't say a company like AEM holdings with a shate price of $4.23 is bigger and better than Wilmar at $3.99, no? Your argument makes no sense.
maidenless
post Jul 26 2022, 01:00 PM

89 posts

Parking for more debates

Huat ah!
Mavik
post Jul 26 2022, 02:55 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 26 2022, 12:22 PM)
That's because Malaysia focus on low cost low skilled labour like you yourself said so. Like shared service centers. That's my point all along. Until malaysia move up the value chain, most of the MNC who come to Malaysia to set up shop will be looking for just that. Low cost. Conversely, companies don't go to Singapore, HK or USA looking for low cost. They look for value. Like R&D, private banking, fintech, etc. These are the high paying high value jobs. Not saying there are absolutely no R&D company that set up shop in Malaysia but lesser than SG. These are the value added jobs along with banking and finance that Malaysia should aspire to be.

All the other arguments are besides the point abd no i disagree that share price is a reflection of the company performance. Arguing that is moot. You can't say a company like AEM holdings with a shate price of $4.23 is bigger and better than Wilmar at $3.99, no? Your argument makes no sense.
I think you misunderstood him wrongly. Where he is coming from, share price alone is not the only yardstick in which a company is valued at. It is one of the factors but not in the absolute sense. In your comparison above, I am very sure ongss knows the difference to differentiate the market cap because each company has different number of shares out there and there.

In regards to moving up the value chain, its a chicken and egg situation. On one hand the powers that be want the education level to be at a lower level in order to stay in power vs getting smart folks in order to move up the value chain.

But I do agree with ongss about if a fresh grad can bring in the value > than their salary, then RM2300 seems to be the free open market benchmark. If we talk about setting it higher and capping it, seems to contradict the whole free market debate instead.
calapia
post Jul 26 2022, 04:29 PM

692 posts

i don't understand but if employer can offer 2.3k as start then upon confirmation or 1 year and raise it to standard maybe like 3 to 4k then why not? i had the same increment as my boss told me my performance is ok and they wish to retain me. if the co continue with meagre 2-5% increment for that salary, then work 1 yr get experience and find another co... if co can't value you, u better value urself better. its shitty if a manager tell you not to leave for like rm200 increment (i was being told that last time). i just throw letter, if u think i worth more than extra rm200 then why not just offer extra rm200.. rm200 to me is a lot back over 10 yrs ago
ongss
post Jul 26 2022, 05:20 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(Rolexseller123 @ Jul 26 2022, 12:22 PM)

Ya, my argument made no sense, the whole world only you can make sense. Or, those Oxbridge elites at the opposition camps that "bring" you hope know how to govern this country.

Go and study BCG matrix, stock market, before you bring in any other companies like AEM, Wilmar, to refute me.

My Linkedin annual membership, my Netflix monthly subscription, even my Indeed job advertisement bills - all are issued by their respective subsidiaries in Singapore. So, this is high tech? This is R&D? The two giant casinos in Singapore are also value-adding industries? Or, give a lot of job opportunities to 1m Malaysians in order to earn 3.2x exchange rate?

I am not saying Malaysia is the best or better than Singapore. These two countries are in different categories. My argument is simple, Malaysia has been improving in many aspects. Monthly salary of RM 2300 is an equilibrium. If you don't believe, you should start a business, offer all your employees RM 3500 per month as the minimum wage. If you can't start a business to offer such welfare, then whatever moving up value chain is merely empty talk, which is the strength of all politicians in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by ongss: Jul 26 2022, 05:21 PM
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 26 2022, 06:55 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Jul 26 2022, 05:20 PM)
Ya, my argument made no sense, the whole world only you can make sense. Or, those Oxbridge elites at the opposition camps that "bring" you hope know how to govern this country.

Go and study BCG matrix, stock market, before you bring in any other companies like AEM, Wilmar, to refute me.

My Linkedin annual membership, my Netflix monthly subscription, even my Indeed job advertisement bills - all are issued by their respective subsidiaries in Singapore. So, this is high tech? This is R&D?  The two giant casinos in Singapore are also value-adding industries? Or, give a lot of job opportunities to 1m Malaysians in order to earn 3.2x exchange rate?

I am not saying Malaysia is the best or better than Singapore. These two countries are in different categories. My argument is simple, Malaysia has been improving in many aspects. Monthly salary of RM 2300 is an equilibrium. If you don't believe, you should start a business, offer all your employees RM 3500 per month as the minimum wage. If you can't start a business to offer such welfare, then whatever moving up value chain is merely empty talk, which is the strength of all politicians in Malaysia.
Dude, the Boston Consulting Group (BCG) growth-share matrix is a planning tool that uses graphical representations of a company's products and services in an effort to help the company decide what it should keep, sell, or invest more in. It has absolutely nothing to do with share price of a company. And again share price has no bearing to the financial performance of the company. What matters is revenue and profitability. That's it. That's why i quote you toyota vs tesla. Toyota revenue for FY21 is $US229bn on a profit of US$21bn. Tesla on the other hand only has US$32bn revenue on a profit of US$5.1bn despite having higher market cap and share price compated to toyota. Are you going to tell me tesla is a financially better company? Cammon. Your BCG matrix is not helping your case. In fact it is just saying what i have been saying all along that share price is what buyers are willing to pay and buyer are willing to pay more for growth companies like tesla as compared to cash cow like toyota. It has no bearing to financial performance of a company. Read up more please. I really should not be wasting so much time explaining this to you. Its really basic

Programmers in places like google and alibaba are paid $250k annual package. How many malaysians are drawing that kind of salary?

Like i said, the other points i agree with you somewhat. Its your value that determines your worth and how you convey your value to your employers. Not make general sweeping statements like fresh grad who can earn more than RM2300 deserve more pay because they can contribute more. If they can contribuye more then convince the employees they are worth more. Its simple.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 26 2022, 10:19 PM
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 26 2022, 07:02 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 26 2022, 02:55 PM)
I think you misunderstood him wrongly. Where he is coming from, share price alone is not the only yardstick in which a company is valued at. It is one of the factors but not in the absolute sense. In your comparison above, I am very sure ongss knows the difference to differentiate the market cap because each company has different number of shares out there and there.

In regards to moving up the value chain, its a chicken and egg situation. On one hand the powers that be want the education level to be at a lower level in order to stay in power vs getting smart folks in order to move up the value chain.

But I do agree with ongss about if a fresh grad can bring in the value > than their salary, then RM2300 seems to be the free open market benchmark. If we talk about setting it higher and capping it, seems to contradict the whole free market debate instead.
I don't think so. He genuinely does not know and goes nuts harping about BCG matrix. Lol. Simply put share price is what another person is willing to pay you for your shares in a company. And the share price and market cap has no bearing on the performance of the company. Like the tesla vs toyota e.g. i have given. I'll take toyota anytime over to tesla from a purely financial perfprmance standpoint despite tesla share price and market cap being more than toyota. He does not seem to get it.

No arguments about the state of local education. But those that are remotely good are also migrating worsening the brain drain

If a fresh grad think he/she deserve more money because he/she can bring more value then he/she has to convince their employers they are worth being paid more. I am never one for min wage or capping wage. That is stupid and distorts the market forces.

This post has been edited by Rolexseller123: Jul 26 2022, 10:06 PM
SUSipohps3
post Jul 26 2022, 07:23 PM

1,974 posts

share price and market cap are not good indicators of a company performance. best is to look at its annual revenue growth, net profit, and margin.
SUSRolexseller123
post Jul 26 2022, 10:01 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jul 26 2022, 07:23 PM)
share price and market cap are not good indicators of a company performance. best is to look at its annual revenue growth, net profit, and margin.
Exactly. That's what i am trying to tell the other guy all along. Why does it matter if a company share price is high or low whether it is a growth or cash cow type company per his BCG matrix. Its makes no difference. End of the day the only thing that matters is revenue, profitability. That's it
nghoongen
post Jul 26 2022, 11:29 PM

354 posts

Totally agree on this one.

I always LOL at people who complained about their bonuses being so little but always simply take MC and doesn't perform well.
ongss
post Jul 27 2022, 12:23 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(nghoongen @ Jul 26 2022, 11:29 PM)
Totally agree on this one.

I always LOL at people who complained about their bonuses being so little but always simply take MC and doesn't perform well.
Ya, new generation think private enterprise should subsidise them to "survive". TS wrote an interesting remark

“Some banks and big companies CEOs are earning RM150,000 to RM700,000 a month when your parents need to subsidise you to survive.”

I think he/she got the wrong information. Most of the CEO in big corporates are paid in millions.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/cove...-take-home-2020

Look at the packages paid to PBB, HLB, MBB, RHB, and etc. I don’t intend to spread hatred against rich. These compensations are open and declared. Have the shareholders of these public listed companies protested? I have invested in PBB and CIMB and I am happily receiving my dividends without the need to protest.

soules83
post Aug 3 2022, 10:54 AM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

Car RM500
Petrol RM300
Parking RM100
Room RM600
Parents RM300
Food RM900
Phone bill RM100
Phone cost RM100
Entertainment RM0
Fitness RM0
Wardrobe RM0
Holiday RM0
EPF 11%
Tax 5%

not enough to cover student loan debt either 😀
SUSBlackagar Boltagon
post Aug 16 2022, 01:52 PM

67 posts

Supply vs demand and country's growth.
If supply high and country growth is weak, the pay for the employee is lower.

Like would u pay high for a fisherman who only fishes in areas of low fish? Like in malaysia case, economic growth is hampered by race and religion, so why pay more? Lousy no growth country.
mohdyakup
post Aug 17 2022, 11:30 AM

4,351 posts

Parking
SUSBlackagar Boltagon
post Aug 17 2022, 11:32 AM

67 posts

Hope things can get better for Malaysia but i highly doubt so.

0.0682sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:58 PM