RM2,300 for fresh grad is inhumane, Why you should ask for 50% increment

BLKH3
post Jun 29 2021, 10:09 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:41 AM)
i wake up travel by bus 1 1/2 hour everyday for the past 3 years to go to work from one state to another to go to work. wake up at 5am every day to go to bus station to grab a bus.

Then after that still no car and started renting a room when salary was ok and then still took lrt/mrt to work every day for another 4 years..

nowadays flesh glad come out oredi complain earning peanuts and still wanna own a car straight away.

I bought my first car at the age of 30 and it was a Myvi.
nowadays flesh glad also dun want to look at myvi and oredi wanna drive SUV or civic ketamz when they earning peanutz...

work their way up the leddar la.. instead of complaining.. coz nowadays mellinnials sooo sayur... cant stand to slog like the boomers generation...
I totally, totally, agree with this. You people can call me a boomer, I don't care. But I find TS budget for Rm2300 is still too lavish for a fresh grad. Young people come out expect want everything cushy and nice.

Car RM500 I am sure fresh grad can find cheaper car than this. If not, public transport.
Petrol RM300 Look at above.
Parking RM100 Again, look at above.
Room RM600 seems reasonable
Parents RM300 seems reasonable
Food RM900 For one person, RM600 is already enough. What food is TS/fresh grad eating? Purata RM900/30days is RM30 per day.
Phone bill RM100 With wifi calling using Whatsapp/Signal, believe it or not, my phone bill is only about RM3 per month, itupun just for the data only when go outside, receive and send SMS. YES, RM3 per month! Digi.
Phone cost RM100 Early come out to work, want to pay installment for phone? Buy the cheapest smartphone available and call it a day.

When I was young, I made do without so many things and learnt a lot of life lessons on the way. Again, you all can call me boomer for all I care because boomer means 'tough and wise'. RM2300 for fresh grad just right.

This post has been edited by BLKH3: Jun 29 2021, 10:15 PM
BLKH3
post Jun 29 2021, 10:17 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(cockerish @ Jun 29 2021, 09:45 AM)
Times are different. Those days you don't have Facebook...social status is now best thrown all over fresh grad face. Everyone wants to earn money and buy shit they don't need because social representation expect them to do so. This is reality and you don't know it yet by the time your kid grow up..don't be suprise that your so call those days are these guys those days and pressure to survive will be even higher
OR maybe, don't bow down to pressure from Facebook and spend within your means. Shocking, I know...
Remember, you have a mouth to feed, not people to impress.
BLKH3
post Jun 29 2021, 10:19 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 29 2021, 09:54 AM)
brainwash from tv is already enough.. whether you subject your kids to further exposure to all the other digital products is up to you as parents...
I personally dont allow them to touch any digital devices up to the age of 10 then they can start slowly get into it. At least they can grow up and appreciate nature and other stuffs around them and mixing with people the old fashion way compared to letting them being hooked up to the internet from the early start..

Again is how other parents bring up their kids .... there is no right or wrong.. just what kind of exposure you want your kids to have during their growing up years and what you want them to become ...
This is the best way to raise kids. The old fashioned way where kids don't bury their noses into smartphones and tablets.

That was my first salary when I started working in KL years ago (early to mid 2010s). It's definitely tough and you will have to be careful with how you spend.

If 2.3k is still not enough, take on a 2nd and 3rd job to cover the expenses. Not ideal but if you do not wish to sink, that's one of the few ways to survive.

You can push for more, say rm3000. See what the employers say. 95% of the time they will tell you to go and replace you with someone who will accept rm2000 instead.

Happened to me before.
BLKH3
post Jul 1 2021, 02:00 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 30 2021, 11:33 PM)
I think it depends on work also. If the work requires travel a lot, then car is necessary but most company compensate if travel is part of job like travel to client. If the job has limited travel and near MRT, the rm100 pass is a good offer in my view like in kl sentral.

Food at kl sentral/ nu sentral considered high class Liao. Most go brickfields (few mins away). Many nice chap fan or banana leaf at rm6,7.

Accomodation wise, I think cannot run but I will swallow ego and stay at relatives / family for first 2 years (when salary is very low).

My grad job is with big4 with long crunch hours. The travel allowance and OT allowance helps a bit financially. No social life so that saves lots of monies and departmental trip is mostly subsidized so travel holiday costs also reduced. Got some colleagues renting same room from college days even when they working (landlord assume still studying)
renting same room instead of same house? working already should rent one room.
BLKH3
post Jul 3 2021, 02:38 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Jul 3 2021, 02:30 PM)
Got toilet paper only alr demand this and that.
Not even proving your worth yet pun.
Work your way up lah.
Phuiiii
I feel the same way as you but NO need to be so harsh. You too were once fresh grad.
BLKH3
post Jul 4 2021, 11:01 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jul 3 2021, 03:34 PM)
Stop looking at ways to cut down costs and expenses. This is why Malaysia will only have cheap industries ran with a chinaman mindset. The matter at hand is the low starting salary of a fresh graduate. Not how he/she spends the money.

1. Who's complaining about the low salary? If he/she is some "hobbyist degree" graduate then it should only be expected. If a law/medical/finance/STEM related graduate, then look at his/her accomplishments, anything below 2.0 CGPA should not even be considered a degree.

2. What's the reason behind the low salary? Is it because of Malaysian companies cannot afford to pay competitively? Or is it the graduate him/herself does not have inherent value or potential to grow into the job, i.e. low quality graduate.

3. How and why is the salary so low for Malaysian fresh graduate? Is it caused by a systemic cripple in the education and economic sector of the nation? Or is it supply and demand factor? It could also be that good ones never complain with their competitive pay, and only the bad ones keep complaining because of their low worth to the employer? Survivorship bias? Confirmation bias?
You cannot just look at getting as much as you want, you also HAVE to look at how he/she spends the money. It is BOTH. Otherwise, if employers gives you RM10k straight out of college, you will come back to this forum saying the same thing.

Problem is, fresh grad only looks at fresh grad point of view and employer only looks at employer point of view. What I hate is as soon as somebody progressed from employee to employer, he begins to discard his fresh-grad thinking and become stingy Chinaman boss.
BLKH3
post Jul 22 2021, 11:30 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jul 21 2021, 09:32 PM)
The median salary in Malaysia is RM2k. Meaning half our Malaysian workforce make less than this amount a month. 

Cost of living is cheap. Cost of lifestyle is expensive.
You sure boh? Where is your source?

0.0167sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:50 AM