is it legal to own sg scrap car nowadays?

fantasy1989
post Jun 11 2021, 08:57 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(wertty @ Jun 10 2021, 08:50 PM)
I know someone close who bought many sg scrap car

He bought it and take original engine to malaysian registered chasis

Much cheaper than buying brand new sports car

The real challenge is finding good condition chasis......
Your car will still illegal when want to sell

Cannot pass puspakom. Due to engine number and chassis is different with original registered

Even you bribe puspa and sell it now. Next owner will suffer

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Jun 11 2021, 08:57 AM
KHunterz
post Jun 11 2021, 09:01 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(loon90 @ Jun 10 2021, 05:36 PM)
Can money do that?
Can but not worth. almost same as getting a new car in MY. rolleyes.gif
phas3r
post Jun 11 2021, 09:03 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(knives. @ Jun 10 2021, 05:43 PM)
I think it can be owned, it just cant be registered.
It can be used for the track
used for track, spare parts, shouldn't be any issue? not cloning or registering it.
Zot
post Jun 11 2021, 09:59 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Jun 10 2021, 05:50 PM)
Jpj website say scrap cannot get road tax what weed u smoke?
What I meant by scrap here is the vehicle is too old and worth as much as scrap vehicle. As long as you do not declare as scrap, then it is still recyclable. laugh.gif
InitialB
post Jun 11 2021, 10:03 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jun 10 2021, 05:29 PM)

with full confidence they say can settle roadtax, puspakom n jpj.

isnt it illegal? how do they do it? steal other ppl plate + roadtax?
Kenape la SPRM tak siasat? Masuk facebook lagi...

Cable kuat?

Orang dalaman ni mesti ade. Tolong la tangkap seller, pegawai jpj dan puspakom yang bersubahat.
Pichu00
post Jun 11 2021, 10:23 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 11 2021, 09:59 AM)
What I meant by scrap here is the vehicle is too old and worth as much as scrap vehicle. As long as you do not declare as scrap, then it is still recyclable.  laugh.gif
The reason why sg scrap car not legal is due to want to protect car market ( and geng crony) je nothing to do with safety .
Zot
post Jun 11 2021, 10:59 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Jun 11 2021, 10:23 AM)
The reason why sg scrap car not legal is due to want to protect car market ( and geng crony)  je nothing to do with safety .
Different country different reason to classified as scrap. Singapore I think more on age of vehicle. Still can export to other countries that will accept.
darth5zaft
post Jun 11 2021, 06:53 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 11 2021, 08:22 AM)
my father-in-law jenis no nonsense comply with all laws punya. but he is a bit naive. when salesman kata everything legit, he easily believe that everything is legit. but when find out its illegal, he straight report polis and arrange to scrap the cars at his own cost. in the end, he lost about rm100k++ on those worthless scrap cars.
Lol.

Why u don't stop him & say u take care of it

Can just lelong it at k/ for 10k also laku what.
plouffle0789
post Sep 7 2024, 01:45 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Jun 10 2021, 06:45 PM)
7-8 years ago my uncle bought odyssey RB1 or RB2 dun remember... parking inside garage, never otr...  25k with "clone roadtax"... last time live in JB

kena scam, till now cannot change ownership
This type of car cannot be financed with a bank loan. It must be bought using all cash, so it is illegal.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Sep 7 2024, 01:47 PM
plouffle0789
post Sep 7 2024, 01:46 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(Root-X @ Jun 10 2021, 08:04 PM)
cars from SG and TH cannot be registered here. doesn't matter it's scrap, used, recond or new .. and vice-versa
Why can many reconditioned cars from Japan and the UK be brought to Malaysia?
croydon
post Sep 7 2024, 02:22 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Sep 7 2024, 01:46 PM)
Why can many reconditioned cars from Japan and the UK be brought to Malaysia?
UK, Japan, no problem.... heard cannot register car from SEA country with malaysian plate (Brunei, SG, Thai, Indo, PH)

This post has been edited by croydon: Sep 7 2024, 02:25 PM
plouffle0789
post Sep 7 2024, 03:06 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Sep 7 2024, 02:22 PM)
UK, Japan, no problem.... heard cannot register car from SEA country with malaysian plate (Brunei, SG, Thai, Indo, PH)
https://oneroofautos.com/import-policy/malaysia

What is an AP?
An Approved Permit (AP) is a license issued by the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) that allows individuals or businesses to import foreign vehicles into Malaysia.

There are two main types of APs:

Open AP: For vehicle importers, allowing them to bring in new or used cars for resale.

Franchise AP: For car manufacturers or their authorized agents to import brand-new vehicles under their respective brands.

**Details** **Information**
**Country** Malaysia
**Import Policy** Malaysia
**Year Restrictions** Max. 5 Years Old
**Destination Port** Penang (Georgetown), Klang(Selangor)
**Time of Shipment** Container (09-13 Days)
**Vessel Schedule** Container (Weekly)

More than 5 years old car cannot bring to malaysia.

croydon
post Sep 7 2024, 03:18 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Sep 7 2024, 03:06 PM)
1more, student AP

ownership of the car cannot be changed for 2 years after the car is brought back to M'sia.

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/thread...but-how.387009/

This post has been edited by croydon: Sep 7 2024, 03:20 PM
plouffle0789
post Sep 7 2024, 05:04 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Sep 7 2024, 03:18 PM)
How much of this student AP?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Sep 7 2024, 05:04 PM
metaled
post Sep 7 2024, 05:29 PM

273 posts

No it wont work.

JPJ and Puspakom on a lot of settle things can be settle with runner.

This part alone they dont mess around. If the seller promise ways to settle, this is a ticking time bomb waiting to explode or its just u ownself kena scam.

Unless you buy a completely same model that your current registration have, you can do a few simple steps to make sure that SG scrap car can be driven OTR on your existing registration and sells the existing car as parts or keep it just in case for JPJ Puspakom. The main chassis and engine need Puspakom paperwork to transfer ownership.

This will only work if you ownself can guarantee will not kena accident on the SG scrap car that will involve insurance.

But SG scrap car are very good as a part car though. I am talking about complete car not accident car that will go to the chopping block.
max_cavalera
post Sep 7 2024, 09:22 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Always hear japanese recond after 1-3 years…

Never heard of Singkie reconds in msia
nelson969
post Sep 7 2024, 09:23 PM

323 posts

better dont, fafo
MrBaba
post Sep 7 2024, 09:37 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Sep 7 2024, 09:22 PM)
Always hear japanese recond after 1-3 years…

Never heard of Singkie reconds in msia
Japan car use 5 year will kena scrap . Sg owning a car is bloody expensive , ofc ppl own less car at sg . Sg regulation 10 year kena scrap . U do the math pun will know why sg scrap car are less .
nelson969
post Sep 9 2024, 09:15 PM

323 posts

with the new car plate on EV, ggwp clone car, ggwp car plate industry, the meta has really changed, all the syndicate rice bowl people cannot sleep now, the plate come with a bar code

they probably testing water on EV car now, soon it will mandatory for all car , it is matter of time syndicate run away to other country or find other way

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.1727sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:56 AM