is it legal to own sg scrap car nowadays?

darth5zaft
post Jun 10 2021, 06:22 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 10 2021, 06:01 PM)
my father-in-law kena tipu with these SG scrap cars. he bought 3 cars. all he scrap when he found out they are actually illegal.
the modus operandi is sell the cars cheap but then charge you 15k-30k per year for the road tax renewal. notice they dont mention insurance. its because these cars are illegal so there is no way to get insurance coverage. even if they give you a cover note, the moment the car accident and the assessor checks the chassis and engine numbers, confirm gg.

they can give you the road tax and geran because they copy paste existing geran and road tax from a different car with the same description. same car model, same colour. they will issue you the number plate that matches the legit car's number plate. but the chassis and engine numbers will of course be different.
Why not just do what bangsa J did

Don't renew it. Just use it to Jalan jalan in kampung, use Vellfire to ambik sawit, ambik pisang etc etc.
darth5zaft
post Jun 11 2021, 06:53 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Jun 11 2021, 08:22 AM)
my father-in-law jenis no nonsense comply with all laws punya. but he is a bit naive. when salesman kata everything legit, he easily believe that everything is legit. but when find out its illegal, he straight report polis and arrange to scrap the cars at his own cost. in the end, he lost about rm100k++ on those worthless scrap cars.
Lol.

Why u don't stop him & say u take care of it

Can just lelong it at k/ for 10k also laku what.

0.0167sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:50 PM