65" X90L is on Sony official store now for 8099 + RM500 discount (7599 final price) + free RM700 Tng ewallet credits.... wondering should I bite the bullet
reviews for the picture quality all seem very positive so far.... except the blooming since its a normal FALD
damm Sony Msia.... why dont you just bring in the 65 inch X95L or X93L... I just realised there isn't really a choice for us here who want Dolby Vision + minLED except LG or Philips (TCL soon maybe), and neither of those have any stellar reviews anyone bought from official store before? Do they provide installation for wall mount?
Look at Sony store sg site and how much 65 X95L is going for. If Sony My brings it in and price it more or less similar to 65 OLED for other brand , I am sure most people will just go for OLED.
There is the X93L which is the cheaper miniLED model. Sony could price it similar to Samsung's Neo QLED range which is already not cheap
But as I've said above, many would not know the difference anyway
X93L is currently exclusive to US market at the moment. Even if 65 X93L is available, the pricing will still be very steep i reckon.
Also available now are two new Mini-LED TVs, including the Sony X95L and the Sony X93L TVs. The latter model is currently exclusive to U.S. buyers only, and comes in 65-, 75- and 85-inch sizes, with prices starting at $2,199.
I got Sony LCD TV and OLED TV. I watch sports, games (live competition) and news. Both my Sony and LG OLED TV burn in static mark within 1.5 years. I just changed my OLED screen after 1.5 years under warranty and I believe within 1 to 1.5 years sure will have static burn in. My LG OLED has burn in static quite bad but warranty finish.
I thought of getting LCD (not sure about miniLed) but was reminded by my Sony TV guy their experience is LCD TV after 2 years also will have issue, lines along screen or distorted picture. All depending on luck. So in the end my next TV will be OLED too since I have several old LCD Sony TVs indeed having line issue.
Don't really like Samsung colour even though makes sense for me to have a Samsung TV to go with my Samsung 990b soundbar.
Do let us know how is your new Samsung TV and which one you eventually getting.
OLED prices seem to be going down, global trend is like that. But like musang king durian, the price is somewhat controlled in Malaysia and our weak ringgit not helping.
What's your OLED light level when you are watching sports, live games and news?
Even for HDR contents, this TV already surpassed peak brightness of 1200 nits at 10% window. Specular highlights should be very popping. Yes that comes with a cost with raised black level but I think Sony's intention is to preserve the shadow and midtone detail as much as possible for this particular tv.
Bear in mind UHD alliance defines HDR range as either; 0.05 nits - 1000 nits for LCD/LED 0.0005 nits - 540 nits for OLED
I think major concerns about oled are pixel life and burn in. Even though oled is godlike for dark scene, I think I wouldn't buy an oled tv despite loving them for my phone and tablet.
There are chances to buy miniled tv for a lot less than what you paid for an oled and it can do hdr way better than oled as well. Personally if one want to buy oled, better buy the qd oled. At least qd oled would still perform in brighter room unlike the older LG panel which cant go bright enough but still dim to prevent burn in when displaying certain scene for too long.
QD Oled S95C also has ABL in place like any other OLEDs. High APL brightness scene will still dim down.
But no doubt it has an impressive peak brightness to bring out the highlights especially for contents mastered to 1000 nits.
There is also EX MLA oled with meta tech like the G3 77 with high peak brightness for bright room condition also 😀
Could be, I noticed most of the monitors I calibrated before and owned are mostly blue-ish and when calibrated it more yellowish.
QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Sep 4 2023, 05:09 PM)
That could be it, perhaps my eyes are so used to blueish white.
So you guys usually set to Dolby Vision Bright or Dolby Vision Dark?
https://professional.dolby.com/siteassets/p...rgrading_v4.pdf Page 7 Section 2.2 color grading and page 8 3.2 setting colorspace, it has to be either D65-P3 or BT2020 with most of the movies mastered in DCI-P3 within BT2020 container colorspace.
D65 represents color temperature of 6500k by the way.
I always choose Dolby Vision Dark since its the most accurate settings based on directors intent. But if you find it too dim for your liking or you are in a very bright living room, just set it to Dolby Vision bright. Shouldn't be too far off in my opinion.
This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Sep 4 2023, 08:02 PM
Currently i am using lg oled c2 48... Planning to switch to 65 inch but budget only enough for 65 x90l or x85l... Is it advisable switch from oled to flad?
LED/LCD has no match for OLED inky black. It's best that you save up a bit more for 65" OLED.
Better colour luminance and no near black chrominance overshoot. I think all QD OLED TVs on the market now can go beyond 1000 nits which no WRGB OLED can do except the MLA G3
2022 Panasonic LZ2000 can reach HDR 1000 nits in a calibrated state.
In its calibrated state, LZ2000 reaches a stable 1000 nits in HDR, as expected based on last year's model. The accuracy of the EOTF luminance curve is exemplary up until near the panel's peak luminance capability. The color gamut is as you would expect from a WOLED panel at 99% of DCI-P3 and 72% of Rec.2020, but on the other hand significantly – and visibly – smaller than the Rec.2020 coverage of the QD-OLED panel found in the Sony A95K and Samsung S95B.
This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Sep 24 2023, 04:32 PM
The QD OLED, do you notice it is really significantly brighter than A80L ka? My current TV is LG GX 65", when I test the A80L, to me it seems more less same brightness which I am ok. Plus side it I the huge 77" screen.
LG GX and A80L has more or less the same HDR brightness. In fact the A80L being reviewed by rtings has a slightly lower peak and sustained 10% HDR brightness for industry standards. But still more than the range of 0.0005 to 540 nits for optimal "OLED TVs" HDR experience.
Indeed. I moved house recently. If I did not engage mover to move also difficult to carry it one person.
Will just see if the software update fixed it. Hopefully it is ok. Really do not want to go thru the hassle.
Actually it's not a hassle at all. Just give Sony The Curve a call and they will create a report number for you. Then few days later someone from R Logic will contact/whatsapp you. You just need to tell them your issue and they will send someone to check and replace it on the spot. No need to carry the TV in. All can be done quite fast if they have the ready parts available.
I had my Sony 55" TV mainboard replaced once (1 person), 65" LG OLED Panel replaced once (2 person) all done in my place within 1 hour or less. Turnaround time only around 1 week or so for both brands. Both brands also handled my cases professionally.
Your case sounds a lot like power board issue.
This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Feb 25 2024, 01:21 PM
Sony is going all out in the premium space. Bravia 3 is replacing the X70 - X80 series with X1 processor and NO local dimming. Bravia 7 replaces X90 series with miniLED and XR processor. Bravia 8 replaces A80 as entry level OLED. Bravia 9.... flagship miniLED (not sure if can be called the replacement to A90 series)
Quite impressive lineup for this year. Bravia 9 is apparently using the same backlight control tech utilized on the BVM HX3110, I am sure the price will be exp for this model…
Now if only Bravia 7 price is right, might be one of the bestseller…😂
A bit of conflicting news here and there and no official word from Sony, but apparently Bravia 7 is the replacement to X93L and X95L, so I guess the price wont be exactly cheap also
X90L would be carry over from last year but there's no word whether Sony would stop production of it
yeah, it looks like bravia 7 will be quite expensive also...
I think should not use damped cloth to wipe display panel. It will effect the panel layer in the long run. Better use dedicated cleaning product.. something like lcd cleaner..