Watches as a store of value

swanlover
post Apr 29 2021, 09:58 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 28 2021, 09:38 PM)
Actually, to tell you the truth, flexing with a watch is the wrong thing to do as there are so many fakes that anyone with RM2k can get a superfake Rolex to impress the ladies..

The real flex that girls are impressed by is your education level and connections. Take her to a diplomatic event that you are invited to as a date. Most diplomatic parties and cocktail receptions allow you to take a +1 as part of your invitation but you need to RSVP the name of the person before hand to allow them time to do a background check on the person.

Another great date idea is to take her to your alumni dinner, again as a +1. Nothing is more flex worthy than being part of London School of Economics or Stanford University alumni group and hobnob with the likes of Ong Kian Ming or KJ.

Watches are not a flex item, bro. And neither are cars.
Most of my staffs are flex cultures , unfortunately that’s
how it works for the younger gen..

As for me , most of the time I fly below with radar with Ss beaters ..lolx

swanlover
post Apr 29 2021, 10:28 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 29 2021, 09:18 AM)
woi... dont personal attack ler
normally I use the fake PP to attract ladies  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

regardless the 92k sustainable or not, seriously the amount of ppl tat buy off at that grey price is tremendous
they may not be as knowledgable in watches as you guys, but heck, I like tat watch, I can afford it at 90k, I seriously DGAF what you say hahahah
And yes they are only into watches, but u can't blame them, by the time they want it, u can't get it at retail already, sometimes dont really have a choice, u tell them go buy other brand la, but other brand they x suka, then amacam

so bite bullet pay 92k lor

maybe they like to flex, maybe they dont, but obviously they have money to burn
[QUOTE]

True indeed, like my staff (flex cultures) thinks Tudor is a disgrace and a confirmation to world unable to afford Rolex. They willing to do anything to have a Rolex , rather die with a Apple Watch than having Tudor...

Once they have first grail then hving other brand is diff stories ..

This post has been edited by swanlover: Apr 29 2021, 01:09 PM
friedricetheman
post Apr 29 2021, 11:09 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 29 2021, 09:18 AM)
woi... dont personal attack ler
normally I use the fake PP to attract ladies  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

regardless the 92k sustainable or not, seriously the amount of ppl tat buy off at that grey price is tremendous
they may not be as knowledgable in watches as you guys, but heck, I like tat watch, I can afford it at 90k, I seriously DGAF what you say hahahah
And yes they are only into watches, but u can't blame them, by the time they want it, u can't get it at retail already, sometimes dont really have a choice, u tell them go buy other brand la, but other brand they x suka, then amacam

so bite bullet pay 92k lor

maybe they like to flex, maybe they dont, but obviously they have money to burn
Sell me your “fake” 5711 at MSRP. Then you can queue up for a real one since you already “swindle” me of RM130k..

Maybe non-watch people are different but if I am spending 92k, I will buy a trinity. Not a Rolex.

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 29 2021, 09:58 AM)
Most of my staffs are flex cultures , unfortunately that’s
how it works for the younger gen..

As for me , most of the time I fly below with radar with Ss beaters ..lolx
Your SS “beaters” are also not cheap lah. How can a SD Daytona or Datejust be under the radar?
jajapan
post Apr 29 2021, 12:17 PM

13 posts

Some links to search used branded watches from Japan.

https://www.jackroad.co.jp/shop/r/rjused/
https://www.gmt-j.com/search?maker=285&sell...,unused,consign
https://komehyo.jp/watch-mens/omega/
https://komehyo.jp/watch-mens/
https://www.mercari.com/jp/search/?sort_ord...ion_id%5B2%5D=1

Example,
We can buy and keep your watches,
When you are able to visit Japan, we can send your watch to your hotel.

Or we can arrange something to reduce the risk of Kopi money when Kast….

For those who have seen this message,
We will give a discount on the commission.

>> Maximum Commission (Cap per watch) == RM999
>> Limited to watches.
>> Limited to orders before 31st August 2021

friedricetheman
post Apr 29 2021, 01:32 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(jajapan @ Apr 29 2021, 12:17 PM)
Some links to search used branded watches from Japan.

https://www.jackroad.co.jp/shop/r/rjused/
https://www.gmt-j.com/search?maker=285&sell...,unused,consign
https://komehyo.jp/watch-mens/omega/
https://komehyo.jp/watch-mens/
https://www.mercari.com/jp/search/?sort_ord...ion_id%5B2%5D=1

Example,
We can buy and keep your watches,
When you are able to visit Japan, we can send your watch to your hotel.

Or we can arrange something to reduce the risk of Kopi money when Kast…. 

For those who have seen this message,
We will give a discount on the commission.

>> Maximum Commission (Cap per watch) == RM999
>> Limited to watches.
>> Limited to orders before 31st August 2021
Lol. Buy and keep the watches for us. I don’t think anyone would agree to it. We don’t need middle men buying and shipping for us especially for big ticket items.

Sorry bro but if we buy from Japan, we would prefer to go there directly and view the watch ourselves. Air tickets are not that expensive when you are buying watches above 50k..

Japanese are known for not providing any information about dents or scratches unless asked. Even then, the evaluations on the watch conditions they provide are usually more rosy than the actual conditions. A few hairline scratches on the bezel or case and they will label it as brand new.

Sure they are honest but they are also known for withholding a lot of information unless you ask about them.

Prices online are slightly lower to entice buyers but usually the item is “sold” already when you ask or enquire about them and they will instead offer a “better condition” piece at a much higher price.
rx330
post Apr 29 2021, 02:45 PM

11,811 posts

ok la, what I'm saying is, money is theirs, they buy wat they want or spend how they want it

we just buy apa yg Kita suka will do, be it flex or no flex

but damn... 90k for SS Rolex is really out of this world, and 150k for SS day hahah
never saw tat coming I would say
selinix
post Apr 29 2021, 02:53 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 29 2021, 10:28 AM)

True indeed, like my staff (flex cultures)  thinks Tudor is a disgrace and a confirmation to world unable to afford  Rolex. They willing to do anything to have a Rolex , rather die with a Apple Watch than having Tudor...

Once they have first grail then hving  other brand is diff stories ..
I thought the flex watches are hublot for younger gens haha

This post has been edited by selinix: Apr 29 2021, 02:53 PM
jajapan
post Apr 29 2021, 07:21 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 29 2021, 02:32 PM)
Lol. Buy and keep the watches for us. I don’t think anyone would agree to it. We don’t need middle men buying and shipping for us especially for big ticket items.

Sorry bro but if we buy from Japan, we would prefer to go there directly and view the watch ourselves. Air tickets are not that expensive when you are buying watches above 50k..

Japanese are known for not providing any information about dents or scratches unless asked. Even then, the evaluations on the watch conditions they provide are usually more rosy than the actual conditions. A few hairline scratches on the bezel or case and they will label it as brand new.

Sure they are honest but they are also known for withholding a lot of information unless you ask about them.

Prices online are slightly lower to entice buyers but usually the item is “sold” already when you ask or enquire about them and they will instead offer a “better condition” piece at a much higher price.
We don’t need middle men buying and shipping for us especially for big ticket items.
>> that is you, that is not what ALL people think, I believe
>> I bought more than hundreds of watches for Malaysian. I believe that there are people who need my service.

>> Sure? OK. Then you take your flight when it is OK to fly. Safe flight.

Japanese are known for not providing any information about dents or scratches unless asked. Even then, the evaluations on the watch conditions they provide are usually more rosy than the actual conditions. A few hairline scratches on the bezel or case and they will label it as brand new. Sure they are honest but they are also known for withholding a lot of information unless you ask about them.
>> That is a common phenomenon online, I believe. Malaysian, Indian, every country in the world is the same, I think.

>> In most of the cases, your statement is not true. Things SOLD, are SOLD, Things available, are available.

friedricetheman
post Apr 29 2021, 08:15 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(jajapan @ Apr 29 2021, 07:21 PM)
We don’t need middle men buying and shipping for us especially for big ticket items.
>> that is you, that is not what ALL people think, I believe
>> I bought more than hundreds of watches for Malaysian. I believe that there are people who need my service.

>> Sure? OK. Then you take your flight when it is OK to fly. Safe flight.

Japanese are known for not providing any information about dents or scratches unless asked. Even then, the evaluations on the watch conditions they provide are usually more rosy than the actual conditions. A few hairline scratches on the bezel or case and they will label it as brand new. Sure they are honest but they are also known for withholding a lot of information unless you ask about them.
>> That is a common phenomenon online, I believe. Malaysian, Indian, every country in the world is the same, I think.

>> In most of the cases, your statement is not true. Things SOLD, are SOLD, Things available, are available.
Lol. Hundreds of watches for Malaysians? Okay bro.

I don’t think you will need to advertise on here if your transactions is in the millions of ringgit. You would use some pay advert instead of just posting on the forums.

Good luck in your little business. You just lost a few customers by your nasty reply. And also, the timepieces and jewelry subforums is not the place to advertise these sort of thing. Didn’t you read? Garage sales is that way lol

The way I look at it, if you can’t take criticism, then don’t be in business or sales..

Bye.
swanlover
post Apr 29 2021, 08:17 PM

739 posts

T

This post has been edited by swanlover: Apr 30 2021, 06:16 AM
friedricetheman
post Apr 29 2021, 08:38 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Apr 29 2021, 08:17 PM)
Say it’s easy, u guys never wake up and see what we are into now?

Money is sure not an issues ,  the swap tests upon it? Lolx

Honestly, there is some stock at the Rolex airport ..u can try ..lolx
This guy’s business model is for us to buy stuff through him and then he hold it for us until we can travel there again. I presume that he will require us to pay in full or where will he get USD$40k to buy a Daytona.. in the meantime, he gets to wear the watch for free while waiting for us to drop by. For the watch to be able to pass through the immigration without the need to declare it, he would need to wear it on his wrist while posting the box and papers via FedEx.

Seriously though, most personal concierge services already cover these sort of thing. We call them personal shoppers and they not only procure timepieces for us but also stand in line for a PS5 for us.

Vertu handphone used to have a personal concierge button where we can request for them to help us procure the most difficult to get items and services.

Wealthy individuals also have a network of friends, acquaintances and relatives overseas who would help them get the things they need shipped to them without the hassle of going through strangers for transactions in the tens of thousands.

They also have diplomatic buddies who travel frequently between their own country and here, who would be more than happy to procure the item for you for free.
Kelvw
post Apr 30 2021, 01:16 AM

1,591 posts

So I presume no money is paid upfront?

If not, what if the buyer does a runner? I don't think I could part with a large sum of money without some sort of assurance.
oOoproz
post Apr 30 2021, 01:50 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(Antoine090607 @ Apr 26 2021, 09:48 AM)
Hi all

I've been interested in watches for awhile now.

Back in 2017 I decided to buy my first watch.

A Pro Trek for RM500.

However after I've started my own work and became more financially and literate my view of watches have changed.

I used to see them as a fashion statement but now I'm thinking them more of a store of value. An asset if you will.

With that said I'm thinking of getting a decent watch that

1. Not prone to depreciation , ( if it appreciate great! Although unlike )
2. Hopefully buyable 2nd hand at a better price. Wing Wah watches for example

Personally I don't wear watches but I think a nice watch watch will fight inflation better than leaving in FD (2.1% is awful). Whilst having something to wear on a nice occasion.

I'm thinking of a Rolex as that's the only watch brand I heard that actually appreciate.

So what do you guys think ? My budget ranges from RM 20-40k depending
And prices for most of the watches now have already surged like crazy, just like buying stock at ATH, better wait for the market to cool down then only you consider

This post has been edited by oOoproz: Apr 30 2021, 01:50 AM
friedricetheman
post Apr 30 2021, 01:33 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 30 2021, 01:16 AM)
So I presume no money is paid upfront?

If not, what if the buyer does a runner? I don't think I could part with a large sum of money without some sort of assurance.
You wish. He would demand 100% upfront or how is he going to give the introducer a commission. And if he doesn’t, he would end up with a Jacob & Co Minute Repeater plus a Patek Philippe Grand Complications while the buyer absconds at the last minute.

These type of business is almost impossible to do due to the presence of superfakes. Most of us collectors will not want to deal with an unknown middle man due to the high risk of getting cheated.

I mean, would you transfer $30k to someone who you don’t know to buy something sight unseen and keep it for you until you make a trip there yourself? If he ships it to you, it’s no different that dealing directly with the shops there without going through a middleman. Almost all the large reputable dealers in Tokyo ships to Malaysia and Europe.

0.0154sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:38 AM