Watches as a store of value

swanlover
post Apr 26 2021, 10:41 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(Antoine090607 @ Apr 26 2021, 08:48 AM)
Hi all

I've been interested in watches for awhile now.

Back in 2017 I decided to buy my first watch.

A Pro Trek for RM500.

However after I've started my own work and became more financially and literate my view of watches have changed.

I used to see them as a fashion statement but now I'm thinking them more of a store of value. An asset if you will.

With that said I'm thinking of getting a decent watch that

1. Not prone to depreciation , ( if it appreciate great! Although unlike )
2. Hopefully buyable 2nd hand at a better price. Wing Wah watches for example

Personally I don't wear watches but I think a nice watch watch will fight inflation better than leaving in FD (2.1% is awful). Whilst having something to wear on a nice occasion.

I'm thinking of a Rolex as that's the only watch brand I heard that actually appreciate.

So what do you guys think ? My budget ranges from RM 20-40k depending
Rolex is the only watches with steady appreciation . Just buy what u like, but at rm40k, is very diff to buy a Rolex ..

swanlover
post Apr 26 2021, 11:08 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 26 2021, 10:43 AM)
40k can get u Airking, 41 smooth DJ, and milgauss I think
Ya, air king maybe 38-39 can, no sure about the current price now..

Having 40k is one thing, whether Rolex wanna sell u one..is another story...
swanlover
post Apr 28 2021, 05:37 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 28 2021, 04:47 PM)
Pepsi at 92k is almost 10k more than my AP Diver retail price last year. Not sure if this is sustainable or not for the long term. I mean I love Rolex but not sure if I love Rolex more than AP though..

I mean, would you rather have a steel Rolex or a Steel Audemars Piguet? Sure the Pepsi has a ceramic bezel and GMT complication but the Diver has a 22k gold rotor viewable through the see through caseback and a fun 60 minute timer operated through the crown at 10 o’clock.
Everybody cares about brand equity and value retention..very little plp view watches as a pc of art..

Only a few watch aficionados into finishing/brushing quality/decoration ..

Flexing cultures only buy to impress...why would they buy AP when it’s unknown to ladies?

Hence , the crown would be the choice..
swanlover
post Apr 29 2021, 09:58 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Apr 28 2021, 09:38 PM)
Actually, to tell you the truth, flexing with a watch is the wrong thing to do as there are so many fakes that anyone with RM2k can get a superfake Rolex to impress the ladies..

The real flex that girls are impressed by is your education level and connections. Take her to a diplomatic event that you are invited to as a date. Most diplomatic parties and cocktail receptions allow you to take a +1 as part of your invitation but you need to RSVP the name of the person before hand to allow them time to do a background check on the person.

Another great date idea is to take her to your alumni dinner, again as a +1. Nothing is more flex worthy than being part of London School of Economics or Stanford University alumni group and hobnob with the likes of Ong Kian Ming or KJ.

Watches are not a flex item, bro. And neither are cars.
Most of my staffs are flex cultures , unfortunately that’s
how it works for the younger gen..

As for me , most of the time I fly below with radar with Ss beaters ..lolx

swanlover
post Apr 29 2021, 10:28 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 29 2021, 09:18 AM)
woi... dont personal attack ler
normally I use the fake PP to attract ladies  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

regardless the 92k sustainable or not, seriously the amount of ppl tat buy off at that grey price is tremendous
they may not be as knowledgable in watches as you guys, but heck, I like tat watch, I can afford it at 90k, I seriously DGAF what you say hahahah
And yes they are only into watches, but u can't blame them, by the time they want it, u can't get it at retail already, sometimes dont really have a choice, u tell them go buy other brand la, but other brand they x suka, then amacam

so bite bullet pay 92k lor

maybe they like to flex, maybe they dont, but obviously they have money to burn
[QUOTE]

True indeed, like my staff (flex cultures) thinks Tudor is a disgrace and a confirmation to world unable to afford Rolex. They willing to do anything to have a Rolex , rather die with a Apple Watch than having Tudor...

Once they have first grail then hving other brand is diff stories ..

This post has been edited by swanlover: Apr 29 2021, 01:09 PM
swanlover
post Apr 29 2021, 08:17 PM

739 posts

T

This post has been edited by swanlover: Apr 30 2021, 06:16 AM

0.0200sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:34 PM