19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LG LG KS20, supports both HSDPA and HSUPA

DrWho
post Sep 24 2008, 11:16 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Sep 24 2008, 10:45 AM)
Can we use Opera Mini in WM platform? I thought it's meant for manufact OS only.
I am using Opera Mini 2 on the KS20. Look for Mini_Opera_18_06_2008.cab
It is only 1M in size and I can't upload it here.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 24 2008, 11:17 AM
DrWho
post Sep 26 2008, 12:04 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

1. Turn off the LG KS-20 completely (do this by pressing and holding the power button and wait for the prompt).
2. Press and hold these three buttons–volume down, Call and power–till the LED (this is beside the front camera) flashes.
3. Release the buttons. That same LED should flash blue/red/green and power up.
4. The KS20 should be in a clean state.

Congratulations!!! brows.gif As the understanding goes; the more hard reset you do ,the more learned you are.
DrWho
post Sep 26 2008, 02:22 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

You only want to do a Hard Reset when there is no other option. Since you are willing to consider Hard Reset, why don't you first install SK Tools and clean up all the bad registry, shortcuts, cache, invalid registry etc etc. This will definitely improve your device performance. After that apply Advanced Configuration to tweak for maximum performance. If then you are still unhappy, welcome to the club and hard reset brows.gif . It took me almost 2 days of intensive installing and tweaking before my phone returned to the state I was contented with.

Please share your experience with us how you resolved your problem. smile.gif
DrWho
post Sep 26 2008, 02:53 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

stutzedward

Your appointments, contacts etc can be easily restored via ActiveSync or any Backup program eg PPCPimBackup.
I had a near miss this week of having to Hard Reset. I as using MortScript. MortScript is a very powerful tool to command changes at registry but when you get it wrong......hard reset. It was the cause of my earlier Hard Reset

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 26 2008, 02:57 PM
DrWho
post Sep 27 2008, 09:10 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfcw @ Sep 27 2008, 01:06 AM)
hey guys!! i juz bought my KS20 yesterday, and i was wondering can i change my KS20 application similar to iPhone? besides that, i've already download the iPhone slider but i don't know how to install it into my phone.
can anyone help me pls...thanks!
Just go to the file at your device and click on the cab file and it will install, just like clicking the setup/install in your desktop.

Added on September 27, 2008, 9:13 am
QUOTE(lastlion @ Sep 27 2008, 06:17 AM)
Hi there everyone.. do anyone know how do I uninstall pocketCM? do I just delete it?
At Start>Setting>System>Remove Program locate the program you want to remove and click, just as what you will do at your desktop

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 27 2008, 09:13 AM
DrWho
post Sep 27 2008, 04:44 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

You are suppose to unzip the file first. Usually the unzipped file is a cab file. Copy the cab file to you device and click it to install. At times a cab file will have the same icon as a zip file. Just check whether the downloaded file is a zip or cab. A cab file, short term for cabinet, will usually contain many files and one of them is a xml file. If your unzipped files contain an xml file, it means the zip file is actually a cab file, thus no need to unzip. rclxub.gif I hope I have not confused you.

Added on September 27, 2008, 4:59 pmP/S It is best you do all your downloading and unzipping at your desktop. Connect your device to your desktop via ActiveSync and transfer only the cab file to the device. I would discourage downloading software from the net to the device directly. There are some programs that need to be downloaded to the desktop first for installation, after that it will automatically transfer and install it to your device when you next connect your device to the desktop.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Sep 27 2008, 04:59 PM
DrWho
post Sep 27 2008, 09:09 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Looks Gooood rclxms.gif
DrWho
post Sep 27 2008, 10:21 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Here goes:- http://www.iliumsoft.com/site/fp/screen_capture.php

Enjoy!! rclxm9.gif
DrWho
post Sep 28 2008, 04:51 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Just google "PCM Keyboard" brows.gif
DrWho
post Sep 28 2008, 09:18 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(sophistic @ Sep 28 2008, 08:24 PM)
any calendar application to recommend? to add tasks, appointment etc.. the windows calendar sucks!
ThumbCal 0.5.1 This is a freeware finger Friendly Calender. It got so popular that the developer commercialize it and I think he removed the download link. I am sure if you search hard enough you would find it. Version 0.5.1 is the most up todate freeware. The current version 1.1.2 available for download is $$$$ware.
DrWho
post Oct 2 2008, 10:22 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(haywire148 @ Oct 2 2008, 07:05 PM)
Hey guys,

Please add me to the user list. I just got mine 3 days ago at Rm 1599 with 2GB & 2 years warranty. ( 1+ 1)
]The price looks reasonable
I wonder if its a good deal or not for now.

However, mine came without a micro-sd card adapter. Should i ask for it ? Or they usually don't give it.
You don't really need a card adapter as you can access the SD card via Active Sync
I am a total newbie at WM6 and PDA, I'm also a user of N82. I've read through the whole forum pages, as a result, I'm 100% confused. rclxub.gif

Can you guys help me with these, It might be too much to ask for as a favor.

1) I let the shop guy installed "software", how do i check what has been installed.
Start>Settings>Systems>Remove Programs. These are all the self installed programs. You can remove any without affecting the phone original performance.
2) I want to check on the free memory and clear those unwanted ring tones n etc. What should i clear ? I mean those unwanted rubbish.
It is not worth deleting those originally installed files. Small sizes. If you delete the wrong file accidentally .....Hard Reset, welcome to the club!!!! rclxub.gif
3) How do do the tweaking, to improve the performance and lower the battery consumption.
The best software for this is Advanced Configuration. Battery life can be improved and device can perform faster.
4) I am looking for programs to improve my KS20 in browsing, song's play list and video player.
- Please recommend me what is good for those =)
5) I want to buy an extra original battery because the battery life is too short for my usage.
6) How do i check on the version of WM on my KS20 ?
Start>Settings>Systems>System Information>Version Info
7) Any fast and efficient way to Save all my N82 phone contacts from phone memory -> then transfer it to my KS20 ?
Fastest way is sync with Outlook using Active Sync. Contacts, Tasks, Calender will be synced

Sifus, please help me on those, I'm starting to give up on it, PDA is making my life miserable because I tend to be stressed when I can't settle my problems.
[COLOR=red]
DrWho
post Oct 3 2008, 09:37 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(haywire148 @ Oct 3 2008, 01:41 AM)
allright bro,

activesync doesn't work for me, I'm using vista, i installed windows mobile device handbook, is it the right sync program ?
If I recall correctly, you need to install both. Active Sync operates separately.
but isn't syncing with pc transfer rate slower than using an adapter ?
You are right it operates much slower via Active Sync. Active Sync however will automatically convert the file to the right format.
Is it even safe to remove the micro sd without shutting down the ks20 ?
I do it all the time but mine is 8G.
any recommendation for useful softwares that makes text entering while browsing non stylus ? Or for sms.
My current preference is TouchPal.
DrWho
post Oct 4 2008, 08:28 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(haywire148 @ Oct 4 2008, 01:48 AM)
Where can i get touchpal ? is it free ?
Just Google "TouchPal". It is the first listing of the search, Cooltech.com
There are two versions, freeware and $$$$ware.

Enjoy rclxm9.gif
DrWho
post Oct 5 2008, 05:17 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfcw @ Oct 5 2008, 04:32 PM)
hey is me again...i got some question to ask, can i add some application to the menu? cuz i've downloaded some application, everytime i nid to go file manager to get it. can i create some sort of shortcuts like computer? thanks
Ideally you should install a shortcut program which will enable you to launch the shortcut from a convenient place, eg just like your desktop page. If you don't have a shortcut program, try this.

For shortcut goto to the Windows directory and copy the exe file of the program you want to launch, eg, LGMenu.exe and paste it at Windows/Start Menu directory. This would enable LGMenu to be recognized as a progam thus shortcut can launch it. If I am not wrong, after doing this you should be able to see the program icon at the Start>Programs

DrWho
post Oct 6 2008, 04:25 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Stutz

Watched your Demo Video. Your Iphone UI is getting better and better. rclxms.gif I noticed, however, that your ThumbCal took quite some time to launch. Mine launches much faster. You may wish to consider tweaking File System cache to 8mb and File System Filter cache to 131072. Unfortunately, you would need Advanced Config or registry editor to do it. It is worth the try.
DrWho
post Oct 6 2008, 05:58 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 6 2008, 04:46 PM)
Thinking to try gAlarm. Any comments?
Sorry, I have not tried any third alarm program. WM default alarm suits me fine biggrin.gif
DrWho
post Oct 6 2008, 08:27 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 6 2008, 07:39 PM)
yeah but I see we can only hv 3 different type of alarms... can we hv more?
I don't think you can add more than three.
DrWho
post Oct 10 2008, 11:50 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Oct 10 2008, 08:04 AM)
DrWho,

Do you know which version of 'freeware' SKTools I can install into my LGKS20? I saw the SKTool Lite 3.3.1 but it says it's for Smartphones and can't be used in PPC.
My installed version is SKTools Lite v3.1.6.2 and is a freeware. Where ever possible always download program for smartphone as a first choice.
Can you give me the link to download SKTools freeware version as well as what version to install? Thanks first!
I can't remember the download site, most probably SKTools actual site

Added on October 10, 2008, 9:25 amI installed the 4.4.1 (latest) but it's limited with 6 item listed at any time.

My questions about SK Tools:

1) Can I know which version is free and also, has unlimited capabilites? I need the link to download it.

2) Can I clean up Bad Registries? Worry it will crash my phone.
Yes, that is one of its function. It has never crashed my phone. I have been installing and uninstalling many programs and SKtools has served me well
3) Where is the option to Free Up memory?
FreeUP RAM is one of SKTools sub program and it should appear in the Program folder
I tweaked the setup to optimize "Performance" and I was shocked that the phone now runs like 50% faster than usual. Whoa....
Advanced Config is a better program to improve performance and battery life

Added on October 10, 2008, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(haywire148 @ Oct 9 2008, 04:39 AM)
guys, i tried to install touchpal 3.5 but after many attempts, and reboots, i still encountered unsuccessful installation.

I followed the instructions. Any help ?

Check your PM for alternative instruction.
This post has been edited by DrWho: Oct 10 2008, 02:37 PM
DrWho
post Oct 10 2008, 03:48 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Ed

Check you PM for a bonus rclxms.gif
DrWho
post Oct 12 2008, 09:03 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Edit: Sorry wrong posting