Discussion are u obsess with ur supporting team?, buy ori jersey, backup if criticize, etc

berzerk
post Apr 24 2008, 10:14 AM

706 posts

What kind of fan am I if I want any other team to beat Man Utd?

About glory hunters, its not fair to call recent Chelsea & ManU supporters glory hunters. Most of us being so far from the UK will naturally support teams what we can see more often on TV.. i.e. the succesful & high profile big 4.

A true ManU or Chelsea supporter will be the one who still supports the team when they stop winning. So I would say it is impossible to be a glory hunter & say a Spurs (Shebby) or Everton fan if they started supporting 3 years ago.
Duke Red
post Apr 24 2008, 11:56 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(berzerk @ Apr 24 2008, 10:14 AM)
What kind of fan am I if I want any other team to beat Man Utd?

About glory hunters, its not fair to call recent Chelsea & ManU supporters glory hunters. Most of us being so far from the UK will naturally support teams what we can see more often on TV.. i.e. the succesful & high profile big 4.

A true ManU or Chelsea supporter will be the one who still supports the team when they stop winning. So I would say it is impossible to be a glory hunter & say a Spurs (Shebby) or Everton fan if they started supporting 3 years ago.
I agree with you, it doesn't matter when you start supporting your club. What pisses me off is I've recently met two Man Utd supporters who can't name their starting 11. They go like, "The Man Utd right winger crossed to Ronaldo who headed it towards goal..., etc". Who is the right winger in question? I asked the other, "Do you know where Stretford End is?", and he didn't have an answer.

I'm going to sound like a broken record, but please lah, read up about your club. I find it weird when people ask basic questions here when the information is readily available on the net. Just take some time to do a google search. It's where I get most of my information from.
verx
post Apr 24 2008, 12:16 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 24 2008, 11:56 AM)
I agree with you, it doesn't matter when you start supporting your club. What pisses me off is I've recently met two Man Utd supporters who can't name their starting 11. They go like, "The Man Utd right winger crossed to Ronaldo who headed it towards goal..., etc". Who is the right winger in question? I asked the other, "Do you know where Stretford End is?", and he didn't have an answer.

I'm going to sound like a broken record, but please lah, read up about your club. I find it weird when people ask basic questions here when the information is readily available on the net. Just take some time to do a google search. It's where I get most of my information from.
Duke I admire what you're trying to do but I think you're beating on a dead horse. Some people do not like to read and the idea of reading information off a book or off the net would be a turn off for them. And also alot of people love to watch the game but not many understand it. So u get plenty of cases where they don't even know who is in possession of the ball or why a team is struggling to create chances for instance. Just have to live and let live with them. wink.gif

This post has been edited by verx: Apr 24 2008, 12:16 PM
Duke Red
post Apr 24 2008, 12:32 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Apr 24 2008, 12:16 PM)
Duke I admire what you're trying to do but I think you're beating on a dead horse. Some people do not like to read and the idea of reading information off a book or off the net would be a turn off for them. And also alot of people love to watch the game but not many understand it. So u get plenty of cases where they don't even know who is in possession of the ball or why a team is struggling to create chances for instance. Just have to live and let live with them. wink.gif
The funny thing is they bother to ask simple questions here. Fair play but isn't it the same as googling it? I mean you still have to read it. I guess they just want a summed up version.
oldman
post Apr 24 2008, 03:24 PM

[VERY] senior member
956 posts

I enjoy watching Man Utd play... sometimes can geram like hell why they play so stupid... sometimes play like so well until can whack Roma 7 goals...

But not so obsess until buy this and that and get angry when ppl critize... Just a game la... enjoy and have fun...

teck_dq
post Apr 25 2008, 03:38 AM

~`HorriBLe Ador@bLe'~
1,148 posts

they only support the devil when they win the BPL,if the next season other team is performing well,surely change maa..laugh.gif
Kerplunk
post Apr 25 2008, 08:34 PM

802 posts

indeed knowledge is power..but there are those who focus less on the history of their clubs but more towards their current status and development i.e: potential targets, who's coming up in the youth and reserve ranks,the state of the football academy,possible attacking formations and stuff like that.i guess it depends on what kind of knowledge you'd want to emphasise on.But not knowing the names of your first eleven is a definite no-no..you're practically holding up a sign above your head that says:BASH ME NOW! laugh.gif
amz_dreamz
post Apr 25 2008, 10:20 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Apr 23 2008, 04:23 PM)
Means you buy fake stuff lor. hmm.gif That doesn't really show loyalty.
fake stuff? mad.gif

i bought thru nike indon factory lor... never buy pirate jersey for my Arsenal...
that's why i'm obsessed with arsenal
Duke Red
post Apr 26 2008, 09:00 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Apr 25 2008, 08:34 PM)
indeed knowledge is power..but there are those who focus less on the history of their clubs but more towards their current status and development i.e: potential targets, who's coming up in the youth and reserve ranks,the state of the football academy,possible attacking formations and stuff like that.i guess it depends on what kind of knowledge you'd want to emphasise on.But not knowing the names of your first eleven is a definite no-no..you're practically holding up a sign above your head that says:BASH ME NOW!  laugh.gif
Well we have discussed this issue under the "real fan" thread before and my opinion hasn't changed since. It is only my opinion but I feel you have to have some knowledge of your club especially if you claim to love and support it. If you don't support them because of who they are, then why are you supporting them? Because they are doing well now? How does one get emotionally attached to something they know nothing about? All I know is if I like a girl, I try to find out more about her. If I like a car, I try to find out more about it. No different when it comes to my football club.

Again, it's only my opinion.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0432sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:19 AM