21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Military Thread V28

alexz23
post Sep 17 2021, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Sep 17 2021, 05:04 PM)
Innovation is typically a strategy for the market leaders who have the necessary resources to spend on R&D

Imitation is typically a strategy for the rest of the market who do not have the resources but hope to achieve cost efficiency

Which do you think we are in the realm of defence technology?

So your force structure is intended to strike back at China? Well what is your expected opposition, in terms of numbers and capabilities? This is step 1 of defence planning...

We don't innovate by creating something new, but we innovate by getting and combining existing things that other people have not thought of doing. The ship, the weapons, the towed ASW sonar, is all off the shelf. No need at all to reinvent the wheel.

The main force structure is of a TLDM that can strike back at chinese ships and submarines if they start shooting at us. A force that could easily be paid for with the money we don't spend on lousy RLMS or Kedah Batch 2 OPVs. Also a force structure that can have good situational awareness of all PLAN assets in our EEZ, either in the air, on the surface or underwater.

For full tracking of underwater forces in our south china sea EEZ off borneo, TLDM should have a minimum of 2 Gowind task force at sea all the time. That is 2 gowinds + 4 alexLMS with ASW module at sea everytime. Geospatial satellite image of PLAN base in Hainan will be monitored 24/7 to check which sub is at base, and which sub is on mission. The sea would be patrolled by TUDM MPA, when any submarine signature is found with MAD, a gowind task force will be sent to that location to tail the submarine. So there should not be any surprises from any submarines in our waters.

If the shooting starts, i expect our surface ships in south china will be strike hard and sunk no matter how good their weapons are. The PLAN has ballistic anti-ship missiles and Hypersonic anti-ship missiles that we have no countermeasure for. The alexLMS will play far from the south china sea in this scenario, doing area denial of chinese shipping in melacca straits, pulau banggi and tawau waters. Any counterstrikes against PLAN navy ships in our EEZ would be with our subs and TUDM MRCAs. Large long range UUVs would be used to mine Chinese harbours and also launch counterattack missile strike against PLAN bases. We should not expect to win, but to buy time to bring support from our allies.

If there is no shooting war, then our MMEA should be the main force pushing back Chinese Coast guard from harassing our economic activities in South china sea, of course with the support of all of the TLDM surface fleet.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 17 2021, 05:57 PM
alexz23
post Sep 17 2021, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 17 2021, 06:03 PM)
^^
Off the shelf item doesn't mean plug & play like in a PC. You still need intergration, certifying, software writing, and if it draw more power, more generator, more radar & equipment for example. Remember that to put BVR on FA50 would double the price.or how those refitted in our Sukhoi increase the acquisition costs.

You add MICA to tun fatimah no need to add CMS, 3D radar ah?

What software you want to write when the ASW and MCM module is not need to be integrated to the ship and is all standalone?

Learn from the Philippines mistake of not having a workable air force thus they compete with the Chinese with ship, ship that the Chinese has more than them and thus they lose Access to reefs. They then have FA50, but FA50 can't strike maritime target nor can exploit Chinese jet weakness in BVR, and thus Chinese able to occupied reef and build a base with them unable to do anything about it. and now use those base to threaten Philippines to do china bidding. They could halt the Chinese a bit by getting F16 but the Chinese are pressuring them not to.

We are not the Philippines. We have MKM and Hornet that the philippines don't, but now we need LCA like FA50 to replace our worn out hawks.

As for your dream ship there's already 4 Chinese LMS & 6 NGPC already with 8 more NGPC OTW.

Those ships don't have 28+ knots speed. Don't have range to travel at least 2500 nm at full speed. Don't have large deck to place systems such as MCM.

alexz23
post Sep 17 2021, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Sep 17 2021, 06:41 PM)
You do realise it's not all put together by USB connectors?

If it's so easy, system and weapons integration wouldn't be a challenge for even superpowers to pull off.

Which is why i say - no integration with the ship at all for ASW and MCM modules. All standalone. US Navy is having headaches to intergrade various things WITH THE SHIP.

KISS

The ASW module is standalone, and will datalink all the information from the sonar back to the Gowind mothership. The information will be procesed on board the Gowind similarly to a data from say a sonobuoy sonar or a dipping sonar from a helicopter.

Similarly to the MCM module, it is all standalone. The ship is just a place to bring it around. The module can be put on land or even on OSV if needed.

Anyway superpowers design their ships to play in other peoples backyard thousands of miles away from home. We are playing in our own backyard.

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Sep 17 2021, 06:41 PM)
is this realistic considering the opposition force assessment?

I could elaborate on exactly how I would do it, but not on an open forum.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 17 2021, 08:08 PM
alexz23
post Sep 17 2021, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Sep 17 2021, 09:56 PM)

someone should tell that to the British: https://www.flightglobal.com/defence/italy-.../145515.article
BODO BAHLUL BETUL, JUST MAKE THE MISSILE "MODULAR", PUT THE MISSILE ON THE GROUND, DON'T ATTACH IT TO THE F-35, DON'T NEED TO INTEGRATE LAH!

First you have to really understand the concept.

Meteor is an advanced missile that is designed to shoot down high speed and high maneuverability targets at long range. It is designed to exchange tracking data with the fighter jet in real time. Of course it needs to be integrated. As is advanced missiles like NSM that you can change the target mid flight.

missiles with fire and forget system, that just need to enter a coordinate and fly to the area before switching on its own radar to kill the ship does not need advanced integration. Which is why the houthis and hezbollah can fire anti ship missiles at israeli and uae ships just by putting the missile on the ground by the beachside.

Also i did say the anti ship missiles would be integrated with the ship, but not the ASW module and MCM module, which are standalone.

this is the description of the kraitarray
https://www.sea.co.uk/maritime/products/kraitarray/
it can be all stand-alone similar to fitment on USV, and all the sonar data is datalinked to the main gowind frigate, with the frigate processing and treating the additional sonar data from the alexLMS like data from helicopter dipping sonar or even aircraft sonobuoys, which is already regularly done. You combine multiple sources of sonar in a concept called multistatic sonar operations. If you understand the concept. The ASW module can be standalone on the alexLMS because it must be operated paired with the gowinds for ASW. All the complicated systems, operators, processors are onboard the Gowind. USN LCS ASW module is complicated as the ship must be able to execute ASW operations on its own with a module that is designed to be removable but totally linked to the LMS combat management system.

MCM module is also standalone, with the control modules put on an OSV, with the alexLMS carrying around and launching the USV and UUV minehunters.
https://www.navalnews.com/event-news/lima-2...n-at-lima-2019/

alexz23
post Sep 17 2021, 11:30 PM

multistatic sonar system

https://www.cmre.nato.int/news-room/former-...c-sonar-systems

A multistatic sonar system is composed by a combination of sonar sensors (either active or passive) placed at  different locations. As the type of platforms and their numbers are variable, configurations are multiple: a multistatic sonar can include an active sonar (a hull-mounted or towed source in a frigate), a passive array towed by another ship or an autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV), an array of sonobuoys and another array of moored hydrophones, becoming a real sensor network. There are several advantages of the multistatic over the monostatic solution: excellent triangulation of the target position and its tracking, increased covertness of the receiving platform(s), extended and flexible echo-ranging, etc.
my 1x Gowind and 2x alexLMS combination

active sonar (a hull-mounted or towed source in a frigate) - this will be the active CAPTAS2 sonar towed by the Gowind

passive array towed by another ship - this would be the two alexLMS towing the low cost passive kraitarray sonar or any similar low cost towed antisubmarine passive array sonar.

this would be supported by ASW helicopter on the Gowind, and MPA aircrafts.

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 18 2021, 09:15 AM)
You have to understand Essm VLS MK 41, one silo can fill 4 missiles. This mean standard 8 silo fill up 32 missiles

In Mica and Aster, one silo fill up one missile. So 16 silio = 16 missile.

And Essm on VLS MK 41, is hot launch and the range is 50 km, Thai, Indonesia, Australia, Japan, South Korea, USA, Canada, New Zealand use VLS mk 41.

I perfectly understand that. read carefully what i write. Did not see my comment on quad packing?

I also would prefer our gowinds to have ESSM.

But the reality for our gowinds right now, if we still add another major change now, more money needs to be put into the project, and it will be delayed further, something we cannot afford.

also you must understand missiles evolve and improve.

the ESSM when we signed up for the gowinds, was a complicated missile that requires dedicated radar target illuminators to be added front and rear of the frigate, similar to how we need to operate the seawolfs on Lekiu. VL MICA can just use radar data from main ship radar only like from the SMART-S. less complications. But VL MICA is short range and ESSM is medium range. Only around 2020 ESSM Block 2 was modified to have the same system as MICA, no need for radar target illuminator. Then recently late 2020 VL MICA NG comes out with more than 40km range with the same size. it has dual pulse rocket motor, something simple in theory to extend the range by extending the burn time by putting pauses in the burn. in effect putting in a few seconds of glide in between rocket burn thus extending the range. Still the quad packing of ESSM is a very big advantage when compared to MICA.

https://www.navalnews.com/naval-news/2019/0...n-essm-block-2/

https://www.navalnews.com/naval-news/2021/0...das-vl-mica-ng/

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 18 2021, 01:48 PM)
Well PT PAL has proven themselves again and again. They built many 7,000 to 10,000 tons support ships to Asean countriez and even to TLDM.

Talk to Indonesia engineer on  a subject and then you talk the same subject to a Malaysian engineer. See the difference .

PT PAL and ST Marine Engineering. The rest No.

given a good design, Indonesia can build any ships.

but locally designed ships? the KCR60 is not something i consider as a good ship. The concept of that tank boat is idiosyncratic at best.

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 18 2021, 01:53 PM)
Well, I personally know a good Malaysia engineer who was at Bousted that was brought for LCS project
And now he is in Portsmouth with another major shipbuilding company and when I talk to him he just said "I give up"

to be honest we got much more good engineers than Indonesia. just the politicking and all these get rich quick scheme of selling mediocre stuff at premium prices wasted their skills and knowledge.

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 18 2021, 02:01 PM)
he actually resign due to political issues

LCS is a good project he said to me, good enough for him to quit his job to pour his blood and sweat

tapi lepas tu
it was a good project.

rather than just getting corvettes as originally planned under SGPV, we should be getting 6 frigates.

but then...

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 18 2021, 03:30 PM)
Do you know both the Lekiu class are the only larger missile corvettes F2000 british design of 2,200 tons?Ā  Already 25 years in servive . Taken SLEP in 2014. There are only 2 vessels KD Lekiu and KD Jebat and must guard South china Sea and Straits of Malacca

Both ships are gettingĀ  old but they are the only missile capable corvettes for TLDM. So how....extend their service life again until 2040Ā  or for another 20 years?
according to the original Gowind contract signed in 2011, the first gowind was planned to be delivered in 2017, the last one in 2020. but you all know what happened.

as per original plan we should have right now all 6 fully operational gowinds.

So as i said, originally the gowinds is a good plan. Fudge up by everyone involved, TLDM, BNS, government caused what it is right now, zero ships completed 2021.

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 18 2021, 03:36 PM)
Good question. Why not stay at 2500 tons modular design?? Hahaha....šŸ˜„šŸ˜‹šŸ˜‹
You change design and buy blue print cost you billions but they are not multi purpose light frigate (can perform both AAW and ASW)šŸ˜šŸ˜šŸ˜†

Instead pay a bom for ASW
why not stay at 2500 tons? TLDM wants the range to be at least similar or near to the Kedah class. Kedah class range is 6,050 nautical miles (11,200 km; 6,960 mi) at cruising speed. Gowind 3100 range is 5,000 nautical miles (9,300 km; 5,800 mi) at 15 knots (28 km/h; 17 mph). Gowind 2500 range is 3,700 nautical miles (6,900 km; 4,300 mi) at 15 knots (28 km/h; 17 mph).

Egyptian Gowind 2500 price is 375 million euros each

Malaysian Gowind 3100 original ceiling price was 400 million dollars or RM1.5 Billion in 2011. So very small difference in price of gowind 2500 and 3100. But now 2021 400 million dollars is how much billion ringgit?

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 18 2021, 05:52 PM
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 18 2021, 04:42 PM)
For a custom solution this one bolehlah priced, the belharra frigates afterall cost RM3.5 billions per unit inclusive of R&D cost. RM 2 billion per unit if the R&D cost are absorbed by their taxes payers.

Belharra is too expensive for what it is. This is what greece supposed to pay for belharra's. Which is why greece has second thoughts and now is looking at other types of frigates.
https://dsm.forecastinternational.com/wordp...ch-warship-buy/

The Type 31e is better for us in my opinion.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 18 2021, 05:31 PM
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 18 2021, 05:30 PM)
PT PAL Indonesia just officially disclosed the Babcock Arrowhead 140 specification for the Indonesian Navy. The weapons especially the missiles will be FFBNW.

Engine
• Main Engine 4 x 9100 kW
• Max speed 28 knot MCR
• Endurance 18 knot 9.000 NM

Armament
• MR VLS 3 x 8 cell SAM
• LR VLS 4 x 8 cell SAM
• LR VLS 2 x 8 cell SSM

https://pal.co.id/2021/09/publikasi/news-be...fregate-kemhan/
so basically

24x VL MICA
32x ASTER 30
16x EXOCET MM40

basically a lean towards being an AAW frigate. probably would not have towed sonar installed.

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 18 2021, 05:43 PM)
Yes more towards AAW role while the FREMM is for ASW role.

Unconfirmed it will be 24 x VLS CAMM-ER

For the SSM they are looking at VLS. Don't know if there is any Western type SSM VLS.
none right now.

so they are thinking of the Brahmos on the arrowhead 140?

CAMM-ER?

what will the FREMM be armed with? CAMM-ER also?

VL MICA already with sigma frigate and F2000 corvette.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 18 2021, 05:49 PM
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Sep 18 2021, 05:52 PM)
I have no idea. Maybe. Yakhont is impossible due to CAATSA.

VL MICA is short range right? They are looking at Medium Range VLS.
VL MICA NG is medium range. exactly same size as original VL MICA.

alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 06:08 PM

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Sep 18 2021, 05:56 PM)
CAMM can be quad packed in Sylver VLS...so theoretically 24 x 4 = 96 CAMM

CAMM the original 25km version can be quadpacked.

CAMM-ER is larger than the original CAMM, so no idea if can quadpack or not.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 18 2021, 06:10 PM
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Sep 18 2021, 06:51 PM)
I'll take KCR 60 than LMS anytime....at least the price is right.

I wouldn't choose any of them.

the latest KCR batch 3 number 5 and 6 which is fully armed cost Rupiah 800 miliar or around 56 million dollars each.

https://money.kompas.com/read/2019/08/02/16...-rp-1-6-triliun

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 18 2021, 08:31 PM
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 18 2021, 08:29 PM)
I have a question.

The LCS Gowind 3100 tons Maharajalela, why must built all in Boustead?

personally I don't know

Would it be an advantage if:-

1) 1st and 2nd vessels built in Naval Shipyard  France, with Boustead engineers there. Technologhy and engineering skill transfer to local engineers in actual advanced ship  building  and commissioning of a stealth warship

2) Balance 4  vessels built here.

yes it is a good idea. but its all acedemic now. we cannot turn back time.

Ever considered this option?

personally I don't know
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 08:58 PM

if you like a traditional FAC.

Yes the KCR-60 is good for that mission.

It got a 28 knot top speed.

it got 2400 nautical mile range at 20 knots.

It got bofors 57mm gun.

it got anti ship missiles (rumored from MBDA for KCR-60 batch 3). Azriel might fill in for me on this.
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 18 2021, 10:47 PM)
Personally, a better design then the fassmer that MMEA get.

The fassmer costs about 65 million ringgit, around 15 million dollars. Including the on board UAV.

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Sep 18 2021, 10:47 PM)
Why so i have a feeling we spend money for a fully equipped FACĀ  but end up with just a gunboats again ? whistling.gif

Yes.

You could also say that we spend the same money for a big 1860 tonne OPV but end up with just a gunboat.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Sep 18 2021, 10:59 PM
alexz23
post Sep 18 2021, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Sep 18 2021, 10:58 PM)
That why with full platform AAW and ASW in, it is a good bargain. Our meko 100 is FFBNW. I think many understand. To me it is just bull shit in procurement. Either you buy a boat with missile or without missle. As simple as that. A corvette without missle defense, is a sitting duck
No ASW. that is additional and not included.

The they say its AAW capable just because the 57mm gun can shoot down missiles and aircraft in close in defence function.

21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.1066sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:33 AM