9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Great Eastern rejected critical illness in news, What do you think?

lifebalance
post Apr 16 2021, 10:35 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Limster88 @ Apr 16 2021, 10:28 AM)
The problem with the Malaysian style of attaching health riders to an ILP plan is that when an underwriter needs reject the life plan, everything attached to it will be rejected as well.

Mental conditions have a great impact on life cover. Suicide after the waiting period is claimable, so for a person with history of mental issues it is one of the risks the insurer had to take into consideration. Depending on the risk philosophy of the company, some companies will decide that these risks are not something that they want to take.

In the end it is all about price. A more conservative insurer that screens out applications more tightly can limit its future claims. This gives it more room to either earn more profits, or, reduce / control premium prices to be more competitive in the market.
And yes, insurers adopt the utmost good faith concept in approving policies. This is also in line with PDPA regulations. After all, if you are honest upfront, there's nothing to worry about right? An insurance policy is just a contract, so the insurer is bound by it if the premise of the contract is valid.

The government also do not want the insurers to willy nilly obtain and keep people's personal health information, so this is the current practice. Not all policies will turn into claims, so there is no need for insurers to be so intrusive and check everyone's health background. You think that the insurers don't want to get everyone's information? Given the chance they definitely want to. More information means more accurate actuarial projection, means better pricing and competitiveness.
Long ago, before PDPA laws came into force, we used to have this LIAM system, where insurers will share with each other on the health conditions of their clients. There is no escape. If you are rejected by company A, then you try to apply with company B, you will also be rejected coz they also know about the health conditions too.

Then came PDPA enforcement and all these ended. Now the industry had to operate on a more limited information and therefore had to start trusting their customers based on utmost good faith.

The only time the insurer has expressed approval to check everything regarding to your medical background is during claims, because this is the only time that PDPA rules allow them to fully access your medical records. So you can be sure that if you do not disclose information to your insurer and they find out about it, it will then go to post claims underwriting, where we will re-underwrite the application again, assuming that if we know about the condition in the first place, what will the underwriting decision be.
For example, let's say someone lied about smoking during the application, thinking that they can pay cheaper premiums. This commonly happens.

The problem will come when they claim, coz when their doctors ask them about their health condition, people tend to answer honestly so that the doctor will be more accurate in their diagnosis. So upon claims and the insurer gets the medical report from the doctor, claim assessors will cross check the declaration and information from the doctor and if they find out that this client had been smoking when the application was signed, you can bet that before paying out the claim, the insurer will readjust the contract and calculate all the back pay of premiums that this client needs to pay, which they can either deduct from the claims payout or if it is not enough, demand the client to pay the balance. If the client refuse, then obviously this contract is not valid from the start, and the insurer can void it.
Thanks bro for articulating whatever that is in my mind into writing. Kudos smile.gif

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 16 2021, 11:59 AM
Holocene
post Apr 16 2021, 11:58 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Apr 16 2021, 12:28 AM)
But I would like to know why most, if not ALL Malaysian insurers will reject those with short term psychological history? No exceptions? I suspect I might have depression but I refuse to go and see a psychologist because I know having consulted any mental health professionals will get my medical card upgrade declined (which validates your point of some people will not reveal medical conditions to get covered for life insurance or medical plans).

However with the fact that at least 30% of the Malaysian population have some mental health issues, the increasing awareness of it and also as we become more developed - more and more people will become stressed (Japan, Korea, China and many advanced countries have high suicide rates), I am surprised insurers don't offer cover, at least to those who might have short term mental health issues (like needing some psychologist consultation to cope with grieving the loss of a loved one).
Upon application normally it would be rejected however you can always appeal for your medical card.

Last year I had a clients that was previously diagnosed with Panic Attacks with Depressed Moods but recovered. Upon application her medical card was rejected hence an appeal was made. Long story short, she got her medical card without any additional loading or exclusion.

Talk to your agent or insurance company.

Do not compromise on your health just because you’re concerned about your eligibility for insurance coverage.

Best,
Jiansheng

This post has been edited by Holocene: Apr 16 2021, 12:01 PM
kopiride
post Apr 16 2021, 01:38 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 16 2021, 01:00 AM)
I am not sure how well versed you are with Insurance contracts but they run based on the Principle of Utmost Good Faith.
What is the principle of utmost good faith?
1. The principle of utmost good faith, uberrimae fidei, states that the insurer and the insured must disclose all material facts before the policy inception.

2. Facts which may enhance the level of risk are called material facts.

3. The insurer or insurance company needs to declare all public disclosures and investment strategies while the insured needs to declare health condition, family medical history, lifestyle, food habits, smoking and alcohol history etc.

4. In case of non-disclosure or misrepresentation of material facts, the policy can be considered null and void.

5. This principle applies to both life insurance and general insurance policies.
Very sweet words you all can put 'utmost good faith'. My question was so simple, why don't they do a background check before doing approval? But only do when people want to claim "with every intention" of trying to block peoples claim in every way after receiving their premiums?

Clearly this is a loophole or gap that is widely known for you all to take advantage @ scam. Close that loophole, refine the approval process, make claims straight forward. Simple right? Instead of need poeple like you to defend the 'wrong' things. It's just like bossku saying i don't know the money in bank account but yet can use it to spend. Brilliant excuse.
hedfi
post Apr 16 2021, 01:48 PM

649 posts

What's mental health got to do with cancer?
lifebalance
post Apr 16 2021, 01:52 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Apr 16 2021, 01:38 PM)
Very sweet words you all can put 'utmost good faith'. My question was so simple, why don't they do a background check before doing approval? But only do when people want to claim "with every intention" of trying to block peoples claim in every way after receiving their premiums?

Clearly this is a loophole or gap that is widely known for you all to take advantage @ scam. Close that loophole, refine the approval process, make claims straight forward. Simple right? Instead of need poeple like you to defend the 'wrong' things. It's just like bossku saying i don't know the money in bank account but yet can use it to spend. Brilliant excuse.
Sure whatever you like to say, nothing is going to change how things are run.

If you insist that the Sun rises from the West and sets at East, I don't think anyone has the time for that.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Apr 16 2021, 02:10 PM
hedfi
post Apr 16 2021, 02:08 PM

649 posts

Maybe when more ppl realize and stay away from buying, things will change
kopiride
post Apr 16 2021, 03:20 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 16 2021, 01:52 PM)

If you insist that the Sun rises from the West and sets at East, I don't think anyone has the time for that.
There u go people, the answer is here quoting him, "nothing is going to change how things are run". Gives us the answer that yeah they know they are scamming and do not want to close that loop hole to do background check before approval.

Sorry, i think it's you that insist that sun rises from west and sets at East (not doing proper checks before approval) while i am trying to correct you it's the other way round (to do proper checks before approval) so people don't fall into the trap paying premiums and then can't claim.

Sure no one has time to do proper things because everyone is using more time to practise conning people with 'words' with more ridicolous clauses here and there.
AbbyCom
post Apr 16 2021, 03:54 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 16 2021, 01:52 PM)

No point arguing. Just let it go. He/she will just put words into your mouth.
MUM
post Apr 16 2021, 04:07 PM

14,964 posts

An Insurance Dilemma in Non-disclosure, Misrepresentation or Concealment of Material Facts
by vkliew • August 27, 2011
Malaysia Online Insurance News Portal With A Difference
https://www.malaysiainsurance.info/insurance-material-facts/
i liked the 2 comments...

Unfair Term - Basis of Contract Clause
A contract of insurance is grounded on the doctrine of ubberimae fidei or utmost good faith.[8] It requires both parties to disclose honestly and truthfully all that they know to be material to the acceptance or rejection of the application. This was first established in the case of Carter v Boehm.[9] A breach of this duty by one party entitles the other party to avoid the contract. The contract becomes voidable upon the non-disclosure or misrepresentation of a material fact.[10]
However, insurers have inserted a basis of contract clause at the end of proposal forms. This converts all the answers in the form into warranties. They automatically become material facts even though some may in actual fact be immaterial.
A breach of a warranty results in the contract of insurance being void ab initio. The insertion of the basis of contract clause therefore negates the requirement of materiality. It automatically results in the contract of insurance being void ab initio regardless of whether the non-disclosure or misrepresentation involved an immaterial fact.

A relevant provision to look at is section 147(4) of the Insurance Act 1996, which applies to life policies. This provision is a legislative intervention against the practice of inserting unfair terms in the form of a basis of contract clause as discussed above, but only as regards life policies. Section 147(4) provides:

A licensed life insurer shall not dispute the validity of a life policy after the expiry of two years from the date on which it was effected on the ground that a statement made or omitted to be made in the proposal for insurance or in a report of a doctor, referee, or other person, or in a document leading to the issue of the life policy, was inaccurate or false or misleading unless the licensed life insurer shows that the statement was on a material matter or suppressed a material fact and that it was fraudulently made or omitted to be made by the policy owner.

It seeks to neutralise the harsh effect of the basis of contract clause by limiting it to policies which are below two years only. For policies above two years, if the insurer wishes to avoid the policy, besides proving materiality of the omitted or misrepresented fact, it must additionally prove that the material fact not disclosed or misrepresented was fraudulently omitted or made by the insured.

It is submitted that the basis of contract clause can be additionally challenged on the basis that it is an unfair term in the contract. Although there is no specific legislative provision on unfair contract terms in Malaysia, the proposition that an unfair term is unenforceable can be supported by the basic principle of freedom to contract. The basic principle presupposes equal bargaining power on both parties. In reality, a contract of insurance often involves the insurer, who is in a position of determining almost all the terms of the contract, and the insured, who is left with the choice of either accepting all the terms or be left with no coverage at all.
The insertion of an unfair contract term such as the basis of contract clause undermines the very basis of the contract. It should therefore be made unenforceable, even for life polices which are below two years. There is no legitimate basis in allowing the basis of contract clause to prevail, particularly in life policies which involve individuals. Alternatively, public policy consideration should demand that an unfair contract term such as the basis of contract clause be deemed unenforceable.
Law and Ethics in the Malaysian Insurance Industry A Review of Selected Practices
http://www.commonlii.org/my/journals/JMCL/2004/5.html

Don't Cover Up, It'll Blow Your Cover!
31 DECEMBER 2016
https://www.skrine.com/insights/newsletter/...blow-your-cover!

jhodyj P
post Apr 21 2021, 07:49 PM

Probation
20 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 31 2021, 01:21 AM)
the "news" from this thread had already been posted in LYN existing thread at 8am yesterday....

Prudential vs Great Eastern: My Experience, Not all insurance companies are the same
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4833082/+100#entry100459538

can read or post there for added info?

hmm.gif achieved a full and final settlement in one of the two insurance policies she is claiming for.....
why she did not get settlement for the 2nd policy at the same time??
why hearing continue on April 14?
will she get to win the 2nd one too??

In 2018, she signed up for a second policy......
in 2019 she filed for cancer claim....
will that period fall under "contestability period"??

for as per this
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/insurance/3...%20your%20risks.

"During the Contestability Period is the period (usually of two years) during which the insurer is not obligated to pay a claim because of misrepresentations of material facts given to your underwriter when determining your risks.

Once these two years have gone and passed, your policy will then enter the Incontestability Period, where claims can be given even though there have been some misrepresentations of material facts."

The first policy which was bought in 2015 would falls under "Incontestability period"
Hi, can u explain in layman term what is incontestability period ? thank you ya
MUM
post Apr 21 2021, 09:50 PM

14,964 posts

QUOTE(jhodyj @ Apr 21 2021, 07:49 PM)
Hi, can u explain in layman term what is incontestability period ? thank you ya
got this after google

Incontestability clause – a provision stating that the insurer cannot dispute the validity of a policy after a specific period.
http://www.medicalinsurance.com.my/main/31...%20cash%20value.

What is an Incontestability Clause?
An incontestability clause is a clause in most life insurance policies that prevent the provider from voiding coverage due to a misstatement by the insured after a specific amount of time has passed. A typical incontestability clause specifies that a contract will not be voidable after two or three years due to a misstatement.
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/incont...lity-clause.asp

Incontestable Clause
A clause in a life insurance policy providing that after a policy has been in effect for a given length of time (one or two years), the life insurance company shall not be able to contest the statements contained in the application unless fraud can be proven.
https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/Product-Services...t-glossary.aspx

you need to check with your policy for details

jhodyj P
post Apr 21 2021, 10:20 PM

Probation
20 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 21 2021, 09:50 PM)
got this after google

Incontestability clause – a provision stating that the insurer cannot dispute the validity of a policy after a specific period.
http://www.medicalinsurance.com.my/main/31...%20cash%20value.

What is an Incontestability Clause?
An incontestability clause is a clause in most life insurance policies that prevent the provider from voiding coverage due to a misstatement by the insured after a specific amount of time has passed. A typical incontestability clause specifies that a contract will not be voidable after two or three years due to a misstatement.
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/incont...lity-clause.asp

Incontestable Clause
A clause in a life insurance policy providing that after a policy has been in effect for a given length of time (one or two years), the life insurance company shall not be able to contest the statements contained in the application unless fraud can be proven.
https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/Product-Services...t-glossary.aspx

you need to check with your policy for details
''prevent the provider from voiding coverage due to a misstatement by the insured'' and ''the life insurance company shall not be able to contest the statements contained in the application unless fraud can be proven''. These 2 statements seem to contradict each other. misstatement by the insured definitely means fraud right?
MUM
post Apr 21 2021, 11:39 PM

14,964 posts

QUOTE(jhodyj @ Apr 21 2021, 10:20 PM)
''prevent the provider from voiding coverage due to a misstatement by the insured'' and ''the life insurance company shall not be able to contest the statements contained in the application unless fraud can be proven''. These 2 statements seem to contradict each other. misstatement by the insured definitely means fraud right?
unless it can be proven that the misstatement was an intended attempt to fraud.....
real55555
post Apr 22 2021, 10:37 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Apr 16 2021, 01:38 PM)

Yes agree. Sometimes we ourselves cannot even remember some minor medical conditions that happened say 15 or 20 yrs ago. Since they have the ability to check when we submit our claim, why don't they do it before they accept us as one of their customers. In my eyes, this can be seen as 'scam' or 'intentional negligence'.
kok_pun
post May 11 2021, 10:24 AM

Mortgage Expert
854 posts

Steady bom pipi

you nailed it!!

I don’t blame the 99% of people who do not understand how insurance works. Basically the scenario is akin to our employee’s provident fund, take young people contribution to pay old people. So take new policy holder insurance money to pay to anybody without audit? Something not right, right?

Insurance company is just an intermediary. It’s your money and my money who is being used to pay her. You be the judge...

Ms Americano L
post Jun 25 2021, 01:02 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(kok_pun @ May 11 2021, 10:24 AM)

Steady bom pipi

you nailed it!!

I don’t blame the 99% of people who do not understand how insurance works. Basically the scenario is akin to our employee’s provident fund, take young people contribution to pay old people. So take new policy holder insurance money to pay to anybody without audit? Something not right, right?

Insurance company is just an intermediary. It’s your money and my money who is being used to pay her. You be the judge...
Anyone following the 2nd case?
lowlowc
post Jun 26 2021, 07:24 AM

918 posts

My past experience; found a lump on my body and got the diagnosis and before i proceed with any procedure decision, i called ge helpline to know the proper steps if claimable. Their tone changed when they heard of this possible claim and was very unhelpful in giving me information.Gave me as little info as possible and like dont talk to them until i have the bill on hand. Silly me did the procedure at specialist clinic and when i submitted to them they answered no hospitalization no claim. Yet they refused to guide me before i decide where and how to take the procedure. "Do whatever you have to do first, submit the claim and our underwriter will review case accordingly". I terminated my policy soon after that.
lifebalance
post Jun 26 2021, 11:31 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jun 26 2021, 07:24 AM)
My past experience; found a lump on my body and got the diagnosis and before i proceed with any procedure decision, i called ge helpline to know the proper steps if claimable. Their tone changed when they heard of this possible  claim and was very unhelpful in giving me information.Gave me as little info as possible and like dont talk to them until i have the bill on hand. Silly me did the procedure at specialist clinic and when i submitted to them they answered no hospitalization no claim. Yet they refused to guide me before i decide where and how to take the procedure. "Do whatever you have to do first, submit the claim and our underwriter will review case accordingly". I terminated my policy soon after that.
They are right when they said - no hospitalization - no claim.

You are suppose to get the thing diagnosed and in most case, you'd probably need a surgery to remove it, but in this case, you didn't as it's just through a consultation with a specialist for a check up. There is a reason why it's called a "Hospitalization & Surgical Benefit" not "Clinical Benefit".

lowlowc
post Jun 26 2021, 01:12 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 26 2021, 11:31 AM)
They are right when they said - no hospitalization - no claim.

You are suppose to get the thing diagnosed and in most case, you'd probably need a surgery to remove it, but in this case, you didn't as it's just through a consultation with a specialist for a check up. There is a reason why it's called a "Hospitalization & Surgical Benefit" not "Clinical Benefit".
"No hospital no claim" quote was only mentioned after I submitted for claim and yes, I already gotten the diagnosis before I called them.

I am not saying the policy is wrong but the customer service should advise accordingly after I had explained everything to them and I did asked if specialist clinic procedure can be claimed. Instead of telling me no hospital no claim upfront, they told me to do what doctor advised and after got the bill, submit for assessment. After I submit only they loudly use the word no hospital no claim. Of course, after terminated and gotten myself a new policy (after waiting period) I made sure to read and ask whatever question I have (provided at that time I was on close term with an agent who explained to me patiently)

And in my recent case with current insurance policy (non-GE) I called and and ask for clarification what and how is non-claimable. I did get my answer straight upfront. I took this example and pasted big big in GE's FB before. Their answer vs the answer from another insurance provider.

Policy are pretty much the same, but the clarification, helpfulness and transparency wise, GE is bad. The only reason i think they don't quote no hospital no claim when I called them first is they don't want me to go to hospital instead which would have been claimable.

I think members here maybe can try to call GE hotline and just tried telling them some situation you have and ask if according to your policy can you claim or no, see if they provide clarification or being vague about it.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jun 26 2021, 01:19 PM
cmk96
post Jul 14 2021, 04:19 PM

2,096 posts

I was told GE medical card no cover Covid-19 expenses....

Is that true?

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0370sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:47 AM