Fund kena margin call sold $3 billion stocks, Exposure $15 billion USD of losses

thxxht
post Mar 29 2021, 10:06 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(hjffgjng @ Mar 29 2021, 04:30 PM)
all margin call is loan?
margin is the loan, when you hear people buying on margin that means they are using the broker's/bank's money to buy stocks.

margin call is the brokerage calling you to top up your margin due to your account not meeting margin requirement, if cannot they force sell your holdings and you are stuck owing the brokerage/bank.

margin is a way to leverage your buying power, if you confident that market will go up or down and use margin properly you can 10x 20x your returns. it's a double edge sword, you can also lose 10x 20x if you bodo like this bill hwang dude don't de-leverage.
GHBZDK
post Mar 30 2021, 01:09 AM

173 posts

i went in x5 leverage $tme at market and 1 hour later stop loss force kick me out. rip 3 ps5 games cry.gif

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: Mar 30 2021, 01:10 AM
nerdook
post Mar 30 2021, 01:34 AM

This one noob level. Crypto market margin up to 100x on tether exchanges, no problem no sweat also.
Conslow2020
post Mar 30 2021, 04:31 AM

94 posts

The only different between rich and poor is one using margin and one doesn't

This post has been edited by Conslow2020: Mar 30 2021, 04:34 AM
SUSMasterConfucion
post Mar 30 2021, 06:42 AM

911 posts

Money is just rich man game. U think what happen to him after this? Masuk jail? Beg on the streets? He just gonna declare bankrupt and move on with his life living in mansion and makan buffet everyday. Asset already masuk wife name.
mousqy
post Mar 30 2021, 06:49 AM

758 posts

hwang hwang hwang

atleast got a title now

BIGGEST LOSER
SUSxander83
post Mar 30 2021, 09:26 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ Mar 30 2021, 06:42 AM)
Money is just rich man game. U think what happen to him after this? Masuk jail? Beg on the streets? He just gonna declare bankrupt and move on with his life living in mansion and makan buffet everyday. Asset already masuk wife name.
If the asset under the wife name they will have the right seize via civil suit

He would have been smart enough to hid his assets under a trust in Caribbean Islands tax haven which would means tax free and SECC would be having a hard time to seize the assets unless DOJ is involved

The same method that 1MDB but unfortunately too much exposure hence got caught big time rclxms.gif
TrustULoveU
post Mar 30 2021, 02:10 PM

569 posts

wow
SUSAngelic Layer
post Apr 28 2021, 08:18 AM

91 posts

Nomura holdings reported that they lost 310 billion yen (2.85 billion USD, 11.7 billion MYR) far exceed the 90 billion yen they estimated earlier in this saga.
They will take more precaution to risk in the future.
mois
post Apr 28 2021, 08:25 AM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 29 2021, 03:06 PM)
reading stock trading stories like this reminds me of reading my form6 Kimia textbook

haram jadah tak paham langsung
Short = if stock drop price, you profit.
long = if stock price up, you profit.

All is yahudi game. Paper money game. It is stupid you can own paper asset like gold futures, corn futures without owning the real thing.
Lyu
post Apr 28 2021, 08:35 AM

772 posts

The color red is actually closed higher than open rite...?
SUSAngelic Layer
post Apr 28 2021, 08:36 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Lyu @ Apr 28 2021, 08:35 AM)
The color red is actually closed higher than open rite...?
Reverse for China and Taiwan, because red is ong for them.
plouffle0789
post Jan 22 2022, 07:27 PM

1,817 posts

QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Mar 29 2021, 02:30 PM)

TLDR:
- Bill Hwang is a Korean trader worked at the legendary hedge fund manager Julian Robertson's Tiger management, doing what Asians do, he quit the company and went out to set shop after learning a few tricks; suiting his cringy behavior, he even named his fund as "Tiger Asia" .
- He turned out to be a very crooked trader, and committed insider trading by short selling three Chinese bank stocks based on confidential information they received in private placement offerings, he was fined 44 million and banned 5 years from trading since 2013, he was so crooked that Goldman Sachs blacklisted him from doing business with them.
- He set up a new fund named Archegos Capital after finishing the 5 year ban.
- Suiting his Asian behavior, he is a gambler who take high leverage in trading, his margin raised from 1.5 billion to 5 billion in 2020 and from 5 billion to 15 billion in the first 3 months of 2021.
- His portfolio including Viacom and Discovery, it is rumoured that he shorted Gamestop as well.
- Viacom had been profiting from streaming business because people stay home and watch TV during Corona, stock rose from $12 to $100 in a year. The boss look at all the money and decided to issue $3 billion new shares and new price is $85 per share, investment firm downgraded the stock and the stock losses more than 50% of value (Now around $48).
- Bill Hwang and Archegos facing margin call and their position had to be liquidated, since price drop further with their margins adding to the losses.
- His losses amount to $15 billion USD out of $8 billion of his own capital.
- Because of his previous ban and crooked reputation, he couldn't find people to invest in him, and can only operate out of family office only (ie own and friend's money), the losses is likely the largest amount ever lost by a single investor.
- He was also heavily invested in Chinese tech stock, and the margin call caused a significant fallout in China.
Archegos Liquidation Hit Nomura, Credit Suisse

Why nomura and credot suisse not much issue?

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0196sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:40 PM