QUOTE(dzi921 @ Dec 3 2007, 06:01 PM)
I have only one fund to celebrate. Previously if I remembered, PFES declared a distribution of 4 or 4.5 cents per unit.Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund
Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund
Dec 3 2007, 06:08 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 3 2007, 08:26 PM
Public Mutual declares distributions for 8 funds
Public Bank's wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual declares distributions for eight of its funds. The gross distributions declared are for financial year / period ended 30 November 2007: Public Ittikal Fund - Gross distribution of 10.00 sen per unit Public Dividend Select Fund - Gross distribution of 5.50 sen per unit Public Islamic Equity Fund - Gross distribution of 5.00 sen per unit Public Far-East Select Fund - Gross distribution of 4.00 sen per unit Public Regional Sector Fund - Gross distribution of 3.50 sen per unit Public Far-East Dividend Fund - Gross distribution of 2.00 sen per unit Public Balanced Fund - Gross distribution of 10.00 sen per unit Public Islamic Balanced Fund - Gross distribution of 2.25 sen per unit Public Mutual's Chairman Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow said Public Ittikal Fund, Public Dividend Select Fund and Public Islamic Equity Fund have generated a one-year return of 37.43%, 36.63% and 40.04% respectively for the period ended 16 November 2007, according to The Edge-Lipper Fund Table dated 26 November 2007. As for Public Far-East Select Fund and Public Regional Sector Fund, both funds have generated a one-year return of 43.19% and 35.42% respectively for the period ended 16 November 2007. Both funds have outperformed their benchmarks of 33.10% and 29.53% respectively for the same period. Public Far-East Dividend Fund which was launched in November 2006, has generated a six-month return of 11.69% for the period ended 16 November 2007. Public Balanced Fund, on the other hand has also outperformed its benchmark of 21.11%, with a one-year return of 31.71% for the same period. Meanwhile, Public Islamic Balanced Fund has registered a one-year return of 23.46% for the period ended 16 November 2007. Public Mutual is the largest private unit trust company in Malaysia and it currently manages 54 funds for more than 1,350,000 accountholders. As at 31 October 2007, the total net asset value of the funds managed by the company was RM26.7 billion. URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/article.aspx?id=6401 |
Dec 3 2007, 10:46 PM
1,351 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KL/S'gor |
FYI...distribution will be subjected to tax. Same as this time.
Another good news for everyone...some funds has been reopened...which are: 1) P Ittikal Fund 2) P Enhanced Bond Fund 3) Public Bond Fund 4) Pulic Islamic Bond Fund |
Dec 3 2007, 10:47 PM
It's great that those funds are reopen but I couldn't topup using PBebank. Apparently they're still "invisible". Logged a call to the PBebank CS.
Dec 3 2007, 10:48 PM
1,542 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(risky76 @ Dec 3 2007, 12:49 PM) 30 Nov Distribution Basically, total value of a particular fund before distribution and after distributionPFEDF - Final - 2.00 sen per unit PIBF - Final - 2.25 sen per unit PBF - Interim - 10.00 sen per unit PDSF - Interim - 3.75 sen per unit PIEF - Interim - 5.00 sen per unit PITTIKAL - Interim - 10.00 sen per unit PFES - Interim - 4.00 sen per unit PRSEC - Interim - 3.50 sen per unit is same. So, I don't see any gain in the invesment. Thus, nothing to celebrate except it makes the fund look cheaper rite? This post has been edited by netcrawler: Dec 3 2007, 10:50 PM |
Dec 3 2007, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(netcrawler @ Dec 3 2007, 10:48 PM) Basically, total value of a particular fund before distribution and after distribution If you reinvest your distribution, your avearge unit cost will be lowered down.is same. So, I don't see any gain in the invesment. Thus, nothing to celebrate except it make fund look cheaper rite? |
Dec 3 2007, 10:52 PM
Reinvest at NAV ...
Dec 3 2007, 11:05 PM
1,542 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 3 2007, 10:52 PM) Reinvest at NAV only save you a commision to agent butwould not increase your total fund value. So no financial gain for any unit trust distribution. Added on December 3, 2007, 11:11 pm QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 3 2007, 10:52 PM) What compound interest you were refering to?This post has been edited by netcrawler: Dec 3 2007, 11:11 PM |
Dec 3 2007, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(netcrawler @ Dec 3 2007, 11:05 PM) Reinvest at NAV only save you a commision to agent but Juz the same as FD, when you get ur interest, you put it back and roll again (i.e. here, reinvest)...so it is compunding your returnwould not increase your total fund value. So no financial gain for any unit trust distribution. Added on December 3, 2007, 11:11 pm What compound interest you were refering to? For example...u put RM1000, u get 10% for 1st year...so u get RM100, u put back in...now u invest RM1100 and get another 10% 2nd year, u get RM110, u put that back in, now invest RM1210...get 10% ...so on so fort So, it does have effect to your financial gain and total value... If you take out the distribution then maybe no lor...but it is generating extra income for you... look at the bigger picture... This post has been edited by kingkong81: Dec 3 2007, 11:32 PM |
Dec 4 2007, 07:33 AM
1,997 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 3 2007, 10:46 PM) FYI...distribution will be subjected to tax. Same as this time. Good Another good news for everyone...some funds has been reopened...which are: 1) P Ittikal Fund 2) P Enhanced Bond Fund 3) Public Bond Fund 4) Pulic Islamic Bond Fund |
Dec 4 2007, 07:54 AM
Dec 4 2007, 10:45 AM
1,059 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KL |
QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 3 2007, 11:25 PM) Juz the same as FD, when you get ur interest, you put it back and roll again (i.e. here, reinvest)...so it is compunding your return I think you get a wrong idea on this. There is no such compounded interest in this distribution situation. If the money is not given back to investors via distribution, fund manager still have these money to gain more money. There is no benefit to investors in terms of value of the portfolio.For example...u put RM1000, u get 10% for 1st year...so u get RM100, u put back in...now u invest RM1100 and get another 10% 2nd year, u get RM110, u put that back in, now invest RM1210...get 10% ...so on so fort So, it does have effect to your financial gain and total value... If you take out the distribution then maybe no lor...but it is generating extra income for you... look at the bigger picture... Example: Fund NAV RM1.10 Distribution RM0.10 per unit If you have 1000 unit (value is RM1100), you will get RM100 for distribution. After distribution, the fund NAV will be RM1.00 ( I think you know the fund NAV will be adjusted accordingly after the distribution). After reinvest, your unit will be less than 1100 unit (because of a small portion of distribution will be taxed). The value you have after distribution still RM1100 or less than that. What's the benefit of getting distribution, and some more we will be taxed on the distribution? I don't think we need to consider much about this distribution. This distribution is only useful for fund manager and some investors who need some cash every year. If you're not thinking want to get the payout of distribution, don't choose fund by looking at the distribution. Unit Split is much better than distribution for investors' benefit. |
Dec 4 2007, 11:20 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Dec 4 2007, 10:45 AM) I think you get a wrong idea on this. There is no such compounded interest in this distribution situation. If the money is not given back to investors via distribution, fund manager still have these money to gain more money. There is no benefit to investors in terms of value of the portfolio. Yes, distribution or not has not much effect. It is still back to square one unless for cash flow situation.Example: Fund NAV RM1.10 Distribution RM0.10 per unit If you have 1000 unit (value is RM1100), you will get RM100 for distribution. After distribution, the fund NAV will be RM1.00 ( I think you know the fund NAV will be adjusted accordingly after the distribution). After reinvest, your unit will be less than 1100 unit (because of a small portion of distribution will be taxed). The value you have after distribution still RM1100 or less than that. What's the benefit of getting distribution, and some more we will be taxed on the distribution? I don't think we need to consider much about this distribution. This distribution is only useful for fund manager and some investors who need some cash every year. If you're not thinking want to get the payout of distribution, don't choose fund by looking at the distribution. Unit Split is much better than distribution for investors' benefit. However, unit split is even more meaningless compared to distribution. Nothing is changed in unit split, just some psychology feel 'more' about the unit held, in fact, value or NAV won't have any effect. I knew unit split generally will be implemented if NAV increase quite signficantly. For example a fund NAV increase from RM1 to Rm2, generally fund house will opt to split it let say 1:2 and make the NAV back to Rm1.00. But in fact, whether got unit split or not, it is actually carrying no real meaning as you still have RM2.00 in total whether got split or not. What's matter is the NAV incremental over the time which mean its portfolio is making money over the time. |
Dec 4 2007, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(leekk8 @ Dec 4 2007, 10:45 AM) I think you get a wrong idea on this. There is no such compounded interest in this distribution situation. If the money is not given back to investors via distribution, fund manager still have these money to gain more money. There is no benefit to investors in terms of value of the portfolio. Example: Fund NAV RM1.10 Distribution RM0.10 per unit If you have 1000 unit (value is RM1100), you will get RM100 for distribution. After distribution, the fund NAV will be RM1.00 ( I think you know the fund NAV will be adjusted accordingly after the distribution). After reinvest, your unit will be less than 1100 unit (because of a small portion of distribution will be taxed). The value you have after distribution still RM1100 or less than that. What's the benefit of getting distribution, and some more we will be taxed on the distribution? I don't think we need to consider much about this distribution. This distribution is only useful for fund manager and some investors who need some cash every year. If you're not thinking want to get the payout of distribution, don't choose fund by looking at the distribution. Unit Split is much better than distribution for investors' benefit. QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 4 2007, 11:20 AM) Yes, distribution or not has not much effect. It is still back to square one unless for cash flow situation. Ic ic....agree with cherroy on unit split...as your total NAV is still d same...nothing change.However, unit split is even more meaningless compared to distribution. Nothing is changed in unit split, just some psychology feel 'more' about the unit held, in fact, value or NAV won't have any effect. I knew unit split generally will be implemented if NAV increase quite signficantly. For example a fund NAV increase from RM1 to Rm2, generally fund house will opt to split it let say 1:2 and make the NAV back to Rm1.00. But in fact, whether got unit split or not, it is actually carrying no real meaning as you still have RM2.00 in total whether got split or not. What's matter is the NAV incremental over the time which mean its portfolio is making money over the time. |
Dec 4 2007, 01:11 PM
5,626 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Klang, Selangor |
The funds declaring higher distributions are making it look cheaper, as ITTIKAL has just been reopened, giving out 10.0 sen distribution will make marketing of the fund easier.
Distribution is nothing to me, but I see distribution as a way of entering the fund at a lower price. This is my concept of distribution. I would like to accumulate as many units as possible, and over the long term, I could actually grow my investment higher than the rest. |
Dec 4 2007, 01:25 PM
1,997 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Dec 4 2007, 01:29 PM
5,626 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Klang, Selangor |
I guess it's time to lock my profit on PBADF this week.
I already gained back my 15% profit, don't want to lose it again. More volatility could be expected. |
Dec 4 2007, 03:50 PM
374 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Peninsular Malaysia |
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 3 2007, 08:26 PM) Public Mutual declares distributions for 8 funds how come the the gross and net dividend distributed such big difference, eg.Public Bank's wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual declares distributions for eight of its funds. The gross distributions declared are for financial year / period ended 30 November 2007: Public Ittikal Fund - Gross distribution of 10.00 sen per unit Public Dividend Select Fund - Gross distribution of 5.50 sen per unit Public Islamic Equity Fund - Gross distribution of 5.00 sen per unit Public Far-East Select Fund - Gross distribution of 4.00 sen per unit Public Regional Sector Fund - Gross distribution of 3.50 sen per unit Public Far-East Dividend Fund - Gross distribution of 2.00 sen per unit Public Balanced Fund - Gross distribution of 10.00 sen per unit Public Islamic Balanced Fund - Gross distribution of 2.25 sen per unit Public Mutual's Chairman Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow said Public Ittikal Fund, Public Dividend Select Fund and Public Islamic Equity Fund have generated a one-year return of 37.43%, 36.63% and 40.04% respectively for the period ended 16 November 2007, according to The Edge-Lipper Fund Table dated 26 November 2007. As for Public Far-East Select Fund and Public Regional Sector Fund, both funds have generated a one-year return of 43.19% and 35.42% respectively for the period ended 16 November 2007. Both funds have outperformed their benchmarks of 33.10% and 29.53% respectively for the same period. Public Far-East Dividend Fund which was launched in November 2006, has generated a six-month return of 11.69% for the period ended 16 November 2007. Public Balanced Fund, on the other hand has also outperformed its benchmark of 21.11%, with a one-year return of 31.71% for the same period. Meanwhile, Public Islamic Balanced Fund has registered a one-year return of 23.46% for the period ended 16 November 2007. Public Mutual is the largest private unit trust company in Malaysia and it currently manages 54 funds for more than 1,350,000 accountholders. As at 31 October 2007, the total net asset value of the funds managed by the company was RM26.7 billion. URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/article.aspx?id=6401 dividend select fund gross is 5.5cents, but net seems like 3.75cents only. only 70%?? QUOTE(netcrawler @ Dec 3 2007, 10:48 PM) Basically, total value of a particular fund before distribution and after distribution yes, actually nth to celebrate about, last time i already posted this question, no financial benefit to share holders.is same. So, I don't see any gain in the invesment. Thus, nothing to celebrate except it makes the fund look cheaper rite? just to show ppl they're earning money, thats all. QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 3 2007, 10:50 PM) i dont really get this, why say if reinvest then average cost lowered down?do you mean: if initially i invest RM2500, for 10000unit, average cost RM0.25, then i reinvest the dividend to get extra 500units, then my average cost becomes RM0.238?(average cost = Rm2500/10500units) if thats the case, its the same as deduct the dividend amount received from your initial investment of RM2500, also can lower down ur average cost right? |
Dec 4 2007, 03:59 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
May I know what's the tax rate that will be used here ? 27% or 28% ?
| Change to: | 0.0270sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:12 PM |