128 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund

kingkong81
post Nov 3 2007, 10:07 PM

1,351 posts

Juz to add some comments on the claiming back the tax on distribution.

I personally do not prefer to claim back. Coz this might actually raise the eyes & ears of the LHDN.

A story fr my upline, last time she oso thought that she should claim back the excess tax. After filing back all the claim, she got it back, but LHDN pay her a visit. They starts to ask for the receipts/documents for cars, house, investment, etc. etc. When u file the claim, the LHDN suddenly realised that actually you got lots of money n yet your income tax is still in low tax bracket.

So, for those small amount of tax claim, you actually end up with more trouble. Juz give it to government to build our nation tongue.gif

This situation might not happened to everyone though.

My 2 cents smile.gif

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Nov 3 2007, 10:08 PM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 3 2007, 10:23 PM

52,874 posts

How about life insurance? Shall we file for tax relief too? Would I face the same situation as you described earlier?
kingkong81
post Nov 3 2007, 10:32 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 3 2007, 10:23 PM)
How about life insurance? Shall we file for tax relief too? Would I face the same situation as you described earlier?
First of all, the excess tax claim is for the distribution, i.e consider a type of income. So, this one you are filing for a claim.

Life Insurance is different. For life insurance, you are actually filing for tax relief/rebate.
I'm not sure how much is the tax rebate, i suppose it is a few thousand.
It is juz similar to the rebate for buying books (RM500) or the medical fees.

In conclusion, Life Insurance you have to file for rebate during your submission of income tax...if not, your tax will be higher lor.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 3 2007, 10:34 PM

52,874 posts

kingkong81, thanks for the explaination. I'm noob in taxation.

My agent advised not to file the distribution since the amount is just petty.

This post has been edited by David83: Nov 3 2007, 10:34 PM
kingkong81
post Nov 3 2007, 10:36 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 3 2007, 10:34 PM)
kingkong81, thanks for the explaination. I'm noob in taxation.

My agent advised not to file the distribution since the amount is just petty.
U r welcome. I'm oso not too knowledgable in taxation...very complex rclxub.gif

Yep...not worth it for the petty amount, then LHDN come knocking on your door. laugh.gif
Jordy
post Nov 3 2007, 11:26 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 3 2007, 10:07 PM)
Juz to add some comments on the claiming back the tax on distribution.

I personally do not prefer to claim back. Coz this might actually raise the eyes & ears of the LHDN.

A story fr my upline, last time she oso thought that she should claim back the excess tax. After filing back all the claim, she got it back, but LHDN pay her a visit. They starts to ask for the receipts/documents for cars, house, investment, etc. etc. When u file the claim, the LHDN suddenly realised that actually you got lots of money n yet your income tax is still in low tax bracket.

So, for those small amount of tax claim, you actually end up with more trouble. Juz give it to government to build our nation  tongue.gif

This situation might not happened to everyone though.

My 2 cents  smile.gif
Definitely this doesn't affect me..
I'm a student, not working, so I should be tax free..
Therefore I can claim back my tax without problem.. smile.gif

Basically, you should only claim back your tax if you're clean and the amount is at least RM300, only worth the trouble..

This post has been edited by Jordy: Nov 3 2007, 11:28 PM
lelong1234
post Nov 4 2007, 12:37 AM

76 posts

oh.. understand now.. thanks for all the clarifications.
leekk8
post Nov 5 2007, 10:22 AM

1,059 posts

Next year onwards, we can't claim back the excessive tax of distribution, as Single Tier Tax System will be effective next year.

Anyway, try to look at the distribution voucher, there is only a portion of distribution will be taxed...so, if you get RM100 distribution, definitely you won't be taxed at RM27. Maybe only RM30 from the RM100 need to be taxed, so, you are only charged RM30x27%=RM8.10 for tax.
TSdzi921
post Nov 5 2007, 02:53 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

leekk8
post Nov 5 2007, 03:10 PM

1,059 posts

Public Mutual will launch 2 new funds, which are Public Sector Select Fund and Public Islamic Sector Select Fund.
I_bryan
post Nov 5 2007, 03:44 PM

188 posts

recently see DJ drop quite alot, HSI also drop 2000+ last fri n today....wat happen to the mkt?
SUSDavid83
post Nov 5 2007, 06:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Nov 5 2007, 03:10 PM)
Public Mutual will launch 2 new funds, which are Public Sector Select Fund and Public Islamic Sector Select Fund.
Both also sector funds ... not really interested on them.
mr_ashraf
post Nov 5 2007, 07:23 PM

259 posts

red again...
Kelvinwkw
post Nov 5 2007, 08:14 PM

441 posts

luckily i let go my fund on friday...
SUSDavid83
post Nov 5 2007, 08:15 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kelvinwkw @ Nov 5 2007, 08:14 PM)
luckily i let go my fund on friday...
But still you're selling on Friday's NAV.
TSdzi921
post Nov 6 2007, 10:51 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

TSdzi921
post Nov 6 2007, 10:53 AM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Wow, a bloody day for PM yesterday. Second day already

PCSF bleeds the most. 2 days down 5.xx%

Jordy, still holding PCSF?
bluegreen
post Nov 6 2007, 11:43 AM

95 posts

I want to ask, does Singapore have Public Mutual? or some other investments worth looking into?

Since its all red for PM, is it a good time now to buy some funds? ie PBADF etc
kingkong81
post Nov 6 2007, 12:02 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(bluegreen @ Nov 6 2007, 11:43 AM)
I want to ask, does Singapore have Public Mutual? or some other investments worth looking into?

Since its all red for PM, is it a good time now to buy some funds? ie PBADF etc
I dun think so there is Public Mutual in Singapore.

Anyway, foreigners still can invest in Public Mutual using their passport.

Yep...now is a good time to shoot a few
Jordy
post Nov 6 2007, 06:42 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 5 2007, 06:10 PM)
Both also sector funds ... not really interested on them.
Adding on, both also are local funds, so they are open to EPF investment scheme.

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Nov 6 2007, 10:53 AM)
Wow, a bloody day for PM yesterday. Second day already

PCSF bleeds the most. 2 days down 5.xx%

Jordy, still holding PCSF?
Yes, of course I'm still holding on to it, but my margin is still well above 13% for PCSF smile.gif
I bought at low, so still not affecting my profit yet.
You still not yet get back into equity?

128 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:39 PM