post Dec 10 2007, 09:42 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Dec 9 2007, 08:56 AM)
Wow... got FREE GIFT ah  rclxms.gif
Haha, so observant smile.gif
It's just a way of saying thanks to my client.

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 9 2007, 09:06 AM)
I didn't notice his signature too.

I'm wondering what's the free gift. hmm.gif
It will definitely depend on the investment amount smile.gif
But of course cannot expect something very big lo, hehe.
Jordy
post Dec 17 2007, 04:56 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Dzi, I was afraid that you would do this move wink.gif
When time has come that I switched out of PCSF, you switched in.
Really surprises me that you made such a daring move. I really salute you la bro notworthy.gif
I was wondering why are you so confident of China market now?
Jordy
post Dec 26 2007, 01:33 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

That is indeed good news to you bro.
Looks like you have something to cheer for christmas tongue.gif
Hoorah to you.

PCSF closed on Monday at 0.2570.
Looks like almost a 1 sen gain to you.
Bravo rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: Dec 26 2007, 01:34 PM
Jordy
post Dec 29 2007, 11:30 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

My funds are recovering, and I received my statement for the distribution on PFEDF biggrin.gif
It looked good, as I got quite a hefty amount of extra units in my portfolio, and as the NAV of PFEDF is recovering to the cost I went in, basically the distributed amount is my profit biggrin.gif
Jordy
post Dec 30 2007, 03:32 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 29 2007, 11:32 PM)
Glad to hear that. I got 2 funds are below break even boundary. Two more are doing moderately.
Your PFEPRF still hasn't break even?
Another one should be PCSF that you just bought I assume?
I think you better do something more constructive with your PFEPRF, because that will pull down your whole portfolio.
Jordy
post Dec 30 2007, 11:27 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 30 2007, 04:26 PM)
Nope ... my PFEPRF average unit cost is 0.2647 while Thursday NAV is at 0.2464.

As for PCSF, I switched into with average unit cost is 0.2629.

What you suggest to do with my PFEPRF?
Just as I expected, these 2 funds are still dragging your portfolio down.
Well, I suggest you switch it into local funds.
Most of my clients are in PIDF, and they are happy with it, whereas at the same time, my client who invested in PCSF is not that happy.
To those clients that have followed my advice, they will gain handsomely when our local market boost smile.gif
It's just a matter of time our market and neighbouring markets boost.
Jordy
post Dec 31 2007, 11:10 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 31 2007, 06:35 AM)
So, you're suggesting PIDF? How about PRSF or PITTIKIAL?
PIDF certainly has shown its strength previously and also recently.
So I have strong faith in PIDF, as well as PIX.
PRSF is one good fund to pick up too now, as it has been beaten down pretty badly these 2 months.
I'm not so sure about PITTIKAL though. It has disadvantage as it was a closed fund, because long term investors might find it difficult to top up their account when needed.
Jordy
post Jan 2 2008, 07:03 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jan 1 2008, 02:13 PM)
Any one still holding the PCSF and PFEPRF beside me.
These were the funds that I switched out from.
I like other funds which are slow but has higher growth potential than those fast paced but short term funds now.

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Jan 2 2008, 08:29 AM)
Me too holding PCSF. Already starting to make a little money from it. Hope it will go up further faster. These days HS seems to be slower where KLCI like lembu gila
That was why I am recommending PIDF at the moment. Our local market has been doing well now with better progress. For 2007 our local market has beaten other regional markets and most of the global markets.
So I am proud of it smile.gif
No one will know where is China going come Olympics. People are being cautious and also watching the global markets.
Jordy
post Jan 5 2008, 10:04 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 3 2008, 09:19 PM)
it's going red most of the days now for mutual funds...
so can we on hold our purchase first?
why not apply the same rule on stocks as what we do on mutual funds

buy low and sell high... the way i see... better don't buy first...
wait till it drop...then only buy...
afterall, mutual fund is almost same as stock...difference is we ask pro ppl to help us invest..instead of we ourselves investing it...
so i believe...the rule of buy low and sell high should be applied to mutual fund as well...

no need do cost averaging 100% of the time...
This buy low sell high is applicable for anything. We don't need to think to know that it is a must.
The concept with unit trust is the timeframe that you allow it to work.
You can definitely buy low and sell high, but if you keep for a longer period, it will make up for the little lost.
The problem with many people is they see the few % of downside risk as a very important factor, but they forget about the higher potential upside gain.
We need to see both ways, so doing cost averaging is important no matter which way the market is going.
Now, do you see the picture? smile.gif
Jordy
post Jan 8 2008, 01:25 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I have switched my PBADF into PBICMF for a realised gain of 16.5%.
I may have missed my profit of 20%, but one must not be too greedy right? smile.gif So I am happy with this already. Now I just need to keep my eyes on PSEASF as I have already gained over 5% on it. Once it hits 10%, I will considering to switch it as well.
How are you guys doing with your funds during such volatility?
Jordy
post Jan 9 2008, 06:36 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 8 2008, 01:38 PM)
As for my portfolio, PFEPRF, PCSF and PSEASF are still at lost region. My PSEASF has a SRR of -2.6% with average unit cost of 0.2567.

Jordy, you constantly top up your PSEASF?
Looks like your portfolio needs a little adjustment. Major problem with your holdings there, except for PSEASF.
I do not top up my PSEASF, just let it be. I may consider topping it, but will have to look at how this month goes.
Chances are high that Fed cuts rate again this month, so I'll give it a few more days.

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Jan 8 2008, 05:53 PM)
As of Yesterday:

PCSF -7.77%
PSEASF +2.23%
PSmallcap +18.11%
Ittikal +14.9%

i am thinking of giving up on PCSF...but...too much at stake...
You still can hold on to your PCSF, as the impact of Olympics hasn't really been felt yet.
With Chinese New Year and Olympics coming, they will boost PCSF by a bit.
You might consider topping up your PCSF while it is still low now to average down your cost smile.gif
Jordy
post Jan 12 2008, 01:28 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 12 2008, 01:23 PM)
Local funds have gained a lot lately due to the upward trend. I missed the boat again. doh.gif
Hmm, should have expected this to happen.
Good news for my clients as they have gotten 5.8% and 4% respectively for 2 months.
As for me, I have also enjoyed a piece of the local boost from my PSEASF smile.gif
Jordy
post Jan 12 2008, 11:53 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(oocyte @ Jan 12 2008, 04:27 PM)
whoa!!!!
my PIDF gives me 4% in 2weeks..!!!
Yes, that is why I have been recommending PIDF to my clients.
Those that agreed to my advice are reaping the benefits now already smile.gif
Jordy
post Jan 13 2008, 10:08 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Sorry for interrupting this little discussion, but in UT as you said, we leave the decisions to the capable hands of fund managers.
Cherroy has the point that this is getting a little out of topic smile.gif
We should be discussing the overall performance of PM funds, so the overall market PE should be discussed under the Stocks section.
That way, more people would benefit from this discussion, rather than us who are investing in UT. Maybe a thread could be started in Stocks section, and the posts can be combined there?
This is just a suggestion, please don't take it as flaming smile.gif

Regards
Jordy
post Jan 13 2008, 11:09 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 13 2008, 10:26 AM)
You are right. To tell you the truth I am fairly new to PM. I am just a junior in PM.
But i do take the hint  from PM to advise clients basing on PE for asset allocations and to switch funds.

Do you mind to share your own methods to advise your clients in particulars ?  And if your clients call you up and tell you CI is at all time high of 1500 pts. What would you say to them ?  Thank you in advance.
I have met many clients over the previous weeks that told me CI is very high and all when I suggested them PIDF.
As you already know, since a few of our blue chips are in plantation sector, the high CPO price now is our catalyst for growth.
PIDF has sound investment in SIME and IOICORP, so when these counters appreciate, it will translate to higher NAV for PIDF.
I even recommended my clients to invest into PIDF before SIME's relisting, some heeded but some insisted not to.
Proven true enough that we are experiencing highs after highs, like what happened to Hang Seng previously.
We have the fundamentals to push our market, so we do not have to worry too much.

By the way, did you find out your agent's to this question? Maybe you could share it here so I could learn something as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jan 13 2008, 11:11 AM
Jordy
post Jan 13 2008, 09:46 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 13 2008, 11:27 AM)
To tell you the truth, i invested quite heavily as an investor with my agent in PIDF. And i would like to thank her for showing me the direction like you. She helps me a lot and therefore it is fair that i have to do my home works  to learn from you.

Now, i just join PM as a junior agent. But you are odeli an established Unit Trust Consultant,or Group Manager and I think this  is fair that i learn from Sifu like you ! What do mean you we have fundamentals ?  Do you think if i just mention the same word " fundamentals"  to my clients is good enough ? Thank you.
It is just my 2 sen opinion that PIDF should have potential to go up in short run or possible 1 year period cos palm oil factor. From now on KLSE is going to be volatile cos foreign funds come and exit in bulks like the elephants. The smaller animals like the DIY individual investors have to watch their steps.  And they ( hedge funds ) may see short term opportunity to invest or play  in Malaysia.

But I personally would like my clients to know the Consumer Theme Fund, in the long run, it looks good ( as per info from PM ) but hard to see results in short run. The final decision come from the clients. I got client invested in PIDF  now decides to put in more into Consumer Fund. As you know, it is not the goal of PM to over perform in short run of less than 1 year.

The one thing i prefer Consumer fund over China Fund cos the fund manager has the choice to increase/decrease weightages in China and it is defensive in nature. And the companies selected by PM have businesses all over the world such as Sony, Canon, LG, Samsung, Nintendo , Nestle etc. In China, they are investing into Milk Powder Co ( consumer items ) selectively and it sounds wonder to me. Consumer spending is on the uptrend  in Asia ( includes India ). And consumer spending in US could improve after US election. The new US Government is likely to be better than Bush Adm from economics point of view. I just predict rather making assumptions. you can disagree, no doubt .  I believe the fund would not invest a lot in China until China mkt corrects substantially.
First of all, congratulations for you to have learned so much in such a short time. I am impressed as I have not seen many new agents like you smile.gif
I am not any senior than you in PM, but I have been interested in finance and investment 8 years ago, thanks to my parents.
As for advice, I might be wrong in what I am saying, because not everyone is perfect. We learn from each other all the time, just as I learned from you about Consumer Themes fund.

Second, if your client invests in CT fund right at this very moment, he would only expect to see greater movements 3-5 weeks into trading.
So, you should advise your client to be patient, while the auditing and stocks selection take place. From my experience, a lot of clients would get tired of results after 3 weeks. So normally they will make the wrong move by redeeming early.
It is wise not to name the stocks that might be in the fund manager's choice because some potential clients might not be investing into the fund after knowing the possible stocks.

On the political side over in the US, I must admit that Bush is not so financially savvy, but we can't blame him, as it is not one of the criteria for selection in the office. The main man behind the economy of US is the Chief Economist and the Fed. So, election or not, I don't think it would change the economy of the country just like that. Mind you, that the deficit US is facing now has been there for over a decade now, so it needs time to heal.
So, we should not recommend certain funds just because the President might be changed smile.gif
Finally, I must congratulate you for making a great choice by joining in the unit trust industry, and good luck in your career.

Regards
Jordy
post Jan 14 2008, 04:04 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:48 PM)
How you all can get the PE of KLCI? You ownself calculate it or get the data from elsewhere?

Since many PM funds investing in oversea now, should we monitor the PE of whole world market?
We would not want to confuse our clients by all these PE talks, because this should be the worry of fund managers.
We (agents and investors) do not have to worry about the PE at all, as we're not managing the portfolio.
So, we should get it clear and stop the PE discussions here, agree? smile.gif
I believe there are still many beginners here, and our job is to make them understand the basic and benefits of UT.
So, lets continue our PM talk aye? laugh.gif
Jordy
post Jan 14 2008, 05:07 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 14 2008, 04:14 PM)
You are the big brother here. If you say so, I follow.

But in all investment plans, you need to have an exit plan. No Plan = Planning to fail. Are you the one who says it ?

"Investing is not Risky, Being out of control is Risky" . " Each Plan has a Price"

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif Don"t leave your clients suffer after investing with you laugh.gif
Come on, as an agent you should know that UT was "initially" meant for passive and long-term investment.
I only look for clients who have a timeframe of at least 2 years.
Those with timeframe of less than 2 years, I would suggest them to invest somewhere else.
This is done to protect their money, as I would like all my clients to enjoy the same benefits that I have enjoyed.
As I have mentioned before, the reason I became agent is not to earn money, but I want to help others to save and earn.
If you're different from other agents, then you stand to have a better chance to stand out.

One thing that I have to clarify here. I am no big brother, as I have no rank here smile.gif
Jordy
post Jan 16 2008, 06:20 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(spermatogenesis @ Jan 16 2008, 03:59 PM)
market keep in downtrend for da pass 3 days...
I do not really worry about the short term trend.
As long as what I am investing in is profitable in the long term, it is still better than keeping in the safe smile.gif
Jordy
post Jan 16 2008, 09:32 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jan 16 2008, 07:01 PM)
tomolo my pcsf => 0.22x rclxub.gif
That is not so good isn't it?
I know the feeling too, but luckily my impact is not that great as I have locked in 20% of my investment.
Now I am looking for chance to lock in the other portions part by part.
Maybe you could cut loss if your loss is not that great?

18 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:33 AM