INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

ac_N1
post Sep 2 2007, 11:34 PM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

My computer suddenly shut down by itself.. well...... not really shut down completely, the cpu LED is still on. Izzit my power supply problem? Check this out

Temperatures
Motherboard 37 °C (99 °F)
CPU 35 °C (95 °F)
Aux 45 °C (113 °F)
Seagate ST3160815A 39 °C (102 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 3125 RPM
Chassis 2637 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 1.52 V
+2.5 V 2.61 V
+3.3 V 3.42 V
+5 V 5.19 V
+12 V 7.10 V <---- is this normal?
+5 V Standby 5.13 V
VBAT Battery 3.39 V

ac_N1
post Sep 3 2007, 06:38 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 3 2007, 12:15 AM)
Pals.. seems like ur 12v rails wasnt that stable. What PSU ur using at the moment?
Currently using PowerLogic 450W 225W true power psu.

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 3 2007, 12:25 AM)
12V running at 7+V is nor normal at all. rclxub.gif

ever clear cmos?
i tried clear cmos edi.... doesn,t help doh.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 3 2007, 12:35 AM)
might be reading error? Haha.. Try clear ur cmos and see hows the things go. Btw, what mobo are u using ac_N1?
Using shuttle AV49P mobo.

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 3 2007, 12:55 AM)
+12V that low is really dangerous
All your drives will be in danger....
Guess time to find myself a new psu shakehead.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 24 2007, 11:45 PM

1,029 posts

Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type ITE IT8705F (ISA 290h)

Temperatures
Motherboard 37 °C (99 °F)
CPU 33 °C (91 °F)
Aux 42 °C (108 °F)
Seagate ST3160815A 38 °C (100 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 3013 RPM
Chassis 2637 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 1.50 V
+2.5 V 2.61 V
+3.3 V 3.42 V
+5 V 5.00 V
+12 V 8.19 V
+5 V Standby 5.00 V
VBAT Battery 3.06 V

I found out that my +12V line voltage is way too low blink.gif I've changed my psu and it only increase the voltage by 1V shakehead.gif
Resetting the BIOS doesn't help doh.gif Is that means my mobo die edi? cry.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 24 2007, 11:58 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 24 2007, 11:49 PM)
8.19v for 12v!!??! blink.gif

is it the reading is not accurate?? how about using pcprobe??
It's accurate..... test edi cry.gif
Previously it was 7.3V... I change the psu and the reading goes up to 8V rclxub.gif
How come ah? icon_question.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 25 2007, 12:12 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 25 2007, 12:04 AM)
Power supply almost kong already? Not enough juice... hmm.gif
I change new power supply edi leh doh.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 26 2007, 08:32 PM

1,029 posts

Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type ITE IT8705F (ISA 290h)

Temperatures
Motherboard 36 °C (97 °F)
CPU 33 °C (91 °F)
Aux 42 °C (108 °F)
Seagate ST3160815A 36 °C (97 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 2961 RPM
Chassis 2637 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 1.52 V
+2.5 V 2.61 V
+3.3 V 3.42 V
+5 V 5.00 V
+12 V 7.87 V
+5 V Standby 5.00 V
VBAT Battery 3.06 V

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 25 2007, 12:21 AM)
hmm...perhaps just try plug in another psu and try to see whether the psu you currently using is ok or not. or try change the power socket. Just my 2 cents
QUOTE(KahLooN @ Sep 25 2007, 01:00 AM)
@sang_karim
Wow, 38.9sec very fast. You can squeeze more on the ram timing i think, maybe making it 2-3-3-8. rclxms.gif
@raymond
Sorry to hear that your grandma passed away. sad.gif Anyway cheer up. As for the 7600GT, i think now Lowyat mostly carry the Winfast model, A7600GT. Intrested eh? tongue.gif
@fylon
I try play with DDR booster before. Yeap, you set the voltage through a potentiometer knob on the module itself. Using it then you will not be able to change the bios VDimm, but not all mobo can sustain till 3.9V. smile.gif
@ac_N1
That is weird, changing new PSU and yet still low. Perhaps power cord issue? hmm.gif
Just change my power cord.... This value comes out shakehead.gif Time to find a new mobo i think cry.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 26 2007, 09:32 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 08:42 PM)
@ac_N1
Seems like only ur +12v rail was having problem huh.. The still fine. hmm.gif How u sure is the mobo problem? Btw, have u try with other better PSU before? Like Silverstone and etcs?
Last time i use PowerLogic 450W 220W true power psu, then i change to new iCute ATX-450W/P4 Twinfan also same.... Guess not the power supply plbm hmm.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 26 2007, 10:34 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 10:18 PM)
Ic.. Wah.. AkuComel agian? Haha.. I was scare with this brand already. I just exploded mine not long agian. OC until the PSU run on of juice and go died. Btw, did u face this problem when ur using PowerLogic?
Facing the same plbm when using PowerLogic la.... that's why i change my psu ma sweat.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 26 2007, 10:53 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 10:36 PM)
Ic.. That weird! Did u try ur Power Logic with ur fren? And see the reading?
nop.... haiyoh, dunwan touch my fren pc. Later they sure bising sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
By the way.... which mobo would be a better choise?
ASUS P4P800-X RM250
MSI 865PE Neo2-V RM230

This post has been edited by ac_N1: Sep 26 2007, 10:54 PM
ac_N1
post Sep 26 2007, 11:11 PM

1,029 posts

What's my Super-Pi results? Dunno see which one sweat.gif

ac_N1
post Sep 27 2007, 06:40 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 26 2007, 11:25 PM)
Wah.. Ur pi score for 1M is 1mins 22.078s... By then, ya still can find new S478 mobo? As for the price u given for ASUS P4P800-X and MSI 865PE Neo2-V it seems like is whole new mobo price.
Yep.... Still can find new s478 mobo out there brows.gif nod.gif nod.gif This is the new s478 mobo price :-

I guess u cant find these mobo around KL anymore. My hometown very few ppl play computer one... that's y got these old stocks biggrin.gif

ac_N1
post Sep 27 2007, 06:46 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 27 2007, 09:28 AM)
@ac_N1
as i know that your mobo is quite a good quality. you can see that sang_karim is ocing quite well with the same mobo like yours. your superpi result is as expected from a 2.4b. maybe is lack of the fsb bandwidth as well as the ram speed. what divider you currently running??
Now all my rigs is set at default due to my 12V line issue. Sad cry.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 27 2007, 08:39 PM

1,029 posts

U guys have any experience on BIOS checksum error? rclxub.gif How to recover from it? Cos my housemate that using the same mobo as me got this problem. Any idea? notworthy.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 27 2007, 09:14 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 27 2007, 08:56 PM)
Bios Checksum error? And keep ask for bios recovery and search for floopy?
QUOTE(sang_karim @ Sep 27 2007, 09:02 PM)
hmm... i think u need to change the mobo battery ... correct me if i'm wrong coz that what happen to me last time ...  smile.gif
Yep.. it keep ask for recovery disk.. When i put in the installer cd it says that the BIOS version in the CD is too old doh.gif

I'll try to change the mobo battery. What if it's not the battery fault?
ac_N1
post Sep 27 2007, 10:26 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Sep 27 2007, 10:21 PM)
brows.gif  something i molest everyday on my s478 rig... now with backlighting... *ahem* something something 15 *ahem*

i m pokai now coz of this baby  sweat.gif
Lol.... molest ur rigs brows.gif Bet that's the best word u can use cool.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 28 2007, 10:22 PM

1,029 posts

Since my P4 2.4B it not so OCable and the FSB is low, considering to change my processor hmm.gif
Do u guys have any idea how much a used P4 3.4EE will cost?
ac_N1
post Sep 28 2007, 11:24 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 28 2007, 10:26 PM)
I think the 3.4EE is very very hard to get even thought you want to buy it.I think the proc can fetch around RM500. sweat.gif
There's one fellow asking for Rm600 for him to let go his P4 3.4EE. Almost the same price as C2D E6550 blink.gif This price is far apart from my expected price sweat.gif
ac_N1
post Sep 29 2007, 10:03 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 29 2007, 09:10 AM)
@ac_N1
not worth getting p4EE, normally the sky high price not worth the performance for our old school rig. i would advice that you search for 3GHz or above P4E, the prescott that with HT, 800fsb and 1mb L2 cache. at least you can get it at reasonable price and its ocable provided that you pair it with a 3rd party cooler. wink.gif
If like tat any idea how much an used P4 3.0 with 800fsb abd 1mb L2 cache will cost?
ac_N1
post Oct 2 2007, 09:50 PM

1,029 posts

Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type Winbond W83627THF (ISA 290h)
Motherboard Name Asus P4C800 / P4P800 / P4P8X
Chassis Intrusion Detected No

Temperatures
Motherboard 41 °C (106 °F)
CPU 38 °C (100 °F)
Seagate ST3160815A 37 °C (99 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 3277 RPM
Chassis 2700 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 1.60 V
+3.3 V 3.38 V
+5 V 5.03 V
+12 V 12.34 V
+5 V Standby 5.11 V

Finally..... My mobo 12V line is back to life!!!!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 2 2007, 11:43 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 2 2007, 11:02 PM)
@Edmin & Kabu,

U two dont bully me la.. I just home from grandma dinner! No time prepare for OC. Haha.. Just installed in new PSU. Damn.. I really need a casing now.. My current one is mini tower.. Too small cannot fix the PSU. I got put the PSU on top on my casing le.. Cannot put into it. mad.gif

Btw, the PSU really shiok! Comes with the human interface watt meter. Haha.. With this PSU my total power consumption only 100W... laugh.gif

P/s: Voltage is stable. +12v rail never go below 12v.. brows.gif

Guess im have invest enough onto this rigs... Gather almost all the most high end stuff for S478 generation already. Gona named is as Black Pearl! laugh.gif I had grabbed Busta 68GT.. drool.gif
Waa..... Black Pearl shocking.gif I'm tring to lay my hands on some high end stuff also icon_idea.gif

0.0465sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:31 AM