INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

ac_N1
post Oct 3 2007, 10:33 PM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 3 2007, 09:07 AM)
@ac_N1
what did you done to make it back to 12v?? share share a bit smile.gif

One of the power connector female pin too big, so the pin connection become loose. Jus need to do some minor repair on the pin icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Oct 3 2007, 10:01 AM)
I tot wanna sell my Corsair XMS TwinX 1GB(512MBx2) and get KVR 1GBx2 since i can't OC my rig caused by my Mobo. Anyone interested? How much do you guys wanna offer?
Come come... cheap cheap sell me notworthy.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 4 2007, 07:45 PM

1,029 posts

waa... suddenly become become antivirus topic sweat.gif By the way, how do u guys count how many programmes running in the background? Count at the task manager process tree? hmm.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 4 2007, 07:59 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 4 2007, 07:49 PM)
Wow... Get my monsta part! 68GT on hand! Hahah.. Wanna do some benchi later! brows.gif

@sang

Yup.. Mostly is count from the process tree lo..
Dun forget to share ur benchmark score!!!!!! By the way.... what's ur target score for the card???

I jus hav 25 tasks running when idle brows.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 6 2007, 08:52 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 5 2007, 10:00 PM)
the 8ghz is not 478, i think for 478 is around5~6ghz

check this out. keke.... brows.gif

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=59753
The northwood 1.8Ghz sure is s478 processor. Wondering how they clock it up till 4.072Ghz shocking.gif
Nice website there notworthy.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 6 2007, 11:53 AM

1,029 posts

I am looking for performance ram now. Between XMS and HyperX, which 1 is better icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 6 2007, 07:40 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 6 2007, 04:01 PM)
yea. its a hot chip too. red hot and ocable. need to do more for cooling. i didnt see any watercooling 478 user here. maybe all already migrate. tongue.gif

@ac_N1
are you going to start play oc?? brows.gif

but if you think of buying high performance ram just to push your 2.4b, i dont think there is a need there as you can run it at 1:1 and push till the limit. at 1:1 if able to push till ram stock speed, then you are reaching to 3.6GHz. which is very very nice oc for that chip.

unless you want to play with a better cpu like prescott. thumbup.gif
QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 6 2007, 05:16 PM)
@Kabu

Haha.. Prescott is HOT & SPICY! brows.gif Ur P4 is northy? I thought is was prescott! laugh.gif

@ac_N1

By then i had told u before. Hah.. Not so worth to get high performance ram actually. If u really want, just got a better one will. I mean better then value ram type.
Wanna learn all about OC with this rigs before switch to C2D nod.gif
Guess i'll quit aiming for performance ram wink.gif
Jus bought 2 more D43 ram in Garage sales. So i'll be running on 4x256mb DDR400 D43 hynix ram. As i heard the D43 chip is quite good in OC.
Izzit? I'm still looking for P4 3.0E icon_rolleyes.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 6 2007, 10:45 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Oct 6 2007, 09:17 PM)
@ac_N1
D43 is good for high speed with loosen timing as sometimes it depend on the luck also. Last time i do play with D43 before and manage to get 260FSB@2.5-4-4-8. smile.gif
@edministrator
What kind of stuff you let him play? tongue.gif
@raymond5105
I agree also, P4 still have its life span as it still capable of doing current task. biggrin.gif
Thanks for ur info but what's the FSB:DRAM ratio u use? hmm.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 6 2007, 09:43 PM)
aiya, just a little toy only. his zalman gc heatsink. he change his to fatality and spondsor me his stock zalman sink that come along with his 76gs. tongue.gif so excited. rclxm9.gif

its far alot better than my 73gt stock heatsink, the half plastic type. doh.gif

@ac_N1
running at 4 sticks of ram 'may' hold your oc result. is your 2.4b max oc is till 2.6ghz?? i doubt that. hmm.gif
Havent hit the wall at 2.6Ghz, the plbm is i'm still using original HSF doh.gif dare not go any further wink.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 6 2007, 11:11 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 6 2007, 10:53 PM)
@ac_N1
just keep an eye on the temp, if not too high then its no problem to go higher, i think running at 2.8GHz should be fine if the load temp<55C. smile.gif

any heatsink in mind?? brows.gif
My system when idle temp at 38C-39C But when running sp2004 the temperature peak up to 50C shocking.gif Do u think it's safe to push any further?

Considering to buy this for my rigs cool2.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 6 2007, 11:42 PM

1,029 posts

I also scare leak la... That's why i say "consider" sweat.gif But then i dunno what cooler i should go for... hmm.gif I hav Thermalright XP120 in my mind but i dont think can find it in market nowadays wink.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 7 2007, 01:19 AM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 7 2007, 12:03 AM)
Well well.. I smell something new here.. New toys.. Water cooling.. New RAM kit and etcs.. Wow.. Man.. This thread is getting hotter then ever! Haha..

@kabu
Playing with ur new toys now? brows.gif How was it? Satisfied ur need? Hehe.. U grab over edmin zalman gc cooler? How it perform? Haha.. I havent changed mine into FS7 yet.. XFX stock cooler hang my card on 60+'c when benchmarking. OT: Kabu.. U celebrate raya ar? sweat.gif

@ac_N1
Now ur running on 4x 256mb? Haha.. All D43 ram now? Thats glad.. But as KahLooN says, it depend on ur luck as well.. If ur current ram cant high the speed u one.. Do consider mine.. brows.gif My d43 can hit 255mhz stable. By then, changing to water cooling was not advisable la.. 1st, waste of $$, 2nd risky, 3rd high maintenance fee and etc.. Better dont.

Anyways, just some update for my rigs. laugh.gif Currently 3.67Ghz @ 245mhz with 2.5-3-3-6 timing. Ofcause my style, 1:1 ratio.. brows.gif Quite tight imo but the xms still mange to handle it.
Ok k... then i'll go for air cooling nod.gif
This is quite Good i think. Any comment?

@fylon
Let's see how for my D43 will go 1st icon_idea.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 7 2007, 10:03 AM

1,029 posts

I already know every chip/processor is unique theory. I'm jus using single sided. What's the difference between single and double sided? rclxub.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 7 2007, 11:34 PM

1,029 posts

Zalman Fatal1ty FS-C77 out of my budget laa... new one will cost 200 over shakehead.gif
XP120 hard to find nowadays.... Hav one XP90 in Garage sales but i some1 already bought it sweat.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 8 2007, 07:12 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Oct 8 2007, 12:41 PM)
Zalman?Haha i got 1.VF-700Cu for gfx card. Now sitting there collecting dust coz can't fit my 7800GS.
Sell it to me is better than let it collect dust drool.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 8 2007, 11:17 PM

1,029 posts

Finally find Thermalright XP90 in GarageSales thumbup.gif Will COD with AoiNatsume tmr icon_idea.gif
After that i'll try to boom my P4 2.4b, see how far it can go brows.gif

This post has been edited by ac_N1: Oct 8 2007, 11:18 PM
ac_N1
post Oct 8 2007, 11:33 PM

1,029 posts

@sang
About the mobo that u r using, where to set the FSB:DRAM option? I cant find it wink.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 8 2007, 11:50 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Oct 8 2007, 11:39 PM)
u ratio u have to set at DRAM Frequency ... if u select 400MHz .. it will set to 1:1 divider ... if u select 320MHz (if not mistaken) .. it will set to 5:4 divider ... don't set to auto ... set it manually .. hope it's help ...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok k... thanks rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Now still looking for p4 3.0E, any1 selling?

@sang
I'll still ask u for advise since we are using the same mobo notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ac_N1
post Oct 9 2007, 08:54 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 9 2007, 09:51 AM)
@ac_N1
how much is the xp90?? dont forget tell us your review on this hfs wink.gif

@Fylon
glad to know that your new hdd works perfectly. smile.gif how is the zalman hfs hunting?? brows.gif cant wait see the zalmanin your new cm casing soon. should be very cool looking pearl. hoho....
XP-90 cost me RM100. I think it's worth it cos the seller bundle it with EVERCOOL thermal paste and 92mm fan biggrin.gif

Last time when running my proc @ 2.6Ghz with stock fan, the temperature raise up to 51C at full load. Now only 39C at full load brows.gif
Wanna get a new 92mm fan soon, cos this fan noisy like hell shakehead.gif

Need to run sp2004 for how long to make sure the system is stable?
ac_N1
post Oct 9 2007, 09:57 PM

1,029 posts

can play games while running sp2004?
ac_N1
post Oct 9 2007, 10:13 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Oct 9 2007, 10:06 PM)
You will use up all memory available,how to play games man?
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 9 2007, 10:06 PM)
@ac_N1
xp90 with thermal paste and 92mm fan is quite a nice deal. smile.gif last time i saw some even sell near to 100 just for the hfs alone. you need a high cfm fan to cool it down. 92 mm is normally noisier than ordinary 120mm at the same cfm.

for me, it depends on how long you use normally. eg, if just for 5 hours a day then just prime it a little bit longer like 6-8 hours at priority 10. if can pass then mean stable to stress for that long.

like shinjite said,for maximum stable test, 24hours error free will be the best. wink.gif

i think you can get at least over 2.8GHz with the stuffs on your rig now. Congrates on the nice temp you got there. >10C difference, sure full satisfaction. thumbup.gif i experience the same on my xp120 too.
Yea... It's a good deal since it's a NMB fan thumbup.gif I will be a happy man if my proc can hit 3Ghz icon_idea.gif
The fan is really too noisy... running at over 4500rpm shocking.gif The seller say the cost him a lot last time. He recommend me to use it with fan controller sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ac_N1: Oct 9 2007, 11:07 PM
ac_N1
post Oct 10 2007, 07:57 PM

1,029 posts

Already run sp2004 for 16 hours @ 2.7Ghz without voltage mod rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ac_N1: Oct 10 2007, 07:57 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0473sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled