5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

pengster
post Sep 7 2007, 08:59 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Sep 7 2007, 08:45 PM)
I lapped it a month ago laugh.gif Temps dropped about 3C, which I think is worth the effort smile.gif
thats nice.a cheap way to cool down your proc instead of buying a good HSF laugh.gif now with your lapped NB heatsink and powerful rams,should be able to hit 3.8Ghz too or higher biggrin.gif

edit : here's my Sisandra 2007 benchies

This post has been edited by pengster: Sep 7 2007, 09:12 PM
pengster
post Sep 8 2007, 12:06 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 7 2007, 11:12 PM)
I think that it's preety good that you have reach 3.36GHz.Nice job. rclxms.gif Planning to get c2d ?
Updated your memory bandwidth.Sad to see your GC need to downclock.
I can't see the picture when i clicked on the link to enlarge it.The imageshack show nothing one?It supposed to enlarge the picture when i clicked. sweat.gif
bro,im not even up to 3.36Ghz man. laugh.gif i will migrate to C2D at the end of this year tho.after my finals.

oh sorry,let me attach them.

pengster
post Sep 8 2007, 12:47 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2007, 12:11 AM)
smile.gif thats alot better. Are you planning to get c2d?? drool.gif
something must be wrong with imageshack then.lol yeah i plan to move to C2D in a few months time.probably Penryn if its out by then. laugh.gif

@fylon
quite good scores for an old card thumbup.gif
pengster
post Sep 9 2007, 12:15 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 8 2007, 09:11 AM)
get a new floopy la. or just borrow from your tauke. kekeke......

anyway, that score is very nice already. mine last time only manage to get 6k. sad.gif
coool. Ou, we gonna lost another 478 user.
welcome to the club. thumbup.gif
not that soon lah..got budget constraint somemore laugh.gif i want to keep my s478 rig as a torrent rig or smth but i doubt my parents will allow that sad.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 8 2007, 09:42 AM)
@kabukiawie

Lol.. Hard to find floppy now. Not much ppl use nowadays. Later wanna go my fren's hse dig..

@pengster

I guess my card got alot of head room to go. Thou.. See my latest result. 8.1k. Seems like the card core & memory can hit very high speed with hynix 2.8ns chip without artifact. brows.gif

Core: 460mhz
Memory: 780mhz
Temp: 42'c (Well do in at early morning, so temp sure drop abit. biggrin.gif)

Pls: If wanna see the benchmarks analysis. Click here.
QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 8 2007, 10:40 PM)
Hm.. Actually i was hunting for some ram. Thats why im asking. Haha.. But i heard my friend says, SuperTalent wasnt use Winbond chip for their products. So, it wasnt comes with BH5 chip. Wander i that true or not.. hmm.gif

P/s: Successfully modded my GC to XT. laugh.gif
congratz thumbup.gif hows the scores now?try to hit 500mhz on core and 800mhz on the rams lah brows.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Sep 9 2007, 12:30 AM
pengster
post Sep 9 2007, 01:52 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 9 2007, 01:21 AM)
@pengster

Haha.. Dare not to say will archived the speed that u mention. But can try to make it thou. Run on 450/750 before, and it was artifact less for the card, so i assume it can hit that speed. laugh.gif

Well anyways, guys my new result.. biggrin.gif

Hit 3.75Ghz @ 3-4-4-8 timing. Gota lower then the timing to get this stable speed. Tried with 2.5-4-4-6 but unfortunately my system become not stable. Suddenly will restart. sweat.gif

if thats the case,500/800 should not be problem with the XT bios and Zalman cooler laugh.gif finally you broke the 3.6Ghz barrier too thumbup.gif can't hit 3.8?

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Sep 9 2007, 08:36 AM)
drool.gif  drool.gif  280MHZ 1:1 is really really sweet. using AMD?? i think it must be 939. tongue.gif
is it worst than last time?? hmm.......but your 6800gt cant even touch 10k is quite weird.
you ly down your casing like that all the time??  blink.gif
maybe try 3-3-3-6 if your ram wont run at c2.5. nice to see that you can proceed higher and higher. hehehe....
nolah,only when i play with my stuff laugh.gif but now lazy to put it back up.anyway i just added a 40mm fan on my NB.its freaking hot even on idle doh.gif
pengster
post Sep 9 2007, 08:36 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

but still,3.75Ghz is not bad already smile.gif

and now my rig keeps getting BSODs.happened twice today and once yesterday. doh.gif after 2 weeks no problem at 2.7Ghz this happens.haih.

p.s. yesterday's BSOD said something like this "memory write to read only memory" sweat.gif
pengster
post Sep 10 2007, 10:30 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 9 2007, 09:45 PM)
Haha.. Nop! Now going back to 3.6Ghz the most stable setting. Due can push my memory timing to 2.5-4-4-6.. And i wanna keep at 1:1 ratio. biggrin.gif

Ic.. Hm.. Ya memory setting too tight? witting something to ROM? sweat.gif
QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 9 2007, 10:01 PM)
Hmmm.....your system really unstable.....
yeah i have no idea whats wrong.first time seeing that kind of BSOD doh.gif now i don't even dare to go past 2.7Ghz.sienn. sad.gif
pengster
post Sep 12 2007, 09:26 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 10 2007, 11:11 PM)
Lol.. But can get 300mhz extra is a bonus already. Dont too sad thou.. laugh.gif Cheer up.. By the way, i guess i had found the sweet spot for my rigs. 3.67Ghz is the most stable speed i can go. Of cause i can go higher with change the ram ratio but i still prefer stick with 1:1.. So 3.67Ghz is the best point to stick with. Since my mobo cant give more then 2.85v vdimm guess is no point to get performance ram and push higher. So i let mine stick with this speed. tongue.gif
yeah.for me push 300mhz is very little already.my goal is 3Ghz laugh.gif anyway,all this happens at stock volts for everything.so maybe if i up my vdimm it'll help smile.gif
pengster
post Sep 13 2007, 10:33 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Sep 12 2007, 09:34 PM)
Woah.. Just tried C&C3 TW.. My system only can maintain 30fps eh.. During war drop until 20+... Gosh! Just on all medium setting only.. sweat.gif Dawn of war i still can maintain 40+ fps! sad.gif So bad.. Need more juice from GC! tongue.gif By then my torrent sux.. Cannot try the H264 movie. ohmy.gif
Lol.. Atleast u got 300mhz extra for stock volts ma.. Try pump in some vcore. I guess it should can help u get further. I pump mine until 1.485v eh.. icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah i've just upped my vdimm to 2.7v from the stock 2.6v and 1.535v for the vcore from the original 1.525v.eventhough its minimal,my cpu temp's quite hot.around 38c sad.gif

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Sep 13 2007, 02:16 AM)
After several days of extensive testing, I have come to the verdict that my AI7 is severely limiting my overclock. My RAMs perform perfectly fine with 255MHz in Memtest86, but error pop up in less than a second in Prime95.

My board only has 1.65v max to the NB, so that's the real limiting factor. I can't find any mods for it sad.gif
hmm.isn't the AI7 a good oc-ing board? unsure.gif

downloading the movie now.will test it tomorrow. smile.gif
pengster
post Sep 13 2007, 11:09 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 13 2007, 10:42 PM)
he AI7 can be considered as 1 of the best i865pe chipset boards at that time smile.gif
Good advantage will be the Vdimm up to 3.2V XD
yeah thats what i've heard.but he's saying that the vagp might be stopping him from going further hmm.gif

my cheap MSI mobo's vdimm can hit 3.3v XD
pengster
post Sep 13 2007, 11:17 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

CPU : P4 2.4Ghz@2.7Ghz Northwood
CPU Usage : 95%-100%
FPS : ?
Decoder : CoreAVC/AC3 filter + 6800GS PureVideo [not sure if its working xD]

i cant seem to get my fps reading thru the method you've stated earlier,shinjite.it just shows 0 for everything blink.gif
pengster
post Sep 15 2007, 12:50 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 13 2007, 11:50 PM)
Nvm its okay, how did your playback fare anyway? Choppy? tongue.gif
looks like my Purevideo aint working since my cpu utilization is almost 100% all the time.and yeah its a little choppy.im guessing 10-15fps. sad.gif

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Sep 14 2007, 10:25 PM)
just download and play the movie ... hehe

CPU : P4 3.0GHz @ 3.02GHz  laugh.gif
CPU Usage : 53%-59%
FPS : dunno how to check  sweat.gif
GC : as siggy
Decoder: dunno ...

hehe...just wanna have fun testing it only ...  laugh.gif
whoa thats not bad laugh.gif
pengster
post Sep 16 2007, 05:50 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Sep 15 2007, 08:45 PM)
hi brothers of 478 owners,
wanna ask u all if i wan to try oc my com which type of ram, will u recommend me to buy? i thought of buying hyperX 1GB kit or the crucial ballistix 1GB kit. if there is any ram out there dat is suitable for my mobo to oc pls tell me wanna join the party of oc'ing 478 socket  thumbup.gif

Added on September 15, 2007, 9:36 pmbtw, how u all check the fps for the game that u ar playing? vy curious newbie here
coz nt sure my gc is gd o nt
you can use FRAPS to measure your FPS in game.and i'd suggest you to go for the Crucial Ballistix.what graphic card are you using?

edit : @ raymond5105,do you mind updating my ram timings?its 2.5-3-3-7 @ 150Mhz DC. thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Sep 16 2007, 05:53 PM
pengster
post Sep 16 2007, 09:21 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Sep 16 2007, 06:13 PM)
yup im using xfx 7600gt, but my 3dmark 03 is bout 11k ler, i was told by other forummer if pci-e 7600gt should be bout 16k then the agp ver should be bout 14-15k (correct me if im wrong), but mine 11k mad.gif
nt sure where is wrong, some say my proc bottleneck lar
QUOTE(khai84siong @ Sep 16 2007, 07:53 PM)
ok, i'll try to oc it and try the new 3dmark03
btw when we wan to oc in the bios rite, the bios gt write that SATA drive is vy sensitive to frequencies, wat do they mean? i didnt try to oc b4 coz scare later my sata hard disk cant work later
hmm a 7600GT is a very good card for AGP system already.your FPS should be pretty alright smile.gif

like what raymond said,try to oc your proc to maybe around 3.4Ghz biggrin.gif

thanks raymond for editing smile.gif

This post has been edited by pengster: Sep 16 2007, 09:22 PM
pengster
post Oct 7 2007, 01:15 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

wah.been a week or two since i've dropped in here and so much has happened. laugh.gif having my finals so couldn't keep track on LYN sad.gif

anyway,just a little update.i think my PSU aint cutting it.2.7Ghz also not stable.i suspect after being RMA-ed the quality went down.now aiming for a OP650 if i can tongue.gif
pengster
post Oct 10 2007, 08:43 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Oct 8 2007, 02:14 AM)
how about THERMALRIGHT ULTRA 120 eXtreme, any comment bout this hsf?  hmm.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/529599

overclockalbert wanna get his hand on this, i think he will receive it this or next week, mayb
get something cheaper like the Ultima-90 or the one by Xigmatek with DHT laugh.gif but you'll have to get the s478 bracket lah.performance almost as good as the Ultra 120 Extreme.

as for the NB,there's the HR-05/SLI or Noctua NC-U6 smile.gif
pengster
post Oct 11 2007, 12:42 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(khai84siong @ Oct 10 2007, 09:19 PM)
does th xigmatek DHT, support for s478 mobo?  hmm.gif
i just found the website, didnt say bout applicable to s478 mobo

HDT-S963 >> http://www.xigmatek.com/product/air-hdts963.php
HDT-S1283 >> http://www.xigmatek.com/product/air-hdts1283.php
HDT-D1264 >> http://www.xigmatek.com/product/air-hdtd1264.php
nope it can't fit s478.thats why i said you'll have to find a s478 bracket.which im not sure if they do have it.like me now,im using an Ultra-90 with s478 bracket. smile.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 10 2007, 11:33 PM)
Just back from my fren's house. Well.. Certified that mobo and proc is dead. Now i dono wanna migrate or just get a replacement mobo and proc from garage sales. hmm.gif Any suggestion? Haha.. Well.. Was on tight budget now. Getting a replacement mobo and proc was on mind.
QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 10 2007, 11:59 PM)
Lol.. Sorry! Typo error. Oh yea.. Its the consequences of OC. laugh.gif Btw, now wanna migrate to low end mob. Between P4P800-X and P4P800 SE. Which 1 better? How about P4P800?

Hm.. Proc? Just something dont go lower then 2.8Gh lo.. By then must have HT la.. Will die without it. biggrin.gif

Added on October 11, 2007, 12:01 amHm.. Not all gota blame the PSU thou. The mobo and proc had finished its serving time. Haha.. CM psu wasnt that bad anyways..
holy sh~ dude.your nice proc and mobo gone sad.gif well if you have the cash,might as well migrate to C2D or wait for Penryn laugh.gif

p/s.hmm.i have a P4P800x lying around in my room collecting dust rolleyes.gif but i wouldn't recommend it.oc options are very limited.
pengster
post Oct 11 2007, 01:23 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

@kabukiawie

thats great man thumbup.gif maybe can try to set back to default clocks? lol
pengster
post Oct 11 2007, 08:03 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 11 2007, 08:52 AM)
i dont think it can get back to stock speed as the main part that hold me back it the vram.

Ed, he want HT, 2.8ghz+, 800fsb la. mine only 2.4GHz, 533fsb, nonHT. if he want then it will be great. hoho....straight send to his shop. thumbup.gif
whats the problem actually? unsure.gif and aint the Zalman big enough to cool the ram chips also? laugh.gif

QUOTE(edministrator @ Oct 11 2007, 09:36 AM)
wahaha, rare items does not come cheap...
nowadays,all these old school stuff are damn expensive.like those DDR1 rams and AGP cards etc doh.gif

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 11 2007, 10:47 AM)
Haha.. Just count.. If amd system, Pro + mobo + ram only 550.. If get 2nd hand s478 proc + mob at least need to spend 400.. Which 1 do u guy think?
hmm.for me i'd go for a low end X2 rig.definitely will perform better than most P4 systems.

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Oct 11 2007, 02:46 PM)
@fylon
ok, for p4p800x---> no raid, low vcore(till 1.6v), low vdimm(2.68v), no performance PAT thing like what you will find in p4p800 mobo. other stuff is very standard. Pengster and raymond is also the owner of p4p800x. you can consult them as well. wink.gif

Conclusion, the mobo is just nice and stable if you use it at stock, and not too hardcore oc. i can quite guarentee that using 1:1 on 800fsb cpu wont go far, like mine is max 3.4GHz for 2.4A(1:1) and 2.8C(5:4).

maybe you can eyeing for other option like abit board, is7 is quite a sweet board.
yeah the options are very limited.even my MSI Neo-2V has options of setting the vdimm to 3.3v and vagp to 1.8v.

so far the highest i managed with my P4P800x is 2.7Ghz from 2.4Ghz.

p/s.whats the selling price of this mobo? tongue.gif
pengster
post Oct 11 2007, 10:52 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 11 2007, 09:52 PM)
Guys, p4p800 better or p4p800-x??
QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 11 2007, 10:34 PM)
@shinjite
Thanks for the info. Alright.. Guess i had found something great.. My fren wanted sell his p4p800 & 30cap northwood proc. brows.gif Wanna grab that from him dy. Finally found some backup..
from what i've read and heard,the vanilla P4P800 is pretty good smile.gif good for you dude.30 cappers are great of oc-ing thumbup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:33 AM