5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Multimeter recommend, Learning the Basic now

cikelempadey
post May 4 2021, 08:11 AM

86 posts

uni-t multimeter quite good for hobbyist.. i bought 2 few years ago. 1 with clamp meter, 1 with extra temperature meter feature. no need fluke it gets the job done for me every single time until now. everyday use since almost everyday repair smps. also u may need both digital and analog multimeter since both have different working internal and may be useful in different testing situation. and the cheap china transistor tester also. not perfect but still very useful.

This post has been edited by cikelempadey: May 4 2021, 08:16 AM
yushin
post May 4 2021, 09:16 AM

3,329 posts

I'm a hobbyist. I think uni-T meter is already sufficient for my use.
I have multi meter for general purpose use and clamp meter that can measure DC because i mainly deal with solar.

Uni-T UT61E autoranging multimeter
Uni-T UT210E clamp meter

actually the multi meter I use most often away the workbench is Pro's kit MT-1233D. small and light easy to bring around.

This post has been edited by yushin: May 4 2021, 09:21 AM
SUSceo684
post May 4 2021, 09:36 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 4 2021, 06:34 AM)
Can you describe what are the different between brand which is more expensive ?
There are a lot of model , what is the different in model ? having extra function to test AC/DC accurate ? I prefer digital.

Do I need a separate model to test
-PC motherboard
-Fixing Phone
and etc as above?
:confuse:
Basically the minimum clamp meter you should ever use is a Uni-T. Insulation of the meter will be suspect if no name meter. NCV test. Some are special model w a smaller clamp for tight spot.

All the above desktop application you can use digital multimeter.
There is no one size fit all. It really depends on what scope one does.
Some function overlap. Some are specific to that meter type.

The fundamental differences between the normal desktop meter and clamp meter are AC amps and capacitance measurement.

Clamp meter (being indirect) can measure big AC amps. Desktop meter (direct) will probably go kaboom above 10A. Indirect still ok for electrical, better w true RMS accuacy.
-- Direct probe current measurement (in desktop meter) is for finer electronics work: much more accurate but the range is small.

Desktop multi meter can check capacitance (usually), clamp meter not covered.

Below is Kyoritsu clamp meter. Does 1000 AC A, V AC, V DC, resistance ohms and continuity. NCV indicator works anytime an AC V is detected in close proximity.

Below is knockoff Sunwa (pirated Sanwa) only does up to 0.25 AC A, V AC, V DC, resistance ohms, crude hFE for transistor, and continuity.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 4 2021, 09:58 AM
SUSceo684
post May 4 2021, 09:47 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Sorry for all those who reply in my thread.I though of buying one As for Starter who try to learn electronic but previously went back to work , doesn't have time.Now going to mco or work from home again so i have time study a bit more.

About the Budget Below RM150 ? because I really don't know the real pricing for multimeter

Reason on buying , i repeat.
-As starter or beginner learning electronic
-Want to test all my old AA or AAA battery whether which one I should throw.
-Trying to identified which part of Old spoil Motherboard/Printer/Scanner/LCD monitor and keyboard which have double tab issue.If possible ( want to revive old spoil hardware) by replacing the parts.
-Want to learn on fixing old Mobile phone which does not detect sims card , screen crack , brick and etc.Maybe need a learn soldering technical part.
-Fix old digital watch and analog clock not running.
-Fixing and testing Electronic application like Thermo Pot cannot pump water.

Not going for car battery , start with beginner multimeter first.

So which brand one do you suggest and the price ? My budget max rm200.I am not sure the actual price as mention.That is the above requirement i need for multimeter.Mostly , is to identified what is spoil in the blueprint diagram and try to find a replacement.
Multimeter will work fine for the above electronics testing application. thumbup.gif
Clamp meter only if you wanna measure AC amps in your DB box. Multimeter being direct probe will not withstand big AC amps. Itu sahaja.

Brand wise any Uni-T will work fine if you don't wanna spend too much. However, some features like auto ranging, 10A DC amps, and capacitance may only be found in higher model.

RM40 below UNI-T UT33D+ can only do V/10 A/Ω - manual range NO capacitance

RM125 SANWA DIGITAL MULTIMETER CD800A - 600V/0.4 A/Ω/100 μF capacitance
RM130 FLUKE 101 - 600V/NO A/Ω/100 μF capacitance
RM120 Kyoritsu KEW1018H - 600V/NO A/Ω/200 μF capacitance
RM150 Kyoritsu 1009 - 600V/10 A/Ω/100 μF capacitance thumbup.gif
RM170 Kyoritsu KEW1021R - 600V/10 A/Ω/1000 μF capacitance thumbup.gif

RM85 UT202A clamp meter - 600V/600 AC A, NO DC A/Ω/4mF (4000μF) capacitance. If you need bigger capacitance testing you can look at the UT 203/ UT 204, they have even higher Capacitance Range for these as compared to the UT202A.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 4 2021, 10:33 AM
metalfire
post May 4 2021, 10:29 AM

1,310 posts

i'm using this

Maria Takagi
post May 4 2021, 10:32 AM

1,039 posts

Sorry for all those who reply in my thread.I though of buying one As for Starter who try to learn electronic but previously went back to work , doesn't have time.Now going to mco or work from home again so i have time study a bit more.

About the Budget Below RM150 ? because I really don't know the real pricing for multimeter

Reason on buying , i repeat.
-As starter or beginner learning electronic
-Want to test all my old AA or AAA battery whether which one I should throw.
-Trying to identified which part of Old spoil Motherboard/Printer/Scanner/LCD monitor and keyboard which have double tab issue.If possible ( want to revive old spoil hardware) by replacing the parts.
-Want to learn on fixing old Mobile phone which does not detect sims card , screen crack , brick and etc.Maybe need a learn soldering technical part.
-Fix old digital watch and analog clock not running.
-Fixing and testing Electronic application like Thermo Pot cannot pump water.

Not going for car battery , start with beginner multimeter first.

So which brand one do you suggest and the price ? My budget max rm200.I am not sure the actual price as mention.That is the above requirement i need for multimeter.Mostly , is to identified what is spoil in the blueprint diagram and try to find a replacement.
the kind of projects you plan to do, doesn't sound like a beginner.

you know ur stuff.

adamw
post May 4 2021, 11:23 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(cikelempadey @ May 4 2021, 08:11 AM)
uni-t multimeter quite good for hobbyist.. i bought 2 few years ago. 1 with clamp meter, 1 with extra temperature meter feature. no need fluke it gets the job done for me every single time until now. everyday use since almost everyday repair smps. also u may need both digital and analog multimeter since both have different working internal and may be useful in different testing situation. and the cheap china transistor tester also. not perfect but still very useful.
Everyday repairing switching power supply? Expensive types? I normally throw & replaced hmm.gif
pretty23
post May 4 2021, 11:43 AM

1,791 posts

I only use multimeter to test my car battery see the battery ok or not.
cikelempadey
post May 4 2021, 12:18 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 4 2021, 11:23 AM)
Everyday repairing switching power supply? Expensive types? I normally throw & replaced hmm.gif
yes. works related. from cheap to expensive all coming in. if too complex may be take few days just to repair one, is possible. and i only use all those cheap testing tools eventough i have my fluke and my peak atlas rarely used. other such as power supply bench, soldering station and hot air station of course use the expensive one.

one of my uni-t meter

This post has been edited by cikelempadey: May 4 2021, 12:23 PM
adamw
post May 4 2021, 12:23 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(cikelempadey @ May 4 2021, 12:18 PM)
yes. works related. from cheap to expensive all coming in. if too complex may be take few days just to repair one, is possible. and i only use all those cheap testing tools eventough i have my fluke and my peak atlas rarely used. other such as power supply bench, soldering station and hot air station of course use the expensive one.
Do you do part time repairing jobs?

This post has been edited by adamw: May 4 2021, 12:24 PM
6942nole
post May 4 2021, 07:39 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(cikelempadey @ May 4 2021, 12:18 PM)

one of my uni-t meter
this UT210E is good. can measure DC current with clamp.

another good one is UT139E, got loZ setting for phantom voltage. good to troubleshoot house wiring.

6942nole
post May 4 2021, 07:41 PM

346 posts

this guy tests many multi-meter.

wyh
post May 4 2021, 08:12 PM

1,447 posts

Beli uni-T. U won't regret for the quality and price.

ShadowR1
post May 12 2021, 11:51 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Using this.

This post has been edited by ShadowR1: May 12 2021, 11:51 AM
SUSceo684
post May 12 2021, 01:32 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ May 12 2021, 11:51 AM)
Using this.
Wah flexing. this for work?
ShadowR1
post May 12 2021, 01:53 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2021, 01:32 PM)
Yup ... comp bagi one ... using it for some year now ... change batt once ...

Build like a tank, work like a charm.
ktek
post May 12 2021, 01:58 PM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2021, 01:32 PM)
sis u know a lot electrical thing also thumbup.gif
Cyclone1
post May 12 2021, 02:02 PM

408 posts

Also don't forget to pay attention to the protection limit of the DMM, as indicated by CAT I follow by voltage number. This CAT number indicate the amount of impulse that the DMM is designed for and you need to make sure you don't poke at area it is not capable of measuring.

E.g A CAT I 1kV DMM does not mean it can measure any kind of 1000V. It means it is only able to measure 1kV on a non-mains isolated circuit. You will need a CAT II instrument in order to do it on mains circuit. Go look up Measurement Category.

Protection limit is just as important as other characteristic, so remember that.
ktek
post May 12 2021, 02:04 PM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ May 12 2021, 02:02 PM)
Also don't forget to pay attention to the protection limit of the DMM, as indicated by CAT I follow by voltage number.  This CAT number indicate the amount of impulse that the DMM is designed for and you need to make sure you don't poke at area it is not capable of measuring.

E.g A CAT I 1kV DMM does not mean it can measure any kind of 1000V. It means it is only able to measure 1kV on a non-mains isolated circuit. You will need a CAT II instrument in order to do it on mains circuit. Go look up Measurement Category.

Protection limit is just as important as other characteristic, so remember that.
CAT include the body itself and probe?
SUSceo684
post May 12 2021, 03:06 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ May 12 2021, 01:53 PM)
Yup ... comp bagi one ... using it for some year now ... change batt once ...

Build like a tank, work like a charm.
Yup, used to play around with my dad's company issued Fluke. But lower range la. Not ur model.
Sometime then I got my own Kyoritsu thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ktek @ May 12 2021, 01:58 PM)
sis u know a lot electrical thing also thumbup.gif
I dabbled in electrical a bit laugh.gif used to sell & commission inverters, automation sensors.

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ May 12 2021, 02:02 PM)
Also don't forget to pay attention to the protection limit of the DMM, as indicated by CAT I follow by voltage number.  This CAT number indicate the amount of impulse that the DMM is designed for and you need to make sure you don't poke at area it is not capable of measuring.

For detailed reading on CAT I II III IV see https://content.fluke.com/promotions/promo-...yguidelines.pdf

There will be a max safe rated voltage for each multimeter per CAT category.

QUOTE(ktek @ May 12 2021, 02:04 PM)
CAT include the body itself and probe?
This depends on the unit. Need to check spec sheet. Some can have lesser insulation on the probes. It will be stated on the unit where applicable, or where u plug into.

Example of this meter and referring to the fluke PDF above, this CAT III rated to 600V, means premise based three phase 415V also OK, safe to measure 415V equipment and interior wiring,
but CAT IV (TNB grid/outdoor connections) is only rated to 300V so can only use for 230V measurement for that use case, 415V TNB grid/outdoor connection (following the CAT VI type rating) will require a higher rating i.e. CAT IV 600V or better meter to be safe even though the meter technically can measure 600V on CAT III but safety wise its not guaranteed for CAT IV use case.

The amp rating of this meter also rated as 1000A (AC) only. No DC amps.

For electronics applicable should be a CAT I, as Fluke says higher CAT also no harm. But the CAT rating should follow the intended usage esp for electrical high voltage* 230/415V.
*HV as relative to 9V smarttag batteries, otherwise kena kecam by 66kV 132kV folks.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 12 2021, 03:22 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:35 AM