intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

chocobo7779
post Nov 3 2024, 06:50 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 2 2024, 11:50 PM)
Yes, signs of Broadwell - which could've made Intel the leader in 3D-vcache tech today ironically instead of AMD.

Removing on memory package just means that "hey OEMs, you go deal with the memory it ain't our problem". Technically this is less cost and theoretically less problems, but it doesn't shine a nice light on Intel to be frank.
...and Optane too sweat.gif
I don't know why Intel likes to kill off their best products? They have a lot of products that could really put Intel (and x86 in general) to new heights, and yet Intel tends to kill them simply because 'it doesn't make us money' sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 3 2024, 06:53 AM
chocobo7779
post Nov 3 2024, 06:52 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 2 2024, 07:19 PM)
I think Arrow Lake originally designed for 20A. 20A cancelled on September screwed them over. Not enough time to adapt and test on TSMC chips.
The IMC location is also one of the reasons why it also has poor gaming performance too sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 3 2024, 06:55 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Oct 27 2024, 08:00 PM)
ETAPrime tested the iGPU of the 285k and it's pretty impressive even with XeCore gen 1.

The nice thing is the i5 245k have almost the exact iGPU configuration with 1.9Ghz vs 2Ghz on 285k.

So if the base locked i5 also have around the same iGPU config, it would be a great CPU for GPUless mini rig when it's price fell to rm500-600 in the future.
Don't think Intel can price it that cheap when you consider TSMC wafer prices sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 10 2024, 02:42 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 5 2024, 07:01 AM)
Over budget with 2.5k for cpu alone not possible.
Which Gen 12 is worth getting ? I wonder why 13/14th gen never reduce price even it having problem.

Any info on Bartlett Lake P-cores ? since it's for 1700 socket.
12700K, if you can get one cheap brows.gif
Barlett Lake? That looks like it's meant for server/embedded use, similar to Meteor Lake-PS hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 24 2024, 03:16 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Nov 10 2024, 07:22 AM)
LGA 1700= Obsolete
LGA 1851 = Only 1 Gen or 1 refresh (new mobo & DDR5)

AM4 = Obsolete
AM5 = new mobo & DDR5

This year is the worst for Intel , all old gen also cannot upgrade.13/14th issue , new gen expensive.If go for 12th LGA 1700 = stuck forever no upgrade.
Even Ultra 225 I assume will also cost 1k.

So what is the cheapest option ?
As long as X3D exists AM4 will still always remain relevant laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 24 2024, 03:20 AM
chocobo7779
post Nov 24 2024, 03:19 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Nov 18 2024, 09:03 PM)
anyone know if the core ultra actually better than the normal i5/i7 7 equivalent? supposed worth getting the ultra?
No, the near entirety of Core Ultra CPUs are pretty underwhelming anyway (LNL being the sole exception), and I think even a performance update isn't magically going to make things better for Intel sweat.gif
Just stick to LGA1700, or go AM5 icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 7 2024, 08:20 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Dec 4 2024, 03:19 PM)
There is nothing wrong with 8GB provided it is priced nicely. Who doesn't like it when you can get it for RM899? wink.gif

NVIDIA/AMD have been feeding us leftovers for $159 to $199 range. RTX3050 6GB?  puke.gif 6500XT PCI-E x4 without media engine?  puke.gif
Both GPUs are kinda irrelevant when you consider that the RX6600 exist, where it has been in the $199 range for quite some time icon_idea.gif

Knowing Nvidia's mindset, I'm pretty sure that the 3050 will sell much more than the 6600, despite the latter being substantially faster than the former icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Dec 7 2024, 08:20 AM
chocobo7779
post Dec 7 2024, 08:21 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Dec 4 2024, 08:26 AM)
The B570/B580 looks interesting to give Jensen a lesson on serving underspec-ed 3050 / 4060. brows.gif

Might get one if review turned out good.
The 4060 should have been called the 4050, and priced it accordingly icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 7 2024, 04:12 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Dec 7 2024, 12:55 PM)
RX6600 in the same trash tier as those both. 8GB, PCIE X8.

Not just Nvidia but both brands are pushing shit tier GPU no better than an APU level to consumers calling it gaming, is an insult to those who dont have much money. Its like them telling people "if your too peasant poor to buy a 4070/7800 for proper gaming, please dont game." Which is why people go for consoles, alas even Sony has been upping PS prices also telling people "stop being poor if you want to game!"
? PCIe 4.0 x8 is still fine even on 3.0, and 8GB is still plenty doable if you manage game settings well (I've gamed on 1440p with a 8GB card)

Meh, considering that high end graphics = expensive game development costs these days which basically means 'safe' game designs, I've long moved away from games with fancy graphics and played something that feels more game like whistling.gif
I'd much more prefer indies/semi-niche JRPGs over fancy Hollywood stuff anyway icon_idea.gif

Consoles? That's a good one if you want nothing but Hollywood movies with 'interactivity' being peppered in (Nintendo notwithstanding, that's why my PS4 is pretty much a dust collector at the moment) sweat.gif

Maybe I'm in the minority, but the gaming industry might be better off making 'worse' looking games if it does translate to a better game - but this will certainly put hardware manufacturers to bankruptcy and kill Moore's Law for good if the gaming industry did just that icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Dec 7 2024, 04:18 PM
chocobo7779
post May 11 2025, 09:40 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 11 2025, 03:11 PM)
There is night and day difference between cheap aio and expensive ones. 360 doesn't mean it gets a pass. Which cpu and aio?
More crucially, how it was mounted? The way how an AIO is mounted can have significant difference in thermals icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Aug 3 2025, 02:43 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 2 2025, 06:21 PM)
Intel launches Core 5 120 and 120F

https://videocardz.com/newz/intel-launches-...e-i5-12400-skus

the Core 5 120 and Core 5 120F.
both chips are nearly identical to the Core i5-12400 and i5-12400F launched in early 2022.
use the LGA1700 socket, compatible with 12th to 14th Gen motherboards.
...but why? This looks like a pretty unnecessary move from Intel sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Sep 5 2025, 07:18 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 4 2025, 09:53 PM)
Pushing FPS at low resolution, lose out by far.

Pushing FPS at high resolution (4K) range, the 245K is actually pretty darn good. Can't say the same for the 285K.

Multi-core workload, I'm quite surprised at what the 245K can deliver.
TBH ARL-S isn't that bad as most people think, but the thing is Intel pretty much killed off the value proposition of LGA1851 with the abysmal upgrade path over their competitors sweat.gif
If it had the same platform longevity as AM5 then I can see LGA1851 filling the niche of a value gaming/workstation hybrid build sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 5 2025, 07:19 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0955sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:22 PM