Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

contestchris
post Sep 18 2025, 02:58 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 18 2025, 02:43 PM)
wah... so cheap ar... a pure life insurance without surrender value is only Rm 100 pm?
then the 900rm per mth (10.8K pm) can be thrown into EPF and get 6% pa....

if 6% pa return, portfolio after
10 years: 165K
20 years: 440K
30 years: 0.93 million
40 years: 1.80 million
Isn't this better? or insurance take too much?
even if the return is only 2.5% pa, portfolio after
10 years: 135K
20 years: 295K
30 years: 0.5 million
40 years: 0.75 million
????? insurance firm taking too much?
It's not about insurance firm taking too much. After all the savings and maturity element is priced in. You also pay for the guatanteed returns. (Note: Although, yes, of course, insurers get higher profit margins from savings plan compared to pure protection products. )

Anyways, this is a Kaotim quote for 36y/o female with RM1mil covering death TPD. No surrender value at all and level premium throughout. 30y level premiums

This post has been edited by contestchris: Sep 18 2025, 02:59 PM
contestchris
post Sep 22 2025, 01:38 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Sep 22 2025, 08:18 AM)
Don't think u can find 3k pa life for 1mil until 85/90yrs old. The insurance company for sure will lose. Even for example 5k pa for 100 years is 500k, but they surely need pay out 1mil. For each cust they will lose 0.5mil.
What you're conveniently missing out on is, the insurance company will invest most of the premiums in the initial years into assets that yield 5% returns (or more). So by the time you're dead at 100 years old, the insurance company has made significant profit even if they pay out more than your total premium paid.
contestchris
post Oct 2 2025, 08:25 AM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(RayManZ @ Oct 2 2025, 07:25 AM)
I just terminated my ilp because I need the cash, now I am wondering will I have to pay tax for the amount withdrawn. the funds are from Great Eastern lion fund.
Definitely no need to pay tax.
contestchris
post Oct 23 2025, 10:31 AM

5,521 posts

I'm going to give you an honest advice.

1. Retain the policy and let your daughter take over the payments. For one simple reason - the ILP is already in-force so long that the premium allocation rate is now at 100%. If your daughter were to re-purchase an ILP, then she will need to go through lower allocations in the initial years - all that money goes into the agents pockets.

2. While it is true that a standalone medical plan is cheaper (especially over the short term), in your case this doesn't apply since the ILP allocation rate has reached 100%. If you purely look at the ILP's medical rider COI charges vs a standalone medical insurance premium, you will notice the COI is a fair bit cheaper.

3. If this is with Great Eastern, highly likely that you can upgrade the medical rider. This is very important. Your daughter needs to upgrade to at least Smart Protect Shield 250 plan. She may need to pay additional premium, that is fine.

NOTE: Make sure the medical rider upgrade is done with FULL UNDERWRITING, not as part of a "free" upgrade with no underwriting. Very important - if she does full underwriting again (assuming she is healthy), she will be placed in the pool of healthy insureds. If she takes the "free" upgrade with no underwriting, she will be placed in a pool that combines both healthy and unhealthy insureds. In the longer run, the latter pool will experience faster/sharper medical repricing.

4. Your daughter may review the sum assured and the riders. RM3k annual premium for a kid is a lot, some things may not be necessary.

5. Depending on the sustainability testing (aim for 80 years, no need 100 years), if you really must, you can partially withdraw some of the fund value - there is no penalty whatsoever.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Oct 23 2025, 10:34 AM
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 08:01 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 30 2025, 07:50 PM)
Ask want to ask, ...
Any experience or knowledge about this?
Let's say I am on medical term insurance.
If the current premium is 1000 and after reprice it became 1100.
Can I go pay 1000 instead of 1100?
If I go to the counter office to pay, what will happen?
Will they accept it or refuse to accept it?

If I do it through online banking, can the system accept it?

Will it accept the 1000 but call me up months later telling me that the policy may lapse if I did not top up another 100?
If ILP, can. As long as got sufficient account value, no issue.

For standalone, of course cannot. Not possible whatsoever.
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:04 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 30 2025, 10:33 PM)
er let's make thing clear ya

1. My OWN policy, just NOTIFY never responded but auto price up. Even no chance to pay old premium amount. Portal will AUTO changed to revised amount and no way to edit the amount when pay using portal.

2. Family member's policy, different provider than mine, which I help paying using my card. Every repricing the portal will prompt you once you logged into portal to accept / reject / edit. If keep ignoring the premium won't change. But as we know, at the cost of sustainability.

Afterall, I am expecting them revising COI or insurance charges more often in the future as more people getting sick and more people claiming
Dude you know nothing and end up confusing others.

1. Your own policy is a standalone medical policy. The company has the right to revise the premium at their own convenience. Standalone medical policies are "annually renewable". So logically if you want to be covered for another year, you pay the hiked premium or lapse.

2. Your family member's policy is an investment-linked policy (ILP). Here, the cost of insurance (COI) WILL increase, but you can opt to continue paying the same premium at the cost of the sustainability of the policy (i.e. it will terminate earlier as the fund value will run out sooner).

This post has been edited by contestchris: Oct 30 2025, 11:05 PM
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:07 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 30 2025, 11:06 PM)
As usual, presumably he is the smartest ass

My Own policy with cash value, including life+CI+medical I do not know is ILP or standalone?
Then name the insurer and let them be sued. Where can an ILP premium be unilaterally increased? Unless your agent went and accepted it on your behalf, IT CANNOT HAPPEN.
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:09 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 30 2025, 11:08 PM)
Ya ya ya smartass

So many here already shown you more than 1 provider doing it

Want to sue or not is my pasal la who are you to command me what to do
Man you are posting nonsense here, making up stories without showing any proof.

Name the insurer, what is so hard? Show some evidence.
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:12 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 30 2025, 09:30 PM)
Might not be fitting to exactly what you asked but I just share my experience here

My ILP was from like 20 years ago and it accumulates a sum of cash value and of course over the years kena few times repricing

So until one point I was like why I keep topping up the stash and every few years premium up due to repricing while the COI is still so low (understood is buffer for high COI for old days) and the ROI is not superb averaged out

So I asked a few here + the CS in their branch, as long as cash value enough then policy won't lapse. And I decided to stop paying since like 2022. So I let my cash value to feed my COI. Thankfully last year return was okay @ about 7% so cash value still about the same as 2022. This year so far very bad so should see the value slowly going down if next year ROI still bad

So now I can have slightly more liquidity on my cashflow (never have to pay premium) but of course I let the money generate dividend

And yes my provider only NOTIFY me on the premium up, no consent required. Letter has nothing regarding acceptance. Even I told CS I don't want up also can't. They only said can reduce your coverage which can never happen (agent will siam you when you told them come I want to meet to reduce benefit) which driven to my decision above

My other family member's provider yes need consent. Can accept proposed number, accept a lower number (key in yourself), or reject
If never respond in the portal the premium won't change
I think this guy here a bit confused (assuming he is not making stories up).

The Investment-linked Policy has TWO components:

1. Cost of Insurance (think of it as a sub-premium)

2. Actual Premium

Cost of Insurance can be unilaterally increased, whether you agree or not. This is the amount that deducts from your unit account every month.

Actual premium for an ILP CANNOT in any circumstances be unilaterally increased (except if you or your agent accept). You name the insurer, I will help you sue them.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Oct 30 2025, 11:13 PM
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:14 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 30 2025, 11:11 PM)
As usual ktard behavior

Not enough posting nonsense rant in kopitiam now want to interfere people sharing info

again

WHO ARE YOU TO COMMAND ME WHAT TO DO? Smart ass

Damn stupid and arrogant behavior

If you want to discuss let's do it nicely not showing that cocky kopitiam behavior

Otherwsie you are just anothe lame ktard to me
It's okay to be less educated but at least learn from other and do not spread untruths.
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:16 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Oct 30 2025, 11:15 PM)
Again that arrogant like to make presumption behavior

COI and premium are 2 diff thing I dont need to show you I know or not, it is clear

Many already posted here, not just me

They got NOTIFIED and increased automatically

Scroll back
Man show some proof, let us see. I am interested to see how they word it. Don't just post without any actual facts.
contestchris
post Oct 30 2025, 11:20 PM

5,521 posts

I must admit @coolguy_0925 is correct and I am wrong. My information must be outdated. There exist ILPs with unilateral premium increases, as per the BNM regulations on IL business.

Link: https://www.bnm.gov.my/documents/20124/9481...siness-2023.pdf
contestchris
post Nov 25 2025, 02:02 PM

5,521 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Nov 25 2025, 01:25 PM)
Don't know about your experience buying insurance/dealing with insurance agent but my insurance agentss always encourage to buy new product rather than discussing about insured endorsement.
Then tell them if they do not guide you, you will lodge a report to Bank Negara Malaysia. And follow through with it should they still not be helpful.

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0226sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:24 AM