Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

Ramjade
post Jun 7 2024, 10:41 AM

24,346 posts

Wow post reported just for telling that AIA is expensive?

cherroy is it wrong to post that there are better and cheaper options for insurance exist? I don't see any wrong with that.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 7 2024, 11:48 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 7 2024, 11:46 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 7 2024, 10:45 AM)
Got AIA agents here salty ah
Taking away their business so kena report lo. I am just sharing cheaper insurance with more coverage exist. Lol.

Ramjade
post Jun 7 2024, 02:31 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(darkueki @ Jun 7 2024, 02:21 PM)
Hi, buying CI plan from Sg , not part of my plan, currently survey in Malaysia only
Then you need to be ok to pay more for lesser coverage.
Ramjade
post Jun 10 2024, 04:20 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(jsonting @ Jun 10 2024, 03:44 PM)
Honestly, i don't have the details but generally the data is Singapore insurance being more expensive than Malaysia.

1) medical cost in Singapore is more expensive than Malaysia.

2) Malaysia insurance doesn't allow non-Malaysian to buy insurance without physically staying in Malaysia. Why is that i wonder?
So i don't know why one would say buying insurance from Singapore as Malaysian is better.......
If that's really true, maybe provide more data please
I am talking about Ci insurance. I did a head to head test of AIA and the Singapore insurance. No matter how I tweak I cannot make AIA cheaper than what is offer to me in Singapore.

Just because Malaysia does not allow non Malaysian to buy insurance without staying in Malaysia, Singapore is different. They allow you to buy life insurance, critical illness insurance and still claim from sg side. All you need is for the documents to be in English and signed by a notary. You don't even need to be there. Just the signing part need to be there.

Who would it not be better? Half the premium for double the coverage with more payout.
Ramjade
post Jun 10 2024, 10:36 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(jsonting @ Jun 10 2024, 05:02 PM)
Mind to give the details of the comparisons, i.e product name, age range, payment period etc?
Sure.
AIA A-life Beyond critical care
Premium RM14k/year
Coverage amount RM500k

Singlife multipay critical illness
Premium RM7k
Coverage amount RM500k+ with booster and multiple payment.

38 years coverage
Yearly payment

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2024, 10:37 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 10 2024, 11:01 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 10 2024, 10:58 PM)
Ramjade's retarded example again. Comparing Apple vs Orange product which has no similar benefits. Trying to create an illusion that his recommendation is "Superior" as always.

Singlife Multipay has no cash value or even a guaranteed maturity benefit. Pay 7k all these years burned.

AIA A Life Beyond Critical Care gets a maturity benefit. Gets back 100% to 150% upon maturity.

:thumbsup: Always do your own homework and not what Ramjade feed you with half-truth.
I don't care about cash value in case you don't know. I care more on payout.

Don't try to misled people with payout at maturity. Yes payout 100-150% provided no claim. But if you do calculations the money given back is either zero interest or less than FD interest of 3%. There is a thing call time value of money.

I did the calculations already. It's not worth getting AIA beyond critical care.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2024, 11:06 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 10 2024, 11:09 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 10 2024, 11:06 PM)
LOL You're not even comparing the similar thing in the first place. What are you trying to prove?

Then come up with the excuse "I don't care about cash value" when you put in a cash value product vs a term product? Let others be the judge smile.gif
Bro, I am comparing critical illness insurance with payout amount and premium paid. You buy insurance is to protect yourself and assume all money burn. Never expect any money back from insurance. If you use the reason can get money back, well that is one good marketing trick. People like the feeling of paying and getting something back.

Well not me. For me, all insurance is to protect myself and I assume all money burned.

Now, ask your customer you buy insurance is for protection or to get full refund back at maturity.

14k for 500k coverage Vs 7k for 500k coverage (with booster it's > 500k) it's no brainer to pick the one which have higher coverage for lesser premium paid even if money will be burn. At least for me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2024, 11:12 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 10 2024, 11:18 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 10 2024, 11:14 PM)
Eh hello, don't try to dance away from my response.

Comparing a cash value product to a term product naturally involves a higher premium for the cash value product.

You want to compare then take a term product vs a term product. Not talk cock sing song now when I called you out with your lame comparison and response in here.

Then now keep dancing on "I don't care about cash value, I expect money to burn" whereas you clearly keep bitching about A Life Beyond Critical Care all these while.
Ok. Show me a term product from AIA then that can beat what I found in Singapore.
Criteria:
38 years of coverage
32 yo, male, non smoker.
Coverage amount RM500k
Covers for early critical illness, relapses, payout for all stages of critical illness.
No ILP.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 10 2024, 11:20 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 10 2024, 11:44 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(jsonting @ Jun 10 2024, 11:40 PM)
There you go.
I suspected so.
Hence, i rest my case.
You are welcome to come out with a quotation and see if yours is better than what I found.

You can PM if you don't want to post it in the open.
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 12:00 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 10 2024, 11:56 PM)
No need PM.

It's 2x cheaper than Singapore.

Want buy can PM me.  laugh.gif
You can post it openly.

What 2x cheaper?
RM14K for RM500k coverage Vs RM7k for RM500k coverage?

I prefer without cash value.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 12:02 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 01:18 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2024, 12:44 AM)
Do you have at least a 20-year term life insurance policy for a 62-year-old with coverage of at least RM 100,000 or RM 150,000?

No need 45 critical illnesses coverage.
Just

Death Claim- Natural/Illness/Accident

And Total & Permanent Disability (TPD) enough.
So many online options available for that low coverage. Checkout deartime, Manulife, fwd.
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 07:41 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2024, 02:07 AM)
Another question.

A 79-year-old woman has an insurance premium of RM 2,800 yearly, with only natural death coverage of RM 50,000. Is it worth continuing?
Already pay how long? Does the family need the money at her death? Same question I told my parents. But they have this concept like everyone pay so much already must get something back. So continue paying. For me very simple. Insurance is something you need to take to cover your family in case you died or something happen to you. I am totally ok with removing insurance once I don't need it. That's why
The RM50k is good money to received. It can help with funeral expenses. Can she afford the RM2800? Will the saved RM2800 payment change her quality of life? These are question you need to ask yourself. I follow the concept of pay for what you need and until when you need it and not pay for whole life.

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 11 2024, 02:41 AM)
Thanks for pointing out about the no cash value part.
For the past few months I thought he really got a more worthy plan of similar kind from Spore.

So it is not as simple as, ..."Then you need to be ok to pay more for lesser coverage", ...if people buy CI insurance from Malaysia instead of from.Spore

P/s....Real life, I was really glad that I had "unknowingly/unconsciously" selected plan with cash value for my insurance purchased from Spore in 1990. The cash value I got back managed to sustain my monthly expenses for 30 months when I am no more having active income. Thanks to the forex gains too
Like I said you want cash value or no cash value? I am totally ok with no cash value as like I said you want them to protect you and payout. Cash value is marketing if you do the calculations. 100% refund at maturity if not claim at zero interest? Time value of money man. When you buy insurance always go with the mindset that money will be burn. It's a protection tool. Nothing else. Like bodyguard. You pay for bodyguard. Do you expect your bodyguard to give you back your money after their service? Nope. At least that is me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 08:25 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 11:47 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(hafizmamak85 @ Jun 11 2024, 10:49 AM)
I feel hope when I hear agents (assuming Ramjade is an agent) confidently say this: "You buy insurance is to protect yourself and assume all money burn. Never expect any money back from insurance."

This is the way. No such thing as a free lunch
I am not an agent. I got nothing to sell. I am an end user. This is what I learned from the financial bloggers either in Singapore or in the US.
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 03:11 PM

24,346 posts

adele123 what do you mean it is not realistic? It is not that hard. I travelled down to Singapore to open bank account as a student (no student pass/working pass in Singapore as I don't study or work in Singapore).

All you need to travel one time down to Singapore to sign the contract. That is it. Subsequent payment just make payment from Malaysia via banks (which I don't recommend). Is that hard to travel down once?

One can travel overseas but cannot travel down there for cheaper and better insurance? You can go by bus, train and plane for goodness sake. Is it difficult to go to Singapore? Not at all. It's all about whether you want to make the drip. It's about giving one the excuse and feel good that oh it's not realistic. It's not like you are going to North Korea.

I am talking about critical illness insurance. It's not the same same as mango. I have compare 2 Singapore insurance. Both same thing. Cheaper premium for more coverage than what we have in Malaysia.
I am talking about more coverage for lesser premium. You want to use mango example, ok let's ok with it.
You pay RM5 for 5kg or mango or do you want to pay RM2.50 for 7.5kg of mango? See easy to understand right?

Btw normal critical illness is cheap. It's those multipay and cover all stage of critical illness and relapses that is expensive. I am not going to go through ILP route. You don't need to bring it up again. I standby and vote with my money. I go by the standalone route. I am person who don't just NATO but walk the talk.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 03:20 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 04:25 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 11 2024, 03:30 PM)
FINE, you want to pick on the sentence:

additional cost MAY be lower COMPARED to what Ramjade stated which was 14k per year for 500k coverage.

there you go.

as for other statement, not interested to answer...
my point WAS and STILL is... you were comparing 500k at 14k per year from AIA vs the 7k per year at 500k from singapore that you bought. so to you, it is worth it to travel down to singapore

BUT I WANT TO PROVE that you can buy 500k and it WONT cost 14k per year. and in fact alot less. could be when you bought, the only option available to you was 14k. but i'm saying there are other options. if you still say singapore is cheaper, ok... but how much? then the decision making process is totally different for someone else who is reading this NOW. that is what i want to CORRECT.

if you put up statements like it's NOT HARD travel down to SG to buy, then it's you. but you know yourself, do you think most people are like you? you know most people are not you.
For me it's worth it. It's worth paying 7k for more coverage Vs 14k for less coverage. It's one time hassle. Yes no cash benefit. Not an issue for me. Same with me opening my Singapore bank account time as a student. It's a one time hassle which is very worth it. If I didn't make the trip that time, I won't have my Singapore bank account today. Likely unable to open today.

Er you know right I was comparing a critical illness insurance which cover all stages and relapses. We cannot compare basic critical illness with those complete critical illness.

Like I said basic critical illness is very cheap. It's those early stages cancer, multi pay which is expensive.

If you are looking for basic critical illness, it's cheap to get whether you get it in Malaysia or Singapore. I didn't look at the cost deeply as I was not interested in the basic one. I just look through quickly. But I what I saw confirm what the Singapore side said. Basic is cheap. Those early stage cancer, multipay, relapses is the one which is expensive.

I know not everyone is like me. If everyone like me, economy will die. Lol. But if you are telling me hard to travel, it's not a valid excuse. A student with no income can make a one day trip to Singapore, it's not a good valid excuse IMO.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 04:41 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 05:20 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jun 11 2024, 05:00 PM)
bro, for the last time- stop shoving your ideals down to other's throats.

you are not the gold standard, period.

you must understand you are the odd one out there, and your advice does not apply to 95% of the population.

this is a Malaysian based forum, if everyday you want to post about how you are not keeping MYR but SGD and buying SG insurances, then I suggest you move to HWZ.
I am posting that one can have cheaper premium with more coverage. All you need is one day trip. Up to one how they want to use their money. They want it to work efficiently or less efficiently? For me, every ringgit I have will have to fight for their place.

Like I said, I am the odd one. So be it. I value efficiency and making money my money work harder.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 05:25 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 05:31 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 05:10 PM)
He means well, but unfortunately may end up coming across as somewhat close minded and inflexible with the way he puts it.

He does have a lot of pertinent points for consideration and at the very least, should provide some food for thought.

I’m a very impartial observer with nothing to gain or lose with my statement.
Bro it's ok. No need defend me. Like he said. I am odd one out. I am not gold standard. So I do me and they do them.

I didn't get to where I am today if I did things the traditional way (I can choose not to work if I want). It is ok. Sometimes, better not say anything. For me, I share because it is very simple. I had help from strangers when I started out. It is because of these strangers, I am where I am today.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 11 2024, 05:29 PM)
As you might have noted, I called him out on the brazenness of the tone of his post in one of my earlier comments, so I believe I was being even handed in my opinion and not defending him per se.

But, isn’t it counter intuitive and counter productive for a public forum like this one, if one were to tell him to shut up or to discourage an opinion (no matter how different or outrageous or unpleasant it may be to you)?

As the saying goes, I may disagree with what he says, but I need to respect his right to say it.
When you touched on things people don't agree on or not the norm, be prepared for backlash. It's ok. I am totally cool.

QUOTE(victorian @ Jun 11 2024, 05:23 PM)
Now imagine him going into HWZ and calling out that everyone should follow him and move to JB because of the expensive rentals in SG.

And by his words: "what do you mean it is not realistic? It is not that hard."

Learn to read the room dude.
Er you know right, a one time one day trip Vs back forth the causeway is totally different.

Actually you are not wrong. Some Singaporeans are starting to do that. Based off what I see in telegram groups.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 06:28 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 06:23 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jun 11 2024, 05:38 PM)
I have no time to study the PDS for MY and SG policy, but here's some things to consider:

1. Based on previous posting, its already debunked that its not an apple to apple comparison. Even if you do not care about the cash value, the fact is it is there- even if you don't need it (the world does not revolve around you, remember?  biggrin.gif)

Get two similar policies to compare then we will talk.

2. Assuming you did find another similar term policy without cash value, the plan will definitely be cheaper than 14k (say 10k vs 7k). Any margin that you have to play with previously is now getting slimmer. 

3. Why did you assume that SG CI policies will be similar to MY CI policies? Have you considered the Claims procedure? You are residing in Malaysia, and if there are any Claims do you have to go down to SG frequently to make the claim/diagnosis?

4. Don't forget that you are a foreigner in SG eyes. If I am the insurer I would have scrutinized you when you submit your claim. Its a red flag that you came all the way to SG to purchase an insurance policy.

There are so many other stuff to point out, but I believe the four points above is enough to invalidate your claims. Don't be penny wise, pound foolish.
1. I only care about protection. Like I said insurance is money burned. I am sure such policy exist. I don't care about cash value cause it's more of marketing and make you pay more. I only want to pay for insurance. Nothing else.

2. I don't look at cheapness of premium alone. I look at coverage it provided. The Singapore part covers for relapses and multiple payout up to 6x. The AIA part doesn't. That is already good enough for me. Assuming both same price 14k, I would pick the Singapore one. Why? Better coverage for same price. I went in with open minded and was let see how expensive it was. I was shocked to be honest when I found out that their insurance is cheaper.

3. Actually the policy is more or less the same. Word for word. Even their definition of critical illness is word for word like our Malaysian critical illness. I was surprised at this. I did. That was one of my main priority. Had to be claimable as a Malaysian staying in Malaysia. I was presented with 2 policy. One accept Singapore hospital diagnosis only. 2nd one anyone around the world as long as report is in English and certified by notary/lawyer. Think I only look at cheapness and coverage only? No way. Like I said so many times. Insurance is something that burns money, you wish you never need it but you are glad you get it. So if I get insurance which don't want to pay me, for what I get the insurance right? I need insurance to be able to payout. There is no need to go down. Just mail it down to Singapore. If you know critical illness, you might just claim max 2-3x in your life.
3 thing I look for critical illness:
1. Coverage amount and how many times can claim
2. Can payout as Malaysian staying in Malaysia, being treated in Malaysia hospital.
3. Lastly the premium.

4. Why they allow? Here are the reasons I gathered
a) lots of expats buy insurance, then leave Singapore and claim it for in their home country.
b) stable currency Vs their home currency.
c) true you are a foreigner but as long as you are treated in a Malaysian hospital, it's accepted.
d) their central bank (MAS)allows it. Like I said. You only need to go there once to sign the documents. Singapore govt not stupid. Other country hate consert, nevermind we bring in Taylor swift. Pay Taylor swift so she can bring money to Singapore. By allowing other people to buy insurance, they get money from external sources.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 07:12 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 11 2024, 08:17 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 11 2024, 04:43 PM)
Why not instead of shooting us who suggest SG insurance, talk to a FP, get the quotations first, then prove us wrong.

And please prove me wrong, please, I also want better deals and get more value for my monies. I am not ego enough to pay more for less just to win intenet arguments.

BTW you can get insured without stepping foot in SG these days, most deals can be done over whatsapp and zoom calls.
I am open to anyone who can give me a better deal. I got no loyalty to be honest. My loyalty is to my bank account.

I want to correct you on this bolded part. You cannot get insurance in Singapore without stepping foot in Singapore. They need your signature to be on Singapore soil. Don't ask me why are they so old fashion.

QUOTE(lola88 @ Jun 11 2024, 08:00 PM)
Could u share wt me the name of ur policy and the contact of ur agent?
Later I share. Don't worry. I don't PM tepi. It's all open. So anyone can contact them.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 11 2024, 08:18 PM
Ramjade
post Jun 12 2024, 12:39 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(jsonting @ Jun 12 2024, 12:38 AM)
To put things simply...

Today Ramjade is holding an apple and walks into a durian buffet store, and shouts:
"You all are fools! Look at me, i only spend RM4 then i can eat a fruit already!"

"But you're eating an apple, we're eating durians..."

"i don't care, i just want to eat fruit"
Till this day, Ramjade still walks around thinking he's the smartest person in the room.

End story.
terima kasih
Well depends on what you want. I want insurance alone and I want to pay as low as possible for my premium while having more coverage.

Other people want to pay more premium for lower coverage, not my issue. Not my money. I only bother about my own money.

Come back to the basic question. Why do you buy insurance? For investment, cash value or protection? I buy for protection. End of story.

QUOTE(tweakity @ Jun 12 2024, 11:10 AM)
Just curious. To buy insurance in Sg. What are the requirements.
Example: Sg address? Can pay with Msian credit card? Need Sg PR Identification number?
For Death/TPD seems like need certain number of days staying in Sg to be valid. CI claim need?
Depending on insurer.
The only 3 requirements
1. You need to travel there to sign the documents. One time event.
2. Premiums priced in SGD. So if you are earning RM, it's going to be more expensive with time
3. Claims need to be send down to Singapore. Whether sign off by Singapore lawyers or Malaysian lawyers depends on insurer.

What was offered to me doesn't need me to die or have disability or have CI in Singapore.

There was 3 products offered to me.
Manulife and 2 singlife product. Both singlife doesn't need me to be in Singapore. They only need me to sign the documents in Singapore.

Read carefully the rules of the insurance.

Hopefully that answer your question. Depends on their terms and conditions.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 12 2024, 12:40 PM

32 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.2802sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:20 AM