Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

Ramjade
post Oct 13 2024, 01:11 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(hafizmamak85 @ Oct 13 2024, 12:56 PM)
Got it. Does anyone have a sense of the proportion of high severity claim cases within two years that have  been rejected at reimbursement stage for misrepresentation? Misrepresentation may not be fraud and the health questionnaire may have not been specific
If they investigate and see no fraud they will pay you back. If got fraud that is when they will revoke your insurance.
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2024, 03:09 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(limaa210 @ Nov 7 2024, 02:36 PM)
Hello, I have some questions for NEWBORN baby insurance (just basic stuff medical..)
I know that it is similar to adult insurance plan.

But, according to two agents I talked to, they said that investment linked is compulsory regardless of plans from all malaysian insurance companies (allianz,aia,ge etc.) ?? In addition to that, life insurance portion is also compulsory? As in these two components can't have value of ZERO and need to have those two portions set to minimum amount..

Are the statements above true? Because, lots of people have been saying get baby/kids insurance which is medical card only without life or Investment linked. But after talking various agents, they said no.. so abit confuse.

Thank you for your help in advance. Cheers.
Wrong. You can buy standalone for baby. Of course they sell you ILP cause can earn more money from you.
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2024, 03:45 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(halglory @ Nov 7 2024, 03:18 PM)
Correct me if i'm wrong but all major insurers offer Medical Insurance(for hospitalization) as ILP now.
With ILP you are forced to buy life insurance. Even though not needed.This is how you are being forced to pay extra for stuff you don't need.

Again wrong. All insurance company have standalone. Maybe low coverage around 50k-150k if buy online.

If you want higher than that need to go via agent. There have been reports that people bypass agent and buy directly from company. I intend to explore this route in the future.

The one with standalone offering around >=1m coverage are AIA, GE and Generali.

ILP generate more commission as premium paid are generally higher. So agent more incentive to sell that Vs standalone.

If you can sell one ILP Vs sell 2 standalone to make the same commission, I as the agent would sell ILP. Cause 2 ILP = 4 standalone already.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 7 2024, 05:19 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2024, 07:10 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Nov 7 2024, 07:04 PM)
If budget constrain then go for standalone. Don't wait.

Anyhow I recommend consider ILP. If affordable for 200+/- monthly
Reason, more benefits. Can add in payor waiver riders.
Can have hospital income (pocket money), not to say wanted to "earn" but if children admitted to hospital for 5 working days, at least something to cover. Unless you are own business boss no need go office.

My concern to standalone ... no cash value, if payment problem due to bank / credit card .. potential to lapse is high.
Reinstate may need waiting period. This happened to my mom in law 10 years ago. And very unlucky her condition not fit to purchase new. GG.

The only good point for standalone is cheap.
Other advantage got to look at ILP.
A good honest agent will tell you that ILP will have no cash value or negative cash value at the end of the insurance. Having cash value is a marketing trick as people don't like to pay and get nothing back.

Unless you are a bad paymaster then yes you need "premium holidays".

All extra rider cost money. No free lunch in insurance. You pay more for rider to earn money Vs amount of money paid from the insurance for not working.

Kindly don't misled people.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 7 2024, 07:12 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 7 2024, 10:42 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Nov 7 2024, 10:33 PM)
Yes you are right no free lunch. Already mentioned want cheap just go for standalone.

This also make sense pointing that cheap premium standalone come with basic stuff.
Yes may be some of the additional features you may not need, but common scenario we seen "Why don't you tell me, remind me one more time"

I'm just quick reply a question. Is transparent everyone can read, add on info they wanted to.
Just because my answer doesn't fit your view then label as mislead people?

As mentioned, can consider if affordable. His/Her agent shd explained with official quotation face to face.
Want the feature, pay for it.

Don't always scare readers ILP macam bad marketing trick lah  doh.gif
As you mention "premium holiday" may happened, at least got time & buffer, policy still inforce.

if keep on argue paying more to rider letting company earn more ...
then same why pay more for bigger house, better car? Want shelter & 4 moving wheels only ma  biggrin.gif
I don't remember you telling that there is additional cost to all that. Lots of people don't know that there is no free lunch and assume it's build into the insurance. I was one of them. Until one of the agent pointed out to me. She told me everything you add got cost. So add only what you want. Lots of things are nice to have but do you really need them. The more you add, the higher your premium will go or your sustainability decrease.

Majority of people just want simple medical insurance. They don't want all the add ons. Yes there are some people who want all the add on. Yes there are some people are tricked into selecting all the additional add ons.

That's why I still drive a viva. Sorry. No mers or BMW for me. My phone also 5 years old phone.

I got nothing to sell and nothing to gain.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 7 2024, 10:46 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 8 2024, 03:27 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Nov 8 2024, 01:20 PM)
haiyowei  flex.gif as mentioned it was a brief info answering to his/her question lah. no doing a full quotation presentation.

ok you read again that post my 1st line is :
If budget constrain then go for standalone. Don't wait.

then 2nd line:
Anyhow I recommend consider ILP. If affordable for 200+/- monthly

Kinda showing 2 plans are different type cost level right? hmm.gif
ok lah base on your writing pattern sure not fulfil your standard. My bad, sorry ah  sweat.gif

And yes your are right, agree to you some people want basic stuff. But not all want basic because they want, because they don't know other's advantage to compare. Macam go to car showroom la, same model different spec to choose. Choose from the balance of needs & affordability after study.

Lastly, I respect your choice & view to choose the basic rider. So, can we end here?  blush.gif
Did you tell in your post that adding payment while hospital will increase price of premium. Simple yes or no.

Like I said not everyone knows that whatever you add will be charged. Some think it's part of the insurance. Like I said, I was one of them.

QUOTE(tweakity @ Nov 8 2024, 02:58 PM)
I was told new insurance policy for Standalone Non ILP. there will be a statement saying X% premium increase every year
Anyone that saw new quotations can verify this?
Something like buyer complain why their plan's price adjustment so much higher than plans with ILP etc.
You need to understand why price increase.

Standalone
1. Age. Older is more risky and Rooney to illness hence insurance also want to cari makan. They know likelihood of you claiming is going to be high as you get older so to protect their business, they charge you more as you age.
2. Pool money depleted ((more and more people claim, but lesser new people coming in -this happens in old plans that have been discontinued))

ILP
Same as standalone
3. Funds not performing. So if your fund not performing (very normal say giving only 1-2%p.a) your sustainability of ILP will be affected. You buy for say to cover you until 80 years old. But because of 1&2 is raising faster than 3, you have to fork up money for the incompetency of the insurance company if you wish to cover until 80 years old. If you don't agree to pay overtime from 80 years, maybe your insurance van last you until 70 years old.

How much increase won't be shown to you. You will get a letter. But seeing from recent complains around 20-50% every 3 years from ILP. You can do your own homework and see how much people complain their insurance going up.
Ramjade
post Nov 9 2024, 10:53 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 9 2024, 08:29 AM)
I have bought standalone medical plans and I am also not happy for the "assumed" to be higher quantum rate of increases compare to ilp.

Assumed is bcos I don't hv ilp of same plan for comparison.....just know that if for ilp, I would had paid more in advance.
No one likes to buy insurance except the agent and the insurance agent and maybe some people in US who use it as personal bank.

Actually you pay more or less the same or even more. Don't forget annual expense fees of the ILP unit trust. It's 1.5%p.a of asset.

I thought you are an ILP supported as you seems to support ILP.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 9 2024, 11:13 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 9 2024, 12:24 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 9 2024, 11:50 AM)
After the mgmt fees deductions,...hiw many of those funds (from insurance companies) does not gives positives returns over the long terms?
I believes Usually buyers of ilp would hv been recommended to get a few funds of different risks in their ilp portfolio.

I support proven data more than anything else.
After having standalone plans for decades, ....I misses having had a chance to see how are the quantum of rate of increases of ilp plan compared to the same standalone plans that I had.
Sort of like thinking how my life would hv been if i had gone into another career path or got another spouse etc etc.

Just recently got this email....
It just covers 90k annually
If you want real life data, 1-2%p.a return. Pathetic if you ask me. If you ask insurance agent they will tell you otherwise. Yes there maybe few funds which can give decent but they are few and far in between.

Majority of customer after buying insurance, the agent will just abandon them. Agent won't adjust their fund. Also try it, ask any agent about ETF and they look at you blankly. I tried from old and young agent, all same only
Ramjade
post Nov 9 2024, 01:18 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 9 2024, 12:58 PM)
If can get 1-2% pa returns, that means got cash value in the end  on top of premium holidays and other ilp benefits too.

If buy standalone thinking it is cheaper and better for the budget, .....just dont forget to use that "saved" premium variance from ilp to force yourself to invest.
Ex, if buy standalone rm600, buy ilp rm1000.
Remember to use that saved rm400 to force invest diy.
If you do that, your budget is still rm1000 instead of rm600.
1%-2%p.a is nothing. Cause at around 50 or 60 years old onwards premium shoot up more than cash value. So cash value will deplete very fast. That's why the honest agent told me at the end of the insurance, cash value likely zero or negative (do lump sum top-up to make sure it's not zero, hence negative). Remember everything you add into ILP is already counted into the premium... No free lunch unless they are having promo. Also if you read through T&C it's mentioned that the insurance deserve the right to start charging for the promo feature in the future. Agent told me this showing that he/she is honest and tell me the cons of the ILP.

Different is you use less budget. Why? The ILP give you 1%p.a. If you invest yourself using EPF, you earn 5%p.a instead of 1%p.a. If you do Nasdaq QQQ, likely can get 10%p.a. You already save yourself lots of money cause your returns is way more than what ILP can generate.

Difference of 1%p.a Vs 5%p.a compounded over long term is a lot of money. Short term maybe can't see much difference. Remember that. If you want to use BNM conservative 2%p.a for ILP also can. Cause some people will say not fair you are saying that ILP make only 1%p.a return. So use 2%p.a Vs EPF of 5%p.a

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 9 2024, 01:27 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 9 2024, 01:49 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 9 2024, 01:39 PM)
Wow, standalone got no cash value portion to helps mitigates (some of) that...
So my "assumption" that the quantum of rate of increase of premium of standalone over ilp has some logic too
That's why you invest. All my money saved up from standalone, I invest it so that I know at around 60-80 yo when I need the insurance, they will pay me as my insurance will is still in force.

For ILP, assuming no top-up and refuse to agree to increase in premium, likely insurance coverage premium will decrease drastically. So come back to same thing. Either top-up or find money to pay for the premium. It will come a time when cost of insurance is say RM12k, premium only 3-4k, you are already deficit 8-9k. Where to get the money? The insurance sells your unit trust to fund it. As long as your unit trust got money, no issue. What happen if say unit trust left only RM100? Well that is when insurance lapse and no more coverage even if you buy since young cause unit trust value cannot sustain the insurance. This is what I mean that expect cash value to be zero at best or negative.

Majority of people won't invest the money. Even simple stuff like putting it into EPF also they won't do and when they are 60-80 when need the insurance the most, can't afford the insurance. Force to give up because of poor planning and not investing from young.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 9 2024, 02:06 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 12 2024, 04:14 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Nov 12 2024, 03:21 PM)
I just realized my insurance premium gone up RM164 since Feb and I havent pay for the increment yet. Could anyone help me decipher my policy ?
I assumed you are on ILP.
1.It will start to minus your cash value.
2. Sustainability will decrease means number of years covered will likely be reduced if large amount minus. If small amount usually still ok. You need to see the letter send by your insurance company whether it is stated that sustainability affected or not.
3. If you got sufficient cash value, you will still be covered.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 12 2024, 04:15 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 12 2024, 07:33 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Nov 12 2024, 07:28 PM)
Yes. I didn't realize it. I didn't study deeper before signing for one.
Allianz Power Link. All I ever wanted is to get covered when I entered hospital if I have illness. This new premium is too much and taking a chunk from my salary. RM464 a month. I am not sure if this policy is good enough now. Anyone I can pm my policy to ?

Not sure about number 2.
As for Number 3, my cash value is almost negative because I could not pay my insurance for almost a year due to lost of job back in Covid
Talk to your agent. Get rid of some of the riders. Downgrade to the minimum plan as much as possible. If agent useless, ask allianz to find you new agent.

If money is issue and ILP still too expensive, I would suggest getting cheap insurance like Generali emedic and cover yourself first even though coverage is low. Later once you are sure you can afford rm1m coverage then change insurance. Yes let the current insurance lapse.

That's the only way I can see you.

Mind you asking for help here is like dangling your bleeding leg in shark infested water. Likely will sell you new plan. Be very careful.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 12 2024, 07:37 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 12 2024, 08:29 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Nov 12 2024, 08:22 PM)
Thank you for your advice. Appreciate it. Texting my agent now. If he is not doing anything, will see.
I believe my coverage is the basic ones. I am not sure what else to deduct. The riders seem quite important. Critical illness and etc. My fear is to arrive at hospital, sick and unable to pay for treatments. I am also quite old so anything could happen.
Rider like paying for hospitalisation is not needed.
If you got no kids cut down to minimum amount of life insurance coverage.
Critical illness be careful. If you don't fulfilled the definition of the disease, you won't get paid out. So this one 50-50.
If old then don't do anything drastic.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 12 2024, 08:49 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2024, 01:07 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Nov 13 2024, 10:54 AM)
Incase I fell sick I might not have money to be hospitalized. This is what I am afraid of.
I don't have the emergency money for that.
I am nearing 40s so anything could happen *touch wood*

What is basic assured the same as death benefit ?
You are living a very dangerous life without emergency money.
Is your say RM100/day that insurance pay for for hospitalisation worth it for say RM50/month rider?
I am not talking about hospitalisation cost. I am talking about extra money that is paid to you for being hospitalised.

How often you masuk hospital? If you masuk once every 10 years, it's like paying RM6k for say RM500 payment (5 days stay).

I am talking about hospitalisation income and not your main medical insurance.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 13 2024, 07:43 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2024, 07:42 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(halglory @ Nov 13 2024, 07:39 PM)
you're saying very dangerous things like asking people to remove hospitalization cover leh bro

what extra money you talking about while hospitalized? hospitalization income?
Hospitalation income la.
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2024, 07:55 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(halglory @ Nov 13 2024, 07:52 PM)
in this day and age still got agent push this rider ka? claim is quite hassle and expensive to upkeep
Got. I am not sure you are agent or not. I have seen agent pushing lots of things.
Ramjade
post Nov 16 2024, 06:15 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Nov 16 2024, 10:57 AM)
My insurance is summarized as below.  I haven't claim anything yet. I wish I dont have to.
Yes. I hope I could work on it. My salary has been stagnant for some time and below RM3k. There are some stuff happened in my family so I could not even save.

If not mistaken, I did ask for zero fee if admitted to hospital.

Allianz Power Link - RM300/month (will reprice to RM464/month)

Basic sum assured - RM100k. Cover 37y
Total Permanent Disability - RM100k. Till 71y
Prime Care+ - RM50k. Pay & Cover till 100y
Prime Care+ (Cancer Recovery Benefit) - RM17,500k. Pay & Cover till 100y
Prime Care+ (Diabetes Recovery Benefit) - RM10k. Pay & Cover till 100y
Prime Care+ (Catastrophic CI benefit) - RM10k. Pay & Cover till 100y
PACover - RM100k. Cover 37y
PayorCover - RM3600. Cover 37y
PayorCover (ETPD) - RM3600. Cover 37y

Medisafe Infinite (base plan)
Room - RM150
Overal Annual Limit - RM850k. Unlimited lifetime. Maturity 2057. Till 100y
Hospital Asst Fee - Till 100y
QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 16 2024, 06:02 PM)
If you feel 400+ is tight budget, read your letter by allianz see if they offer you options to downgrade.

If you opt for medical card that pays 0 when you masuk hospital, it will be very expensive. Very very expensive. To reduce this cost, you can opt for a medical card with deductible. Deductible is the amount you have to pay when you masuk hospital. The usual options are 300, 500, and nowadays 1000.

In the grand scheme of things 500 or 1000 is really not alot. Everytime you masuk hospital you fork out these and the rest paid by insurance company.

Honestly speaking, if you cant afford this 500, might as well save the money from insurance and go to government hospital.

Of course... this is provided allianz got provide this option for you also.

Please check your letter or ask allianz if they have some form of downgrade.
I think you have too many rider. Need to get rid of some of them. Yes all ILP stuff arrived nice to get if you got the money. If you got no money, focus on the most essential stuff in your insurance. Other stuff don't bother.
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2024, 12:40 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Theta5302 @ Nov 18 2024, 09:55 AM)
Wondering those with standalone medical card ,does this kind of insurance cover immunotherapy and hormone therapy? When ask customer from fi life they can't seem to give me direct answer and even when refer to the product disclosure ,refused to give me clear answer. it was quite funny actually lol.
They do. They cover and thing approve by Malaysian govt.
Ramjade
post Nov 18 2024, 06:57 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Theta5302 @ Nov 18 2024, 05:36 PM)
Thanks for reply. I just confirmed with the customer rep that the cancer treatment is limited to radio and chemo for the one offer by FI life/generali. Are you referring to other standalone that need by via agent like AIA and GE?
You have to search for the clause all medication approved by kkm/moh. If you don't have that clause, no coverage.

All insurance will write experimental treatment won't be covered.
Ramjade
post Nov 19 2024, 01:10 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 19 2024, 12:46 PM)
IF, bad luck, kena ARMD.... currently no cure, just hv to do periodic treatments.
Each treatment costed about 7k now.
After one reached 55, there are high chances of getting it.
If high deductible of 20-30k, then hv to self pay 7k per visit now.
25 yrs later, per visits may be 30k
Can easily prevent with supplementation of lutein and zeaxanthin.

32 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.2361sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:46 PM