Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

MUM
post Aug 8 2023, 05:00 PM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2023, 04:10 PM)
On the contrary, it's 50% cheaper than what I found in Malaysia. eg.
RM500k coverage. AIA charges me RM14k/year fixed for the entire term of insurance. Sg insurance charges me only RM7k/year. No other charges. No increases. The payout coverage is RM500k but if you factor in multiplier, it's 2x more and they cover for relapses of diseases (more coverage and cheaper). Basically a better deal.
Oh, ...so it is a Spore policy instead of Malaysia one.

Hope you can sustain the premium if when you did not earn SGD or will not be impacted by the ever increasing SGD if you are earning MYR
Hope that SG insurance policy had some mature payout.

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 8 2023, 05:12 PM
SUSTOS
post Aug 8 2023, 05:03 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2023, 04:10 PM)
On the contrary, it's 50% cheaper than what I found in Malaysia. eg.
RM500k coverage. AIA charges me RM14k/year fixed for the entire term of insurance. Sg insurance charges me only RM7k/year. No other charges. No increases. The payout coverage is RM500k but if you factor in multiplier, it's 2x more and they cover for relapses of diseases (more coverage and cheaper). Basically a better deal.
You pay premium in MYR or in SGD?
hksgmy
post Aug 8 2023, 05:32 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2023, 03:43 PM)
Yes. You cannot run away from premium increase. Medical insurance premium will also go up with time. Plan for it.

ILP premium increases because
1. not enough money left in the pool (too many people claim)
-this also happen for standalone
-this you cannot avoid
2. Fund not performing
- this one you can avoid. How? Do your own investment, avoid ILP. If you don't know how to invest, just dump it into EPF. You will beat majority of the ILP returns over time.

Medical premium will increase with age. You cannot run away from it. Is whether you get additional increase vs the projected returns. In theory you are not supposed to get additional increase when you buy ILP, but that's not the truth. Some people get it as early as 2 years of buying. Some get it like 2 yearly sad.gif Also depending on insurance company. Some standalone medical insurance follow the projected increase to the dot. Some standalone do not. You need to research before buying.
Yes, this is absolutely true - as we grow older, the chances of hospitalization and illnesses go up. It's a fact of life. Thanks for highlighting that.
hksgmy
post Aug 8 2023, 05:34 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 8 2023, 05:00 PM)

Hope you can sustain the premium if when you did not earn SGD or will not be impacted by the ever increasing SGD if you are earning MYR
It's an interesting reversal. When I decided to stay in Singapore and grow my career here, I actually cancelled and surrendered all the legacy insurance policies that were bought for me in Malaysia. The agent was livid. But, I'm glad I did, as the shrinking ringgit would have rendered the payouts laughable.
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 05:58 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 8 2023, 05:00 PM)

Even if RM is depreciating, RM7k is still cheaper than RM14k.

Mature payout from GE and AIA is a joke. Pay you at 80 years old all your premium paid without any interest provided you never claimed.

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 8 2023, 05:03 PM)
You pay premium in MYR or in SGD?
SGD

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 8 2023, 06:07 PM
SUSTOS
post Aug 8 2023, 06:01 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2023, 05:58 PM)
SGD
Oh

Do note that if your income is in MYR, buying SGD products will expose yourself to FX risk.
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 06:10 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 8 2023, 06:01 PM)
Oh

Do note that if your income is in MYR, buying SGD products will expose yourself to FX risk.
Don't look at oh FX risk. Why? Payout will be in SGD. You are getting double payout Vs what you get in Malaysia. And at current price it's RM7k Vs RM14k. RM7k and RM14k is big difference. Yes I know ringgit will weaken with time, but it is still a very good deal.
SUSTOS
post Aug 8 2023, 07:05 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2023, 06:10 PM)
Don't look at oh FX risk. Why? Payout will be in SGD. You are getting double payout Vs what you get in Malaysia. And at current price it's RM7k Vs RM14k. RM7k and RM14k is big difference. Yes I know ringgit will weaken with time, but it is still a very good deal.
Can share the product name and insurance company name?

Singlife? Aviva?
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 07:30 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 8 2023, 07:05 PM)
Can share the product name and insurance company name?

Singlife? Aviva?
Go get it via moneyowl. They are not agent. Also you get 30% or 50% of first year commission back. They even have disability insurance (something Malaysia don't have). Eg if you use your hand to work, you fall down and break your hand, you are unable to work, you can claim the disability insurance until your hand heals. It's nice to have I feel.
SUSTOS
post Aug 8 2023, 07:46 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 8 2023, 07:30 PM)
Go get it via moneyowl. They are not agent. Also you get 30% or 50% of first year commission back. They even have disability insurance (something Malaysia don't have). Eg if you use your hand to work, you fall down and break your hand, you are unable to work, you can claim the disability insurance until your hand heals. It's nice to have I feel.
Oh you mean this one? https://www.moneyowl.com.sg/critical-illness/

Moneyowl is an NTUC service mah

Cheng hu cannot simply charge expensively like private sector laugh.gif
MUM
post Aug 11 2023, 06:23 AM

14,951 posts

Just asking, ...
Are all medical reports & billings details required for insurance claims provided by both the private and Govt hospitals in Malaysia written in English?

This post has been edited by MUM: Aug 11 2023, 06:23 AM
lifebalance
post Aug 11 2023, 09:59 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 11 2023, 06:23 AM)
Just asking, ...
Are all medical reports & billings details required for insurance claims provided by both the private and Govt hospitals in Malaysia written in English?
You should be more specific on why are you asking this ?
MUM
post Aug 11 2023, 10:47 AM

14,951 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Aug 11 2023, 09:59 AM)
You should be more specific on why are you asking this ?
Nothing specific, just curious and asking.
May or may not uv use later
dwks
post Aug 12 2023, 02:26 PM

414 posts

Hi, is there any individual insurance with OP coverage?
totoro2018
post Aug 12 2023, 02:36 PM

56 posts

I am looking for HLA Medistarter medical card (stand-alone medical card). I found not many people commenting on HLA insurance in this forum.

Benefit of HLA Medistarter attractive me :
15% for no claim
TCM treatment claim

What I want to know is will the HLA insurance claim be difficult? Especially when you are admitted to the hospital, will you be delayed in applying for GL?

@Ramjade please help me to see if the HLA medistarter is reliable?
https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/Product-Services...Starter%20Rider

This post has been edited by totoro2018: Aug 12 2023, 03:36 PM
adele123
post Aug 12 2023, 04:17 PM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(totoro2018 @ Aug 12 2023, 02:36 PM)
I am looking for HLA Medistarter medical card (stand-alone medical card). I found not many people commenting on HLA insurance in this forum.

15% for no claim
TCM treatment claim

What I want to know is will the HLA insurance claim be difficult? Especially when you are admitted to the hospital, will you be delayed in applying for GL?

[email=@Ramjade]@Ramjade[/email] please help me to see if the HLA medistarter is reliable?
After awhile all the medical plan kinda looks the same. You have pointed out 2 somewhat unique benefit.

Aside from that, annual limit is 1mil, no lifetime limit, but room &board 180 is kinda low for Klang valley but outside Klang valley is not bad actually, just not sure inflation might eat it or not after 20years.

The plan seems cheap for zero deductible but would suggest to get a plan with deductible, 1000 will be a nice spot or something with coinsurance 10% or 20% with some cap to lower down the premium you have to pay.
Ramjade
post Aug 12 2023, 04:41 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(dwks @ Aug 12 2023, 02:26 PM)
Hi, is there any individual insurance with OP coverage?
Here you go.
https://www.generali.com.my/medical-health/...medi-outpatient

QUOTE(totoro2018 @ Aug 12 2023, 02:36 PM)

15% for no claim
TCM treatment claim

[email=@Ramjade]@Ramjade[/email] please help me to see if the HLA medistarter is reliable?
A rider plan. Likely it's an ILP. I think it's pretty clear how I feel about ILP. Only good thing is TCM la.

I only know GE GL is the one problematic (based off conversation with friends). They ask all kind of questions.

Sorry not much help. For me if I see ILP, I run far away.
totoro2018
post Aug 12 2023, 05:53 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 12 2023, 04:17 PM)
After awhile all the medical plan kinda looks the same. You have pointed out 2 somewhat unique benefit.

Aside from that, annual limit is 1mil, no lifetime limit, but room &board 180 is kinda low for Klang valley but outside Klang valley is not bad actually, just not sure inflation might eat it or not after 20years.

The plan seems cheap for zero deductible but would suggest to get a plan with deductible, 1000 will be a nice spot or something with coinsurance 10% or 20% with some cap to lower down the premium you have to pay.
Yes, the room rate is a bit low. FYI, the room rate will be increased RM50 for every 10years up to RM330.

This post has been edited by totoro2018: Aug 12 2023, 05:59 PM
totoro2018
post Aug 12 2023, 05:55 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 12 2023, 04:41 PM)
Here you go.
https://www.generali.com.my/medical-health/...medi-outpatient
A rider plan. Likely it's an ILP. I think it's pretty clear how I feel about ILP. Only good thing is TCM la.

I only know GE GL is the one problematic (based off conversation with friends). They ask all kind of questions.

Sorry not much help. For me if I see ILP, I run far away.
HLA claimed this is traditional plan medical card (like standalone card) which is the premium is refer to the age range and not a investment plan medical card. You can refer to the brochure in this link: https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/Product-Services...Starter%20Rider

This post has been edited by totoro2018: Aug 12 2023, 06:16 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 12 2023, 06:41 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(totoro2018 @ Aug 12 2023, 05:55 PM)
HLA claimed this is traditional plan medical card (like standalone card) which is the premium is refer to the age range and not a investment plan medical card. You can refer to the brochure in this link: https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/Product-Services...Starter%20Rider

If it's rider then it's must be attach to something right? Is it attached to life/critical illness? If you look at standalone cards there are no rider. So the word rider already imply it is not a standalone. I don't have any HLA experience do cannot comment much. But I know the word rider means it is attached to something.

If you want cashback for no claim, take a look at Generali (It's an ILP).
https://www.generali.com.my/medical-health/onemedic-elite

391 Pages « < 189 190 191 192 193 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:52 AM