Kenwood or kitchen aid?
blanket84
Feb 2 2021, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 2 2021, 06:35 PM) Kitchenaid got fake or not? I saw at lazada got cheap2 but not sold by official kitchenaid ayam scared fake I don’t think got fake one. It’s normal for electrical appliances to be sold 15-20% below RRP. If cheaper than that probably grey set without warranty.
metalfire
Feb 2 2021, 06:41 PM
kitchen aid all the way at least you're rolling in style
RallyNight
Feb 2 2021, 07:28 PM
If os then real la.
TSdebonairs91
Feb 2 2021, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(RallyNight @ Feb 2 2021, 07:28 PM) Not OS that's why scared
RallyNight
Feb 2 2021, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 2 2021, 08:54 PM) Buy from the kitchen aid os. Its in shopee mall. I rather pay extra abit than headache later. So far imo kitchen aid is the best. Kenwood very wooble when in high speed.
watzisname
Feb 2 2021, 08:06 PM

I'm using ankarsrum.
Good for bread
This post has been edited by watzisname: Feb 2 2021, 08:07 PM
TSdebonairs91
Feb 3 2021, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 2 2021, 06:38 PM) I don’t think got fake one. It’s normal for electrical appliances to be sold 15-20% below RRP. If cheaper than that probably grey set without warranty. QUOTE(metalfire @ Feb 2 2021, 06:41 PM) kitchen aid all the way at least you're rolling in style QUOTE(RallyNight @ Feb 2 2021, 07:58 PM) Buy from the kitchen aid os. Its in shopee mall. I rather pay extra abit than headache later. So far imo kitchen aid is the best. Kenwood very wooble when in high speed. Just noticed kitchenaid 4.8l is only 300w motor power. Enough or not? Even cheapo brand is 1000w+
TSdebonairs91
Feb 3 2021, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(malayantiger @ Jan 30 2021, 07:49 PM) Make sure you get one with a 1000W motor (minimum), especially if kneading bread dough. Otherwise the motor will heat up quickly and boom, hahahaha. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. Kenwood = functional, quality and reliability. Looks, meh. Smeg = classic look, french Citroen/Renault quality (pun intended) KitchenAid = Instagramable. Maybe quality and reliability but pricy. Kitchenaid 4.8l is 300w enough power or not?
anthonywongy
Feb 3 2021, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(waghyu @ Jan 30 2021, 07:15 PM) Kitchen aid. Which model Artisan or Pro 500? Pro500 nyamnyam. Good enough and sweet.
malayantiger
Feb 3 2021, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 3 2021, 06:46 PM) Kitchenaid 4.8l is 300w enough power or not? I'm surprise KitchenAid is so low wattage. Didn't know that. Most Kenwood start from 1000W for their mixers. Mine is a Chef KVC3100. Rather low-end tbh. I have no experience with KitchenAid, so cannot comment. This post has been edited by malayantiger: Feb 3 2021, 06:57 PM
marfccy
Feb 3 2021, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 3 2021, 06:46 PM) Kitchenaid 4.8l is 300w enough power or not? most people will say higher watt better but i find it very contradicting when i was checking out those industrial grade mixers most of them are within 400-800W range for smaller scale ones yet goes through tough doughs like nothing
TSdebonairs91
Feb 3 2021, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(malayantiger @ Feb 3 2021, 06:53 PM) I'm surprise KitchenAid is so low wattage. Didn't know that. Most Kenwood start from 1000W for their mixers. Mine is a Chef KVC3100. Rather low-end tbh. I have no experience with KitchenAid, so cannot comment.  1.5k is low end? Rich liao. If I don't go for kitchenaid KVC3100 is my choice because that's the only kenwood with 4.8l size. The rest is either too small or too big like the chef xl. But hard to find now
malayantiger
Feb 3 2021, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 3 2021, 07:00 PM) 1.5k is low end? Rich liao. If I don't go for kitchenaid KVC3100 is my choice because that's the only kenwood with 4.8l size. The rest is either too small or too big like the chef xl. But hard to find now That's a good price! I paid £350 two years back. Anyway a good mixer lasts. My old Kenwood is more than 30 years old. The old one is cast iron! Not moulded aluminium. Its a good investment. I make bread on a daily basis for my kids (now all grown up). Bread dough can be hard to knead by hand. But tbh, my wife found some 'no knead recipes' (very liquid dough) recently and we have been trying them out. Not bad results...so my Kenwood is left idle for now.
blanket84
Feb 3 2021, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 3 2021, 06:45 PM) Just noticed kitchenaid 4.8l is only 300w motor power. Enough or not? Even cheapo brand is 1000w+ I don't really know in depth about the anatomy of a stand mixer, but I remember back when I was purchasing my stand mixer, I have the same concern. Apparently direct drive motor consume less power than normal geared/belted motor while producing similar torque. Hence why you see stand mixer with direct drive motor comes with less wattage. Same like vacuum cleaner, Dyson advertised motor wattage is much lower than cheapo brands, yet producing better performance.  This one is the one I bought. Doesn't look as good as Kitchenaid Artisan but performed better than my sister's Artisan. This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 3 2021, 08:05 PM
hirano
Feb 7 2021, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jan 30 2021, 07:55 PM) If you only bake once in a while, hand mixer should be fine. But if you bake once a week or more often, you should invest in a good stand mixer. Stand mixer other than kenwood & kitchen aid also fine if only for baking cake. You don’t need powerful motor for creaming butter or whipping cream or egg whites. Powerful motor is only needed when kneading dough. ok i just bought this. 450W. Rm141. Quite ok for a hand mixer i think?
TSdebonairs91
Feb 7 2021, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 3 2021, 08:02 PM) I don't really know in depth about the anatomy of a stand mixer, but I remember back when I was purchasing my stand mixer, I have the same concern. Apparently direct drive motor consume less power than normal geared/belted motor while producing similar torque. Hence why you see stand mixer with direct drive motor comes with less wattage. Same like vacuum cleaner, Dyson advertised motor wattage is much lower than cheapo brands, yet producing better performance.  This one is the one I bought. Doesn't look as good as Kitchenaid Artisan but performed better than my sister's Artisan. Is this sold in malaysia? Never seen this one before
blanket84
Feb 7 2021, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Feb 7 2021, 06:03 PM) ok i just bought this. 450W. Rm141. Quite ok for a hand mixer i think?  It’s a kenwood. I suppose should be okay for normal use. Last time also I only use philips hand mixer before I upgraded to stand mixer. The intention to upgrade is to bake bread & pizza but because of lack of counter space (and power outlet), I lost interest in doing both. End up use only to bake cake.
blanket84
Feb 7 2021, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Feb 7 2021, 06:08 PM) Is this sold in malaysia? Never seen this one before Use to be sold in Malaysia. But then kitchenaid dominated the aesthetic market. So they only sell the ugly kenwood to people who actually want to bake not take picture This post has been edited by blanket84: Feb 7 2021, 06:11 PM
hirano
Feb 7 2021, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Feb 7 2021, 06:11 PM) Use to be sold in Malaysia. But then kitchenaid dominated the aesthetic market. So they only sell the ugly kenwood to people who actually want to bake not take picture  Why nobody talk about Breville and Cuisinart here?
TSdebonairs91
Feb 7 2021, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Feb 7 2021, 10:31 PM) Why nobody talk about Breville and Cuisinart here? I want cuisinart waffle maker but the official price here is like rm800 wtf. If import from Korea shopee 300 but sked later rosak