130 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P

boiboi95
post Aug 16 2014, 11:11 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 16 2014, 10:31 PM)
There was a discussion in the guitar thread awhile ago regarding skills or guitar comes first when you wanna upgrade.

Some think you shouldn't buy high end gears before you've got the skills.

Some say get the gear first so it'll motivate you to up your skills.

Personally, just buy within your budget and necessity.  icon_rolleyes.gif
saw that too, but then i just couldn't find a good reason to change guitar for now or maybe future (i don't know).

1st reason as after i bought the new guitar, i would abandon the old one which kinda wasted and stuffs
2nd would be the current one is still working fine

my guitar skills comes in 3rd (which i don't really have the confidence to claim i'm good with it)

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Aug 16 2014, 11:12 PM
junky_man
post Aug 17 2014, 12:22 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 16 2014, 11:11 PM)
saw that too, but then i just couldn't find a good reason to change guitar for now or maybe future (i don't know).

1st reason as after i bought the new guitar, i would abandon the old one which kinda wasted and stuffs
2nd would be the current one is still working fine

my guitar skills comes in 3rd (which i don't really have the confidence to claim i'm good with it)
I have two basses currently.

I thought after getting my newest, toy, i would abandoned completely my first bass, but i do use it from time to time. Especially when ill be travelling in a plane for a gig. tongue.gif

By the way, what songs are you currently covering for bass?

Im covering Rancid's "Roots Radical". Matt Freeman is one of my bass heroes.
boiboi95
post Aug 17 2014, 01:24 AM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 17 2014, 12:22 AM)
I have two basses currently.

I thought after getting my newest, toy, i would abandoned completely my first bass, but i do use it from time to time. Especially when ill be travelling in a plane for a gig. tongue.gif

By the way, what songs are you currently covering for bass?

Im covering Rancid's "Roots Radical". Matt Freeman is one of my bass heroes.
Ah..

Unlike others, I cover japans song: J-pop, J-rock, Vocaloid's

One of the bass hero that inspired me switching from drum to bass guitar at below(I still play drums currently, for years. It's just that a lot of factors that prohibited me to own one so I couldn't practice properly at all.)
Niconico (Japan's youtube-like) bass player, there are a lot more from there as my heroes (even heroine tongue.gif)

Because of him I really wanted to tryout a Warwick bass (or even own one) sweat.gif

But of course I do cover some english songs, bands like GnR,Metallica, Muse etc., but not all songs though as my skill's not there yet sweat.gif

A year plus since i pick up bass guitar, had proper class for just about 2-3 months only iirc and basically the rest are self learning. I still got a long way to go tongue.gif

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Aug 17 2014, 01:29 AM
kucinghijau
post Aug 17 2014, 01:46 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 16 2014, 06:30 PM)
surely when you play more, you can appreciate higher end basses.

i used to think my ibanez gio bass was the best ever. after years of playing it and trying other brands, you'd appreciate why other basses cost more than your first bass you own. wink.gif
+1

especially those big names specialised in bass nod.gif
junky_man
post Aug 17 2014, 03:12 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 17 2014, 01:24 AM)
Ah..

Unlike others, I cover japans song: J-pop, J-rock, Vocaloid's

One of the bass hero that inspired me switching from drum to bass guitar at below(I still play drums currently, for years. It's just that a lot of factors that prohibited me to own one so I couldn't practice properly at all.)
Niconico (Japan's youtube-like) bass player, there are a lot more from there as my heroes (even heroine tongue.gif)

Because of him I really wanted to tryout a Warwick bass (or even own one)  sweat.gif

But of course I do cover some english songs, bands like GnR,Metallica, Muse etc., but not all songs though as my skill's not there yet  sweat.gif

A year plus since i pick up bass guitar, had proper class for just about 2-3 months only iirc and basically the rest are self learning. I still got a long way to go tongue.gif
Leave it to the japs to make a simple pop song and have those bass lines. notworthy.gif

I dont know much j-rock bands, but one japan band i like is Zazen Boys

QUOTE(kucinghijau @ Aug 17 2014, 01:46 AM)
+1

especially those big names specialised in bass  nod.gif
Sadowsky, lakland, warwick and fedora (victor wooten's endorsed bass bran iinm) comes to mind. thumbup.gif
boiboi95
post Aug 17 2014, 04:47 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 17 2014, 03:12 AM)
Leave it to the japs to make a simple pop song and have those bass lines.  notworthy.gif

I dont know much j-rock bands, but one japan band i like is Zazen Boys

Sadowsky, lakland, warwick and fedora (victor wooten's endorsed bass bran iinm) comes to mind.  thumbup.gif
Wew, funky

of all 4 brands, the only brand i never heard of is fedora bass sweat.gif sweat.gif
junky_man
post Aug 17 2014, 10:34 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 17 04:47 PM)
Wew, funky

of all 4 brands, the only brand i never heard of is fedora bass  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
to tell you the truth, even i dont know why those brands are better. for me now my fender jazz bass is the best evah......untill i can appreciate even better quality basses.
boiboi95
post Aug 17 2014, 10:35 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 17 2014, 10:34 PM)
to tell you the truth, even i dont know why those brands are better. for me now my fender jazz bass is the best evah......untill i can appreciate even better quality basses.
Never experienced any of em' in real life, I can't tell either sweat.gif

Just curious, your jazz bass made in?

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Aug 18 2014, 03:17 AM
ariffdude
post Aug 18 2014, 09:07 AM

630 posts

Just got my Cort C5H a couple of days ago. Plays awesome, but not as awesome as when i tried out a different one at TGSDP. Therefore, it needs a setup.

I had no experience with satin finishes before so i stupidly put wax on it. aiyoo....
junky_man
post Aug 18 2014, 11:17 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 17 2014, 10:35 PM)
Never experienced any of em' in real life, I can't tell either  sweat.gif

Just curious, your jazz bass made in?
US made. plays like a dream.

QUOTE(ariffdude @ Aug 18 2014, 09:07 AM)
Just got my Cort C5H a couple of days ago. Plays awesome, but not as awesome as when i tried out a different one at TGSDP. Therefore, it needs a setup.

I had no experience with satin finishes before so i stupidly put wax on it. aiyoo....
nice buy! two humbuckers eh? must growl like a beast!

what happened when you applied wax to it?
ariffdude
post Aug 18 2014, 11:44 AM

630 posts

it got shiny, but uneven shiny, because i couldn't apply the wax to the hard to reach spots such as in between the pots or in between the pickups and bridge. I'm gonna send to a pro for setup, and get it waxed properly so that it looks proper. I like shine.

Yeah it growls like a beast. Just jammed to Lamb of God and Decapitated yesterday.
kucinghijau
post Aug 18 2014, 12:03 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 17 2014, 03:12 AM)
Sadowsky, lakland, warwick and fedora (victor wooten's endorsed bass bran iinm) comes to mind.  thumbup.gif
been itchy to try a 5-stringer sadowsky rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ariffdude @ Aug 18 2014, 11:44 AM)
Yeah it growls like a beast. Just jammed to Lamb of God and Decapitated yesterday.
dude!~ brows.gif
junky_man
post Aug 18 2014, 01:35 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(ariffdude @ Aug 18 2014, 11:44 AM)
it got shiny, but uneven shiny, because i couldn't apply the wax to the hard to reach spots such as in between the pots or in between the pickups and bridge. I'm gonna send to a pro for setup, and get it waxed properly so that it looks proper. I like shine.

nice! just curious, what tuning do you use for that 5-stringer?

tried a 5 before, it felt a bit awkward for me at first to adjust to 5 strings. probably will revisit it some day.

QUOTE(kucinghijau @ Aug 18 2014, 12:03 PM)
been itchy to try a 5-stringer sadowsky  rclxms.gif
MIJ or MIA? i think i saw one at the Guitar Store in Cheras KL.
ariffdude
post Aug 18 2014, 02:40 PM

630 posts

All same tuning except there's a 5th B string. Same like 7 string guitar la.
kucinghijau
post Aug 18 2014, 02:43 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 18 2014, 01:35 PM)
tried a 5 before, it felt a bit awkward for me at first to adjust to 5 strings. probably will revisit it some day.
MIJ or MIA? i think i saw one at the Guitar Store in Cheras KL.
don't care MIJ/MIA, as long as it feels like 5-stringer sq VMJB

or might just get that sq VMJB instead...
btw, my current bass is ibz SR300
boiboi95
post Aug 18 2014, 03:11 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 18 2014, 11:17 AM)
US made. plays like a dream.
nice buy! two humbuckers eh? must growl like a beast!

what happened when you applied wax to it?
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

Ahhhh you guys! Stop making me drooling with my Ibanez Gio beside me sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

btw guys, rust on the surface of pickups, are they fine?

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Aug 18 2014, 03:32 PM
junky_man
post Aug 18 2014, 05:03 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(kucinghijau @ Aug 18 2014, 02:43 PM)
don't care MIJ/MIA, as long as it feels like 5-stringer sq VMJB

or might just get that sq VMJB instead...
btw, my current bass is ibz SR300
ahh.....nice natural colour. always looks good with a fender bass or a music man stingray bass.

how much did you bought for your Ibanez SR300?

I really like the neck of ibanez basses. really comfortable when i was picking up bass for the first time.

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 18 2014, 03:11 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif

Ahhhh you guys! Stop making me drooling with my Ibanez Gio beside me  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

btw guys, rust on the surface of pickups, are they fine?
even though i have upgraded, i still play around with my Gio. kacang tak lupakan kulit yo! thumbup.gif
boiboi95
post Aug 18 2014, 06:02 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 18 2014, 05:03 PM)
ahh.....nice natural colour. always looks good with a fender bass or a music man stingray bass.

how much did you bought for your Ibanez SR300?

I really like the neck of ibanez basses. really comfortable when i was picking up bass for the first time.
even though i have upgraded, i still play around with my Gio. kacang tak lupakan kulit yo!  thumbup.gif
i now mao tukar kulit pon tak boleh cry.gif
junky_man
post Aug 18 2014, 06:05 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 18 2014, 06:02 PM)
i now mao tukar kulit pon tak boleh  cry.gif
slowly but surely.

develop skills in the meantime. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
boiboi95
post Aug 18 2014, 06:55 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Aug 18 2014, 06:05 PM)
slowly but surely.

develop skills in the meantime. biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
aite aite biggrin.gif

btw, ask again lel, rust on the surface of the pickups, is it okay?

130 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0405sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:00 AM