QUOTE(ariff02 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:21 PM)
Dirk lance fan reporting in. Incubus isn't the same without him. Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P
Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P
Jul 15 2010, 10:40 AM
1,118 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Ur-anus |
Jun 24 2012, 12:22 AM
Jun 10 2014, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 9 2014, 11:47 PM) Oh wow, seems like this thread had been deserted for quite some time, hopefully anyone could see my post over here. Yeah, this bass thread needs some bump!So I've been playing bass for quite some time already and I would wanted to buy a multieffect pedal. As a total beginner for multi-fx pedal, I know nothing about it so I hope people could help me with it. 1. I found this Zoom series of pedal (B1, B2, B3), I am interested in it, is B1 already enough? 2. Am curious about it, but will my bass guitar's pickup affect the pedal? Thanks. To answer your Qs: 1: If you are new and not sure which Multieffects you want for your bass, zoom is great product to start with. the more you toy with it, the more you know what you want your bass to sound. 2: not so sure. what kind of pick ups you have for your bass right now? J or P bass style pick ups? active or passive pick ups? |
Jun 10 2014, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 10 2014, 01:24 PM) Hey thanks for the reply! Ahh....nice bass. My first bass is a Gio Bass beginner package with P & J pick ups.1. But then which product of zoom shall I get? B1 B2 or B3 depending on my needs? Basically I don't really need anything too fancy, basic Fx like overdrive and distortion is good enough though, the rest I can toy around and see what can I do with it. Genre towards J-rock, a bit of Metallica and stuffs 2. 2 J standard passive pickups on it my bass the zoom B1 would be sufficient if you wanna experiment some sounds from your bass. if your budget permits, get the B1X as you get an expression pedal with it. i've got the B1X. I don't use all of the patches available and the expression pedal to much. but it's nice to have that option if you need them, especially when your bandmates wants to "free jam". You can get nice pitch shifting sounds with some of the patch in Zoom's B1X. my favourite is getting the whaling police siren sound with it. all the best with your purchase. I'd recommend trying it out before purchasing it. |
Jun 10 2014, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(ariffdude @ Jun 10 2014, 12:04 PM) I'm always switching instruments I don't know what to call myself anymore. Anyways since I'm now a bassist in a death metal band, I'm gonna need to be a bassist a bit more. Lost my mojo with the guitar already, lost my speed, lost my motivation. Cort basses are nice, seriously!So I went to TGSDP the other day to test out the Cort C5H since I wanted to look for a 5 string bass since my bandmates use a 7 string. And the moment i laid my hands on it, I immediately fell in love with it. WTH man, a bass with that spec for 1.2k. I can't believe it, while I was browsing the net I thought surely with this spec and price, the playability would suck. But hell, it felt so smooth and comfortable in my hand. I can't really talk about the sound since I don't know much about bass sounds, but I know that I liked it. I'm gonna save up my money for that, and sure as hell I'm gonna get that. I was looking at LTD F105 at first, which is a nice upgrade from my current Ibanez TR50, but compared to that Cort, and also since it costs 2k, it won't stand a chance. Was eyeing once since i tested out at The Guitar Store in Cheras. laid my hand on the Cort GB74 and knew that was a bass i can play effortlessly. Hope you get yours, man. and post some vids playing it here. |
Jun 10 2014, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 10 2014, 04:33 PM) thanks! The B1 is already sturdy enough to be stomped like a proper pedal. Unless you are really hardcore, then i'd say is not as vulnerable as you think.Well I've read some review on the internet, saying that B1 are some cheapo plastic version of B2 while B2 is made up of metal mostly so it's more sturdy, so wanna ask since you owned B1X, is it really that "vulnerable" as it is on those reviews I've read? So far are you sastified with it? and erm, back to question number 2, here they are the pickups of my guitar, so will it somehow affect the output of it? Regarding the output, in my limited knowledge, i wont think it would affect much. Having the J pick up configuration is already what determines how your bass sounds like. Adding effects to it will just enhance the sound of the bass. Hope i answered your questions. Any bass sifu please enlightened the both of us! |
Jun 10 2014, 10:43 PM
Jun 26 2014, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 11 2014, 02:36 PM) Ba Dum Tss Looks nice. But i havent seen one in action yet.update: Aw snap, B1X is discontinued according to DeadEye, replaced by B1XON which is around RM60 more Have you considered the TC Electronics bass amp head BH250? Its not a pedal, but you can add the footswitch to control it. It features the tone print technology. Check it out on youtube. |
Jun 27 2014, 12:09 AM
Jun 27 2014, 08:49 AM
Jun 29 2014, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 27 2014, 01:07 PM) See how it goes Awesome, right?I've checked the TC electronics you recommended, the tone print stuffs hooked me up a lot, just scan the pickups and it will change the sound? wow Tested one and i was really impressed. Just wondering if anyone here owns one to give their review. |
Jun 30 2014, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 30 2014, 12:52 PM) i guess same way you can play whatever is ringing on your phone through your pickups, your amp will transmit the same sound.try using your phone and play any mp3 songs, the pick ups pick-up the sound and channel it to your amp. |
Jun 30 2014, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Jun 30 2014, 02:06 PM) Sorry if I am wrong, know nothing about pickups, what you meant was the phone transmit the "Code" to the pickups through the form of sound, it then transmit to the amps, the amps recognize what "code" is that and then change the effect of it. Right? Haha, im not sure how this Tone Print technology works, but on normal gear set up, you can play your mp3 songs with the speaker directed to your pickups. then you can hear it coming from your amp.but how TC Electronics used this to their technology, im not sure. |
Aug 15 2014, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(kiwlm @ Aug 14 2014, 06:58 PM) From the looks of it yeah, that should be how it works. The amp probably recognizes some Code that's impossible for the bass guitar to produce and then use that to update the effects or something. Where can I find this BH250 to try? QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 14 2014, 11:14 PM) I've tried one in the Guitar Store in Cheras.from my brief test: awesome bass amp head. simple in design and small for bringing it around. it supports 4 ohm cabinets which means it can support those standard stack bass amps (4 x 10' speakers with 1 x 12' speakers). TC Electronic's website gives you an awesome look into the amps now i need you to buy it and give your review. haha. |
Aug 15 2014, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(kiwlm @ Aug 15 2014, 11:31 AM) Well, I am a noob, but trying to get an amp that can jam with a real drummer, got caught up with the ligthweight but expensive amp hype, how much are they selling this for? i think they retailing it at RM1.6k, but i reckon you can get some discount on it.which is almost the same price they are selling in the US. go go go and buy it! |
Aug 16 2014, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 16 2014, 01:23 AM) think fof the bass amp as an investment.later when you upgrade your bass, your amp will still be that dependable amp to bring out the best of it.QUOTE(kiwlm @ Aug 16 2014, 09:32 AM) Wah, 1.6k is same price with US? the price is probably excluding tax. furthermore the transport cost and the worry of afterservice.http://www.amazon.com/TC-Electronic-BH250-...ectronics+bh250 the above is only around USD 270! You guys heard about this home-musical.com shop from Singapore? They have this MB200 for only SGD 126? Seems too good to be true: http://www.home-musical.com/gallien-kruege...s-amp-head.html if you buy it fron here, at least you can test it out, ensure the amp does not have defect and help the local retailers in their business. |
Aug 16 2014, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 16 2014, 01:35 PM) surely when you play more, you can appreciate higher end basses.i used to think my ibanez gio bass was the best ever. after years of playing it and trying other brands, you'd appreciate why other basses cost more than your first bass you own. |
Aug 16 2014, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 16 2014, 09:38 PM) I do appreciate higher ends basses, thing is I still don't have the so-called "right" to change it for now XDD need to skill-up some more There was a discussion in the guitar thread awhile ago regarding skills or guitar comes first when you wanna upgrade.Some think you shouldn't buy high end gears before you've got the skills. Some say get the gear first so it'll motivate you to up your skills. Personally, just buy within your budget and necessity. |
Aug 17 2014, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 16 2014, 11:11 PM) saw that too, but then i just couldn't find a good reason to change guitar for now or maybe future (i don't know). I have two basses currently.1st reason as after i bought the new guitar, i would abandon the old one which kinda wasted and stuffs 2nd would be the current one is still working fine my guitar skills comes in 3rd (which i don't really have the confidence to claim i'm good with it) I thought after getting my newest, toy, i would abandoned completely my first bass, but i do use it from time to time. Especially when ill be travelling in a plane for a gig. By the way, what songs are you currently covering for bass? Im covering Rancid's "Roots Radical". Matt Freeman is one of my bass heroes. |
Aug 17 2014, 03:12 AM
QUOTE(boiboi95 @ Aug 17 2014, 01:24 AM) Ah.. Leave it to the japs to make a simple pop song and have those bass lines. Unlike others, I cover japans song: J-pop, J-rock, Vocaloid's One of the bass hero that inspired me switching from drum to bass guitar at below(I still play drums currently, for years. It's just that a lot of factors that prohibited me to own one so I couldn't practice properly at all.) Niconico (Japan's youtube-like) bass player, there are a lot more from there as my heroes (even heroine Because of him I really wanted to tryout a Warwick bass (or even own one) But of course I do cover some english songs, bands like GnR,Metallica, Muse etc., but not all songs though as my skill's not there yet A year plus since i pick up bass guitar, had proper class for just about 2-3 months only iirc and basically the rest are self learning. I still got a long way to go I dont know much j-rock bands, but one japan band i like is Zazen Boys QUOTE(kucinghijau @ Aug 17 2014, 01:46 AM) Sadowsky, lakland, warwick and fedora (victor wooten's endorsed bass bran iinm) comes to mind. |
| Change to: | 0.0573sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:50 AM |