7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V1, Exynos 2100 | Available in stores

Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 01:06 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jan 20 2021, 12:59 PM)
Im refering to frame drop as in gaming. Even sd865 in my rog3, will suffer frame drop when the temperature hit 42c. Because of the throttling.
Universal rule.

The lower resolution you use, the smoother the FPS in the game. The same rule apply to all game platforms (PC, console, smartphone).

Try to set you phone display to lower resolution (fhd, or even hd if you go extreme), I am sure the frame drop and temperature will be improved. However, the cost is low quality pic.
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 01:55 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Jan 20 2021, 01:40 PM)
so native 1080p on s21/+ should be ok n not blurry?
Yes. However, there are some people who will nitpicking and say the quality is worse than the QHD display. But in fact, some owners can't notice the difference between qhd and fhd, with their naked eyes.

See this video below. Some users think FHD is better and vice versa. The result shows it's a draw.

So the conclusion is, no need to listen to others. Just stick to the one that you think that suits you the most. It's your phone. You decide.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 20 2021, 02:00 PM
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 02:04 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Jan 20 2021, 01:58 PM)
Anyone used samsung official kickstand case before or any case for that matter? Is it of good quality?

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.cONbE
it will get dirty and yellow eventually.

I would recommend you to buy the official protective case. It also got the kickstand as well. I used this on my ex-note 9, ex-s10plus and current s20+. Nice and sturty. The only downside is it's heavy.

Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 03:31 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Zellwong @ Jan 20 2021, 02:50 PM)

Can anyone understand Korean help to translate?

I found this post at reddit😅
https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyS21/comments...tm_source=share

They say overheating causes throttling and brings down the performance 50%
It's expected since SD888 also having the same problem. It seems that this year flagship chip got the same overheating issue. It's safely to say that if you are a hardcore mobile gamer, you need to think twice before you want to buy new gen phones this year.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 20 2021, 03:37 PM
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 03:36 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(dawho @ Jan 20 2021, 03:13 PM)
u guys buy smartphone to play games is it or just wan to research on the heat dissipation on all processor...lucky im not that into gaming thus nothing to worry much
Same here. I don't play mobile games. Battery performance is much more important to me compared to game performance. As long as it's not overheating during normal daily usage, then it's all good.

However, it's still too soon to make conclusion. Need to wait for full review first and then we will know the pros and cons of these new gen chipset.
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 04:02 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jan 20 2021, 03:54 PM)
A hardcore gamer will not play games on mobile in the first place, just saying. tongue.gif
Haiya. Read carefully my friend. I did say "hardcore mobile gamer". tongue.gif
Max2006
post Jan 20 2021, 07:18 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 20 2021, 07:11 PM)
Aiyo, so many post compare resolution
I using note10 lite 1080
And tab A 8 inch 1280×800
Very big different, on tab can see font not smooth
Dude. 1280x800 is HD quality. It's the lowest resolution of all phone displays. Some more it's a tab with big screen size. Of course it's blur and not smooth lah. doh.gif

Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 12:05 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(maldini3totti @ Jan 20 2021, 11:45 PM)
Anyone saw any speaker test for s21 ultra? Any idea on this?
here you go

Concluson: Top notch performance

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 21 2021, 12:06 AM
Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 11:00 AM

4,099 posts

This may not related to S21, but it may be useful for people who want to wait for Note 21 instead of buying S21.

Sad news for Note fans.

Coming from Samsung famous leaker ice universe. Note series is ended. Note 20 series could be the last note.

This is not a rumor. This is confirmed. Samsung most likely will announce this soon or later...

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 21 2021, 11:42 AM
Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 11:12 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Jan 21 2021, 11:06 AM)
tbh, s21/+ is downgrade in most aspects compared to s20/+ to me sweat.gif

but given that our local sets have exynos in s20/+, a rather fairer comparison would be with s20 fe 5g, which seems to be better buy
Wait. Don't judge too fast my friend. According to latest reviews/tests, 21 exynos perform A LOT better than 20 exynos. Despite of the possible overheat issue, the performance should be better than S20fe 5g (theoretically).

of course, S21 is still a downgrade compared to s20, in term of features (SD slot/QHD screen). But for people who don't mind about these 2 features, then S21 is the better choice.
Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 11:27 AM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(lambsauce @ Jan 21 2021, 11:20 AM)
if comparing s21 exynos to s20 exynos, i agree that it is a lot of improvements, but if compared to sd 865 it is really not much...

for s21/+, their camera modules are literally the same as last gen, n no microsd are really unacceptable to me

if we have official s20 series (non FE) with SD, it would be so nice  sad.gif
Oh well, they will never release the SD version in here for now, and they won't release as well in future. Samsung is planning to ditch Snapdragon and will release Exynos version globally very soon, if later this year their teamwork with AMD is successful. it's possible that next year there will be no more snapdragon version Samsung flagship.
Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 12:57 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Jan 21 2021, 12:40 PM)
oh my that is seriously not a good news.
Well, we know this will happen eventually, especially after they decided to put S-pen into the S line. It's just a matter of time.

In future, you still can find the S-pen in S, Tab and the Fold series. However, we do not know whether they are as convenient as the Note series. Look at the S21 Ultra.......you need to buy extra casing in order to keep the S-pen. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 21 2021, 01:11 PM
Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 01:13 PM

4,099 posts

For people who prefer cheaper S21.

https://www.gsmarena.com/galaxy_s21_4g_vari...-news-47315.php

Question: Will they release the 4G version in here since we already got the 5G version?

Answer: Look at the S20Fe 5G and S20Fe 4G. Ya, Most likely....may be after few months later...

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 21 2021, 01:15 PM
Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 02:32 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 21 2021, 02:24 PM)
Seems like tomorrow will release review
Saw mkbhd post in Twitter talking about it
This time I have no interested in looking for snapdragon review. We should look for exynos review for our sake. Lol.

Recommended channel for exynos review.

Supersaf tv
The tech chap
Xeetechcare
Tech spurt
Mr. Whose the boss

Max2006
post Jan 21 2021, 03:12 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Jan 21 2021, 02:43 PM)
It would be weird if they release 4G version though. The 5G modem is built-in to the Exynos 2100 chipset. Unless they purposely lock the 5G modem through firmware or create a separate chip.

They can do it for S20 FE because thr 5G modem is a separate chip.
Probably using older chip, such as sd865 or exynos 990.
Max2006
post Jan 22 2021, 11:44 AM

4,099 posts

Watch many videos/reviews, here's my verdict.

Yes. Both SD888 and Exynos 2100 have overheating issue.

Yes, SD888 is better than Exynos 2100 in term of GPU performance.

When overheating, both chip performance would be throttled until same level. But Exynos 2100 is slightly cooler than SD888.

S21 SD has better battery life compared to S21 exynos (expected).

S21 suitable for people who love compact phone,

S21+ suitable for people who prefer long battery life.

S21 Ultra suitable for people who love to play with the camera setting

Max2006
post Jan 22 2021, 12:15 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(anwarmatlani @ Jan 22 2021, 12:11 PM)
now really confuse. N20U or S21U.
What's so confuse? easy answer what?

Want latest tech, S21U.
Want better performance, S21U
Want better battery life, S21U
Want cheaper, N20U
Max2006
post Jan 22 2021, 01:37 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 22 2021, 01:12 PM)
Totally out of surprise S20 getting positive review mega_shok.gif
Mainly because of the game performance of SD865. One word, Stability! From now on, I can see some people start moving towards to S20Fe 5G. Can't blame them. Snapdragon is still the champion eventhough it's the last year gen.

QUOTE(nncchh1990 @ Jan 22 2021, 01:16 PM)
There she is , received early 1 week in Australia
Please post review after you use the protective cover. I am interested on that covber. Thanks.

QUOTE(msacras @ Jan 22 2021, 01:21 PM)
That’s a notable different between battery life.

Not that Exynos S21 is bad, but how do SD S21 manage to squeeze so much more battery life than Exynos did?
This makes me wonder as well. I know the SD GPU performance is better, but the battery life gap seems out of that proportion.

I know Samsung manufactured both chipsets. But how about the design? SD888 should be designed by Snapdragon, right? While Exynos 2100 was designed by Samsung. So no matter how suck the SD888 is, its power efficiency is still better compared to Exynos2100.

Anyway, I am not dissappointed about this. At least Exynos 2100 is better than exynos 990, by a large margin. However, we need to accept the fact that Exynos will never be able to beat down Snapdragon, at least for now. Samsung still got a long way to go.....
Max2006
post Jan 22 2021, 06:58 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jan 22 2021, 06:40 PM)
Oh shit SD pawned exynos again???
Nooooooo
But what abt test on prolonged usage
Here I give you the summary.

Battery life SD win
Performance SD win
Prolonged test SD win

But good news. This year exynos is MUCH BETTER than last year.

So here's my suggestion.

If you are using exynos 990, go ahead upgrade to exynos 2100. You won't regret.

If you don't care about warranty, go ahead buy SD888 S21. Congrats that you got the best of the best.

If you are using SD865 S20 /Note 20 series, stick to it. No need to change unless you die die want the latest tech.

This post has been edited by Max2006: Jan 22 2021, 07:00 PM
Max2006
post Jan 22 2021, 09:19 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Jan 22 2021, 08:32 PM)
Amazing !! But.....how is it compared to SD888 version ?

The answer is of course SD888 will be better. Now the question is how big the gap between SD888 and Exynos 990. One of the reviews shows at least 2 hours difference. But that's based on software test. Now we shall wait for the real life comparison then we will know the final answer.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0844sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:01 PM